Customer Reviews for

Face the Winter Naked

Average Rating 4
( 75 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(26)

4 Star

(29)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

14 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

A Must Read

I LOVED this book. I could not put it down, I finished it in 2 days (if I didn't have to go to work it would have been 1) Great story of the strength of family in the toughest of times. I also enjoyed the way the in which the author wrote the story. The chapters alterna...
I LOVED this book. I could not put it down, I finished it in 2 days (if I didn't have to go to work it would have been 1) Great story of the strength of family in the toughest of times. I also enjoyed the way the in which the author wrote the story. The chapters alternate between Daniel's struggles on the road & then what was happening with his family at the same time period until they finally catch up to each other. I really was swept up in the story & was sad when I finished because I wanted more.

posted by 5832487 on July 12, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Decent read

This is a good historical novel. The ending was too abrupt, and wished the author would had drawn it out a little more. When I came to the last page, I thought there was 100 more, but they were the first pages of another novel.

posted by Anonymous on February 28, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2010

    A must read!!

    This is a must read book for teens and up to 99! Very touching novel about the Great Depression and one families struggle. If you weren't born yet, you will learn much about those times and wonder how people survived, and somehow they did just that.. Those who remember will be touched by this story as well. There is love, despair and even humor. This book was hard to put down as I couldn't wait to see where Danial would be next and if he would ever come home. I highly recommend this book.

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2012

    Should be on new york times best sellers list

    This book shoild be on new york times best seller list along side "unbroken", " the help", and "water for elephants". If you love historical fiction you will appreciate this story of a war vetran during the depression. I was surprised to read that this is the first adult book the author published given the author herself grew up during the depression. I hope to read more from this gifted writer before she retires. This book is a must read! I hope she recieves an award for her work or at least recgnition for her art of story telling. Thank you for a great read.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2011

    Great story!

    My mother often talked of the difficulties of growing up during the Depression. Reading this book I realized that it was even worse than she let on. This was a very moving book that was heart breaking to read at times. Well worth reading!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 5, 2011

    Touching

    Never sure about self published freebies, but this one is a gem. Great story with realistic characters and great historical detail. Give it a shot- you won't regret it.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 23, 2011

    Enjoyed it.

    Good, entertaining story with sort of an abrupt ending. Is there a sequel?

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 11, 2011

    Good book

    Such a sad but good read!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 11, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great story!

    This was just one of those really enjoyable stories. I loved this author's style. I also love the history witch is the backdrop of the story.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 7, 2011

    A reflection of the great depression

    I thought this was a wonderful book that reflected the truly hard life people were forced to live during the depression. A good read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2013

    Good storry. Beginning was hard to get into, but by the middle o

    Good storry. Beginning was hard to get into, but by the middle of the book, was wanting to know what happens. It was an enjoyable read and how sad things must have been in those days.


    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2012

    Well done

    The story epitomizes the struggle of one man with self judgement and Post Traumatic Stress in a time when such things were not labeled well and treated with even less effect. This is countered with his wife's own struggle with violence while trying to keep children fed and clothed under judgment by family and neighbors.

    The back drop of the great depression makes for a canvass that enhances the struggle and the cohesivness of humanity, warts and all.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2012

    Enjoyed this book

    This was a very good book, didn't want to put it down.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 19, 2013

    A great historical tale. It's easy to judge and hard to understa

    A great historical tale. It's easy to judge and hard to understand how people lived through those times. This book helps open your eyes as to how things really were.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2013

    An easy enjoyable read.

    An easy enjoyable read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2013

    I loved this book!

    Being from Missouri, the setting for this book, I thoroughly enjoyed it. The ending was a little disappointing, I would have loved to know what happened a little later on.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2012

    Excellent

    A book that stays with you after after the last page.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2012

    Recommend

    Just learning the history of the Bonus March made this book worth reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 4, 2012

    a must read

    very interesting, very eye opening

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2