Customer Reviews for

Fade (Wake Trilogy Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 664 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(394)

4 Star

(164)

3 Star

(77)

2 Star

(23)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

29 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

Reviewed by Randstostipher "tallnlankyrn" Nguyen for TeensReadToo.com

As one case closes another one opens. Janie Hannagan returns, this time using her abilities of being swept into a person's dreams to solve a sex scandal at her school.

Several calls have been made on Fieldridge High School's anonymous phone line. Although inau...
As one case closes another one opens. Janie Hannagan returns, this time using her abilities of being swept into a person's dreams to solve a sex scandal at her school.

Several calls have been made on Fieldridge High School's anonymous phone line. Although inaudible at times, the messages result in the assumption that certain faculty members and students at Fieldridge have been fooling around. So Captain and her agents use their closest resources to try and crack the case, meaning Janie and Cabel will have to figure out what is going on. Objection at first by Cabel, but Janie gives the final decision and both are on the case.

While the investigation continues, Janie is given the chance to finally see what lies ahead for her. Hardly given any information about her ability, Captain gives Janie a box full of papers written by Martha Stubin that not only contains her secrets and past, but the positive and negative effects of helping others with their dreams. Although she may have a clue with what these effects are, Janie isn't so sure she is ready to confirm what she already knows.

With the intensity of the case and her outcome, Cabel isn't so sure he can handle the danger that Janie puts herself in, and their relationship begins to weaken. Will they be able to get through this case peacefully or will it tear them apart?

As a highly anticipated sequel to WAKE, FADE certainly lives up to expectations. Along with Janie, readers will be able to delve deeper into the enormity of Janie's ability and the strain that it causes not only on her but also on Cabel.

The simplicity of the writing and the creativity of the plot will leave an imprint of the reader, causing it to never FADE from their mind.

posted by TeensReadToo on October 28, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Disappointing...

(SPOILERS IN HERE!) Okay well as we all know, Wake was Amazing! But, this sequel I really did not like. First off, the ending is sooo bittersweet it makes the entire series depressing. I hope this isn't a spoiler but, Janie learns how her power gives her more bad side-e...
(SPOILERS IN HERE!) Okay well as we all know, Wake was Amazing! But, this sequel I really did not like. First off, the ending is sooo bittersweet it makes the entire series depressing. I hope this isn't a spoiler but, Janie learns how her power gives her more bad side-effects like, blindness at 25 years old! Her hands are gonna like, squish up. And, that gonna leave Cabel with a blind old lady when there in their 20's. Ugh, that would suck. And for what? To just do some crime work? And she can never get out of it. She cant ever stop her deterioration. I'd be f'n pissed. And in the end, when Janie accomplishes her goal when she goes undercover in a crime, the whole aspect ALmost makes it believable, but not quite. It could have been amazing, it just didn't quite make it for some reason for me. Ugh, Im really mad at Lisa McMann for writing such a disappointing sequel. I mean, I'll still read the 3rd book, because there are still a lot of unanswered questions. Another complaint I had was I hated Cabel and Janie's relationship this time. I hated that (SPOILER) they eventually did it together. I mean, I'm not against that, I just think it was placed in a really odd area of the book, like it was no big deal. It didn't seem to add anything to the story. They waited and waited just to make sure they were gonna stay together, and then they just like gave up and Janie went for it. Didn't really make any sense. So the author made a mistake of putting that in. So, you should still give it a try. Of course! But, Im just saying it disappointed me!

posted by kajJK on June 10, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 665 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 34
  • Posted October 28, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Randstostipher "tallnlankyrn" Nguyen for TeensReadToo.com

    As one case closes another one opens. Janie Hannagan returns, this time using her abilities of being swept into a person's dreams to solve a sex scandal at her school. <BR/><BR/>Several calls have been made on Fieldridge High School's anonymous phone line. Although inaudible at times, the messages result in the assumption that certain faculty members and students at Fieldridge have been fooling around. So Captain and her agents use their closest resources to try and crack the case, meaning Janie and Cabel will have to figure out what is going on. Objection at first by Cabel, but Janie gives the final decision and both are on the case. <BR/><BR/>While the investigation continues, Janie is given the chance to finally see what lies ahead for her. Hardly given any information about her ability, Captain gives Janie a box full of papers written by Martha Stubin that not only contains her secrets and past, but the positive and negative effects of helping others with their dreams. Although she may have a clue with what these effects are, Janie isn't so sure she is ready to confirm what she already knows. <BR/><BR/>With the intensity of the case and her outcome, Cabel isn't so sure he can handle the danger that Janie puts herself in, and their relationship begins to weaken. Will they be able to get through this case peacefully or will it tear them apart? <BR/><BR/>As a highly anticipated sequel to WAKE, FADE certainly lives up to expectations. Along with Janie, readers will be able to delve deeper into the enormity of Janie's ability and the strain that it causes not only on her but also on Cabel. <BR/><BR/>The simplicity of the writing and the creativity of the plot will leave an imprint of the reader, causing it to never FADE from their mind.

    29 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 16, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Fade is good writing!

