Customer Reviews for

Facing Your Giants: The God Who Made a Miracle Out of David Stands Ready to Make One Out of You

Average Rating 4
( 105 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(59)

4 Star

(26)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 59 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 3
  • Posted February 12, 2011

    reallh inspiring

    i recommend this book to everyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 25, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Max Lucado's book "Facing Your Giants" is modernly poetic. Lucado's style of writing is sophisticated yet understatedly simple.

    Max Lucado's book "Facing Your Giants" is modernly poetic. Lucado's style of writing is sophisticated yet understatedly simple. In this book Lucado takes the reader on a journey through the life of biblical hero David. You see David's good and bad and how he faces his giants the different times of his life. I think it's important to learn from other people's mistakes, it allows you to save yourself from the misery of making the same mistakes and having to face the consequences of such. Lucado does a great job of relating David's giants; to the giants we face today. I mean how many of us will be gunned down by our best friends father because we were just declared king? My guess is none. My favorite bit of advice from Lucado is the fact that David took five stones to fight Goliath. He suggests using your five fingers to remember those five rocks and what they stand for the fight your giant. In fact I am constantly looking at my fingers reminding myself of those stones. If a young-teenage Sheppard boy can beat his giant, I can beat mine. There is also a very helpful study guide to finish the book off.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2010

    Another excellent book by Max Lucado

    This is one of my favorite books that I have read by Max Lucado, although I do love all of his books that I have read. In this book he closely follows the life of David and then relates the events of his life to events that most of us face in our lives. I really enjoyed learning more about David and was inspired by the life he led, even though there were large "mess-ups" and giants that he had to face and overcome.

    I really think Lucado does a phenomenal job relating our struggles with the struggles of David. He continually points out that if we are God-focused then we can overcome these obstacles. He uses scripture to show when David was God-focused and when he was giant-focused. I think too often in my life I focus on what is troubling me and now who will help me face the troubles.

    I would recommend this book to absolutely anyone. We all face giants in our lives so this can help us prepare for upcoming "battles" or it would be a wonderful book for someone who is currently going through a hard time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 5, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Helpful and Encouraging!

    I haven't read a lot of Max Lucado's books before this, but enough to be drawn to his writing and the messages he produces within his titles. This is the 3rd of his books that I have read so far, and I would have to say that this is probably my favorite one yet. It was encouraging, helpful, and inspiring. He related different hinderences and troubles in life in a walk with Christ with different events in David's life...from being a lowly shepherd boy to slaying David to his trials and triumphs as king of Jerusalem. Through those many events, Max points out similarities in problems facing many people, and the few steps to recognizing the giants in life and then toppling them. I recommend this book to absolutely anyone! This book contains answers to overcoming the fears, follies, obstacles, and trials in each person's life. 2 thumbs up on this book! Check it out people! Though I have not read the majority of them yet, spare 1, I have listed several other books by Max Lucado below that are sure to be excellent reads. I plan to check them all out eventually. (It's Not About Me is the only one below that I have read, and it was very good...I recommend it). God bless everyone!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Max Ratings

    Max Lucado is known for his encouraging books, and this book is no exception. Here, he studies King David, both the good and the bad, to show us how to face the giants in our lives.

    The ultimate lesson is simple, when your focus is on God, giants fall. Yet he uses stories from first and second Samuel, both the good and the bad, to show us how this played out in David's life.

    The book works as a biography, showing us the events in David's life as they happened. While most chapters are a self contained lesson, it does allow us to see how one event often led to another.

    Obviously, we see David fighting Goliath. But we also see him hiding from Saul, his friendship with Jonathan, hiding with the enemy, keeping his promises, falling into adultery and murder with Bathsheba, and watching his own children spin out of control. From this we learn the importance of friends and family, but ultimately the importance of putting our focus on God.

    Max Lucado very rarely brings anything new to the table. That's certainly the case here. There is very little I haven't heard before. But he always puts such a fresh, encouraging spin on things, I always see things in a new light. And even when admonishing us, he still does it gently.

    I set this book down reluctantly when I finished. My heart was encouraged, and my focus was where it needed to be, God. If you need some help remembering where your focus needs to be, this book is for you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2007

    Recommend!!

    I enjoyed this book. Max Lucado writes on a level that everyone can understand and benefit from. This book covers everything that can be a giant in our lives. It helped me a lot.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2007

    book of courage

    max lucado always seems to know what to write about at just the right time. all of his books seem to come out at just the right moment. now he has writtion a new best seller which I really love and simply could not put down it is called 'facing your giants' he uses comparisons of david and goliath to show that whean we have problems in our life like divorce or death or whean we are hurting or we just dont know were to turn it is like david facing the giant but max lucado shows in this book that with christ on our side we can truly find courage to face our giants

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2006

    Lucado delivers...AGAIN!

    Could not put it down! I think it is one of his best, and I've read them all. Deep biblical truths, laced in fantastic, down-to-earth stories which are sure to reach a multitude of people. Thank you again, Max.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 59 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 3