Customer Reviews for

Facts of Life: And Other Lessons My Father Taught Me

Average Rating 4.5
( 18 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 18 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2013

    Shinepool to Edenstr

    Umm i just saw the cerimony in result eight. U kno how i sed tht Flamekit wanted me as a mentor? I dont thnk Whitewing is me. Sp

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2013

    Prophecy from StarClan

    The blooming flower, the animal of fluff, and the darkest color shall join together. They will journy to the suns end to create peace in the unknown clan. Hidden enemies will shadow their footsteps but the anim of fluff with show it's true power.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2013

    Whitekit

    But i want to be one when im old enough

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2013

    Bearclaw

    "Inkkit and Ashkit are ready to be apprentices. Inkkit has requested me to be her mentor." ~Bearclaw

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2013

    To edenstar

    Can i be an apprentice. I am five in a hf moons but i am leaving for a week. But can i keep my name as copper instead of copperpaw.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2013

    Whitewing

    "Hey Edenstar, when are you going to type the rest of the clan list?"

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2013

    Petalfall

    I can mentor.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2013

    Edenstar

    "Ok." She padded out

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2013

    To eden

    (I forgot to put drizzlekit description in the stuff to hear it os) DRIZZLEKIT-AGE-5 moons. RANK:Kit. FAMILY: nighwing and spirtblaze. Swankit mistykit and others. DESCRIPTION: i light black tom with light blue eyes. TRAITS:stubborn,not the shapest knife,kind,and loyal

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2013

    Nightwing

    ........ *ealks out*

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2013

    Icetail

    Ok, revise that. Just furykit needs to be apprenticed. But i can still mentor

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2013

    EDENSTARS DEN

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2002

    Wonderful book !

    I wasn't surprised at all to thoroughly enjoy this book as I had also enjoyed Lisa's first venture as an author, 'Creative Correction.' Lisa's sense of humor and writing style makes it fun and easy to read what she wants to convey to us readers: That Jesus is there for us in every decision we need to make and that He knows better than we do what's best for us. I'm now looking forward to Lisa's third book 'Finding God in America' that she's writing now while her family is on a year-long RV trip across the USA.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2001

    Great book!

    I really enjoyed reading Lisa's book. I truly felt like I had sat down with a good friend over a cup of tea and shared some great stories and insight. Thanks Lisa--cant wait for your next book. Maureen Ballard mom of Liam Martin 4 yrs old

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2001

    Just The 'Facts' Ma'am

    What makes 'The Facts of Life: and Other Lessons My Father Taught Me' such a joy to read is how author Lisa Whelchel envelops the reader with an uncanny intimacy, as if it's not just her life story she's telling, but YOURS can begin here too, by inviting us into a relationship with her Heavenly Father--the REAL central figure of the book--and she does this in a way that is not at all intrusive, awkward, or discomforting. Rather than sounding off with coldly didactic sermons, Lisa guides the reader into a journey that began with her heartwarming 'adoption' story into the family of God at a church altar call at the age of ten, and from there realized God's call in her life as a series of unfolding demonstrations of His will. She sticks to the major turning points of her life that are equal parts pleasure and pain--confronted with a traumatic personal crisis or difficult choice, she turns to her faith in Christ and to God's word for instruction, and finds her answers and solutions from her gently leading Father. On top of this, she prompts the reader to take whatever concerns and crises s/he may have to God--for there, victory is assured. These stories also segue from one to the next, making them consistent and maintaining a constant flow--none of the chapters are isolated from one another. We watch her dealing with 'minor' inner issues such her feelings of low self-esteem as a child and how she hatched out of her shell of insecurity, to facing major medical crises involving the births of her three children. Like a fine episodic drama (or a good sitcom), she keeps us hanging on through it all. One has never considered that the blonde, beautiful and sheltered 'Blair Warner' would have such an adventure in life. A great read from an author we should look forward to hearing from in the future.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2001

    Great Reading!

    I thoroughly enjoyed this book. I couldn't put it down until I was finished with the entire book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2001

    THE FACTS OF REAL LIFE

    This girl is real, and she lives a real life - not one free of problems or heartache, but a life filled with the knowledge that she has help within reach at all times. She is a great writer - I couldn't put the book down. I especially loved the chapter 'Love Mom'. I can't wait for her next book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 18 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1