Customer Reviews for

The Face of Fear

Average Rating 4
( 37 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 37 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2001

    Edge Of Your Seat Thriller!

    This book was incredibly suspencful! I mean, wow! I read it a year ago, and it still has this impression on me. I couldn't put the book down, because there was always something going on, and I wanted to see what happened on the next page...and the next page, and the next page, and the next page... I was on the edge of my seat waiting to see what would happen to the characters next!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2002

    BEST I'VE EVER READ...

    I HATE reading... but a friend told me it was good... and i figured great... its long and probably boring... plus i only had a month or so to read it and im slow.... i started it and finished it in two weeks... it was RAVISHING!...

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2001

    A TERRIFYING HIDE AND SEEK!

    ONCE I STARTED READING, I KNEW IT WAS GOING TO BE ANOTHER GREAT ONE BY KOONTZ. MY ATTENTION WAS CAUGHT RIGHT FROM THE START AND WAS HELD UNTIL THE LAST PAGE. THIS BOOK GIVES HIDE AND SEEK A NEW MEANING...LIFE AND DEATH.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2000

    My First Dean Koontz Book!

    I loved this book! My bro-in-law told me to read the first chapter, and if I didn't like it, I wasn't going to like the rest of the book. The first chapter is what got me hooked to Dean Koontz! I read it in a day. Totally Great! I love stories with great endings, and althought this was a little gross, great ending!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2000

    I liked this book!

    I am not a big horror fan-and the only 2 people whose books I have read in this genre are Stephen King and VC Andrews. But when I got this book, I couldn't put it down! I enjoyed it, and found it very imaginative, as well as supenseful. Even my best friend, who hates reading, is currently reading the book-he started today and is already on page 37!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2013

    208 pages too long -- must miss book of 2013

    Dean Koontz can develop great characters quickly (Odd Thomas) but this book had none of thar. Graham. Connie and the killers......there was never anything there until the last 10 pages when the motive is revealed.....that would have been creepy if that had been developed. However, it wasnt so I am left thinking that the only reason for this book was so that the author could learn about rock climbing and write it off as a business expense. Most disappointing book by Mr. Koontz and now I really cant get excited about the new Odd Thomas book......DISAPPOINTING

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2013

    Love it

    I really enjoyed this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2013

    Very good

    I initially read this years ago and while it isnt the most popular of koontz novels i thought i might revisit it. It was a very quick read and went straight to the point. One of the few that doesnt take place in california.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2012

    Not his best

    Finished this just to finish. Not very good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2012

    Love your bellybutton

    Great book!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2007

    A reviewer

    I found it very difficult to get through due to the repetitiveness of the entire story. Go down a floor, go up some stairs, go down a window, for about 150 pages. I also lost interest when he went into all the details of mountain climbing because for someone who knows nothing about it it is kind of hard to grasp so much at once.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2005

    A THRILLER !!!

    Outstanding book that really shows positive aspects of Koontz work. Expressing in words a twist in every corner is what makes this book a Thriller Ride.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2003

    avid reader

    This is the book that got me reading mostly only Dean Koontz novels. You will be on the edge of your seat until the very end. This is an excellent read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2003

    The Butcher

    This book was by Dean Koontz and the name of the book is Face of Fear. I thought it was a good book because the author was really good at describing the characters and never want you to put the book down. He also knew what type of things to end a chapter with. The first part of the book was interesting because it introduced almost all the characters like The Butcher which is a killer in the story but later on we find out that it is two guys that have planned it out and they are working together to kill people. It started off as a guy named Harris had climbed Mount Everest and fell and really hurt himself. Later on in the story he is interviewed on a talk show and he says that he can see things right before they happen like people getting killed. He is a detective in murder cases and him and a whole bunch of other officers go to the murder scene and try to figure out what happened. Further on in the story a woman named Sarah Piper which is an officer was murdered because Bollinger which is one of the Butchers was invited to her house to go have a good time but when he gets there he kills her and then eats a huge meal to make the investigation even more weird. Now he is going to go after Harris and his girlfriend Connie because Harris knows how to catch him because he can see visions of people getting hurt or killed before it happens. Last Bollinger goes after Connie and Harris and they are stuck in a big building where Harris works and Bollinger cuts off all the power and electricity so that they cannot call for help or escape. But as the story progresses Connie and Harris find a way to out smart Bollinger but climbing down the side of the building but Harris is scared because he is scared of what happened at Mount Everest. But he finally gets the courage to climb down the building and Bolling has figured out what they are doing and he tries to shoot them but instead of them getting killed he gets killed by a snowplow. Finally Harris and Connie get out and are back on the ground and they go home and that is where they fine the second half of the Butcher which is Prine who was the talk show host on television when Harris was interviewed. So Ira Predewski shoots and kills Prine and Connie and Harris live together and are going to get married as soon as Harris gets gets out of the hospital from being shot by Prine. I recommend this book to anyone who likes to stay interested in a really good action thrilled book.

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2003

    Dont look down

    The Face of Fear by Dean R. Koontz is a book that will keep you interested from page one till the end. In Manhattan, New York the Butcher is loose and looking for fresh young prey. In The Face of Fear there are a few conflicts the characters face. Harris is an ex-mountain climber who fell three hundred feet down Mt. Everest. Harris can predict murders the Butcher commits. Harris¿ girlfriend, Connie owns an antique shop. As the Butcher stalks and mutilates his prey, the detectives on the case cant figure out who the Butcher is. Harris and his girlfriend, Connie find themselves trapped in a skyscraper with the Butcher after them. Dean Koontz used figurative language throughout The Face of Fear. He was able to describe how the butcher took the life out of his prey. At some points you wondered if you were his victim. One weak point in my opinion was there weren¿t any twisters in the story. You were expecting future events to happen and then they happened. It¿s surprising on how Harris and Connie finally escape the terror of the Butcher. They were able to use supplies that had been left in the building over night. The mystery of how and where the mysterious Butcher would strike next is extremely effective in The Face of Fear. If you are ever at home bored and need a novel read, The Face of Fear. This book will keep you glued to the text the entire time. If you ever need to see how a person faces his fear read The Face of Fear.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2000

    The Face of Fear.... Such A Great Novel!!

    I absolutely loved this book. The motives for the killings, the characters, the all around theme was outstanding. Graham Harris was an excellent detective and Connie played an important role in the novel. Frank was a comanding 'Butcher'. The one thing that struck me in the end was Anthony Prine's role as Billy James Plover. That was definately a twist in the story. The only person I didn't like in the story was Ira Preduski. He didn't seem too important.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 37 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2