Customer Reviews for

Faces in the Fire

Average Rating 4.5
( 14 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 8 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted December 29, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A clever and bizarre story that made me think of the movie Memento

    Kurt is a sculptor with no memory of his past. He starts digging and discovers that he's miraculously healed from major body trauma. Doctors are baffled. And the private eye is spooked and tells him he should stop digging.

    There are four main characters, and each story comes into contact with another. Each person experiences a supernatural phenomenon, whether it's hearing or seeing ghosts, creating tattoos with prophetic messages, or killing with the touch of a finger. These four are all connected, but will their lives end in disaster or redemption?

    Wow. What a clever and bizarre story. It reminds me a bit of that movie Memento. In fact, someone should make this into a movie. It's got Oscar winner written all over it. It's a story that hooks you with a mystery, then tosses twists and turns so fast you almost can't catch them. Your brain is spinning to guess what might happen, how it all might tie together, and BAM! I totally didn't see that end coming. A very awesome adventure. My mind is still spinning. Nicely done, Mr. Hines.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2009

    Wonderful Book!

    TL Hines - Faces in the fire

    I really enjoyed reading this book. It follows 4 people and is in 4 different segments. I was drawn into each story. Each of their lives is heading down the wrong path and each intertwined story helps them search and find the right path to follow that will be best for them. It was a great read and I have and will continue to recomend it to others.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Awesome book!

    This morning I finished Face in the Fire by T.L. Hines. It's my first book by this author but if this book is any indication of how he write is definitely won't be my last.

    The book follows four individuals through almost four separate stories and how their lives intertwine. The book genre is different from the normal book I'd pick up but I'm so glad I did. The narrative format of the book is unique and if not done right would have been horrid but this is done right. The random chapter numbering drove me nuts at first (it's my "need for order" issue) but I quickly "got it" and it works.
    Seriously, this is one of the best books I've read in a long time. I was entertained, I wanted to see what happened next, I couldn't wait to finish the book but in a good way - I wanted to see what happened. To be honest, I can often tell you what's going to happen in a book after the first few chapters. It wasn't until the end of this book (last couple chapters) that I finally got the whole thing - which was good.

    They book is described as suspense - I don't know that I'd necessarily classify it that way but I can see that.

    In all honestly, I can't say enough about how great this book was. I'll definitely be recommending it to friends.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 30, 2009

    I Loved it

    When I first started the book, I thought it was just a story about a quirky character who heard voices of the dead. I didn't expect the eloquent weaving of stories that would eventually reach a surprising and dramatic end.

    The characters are richly and thoroughly developed. The chapters are oddly numbered out of order and starting with chapter 34. As the story unfolds and the other characters take a turn at telling their stories, it all makes perfect sense. If I had I read about each of them in another book, I may have had little sympathy for any of them, but the way the author brings together their lives and their desire for redemption made me see something special in them.

    The book is listed as Fiction/Christian/Suspense. If you are expecting a Christian book that clearly spells out a salvation message, you will be disappointed, but if you want a richly written character driven novel with the subtle message of redemption, you will enjoy this interesting and remarkable book. If you are the type of person that avoids Christian lit, I think you will be very surprised by this one. I highly recommend Faces in the Fire.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 21, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Faces in the fire by T.L Hines

    How do I begin to describe this book? It is an amazing book that's fast-paced and keeps you turning the pages! One of the cool things I noted (It's kind of hard to miss) is that the chapters are not in chronological order, but the story still makes sense! Four people who have a supernatural gift and a ten digit number that powers them at one point or another during the story. The characters touch each others lives.

