Customer Reviews for

Face the Winter Naked

Average Rating 4
( 75 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(26)

4 Star

(29)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

14 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

A Must Read

I LOVED this book. I could not put it down, I finished it in 2 days (if I didn't have to go to work it would have been 1) Great story of the strength of family in the toughest of times. I also enjoyed the way the in which the author wrote the story. The chapters alterna...
I LOVED this book. I could not put it down, I finished it in 2 days (if I didn't have to go to work it would have been 1) Great story of the strength of family in the toughest of times. I also enjoyed the way the in which the author wrote the story. The chapters alternate between Daniel's struggles on the road & then what was happening with his family at the same time period until they finally catch up to each other. I really was swept up in the story & was sad when I finished because I wanted more.

posted by 5832487 on July 12, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Decent read

This is a good historical novel. The ending was too abrupt, and wished the author would had drawn it out a little more. When I came to the last page, I thought there was 100 more, but they were the first pages of another novel.

posted by Anonymous on February 28, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2011

    A Must Read

    I LOVED this book. I could not put it down, I finished it in 2 days (if I didn't have to go to work it would have been 1) Great story of the strength of family in the toughest of times. I also enjoyed the way the in which the author wrote the story. The chapters alternate between Daniel's struggles on the road & then what was happening with his family at the same time period until they finally catch up to each other. I really was swept up in the story & was sad when I finished because I wanted more.

    14 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2012

    Excellent read!

    The author does a great job giving Daniel and LaDaisy their voice as they each experience their own hardship during the depression. It is a long book but it is so interesting that I had a hard time putting it down. I was finished before I knew it. The story is set in a time not many authors write about today. I even learned a couple of things about our history. If you are looking for a really good, well written story, this book is for you.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 18, 2011

    Loved it!

    I started reading this book on a Friday night and finished it by mid day on Saturday. The only thing about the book that disappointed me was that it had to end.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 17, 2011

    Awesome!

    I loved this book, beginning to end!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 31, 2011

    Couldn't put it down!

    This was a powerful, deep story about the heartache, tragedy, and redemption of a family during the Great Depression. The characters were soulful and believable. I cannot give this book enough praise to suit it. The author normally writes children's books pertaining to Native American legends, so this is a branch out from her norm. She did an excellent job with the flow, and it was a beautiful story.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 28, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Highly Recommended

    Oh my gosh, this was just a good book. Just finished reading it and I didn't want it to end. You have to get this one. It's free and this free is worth it. I would have paid for this one.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2011

    Must Read

    Awesome read!! Was sad it ended!! Had every emotion - and makes you greatful for what you have! Read it in about 24 hours

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2013

    Excellent Book

    Wonderful book, would be especially good for a high school or college history class when talking about the Great Depression!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2012

    Great book

    This was a great book giving a fictional but personal experience of what the depression was like. It is great for the generations that didn't go through it and whose parents or grandparents do not talk much of that era.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2012

    Amazing!!!

    I absolutely loved this book. I found the characters engaging, the story well written and very moving. Highly recommended!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2012

    This book is a ten!!!

    The author has a great gift for drawing the reader into the lives of her characters. This book can not be put down until its conclusion. This will be my next recommendation for our book club. Can not wait to read more of Bonnies work.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2012

    very good

    I really enjoyed this book and can believe that this may have happened to some families during the depression. i would recommend this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2012

    I really recommend this to everyone.

    This is a very interesting historical fiction and I have already recommended it to many friends. Very good!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 12, 2011

    Great book!!!!

    Couldnt put it down! It was amazing!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2014

    A must read, couldn't put it down.

    A must read, couldn't put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2013

    Heartwrenching and real.

    I literally could not stop til I finished. This is one of the best in a long time. You grow to love the characters, and their ordeals.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2012

    Bella

    Make me ur slave

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2