Customer Reviews for

Facebook: The Missing Manual

Average Rating 3.5
( 26 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

A nice book that fills in the blanks

I had just started to explore using my own Facebook account, when I decided it would be a good idea to have a Facebook "fan page" for my office at the college I work at. So, while out at the local B&N, I thought the Facebook: The Missing Manual would help clue me into ...
I had just started to explore using my own Facebook account, when I decided it would be a good idea to have a Facebook "fan page" for my office at the college I work at. So, while out at the local B&N, I thought the Facebook: The Missing Manual would help clue me into how to best utilize the FB website for use with my office, and also help me better use FB for my own use. The book helped for both cases.

The book was a good bridge to understanding how Facebook could be utilized for personal and professional uses. And, without having to explore other websites and "help" menus on FB, the book helped to explain the basics and advanced uses of FB.

Although the book didn't delve into many topics related to "fan" pages, the overall layout of the book and information was useful to figuring out the basics to FaceBook. For those of us in our 40s and beyond, the book is a great bargain and a treasure trove of information to understanding one of the most important social media sites of the 21st century (at least as of 2010, that is).

A nice "starter" book to read about Facebook, although technical issues are probably better hashed out in larger (i.e., more expensive) books, I would certainly recommend the "Missing Manual" book on FB, and many of their other titles. O'reilly overall has a nice little series of books for a plethora of computer and Internet-related topics, and the books are great to for those looking to get an understanding of many "scary" or "alien" tech-related topics.

posted by UncleDennis on March 2, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

It's a shame

The layout was great, the copy entertaining, there was just one problem -- facebook has changed everything around. I wish there was an updated on-line.

posted by Dreampusher on February 20, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 10 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted March 2, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A nice book that fills in the blanks

    I had just started to explore using my own Facebook account, when I decided it would be a good idea to have a Facebook "fan page" for my office at the college I work at. So, while out at the local B&N, I thought the Facebook: The Missing Manual would help clue me into how to best utilize the FB website for use with my office, and also help me better use FB for my own use. The book helped for both cases.

    The book was a good bridge to understanding how Facebook could be utilized for personal and professional uses. And, without having to explore other websites and "help" menus on FB, the book helped to explain the basics and advanced uses of FB.

    Although the book didn't delve into many topics related to "fan" pages, the overall layout of the book and information was useful to figuring out the basics to FaceBook. For those of us in our 40s and beyond, the book is a great bargain and a treasure trove of information to understanding one of the most important social media sites of the 21st century (at least as of 2010, that is).

    A nice "starter" book to read about Facebook, although technical issues are probably better hashed out in larger (i.e., more expensive) books, I would certainly recommend the "Missing Manual" book on FB, and many of their other titles. O'reilly overall has a nice little series of books for a plethora of computer and Internet-related topics, and the books are great to for those looking to get an understanding of many "scary" or "alien" tech-related topics.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2008

    You thought you knew Facebook, read this book first!

    If you love Facebook, Facebook: The Missing Manual is a must have. I¿m a 36 year old professional that has hundreds of contacts ranging from kids I coached high school football and basketball for, and the other associates I have met over time as being the president of various organizations. My initial experience using this site was rather frustrating because it was difficult finding people, especially those my age. After a while, I managed to find a couple people, however my experience with Facebook was the equivalent of the large sigh my little doggy does when he is bored. Then came Facebook: The Missing Manual. Not only did this book give me a better understanding regarding ¿friends¿ and ¿Networks¿, but it reversed my impression of how useful this site can be. For me two big selling points became very useful for me. The first one is the support for multiple browsers, especially those that are very popular with the OS X operating system. For example, uploading pictures to Facebook was as simple as allowing a Java program (using the Safari browser) from Facebook to work with my iPhoto library. Since I already have my pictures organized in the iPhoto program, it was a matter uploading albums versus individual pictures. This was a huge improvement from other sites you try to upload to. The second point was the mobile phone feature allowing the ability to send notifications and messages from Facebook, and in turn being able to text back in a reply to my messages. Now that may not mean much to you, but the really creative part about it is that you have the ability to control the what and when it comes to receiving messages over your phone. After reading majority of the chapters, it also brought to my attention how I can export my address book, or create an email list to find individuals I have networked with in the past. By becoming aware of how to utilize and integrate my other forms of networking with Facebook, this allowed me to improve the amount of connections I was able to make by 300%. I also enjoyed the creative ways that the book explained how you can create events, hire, job search, and promote your business. These features are important for me, especially now that I have a DJ business, and a best friend running for political office. I can inform my whole network, and be able to gauge those that will come to an event. Trial and error are the ways I normally learned, however the time I spent reading this book made me have a better appreciation of what I was using. The book was well balanced using photos and written instructions. A good book to use, especially if you tend to be a kinesthetic or visual type of learner. I¿m sure that Facebook will eventually become integrated further with the way we communicate with each other. This book explains the present, and the promise of using this website. I highly recommend the book. For me personally, it was one of the best things I could have read to enhance my life as an IT and volunteering professional. I thought I knew a lot, but I was only using 15 of the features available. Now I utilize about 30, and the time I spend using the site has been cut down in half, but I communicate with people on the site more efficiently by using the tools identified in Facebook: The Missing Manual. It was definitely time well spent reading this book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2008

    IN YOUR FACEBOOK!!

    Are you a computer novice or an Internet expert? If you are, then this book is for you. Author E. Vander Veer, has done an outstanding job of writing a book that explains what kinds of things you can do with Facebook, and how to go about doing them. Vander Veer, begins by showing you how to sign up for an account, fill your profile, and get to your personalized Facebook home page. Then, the author starts you off with a network of school or work buddies. Next, she shows you how to look up old friends and find new ones with Facebook. The author also shows you how to send private messages to other Facebook members. She continues by showing you how to sign up for and tweak automatic updates. Then, the author shows you how find, join, and participate in groups--and how to start your own. Next, she shows you how to find out what events are happening in your area, who¿s attending, and how to set up your own events. The author also shows you how you can use Facebook Marketplace to buy or sell just about anything. She continues by showing you how to work the job pool from both angles. Then, the author gives Facebook¿s messaging and subscription tools a decidedly business spin. Next, she explores your options for advertising on Facebook, which range from free to affordable to don¿t even think about it. Finally, the author also explains Facebook¿s privacy issues, and then gives you strategies for staying safe--from up-front planning to adjusting Facebook¿s privacy settings to after-the-fact damage control. This most excellent book fully explains what kinds of things you can do on Facebook, and how to go about doing them. But, more importantly, this book guides you through the staggering forest of privacy options so you can get the most out of Facebook with the least amount of risk.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2014

    Hi

    Hey

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2014

    Facebook

    Good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2014

    GROSS

    PLEASE SEARCH IT I WILL LOV U FOREVER IT'S NOT A BOOK IT IS A SAYING SOMBODY SD ON HERE N I WANT MY SISTER TO SEE IT...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2013

    Gat

    Asweome book more ppl should read it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2012

    King

    Fecabook- it is very beg info cite.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 10 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1