    I loved how during a chapter you would see through different characters eyes, and see their story! It was truly amazing how it all came together in the end! I was not expecting it at all! This book is dark and suspenseful and fantastic all at once! It's a must read easily!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 17, 2009

    Gripping Read

    Faces in the Fire (published by Thomas Nelson) was my introduction to the work of T.L. Hines. The book pulled me in immediately, but it took me a few chapters to realize that they, the chapters, were all mixed up, disjointed, and set within stanzas that served to separate the stories within the story. I also noticed the shadows of handwritten titles and chapter numbers behind the printed ones. That in itself was intriguing, and although this is a fiction suspense thriller, described as "noir bizarre," I found myself underlining character quotes, phrases, symbols, names, and other bits of information-trying to put pieces of the puzzle together. I finished the book a few days ago, but it continues to haunt me.

    "Sometimes as humans, we need to move backwards before we can move forward."

    Faces in the Fire revolves around 4 characters. Kurt is the truck driver/sculptor who can't remember his past but is haunted by ghosts. Corinne is the e-mail spammer diagnosed with lymphoma who embraces the basement of her past. Grace is the tattoo artist/heroin addict running from her past, and Stan is the hit man who is a prisoner of his past.

    In a sense, the book reminded me a little of the concept of 6 degrees of separation. The lives of major and even minor characters are "coincidentally" intertwined through their attempts to find some sense of identity and significance. Threads of numbers, catfish, ghosts, shoes, locked doors, fire, human and supernatural touch and voices run throughout.

    This is an easy read and will appeal to anyone who wants to sit on the edge of their seat, continually turn just one more page, and be surprised in the end. It's a great, yet weird, story with loose ends attached--much like our own lives, often disjointed and frayed at the edges, with shadows of the past that we can choose to embrace or overcome in time.

    I saw hope, redemption, and freedom for those facing the fires of life, those who have been burned, and even "bottom feeders" when grace knocks on the door and is invited in. We can find our true face, and old things can indeed become new.

    I recommend this book and will likely read it again.

    Member of Thomas Nelson Book Review Blogger Program
    http://brb.thomasnelson.com/

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 11, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Faces in the Fire by T. l. Hines Thomas Nelson Publisher Reviewed by Heather Goldsmith

    Faces in the Fire follows the lives of four characters on a journey of self-discovery. Kurt, Corrine, Grace and Stan are flawed human beings with dark pasts and less than bright futures. Through unseen forces, a catfish, and numbers scribbled on a napkin, their lives intersect and intertwine. As the story of their lives unfolds, each if faced with the choice to continue down the path of destruction or take the road to redemption.

    Author T. L. Hines weaves an intricate and suspenseful story. At times, I did find his shifts between each character's past and present to be frustratingly short and choppy. But despite this small fault in composition, the story is excellently written. Emotionally charged, Faces in the Fire is one of those books that grabs you and holds you to the end. I cringed at each character's missteps and cheered their development. I thoroughly enjoyed Faces in the Fire and recommend it without reservation.


    (I am a member of Thomas Nelson's Book Review Blogger program. Besides receiving a free copy of the book to review, I have not been financially compensated in any way. Opinions expressed in this review are entirely my own. To learn more about Thomas Nelson's Book Review Blogger program, please visit the following link: http://brb.thomas nelson.com)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 27, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    a haunting thriller

    Truck driver Kurt Marlowe goes to estate sales to buy the clothing of dead people. Kurt has a special paranormal talent as clothing communicates with him, which leads to him creating metal sculptures from the images the clothing transmit to him.

    Kurt has no memory of his past so he is pleased to meet lymphoma sufferer Corrine who has a catfish tattoo that was given to her by Grace who has a tie to Stan the assassin. These four begin to interact with one another while dealing with a set of numbers on a napkin that make no sense to any of them, but keeps reappearing. Together they may break this code; separately the code will break them.

    Character driven by the unlikable quartet, FACES IN THE FIRE is a haunting thriller as readers (and the foursome) wonder what is gong on and what next until the climax brings everything together; sort of. In many ways the story line feels like a surreal mystery that though in content different kept reminding me of the movie The Cube. Fans who prefer something radically different but refreshingly unique will relish reading T.L Hines' novels like THE UNSEEN and his latest psychological perhaps even supernatural thriller.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 8 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1