Customer Reviews for

Face Time (Charlotte McNally Series #2)

Average Rating 5
( 20 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(18)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 20 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted September 10, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A Crime for Motherly Love!

    How deep is a mother's love that would do just about anything, including kill to protect that young woman? Charlie McNally is back again as the 46 year old, multiple Emmy Award-winning TV journalist investigator who is expected to come up with another dynamic story that will win awards and keep Channel 3 news as the most popular Massachusetts TV station. It's a tall order that Charlie isn't sure she can do again, but all of a sudden a story comes along begging to be explored and indicating it's huge enough to topple an election and undo a horrific nightmare for an imprisoned, alleged murderer.

    New evidence is introduced to evidence that indicates that Dorinda Keeler Sweeney may be falsely imprisoned for the murder of her husband, even though she did freely confess to that crime. As well as wanting to free a wrongly imprisoned inmate, Charlie is also quickly made aware that such a story might ruin the career of Massachusetts Attorney General Oscar Ortega, who is running on a perfect crime solver reputation but who just might be something that isn't quite as perfect as he suggests.

    While Charlie and Franklin, her perfect work partner, are gaining leads in this process, Charlie is also coping with meeting the daughter of her new love, Jonathan. Penny's a young girl who is obviously and unexplainably hostile when Penny appears. She's a little girl missing her parents being together and worrying that a replacement is in line for her real Mom's place. While this oil-water relationship continues, Charlie's own Mom is having her plastic surgeon do beautifying surgery on her and wants Charlie to do likewise. Enticed but wary, Charlie watches her Mom's healing process carefully and refuses to commit to any decision on taking twenty years off her physical appearance a la surgical transformation.

    Once again, Hank P. Ryan has done it very well, indeed! As a matter of fact, this novel is much better paced and plotted than her first novel in the Charlotte McNally series. It proceeds at a solid pace and keeps the reader totally hooked into the "Who did it?" mode, anxious to keep flipping the pages to find out more and very sorry when the story reaches its unexpected, exciting conclusion. Keep writing, Ms. Ryan! You've got the stuff for great crime drama!

    Reviewed by Viviane Crystal on September 10, 2009

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 24, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A Great Book Following the First!

    Author Hank Phillippi Ryan is an award-winning investigative reporter at Boston's NBC affiliate. She has twenty-six Emmy's and ten Edward R. Murrow Awards, along with dozens of other national and international journalism honors. Her work has resulted in new laws, homes removed from foreclosure, criminals sent to prison, and millions of dollars in restitution. Before her reporting career, she was a proofreader, a radio reporter, an Editorial Assistant at Rolling Stone, and a legislative aide in the US Senate. Other titles include: Prime Time and Air Time (coming September 2009.) She resides just outside of Boston, MA, with her husband.
    Veteran TV reporter, Charlotte McNally, is fighting to get a woman wrongfully convicted of murder out of prison. The problem is, the woman the media refers to as "Deadly Dori" confessed to the crime three years ago and has no intention of recanting that. Her lawyer has found new evidence of her innocence, and Charlotte knows this is the story of a lifetime, so why won't Dori do an interview and why on earth would she want to stay in prison for something she didn't do? The deeper Charlotte digs into the case, the more people turn up dead, and Charlotte seems to be the next target.
    The only complaint I have for the book, which I suppose isn't really a complaint, is I missed the "Things they don't teach you in J-school" commentary from the first book, which refers to sarcastic inner thoughts from Charlotte about the things they don't learn in journalism school.
    This is book two in the Charlotte McNally Mystery series, with Prime Time before it and Air Time after. These books are cozy mysteries with romantic elements. In book one, Charlotte meets Josh, a handsome college professor, and in this one, it follows their budding relationship and the trials Charlotte has with Josh's eight-year-old daughter, Penny, as well as the investigation. I said it before in my earlier review for the first book, but the author has a dry, witty sense of humor that comes through splendidly in this series. Readers will find themselves not only intrigued by the investigation, rooting for Penny to give in and accept Charlotte, and the romance with Josh, but laughing hysterically in the process. I adore the secondary character, Franklin, who is Charlotte's gay southern producer, and her mother's constant pursuit of anti-aging. The dialog between them will have you rolling. Very well-paced, the plot flowed smoothly, without any dead spots. The setting, which is the Boston area, was laid out beautifully. Most of all, you won't be disappointed by the "real killer." Recommended!

    Kelly Moran,
    Author and Reviewer

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2008

    A reviewer

    TV reporter Charlotte 'Charlie' McNally has been given a tape proving Dorinda Sweeney, dubbed 'Deadly Dorie,' could not have killed her husband four years ago because she was nowhere near her home during the killing. Looking for a Nielsen rating victory, Charlie and her producer Franklin set out to prove Dorie's innocence. Problem is that Dorie maintains her guilt and refuses to talk to anyone. The Attorney General has just announced his candidacy for governor and is applying pressure to Charlie's station to drop the story. He built his career on her conviction and doesn't want to see her go free. In the meantime, things with Josh are a bit rocky. His eight-year-old daughter refuses to warm up to Charlie. And if that weren't enough, her mother is in the area to recover from some cosmetic work and she's a bit demanding of Charlie's time. People associated with Dorie's case keep dying. Charlie believes this proves the real killer is still out there. Can Charlie find the killer before they put their sites on Charlie? I really enjoy this series. Charlie is a fun character. I like the fact that she's a TV investigative reporter and that we get a glimpse into her life. It shows just how much work goes into the various stories we see on TV. Plus I like the various characters she encounters and works with. I think the author did a great job of creating the setting and characters in this book. The sub-plots were expertly weaved together with the main plot and never took over. It is a quick read but yet has a good mystery to keep the reader engaged. I highly recommend this book and series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2012

    HEY QUIKSILVER

    I m so pretty

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2012

    Icestone

    Can I join ? I am a mateless tom and would like to get a mate I have icy blue eyes and a stone gray pelt

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2012

    Tigerspirit

    Um i uh...

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2012

    Fire hunters needs members

    To join search bottle 3rd result

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2012

    Icefur

    Please help me....*her legs are bleeding and she looks starved*

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2012

    A cat

    A siamese she cat with green eyes slid in.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2012

    Lionheart to frostfeather

    Looks deep into her eyes. "I'm sure that your voice will sound beautiful." He says gently.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2012

    Quicksilver

    Ugh super fun and mintpaw the woods are result 11 i think.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2012

    Crystallhearts to Joy tail

    Hello! Im crystallgearts... you seem happy....smiles with glee.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2012

    Frostfang

    The white tom yowls when Shadowfire leaps on him. He rolls over and the jump apart, he has bloody scratches on his back now. After Shadowfire accuses him about killing their kit he growls with anger,"I did not kill Firekit!" He yowls,"She was following that friend of hers that YOU picked out for her!!!"

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2012

    TO icestone

    This is a dead clan. I am starting a lan of my own, would you like to help?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2012

    Quicksilver

    Im sorry whitestar but i am leaving too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2012

    Shadowfrost

    The gray tom sits in the middle of the clearing staring up at the sky

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2012

    Shadowblood

    Leaps down and slices each cat here fom head to toe over and over until they officaly died

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2012

    Whitestar

    Ok i think i c be on for a while

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2012

    whitestar

    ...

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2012

    Joytail

    Dances around camp as happy as could be

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 20 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1