Customer Reviews for

The Face of Deception (Eve Duncan Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 180 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(93)

4 Star

(48)

3 Star

(29)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Amazing

this was the first book I had read by Iris Johansen. And Let me just say it definatly will not be the last. I couldn't put it down! I suggest everyone read this book. I even got my husband to read it. And he usually doesn't read anything that doesn't involve cars. So, e...
this was the first book I had read by Iris Johansen. And Let me just say it definatly will not be the last. I couldn't put it down! I suggest everyone read this book. I even got my husband to read it. And he usually doesn't read anything that doesn't involve cars. So, every go out and get this book!!

posted by Anonymous on June 5, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Smoothly written, interesting plot, some really good action. Par

Smoothly written, interesting plot, some really good action. Part of the problem with this book is its length which contributes to the episodic nature. Once we are set up with Eve and John mostly at each others throats, and not in a romantic way, it becomes necessary to...
Smoothly written, interesting plot, some really good action. Part of the problem with this book is its length which contributes to the episodic nature. Once we are set up with Eve and John mostly at each others throats, and not in a romantic way, it becomes necessary to periodically inject a crisis or major disruption to maintain tension. Eventually Eve Duncan got on this reader's nerves and she became a bit predictable. Some readers will be put off by the references to former President John Kennedy. I was not. I also found John Logan beginning to wear thin. A shorter, tighter story would have been an improvement.

posted by Carl80 on November 27, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 181 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 10
  • Posted November 27, 2012

    Smoothly written, interesting plot, some really good action. Par

    Smoothly written, interesting plot, some really good action. Part of the problem with this book is its length which contributes to the episodic nature. Once we are set up with Eve and John mostly at each others throats, and not in a romantic way, it becomes necessary to periodically inject a crisis or major disruption to maintain tension. Eventually Eve Duncan got on this reader's nerves and she became a bit predictable. Some readers will be put off by the references to former President John Kennedy. I was not. I also found John Logan beginning to wear thin. A shorter, tighter story would have been an improvement.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2007

    Amazing

    this was the first book I had read by Iris Johansen. And Let me just say it definatly will not be the last. I couldn't put it down! I suggest everyone read this book. I even got my husband to read it. And he usually doesn't read anything that doesn't involve cars. So, every go out and get this book!!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2005

    Horrible

    I am glad this was not my first Iris Johansen novel. I would never have picked up another. Eve Duncan and Joe Quinn are the most annoying characters. Joe gets upset about anyone talking to Eve....and he's married!!!! I am all for a strong, independent women but Eve Duncan has been taken overboard. Her daughters death keeps getting beaten into the readers head. Needless to say, I won't be buying the Eve Duncan series anymore.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2012

    This is the first book I've read by Iris Johansen. I became inte

    This is the first book I've read by Iris Johansen. I became interested in her books after watching "The Killing Game" on LMN. After reading some of the reviews, I was leary about reading the book, but am glad I followed my own instincts! The book was a good read and I can't wait to get to the 2nd book in the series (although i may have to skip it since I've already seen the movie).

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 12, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Good read

    This book was a good read. The book got cheesy every time her daughter talked to her as a ghost. They could have cut that out.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2003

    Excellent!

    This is the first book I ever read by Johansen. It was thrilling, exciting and suspensful. Worth reading! Does anyone happen to know the sequel books? I know the killing game is next but what's after that? Thanks for the help!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 5, 2012

    Good Book

    This is the first of the Eve Duncan Series and was a good read. I look forward to reading the rest in this series, but the book did not "grab" me like some other series has. I would recommend it!!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2012

    Great book!

    It holds the reader from start to finish. I will definitely read the series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 8, 2012

    Highly recommended

    I started reading Iris Johansen' books over the past several years and have loved her Eve Duncan series. I enjoyed this book very much and could not put the book down.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2011

    Loved it very suspensful

    I loved everything about it from the beggining to the end. I couldn't put it down, not even for a second! The suspense was great it had me buried in the book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2013

    Loved it

    Wish i could afford the rest in the series...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2013

    Good Read

    I really enjoyed this book. I always like a twist that I wasn't expecting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2013

    Friend request

    ShadeBlaze at third result.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2013

    Dread Fiend

    I am the One from above. One of Many. Many of One. I am the heart of darkness. I am the soul of the eaten. I am Dread Fiend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2013

    To dried friend

    Im cat #123 you want to be the third results ill tell her you can meet her at the chat room to

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2013

    Too Much Bantering

    The premise of this book and the characters are intriguing, but there is an almost impossible amount of unnecessary arguing, sarcasm and silly talk amongst the characters. It gets tedious and turned me off of them right away..
    I didn't hate the book so will give the next in the series a chance to convince me Eve Duncan is a worthy read. I really enjoyed the LMN movie based on one of these books.



    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2013

    WARNING.... Do NOT read this before bed. This is my first Johans

    WARNING.... Do NOT read this before bed. This is my first Johanson book and she hooked me. I couldn't put it down I
    Can't wait to read book 2

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2013

    Interesting characters, I will read more from this author

    I liked that the characters in this book were harder boiled than other similar books. It isn't the literary equivalent of a RomCom. It does however end in a predictable place. The thrills aren't really that thrilling, and but a good solid read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2011

    Good storie

    Good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 30, 2011

    Wow!!

    This book was awesome... from start to finish!! This author keeps the storyline exciting. I couldn't wait to pick this book up each day and loved the many twists and turns thrown at you throughout the whole book! I love the fact that the author tells the story from each character's point of view so that you are aware of everything that is going down. Just when you think you know what's going on, you will learn that you are wrong. All in all, I LOVED the book and am about to start on the next one!! Great read!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 181 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 10