BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Facing Your Giants: The God Who Made a Miracle Out of David Stands Ready to Make One Out of You

Average Rating 4
( 105 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(59)

4 Star

(26)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 106 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted January 9, 2010

    Excellent Study Based on the Life of David

    This book is written in a contemporary style. It is easy and fun to read, presenting biblical facts with practical everyday applications. It encourages and gives hope to those of us who are still "works-in-progress".

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2007

    Lucado makes it easy to face your giants

    One of the best things about this book is all the great examples that Lucado gave. He gives so many examples of how to apply the Christian life to your family, marriage, and etc. Another really great thing about this book is thatn the author is able to paint a picture in your head. While you are reading there is a movie playing inside your head. There was only one thing that I didn't like and that was that the book ended. This is an awesome book, and I recommend it to anyone who wants a closer realtionship with Christ. This just might be the best book I have ever read.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 20, 2009

    This will have you on your knees

    You'll see David in a new light and realize how much like him you really are, and just how much Gods loves you and is willing to reconcile you unto Himself. Amazing

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Truly Breath Taking!

    What a book, what a book! I could balry put this book down. I took it everywhere i went,just in case i could squeeze in some reading! This book was totally life changing! Truley amazing how he can write a book on just one person! I totally enjoyed this book and would deffinantly read it again!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 29, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Writer is right on.

    I have several of Max Lucado's books, each one is insightful and written with the reader in mind. Easy reading for the beginner, but full of wisdom and knowledge for the ones who read hardcore.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2007

    life 101

    This should be required reading for everyone old enough to obtain a drivers license, because this has incredible real-life application to give someone hope in the midst of adversity by Davids example, regardless if their giant is struggling marriage, abuse, alcohol, drugs, ... you name it... this applies!!!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2011

    Highly Recommended!

    I listened to this book and I love its message. It takes seemingly prehistoric concepts of war, carrying the altar, and being hunted and makes them applicable to real life without it seeming like a stretch. Its easy to relate to and is a great springboard to to get your faith going.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 3, 2010

    Facing Your Giants by Max Lucado

    Everyday, we are troubled by our pursuits to find the perfect job, to be in a relationship, to make more money... the list goes on. We all have our personal struggles, and these struggles consume us. These are our giants. We know what they are, but what we don't know is how to face these giants and look them in the eye.

    In Facing Your Giants, Max Lucado connects King David's journey with our everyday battles. David's story is composed of so much more than how he defeated Goliath. David made many mistakes, and his relationship with the Lord was far from perfect. Like David, we need to be reminded that with God's help, we can conquer anything-even if we aren't the smartest, the strongest, or even the holiest.

    Facing Your Giants is the first Max Lucado book I've ever read, and to be honest, reading through the many Bible verses took some getting used to. However, the book was well worth my time. I had very little knowledge of David before reading this book, and I very much appreciated how Lucado shows us that David was so. human.

    This book is perfect for people who, like me, occasionally need to be reminded:
    Focus on giants-you stumble.
    Focus on God-your giants tumble.

    ---
    I received a complimentary copy of this book from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of BookSneeze, which is a book review bloggers program. Find out more at BookSneeze.com :)

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 13, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Life Application teaching & an easy read!

    This is a great book that is helpful for almost anyone who's going through or has gone through a rough spot in life... that's you too! It has a simple teaching style with great life application lessons; goes great with the study guide for a small group or couples study (my wife and I went through it together and loved it)!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2007

    Extremely supportive

    Max Lucado's book continues to strengthen and encourage me long after I read it. I have referred to it often when I needed help the most.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 7, 2010

    Really Good book

    David was a man after Gods own heart. He did many good and bad things in his life. He also had many stumbles and in this case giants. David was just like us. He had girl problems, money problem, she even had to battle his own literal giant. He had habits he wasn't able to break, failures he couldn't seem to forget, but when focusing on God he was able to get through it all. We all go through it, grades we can't seem to make, people we can't seem to please, but with God on our side nothing is impossible.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 16, 2010

    Great inspirational book

    This book is very easy to read and is enjoyable to read. It has good ideas on how to overcome obstacles in our lives using the life of David. I have thoroughly enjoyed it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 12, 2010

    Facing your Giants is a great read

    This book on the life of King David is quite appropriate for so many different situations in life. Taking a look at the life of David gives us insight into why the Bible calls him "...a man after God's own heart." Through his ups and downs, trials, tradgedies and triumphs we see how David sought to maintain his connection with God and how he treated his friends and enemies.

    I learned a lot about David that I didn't know before. There were stories that I had never read or heard before. There were so many lessons to be learned from each story. Each chapter in the book brought out new and interesting principles that I can apply to my life. I recommend that everyone read this book. I have suggested that our men's ministry group read this book as a weekly devotional.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 1, 2010

    Great Book

    Now this is not normally the kind of book I usually choose to read. But I was pleasantly surprised at how easy it was to read. It was an easy and fun read. The Biblical facts are presented with practical everyday applications. This book gives encouragement and hope to those that read it. The correlation of comparing us to David and the everyday challenges we face as Goliath is a good way to look at things. It shows is that having faith in God and with hard work we really can handle our challenges. Just like David was able to handle Goliath.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 8, 2008

    facing your giants

    Facing Your Giants is a book that helped me a lot with my faith and getting to know God better. It is written by an inspiring writer named Max Lucado. He takes you through a series of stories in the bible that relate to real life, so you can relate to it. This book inspired me to be a Christian every day, not just on sundays and wednesdays when I go to church. If you are struggling with a giant in your life, man is this the book for you! One of the giants that I had in my life was questioning God for some of the bad stuff that happened in my life. By reading this book I realized that everything happens for a reason, and that helped me a lot. I also learned that by fighting trough some of the bad stuff good things will happen to you. The patience that it taught me has carried over into a lot of other events in my life. In school, I am more patient now when I don¿t understand something instead of getting upset immediately. That has resulted in me being a lot happier and getting better grades. That is just one of the many learning experiences that can be learned by reading this inspiring book. Max Lucado does a great job of connecting real-life events to events that had happened in the biblical times. I would recommend this book to anyone struggling with their faith, or wanting to build their faith. This is truly one of the best books that I have read. It has helped me so much and I would be lost if I didn¿t read this book. If I had to give this book a rating out of five stars, it would definitely be a five.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2007

    Awesome!

    Lucado looks to David's life to help us, modern-day Christians, with our problems or 'giants'. This book really helped me grom in my faith and helped me overcome some of my 'giants' that have plagues my walk with Christ. It's an amazing book that will help anyone from newborn Christian to life-long follwer of Christ Jesus. I highly recommend it. God Bless!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2006

    Lucado's done it again!

    Superb, insightful, and motivating is how I'd rate this book. He describes an expositoary devotional based on the life of David and clearly expains it point by point on how it could apply to your life. A definite best seller! Other Christian titles suggested below.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 10, 2014

    Fantastica must read.

    This book was awesome. It gave great insight on personal issues and dealing with your own issues. If you're battling with personal issues and need insight on Gods great gift read this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2013

    Just read the sample

    I just read the sample and it a good one cant wait to read the rest- daisy

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2013

    Wow!

    "The name of the book says it all"

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 106 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6