Customer Reviews for

Facing Autism: Giving Parents Reasons for Hope and Guidance for Help

Average Rating 5
( 8 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(7)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 8 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2003

    Sick of it

    Content great, but I'm sick of the noble parent routine and acting like Autism is just the worst thing in the world you could hear. Can we get some optimism people?? How about what the kids taught us? We are beholden to our children, NT or autistic to provide them the best way to navigate in this world. I will not betray my children by regretting who they are. A large part of who 2 of my 3 children are is autism. The truth of the matter is that there is nothing to mourn. Our children are who they are. We do what we do because that is what we have to do as good parents. I really like this book but just the title 'Facing Autism' Like you're talking about leukemia or some dread disease...I would love to see a book with a title like 'So your kid has autism...Get over yourself and get off your butt and help him.' OK maybe not that harsh, but still.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2007

    Excellent Resource

    This book is an excellent resource for anyone with an autistic child. I was lucky enough to know/work with Lynn, and know her personal story. My copy of this book has been read dozens of times by friends and family, as well as patients and families I serve. It is always the first reference people take from my shelves, and the one they always say 'I have to get my own copy of this!'

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2005

    Facing Autism: Giving Parents Reasons for Hope and Guidance for Help

    Well written roadmap for helping your child with Autism. This book is an excellent resource for anyone with an Autistic child. Make this book the first one you read!!! Not only will it give you a path to help your child, but gives you hope as well to hear Ryan's story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2005

    Facing Autism: Giving Parents Reasons for Hope and Guidance for Help

    One of our twin boys was diagnosed with regressive autism at 2 years old. I have worked for 15 years as a professional helping people with developmental disabilites, but not once over that 15 years did I ever learn ANYTHING about what is in this book! We have followed Lynn's path, laid before her by the researchers & scientists of the DAN! movement (Defeat Autism Now!) We were afraid to even hope, but determined to at least give biomedical & ABA interventions a try. After all, we had nothing to lose; we already felt like we had lost our son. He never slept, outings were a nightmare, he never looked at us, he banged his head on the floor and his crib until he bruised, and he lost all his language. But just 6 months after starting on the path Lynn blazed for us, our little boy is 'coming back'!Eye contact is back, social skills are back, he's no longer in pain, and he sleeps through the night! He even plays WITH his twin! He's so happy now! I can never thank you enough, Lynn, for teaching us the way to save our little boy! May God bless you & the amazing and brilliant people of DAN!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2001

    An excellent resource with all the answers you are looking for

    THE book for parents... all the answers I wish I would have had when my daughter was first diagnosed PDD-NOS. Well written, easy to understand, full of resources, and hard to put down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2000

    One of the best new books I've read on autism!

    Lynn Hamilton's 'Facing Autism: Giving Parents Reasons for Hope and Guidance for Help' has an amazing wealth of information on so many topics of interest. Lynn has researched and skillfully organized information on many different treatments and therapies. She describes in detail her experiences with Applied Behavior Analysis, provides information on cutting-edge biomedical treatments, and discusses dietary intervention. You will find explanations of sensory and auditory therapies, plus much more. A must-read guidebook for parents of autistic children. This is one book that I would not advise you check out from a library. I think you should have your very own copy. You will find that you want to underline information, mark pages, and have the book on hand for future reference. Lynn points you to helpful Internet sites, provides addresses for further information on many topics, gives practical tips on keeping records, tax deductions and funding sources. She lists ten things every parent can do right now to help their child. You will find pages and pages of solid, no-nonsense information for parents, especially those new to autism, and to help you find the resources you need.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2000

    Thee handbook for the Parents of an Autisitc child

    'Facing Autism' organizes and simplifies the onslaught of information beseiging parents just receiving the dreaded diagnosis for their child. Other parents in the same situation, I have found, are the most reliable and current resource. Parent friendly and practical, this book is written by Lynn, mother of Ryan, a child with Autism. A must for the parents of a newly diagnosed child, and a richly informational handbook for other parents and professionals. Applied Behavior Analysis, Diet Intervention, Medical Therapies, as well as navigation through the Public Education System are explained to make sense. My hope is that each time a diagnosis is given, 'Facing Autism' is handed to the parents at the same time, as their first ray of hope.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2000

    Facing Autism...A must read!

    This book is truly a must read for all those who are involved with autism! The author explores a variety of areas within autism and along the way gives her son's experience with them!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 8 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1