    I was completely blown away by Wake, the first book in this series, so I had incredibly high expectations for Fade. Lisa McMann has worked her magic once again! I LOVED Fade, and it may be just as good, if not better than Wake!
    The storyline of Fade moved at a such a quick pace, I found myself not wanting to put away the book! I was intrigued from beginning to end and as cliche as it sounds, I was on the edge of my seat trying to figure out what was going to happen next. And trust me, I never saw the ending coming at me! I was pleasantly shocked and loved that I was left stunned!
    My favorite thing about the Wake books are the characters! Lisa's characters are unforgettable. I absolutely adore Janie. Of all the characters I've read about, Janie is one person I can totally relate to. She's the fun, smart, humble, down-to-earth girl you want to befriend. And don't get me started on Cabel! I mean he should win some greatest boyfriend or boyfriend-of-the-year award. It is so adorable how much he cares for Janie, and he takes such good care of her! His vulnerability is touching, and I just find him irresistibly sweet! Miss Stubin, Captain, Carrie, Stacey...each is memorable and adds something special to this incredible novel.
    This book is absolutely phenomenal! If you haven't read Wake, get started now! If you've read Wake, but not yet read Fade, what are you waiting for? This book is chocked full of everything--mystery, suspense, crime, drama, humor, romance...you name it, this book's got it!

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 26, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Another sexy, suspense-filled read!

    WOW!!! Another amazing read! FADE continues the story of Janie, a teen who can see inside the dreams of others. Full of suspense, sexy (Cabe!) and a super fast read, FADE is even better than the first book, WAKE. I caught myself holding my breath several times while reading this book. You¿ll be at the edge of your seat from the very beginning. This is one of those books that pulls you in and doesn¿t let you go until you close the back cover, desperate for more. I can¿t wait for the third book in the series!

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Disappointing...

    (SPOILERS IN HERE!) Okay well as we all know, Wake was Amazing! But, this sequel I really did not like. First off, the ending is sooo bittersweet it makes the entire series depressing. I hope this isn't a spoiler but, Janie learns how her power gives her more bad side-effects like, blindness at 25 years old! Her hands are gonna like, squish up. And, that gonna leave Cabel with a blind old lady when there in their 20's. Ugh, that would suck. And for what? To just do some crime work? And she can never get out of it. She cant ever stop her deterioration. I'd be f'n pissed. And in the end, when Janie accomplishes her goal when she goes undercover in a crime, the whole aspect ALmost makes it believable, but not quite. It could have been amazing, it just didn't quite make it for some reason for me. Ugh, Im really mad at Lisa McMann for writing such a disappointing sequel. I mean, I'll still read the 3rd book, because there are still a lot of unanswered questions. Another complaint I had was I hated Cabel and Janie's relationship this time. I hated that (SPOILER) they eventually did it together. I mean, I'm not against that, I just think it was placed in a really odd area of the book, like it was no big deal. It didn't seem to add anything to the story. They waited and waited just to make sure they were gonna stay together, and then they just like gave up and Janie went for it. Didn't really make any sense. So the author made a mistake of putting that in. So, you should still give it a try. Of course! But, Im just saying it disappointed me!

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 13, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Series

    FADE, book 2 in the Dream Catcher Trilogy, is the continued story of Janie Hannagan-Dream Catcher. Janie is sucked in to the mind of the dreamer, an ability that has always haunted her, but now Janie is learning to control it. Not only can she pull out of the dreams, but she can help to change them. Janie's ability lands her a job with the police. The only other person outside of the police force who knows about her, or cares, is Cabel--her partner and the boy she loves. But Janie's newest assignment, to bait a suspected sexual predator, could push Cabel to far and Janie is learning that dream catching comes at a high price.

    I love this series. It's fast paced and holds your attention from page one. Janie and Cabel have had such hard lives you can't help but want a happy ending for them, and with all the twists and turns they take, you have to keep reading to be sure it ends well. This book is a bit darker than WAKE. There's mention of sex, more graphic than in most of the YA I've read, but nothing over the top. If you've followed any of my previous book reviews and we have similar tastes, you'd probably enjoy this one.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 25, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    it was gud

    i really like this book to but i like the first one way better at the end it confuesed me and it made me cry becuz of that whole going blind thing i no its not really but the book hauned me for days i just had to know if she still falls into dreams or if she went blind all i know is i have to wait till feb 2010 and i will

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    OH MY GOODNESS!!!

    Wake and Fade are two of the best books I have ever read. I was a bit skeptikal of reading them at first, but I am so glad I did. I read them both in a day each, I couldn't put the down. I was laughing and crying and reading like crazy. Terrific Books!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 3, 2009

    Marissa's review for Fade

    Janie is beginning to learn how to control the dreams she enters and gets sucked in to. When unexpected criminals arise in the school, the students still ignorant to the danger, Janie and Cabel are assigned to the case. Janie knows this will put her in danger, but when it comes to peoples' lives isn't it worth it?

    This author uses some literary devices such as:

    Imagery- The names and schedules of Chem. 2 students are burned into Janie's brain.

    Simile- She focuses on his fingers, thinking how weird fingers are. Like little animals, all their own.

    Simile- Only a few lingerers remain in the building that now feels like a rain forest after a downpour.

    The best part of the book is during the party. Janie has been drugged, like so many other students and teachers at the party. Things begin to come out in fuzzy pictures. She can't remember why she's there. It's when the teachers begin to touch her when she hears a voice in her head. She slowly begins to remember. Janie takes back control, unlike the other students who are ignorant to what's really happening. She uses her self-defense against the teachers and gets help. She stayed strong and true to whom she was and didn't let them control her.

    The worst part of the book is, although it's amazing that she can enter others' dreams, she will lose her sight and the use of her hands if she continues. She knows she has to choose between helping people while losing her sight or she can isolate herself, forever alone but unharmed. Her life is so complicated, and she never even asked for it. She becomes faced with problems no teenager, or any person whatsoever, should have to go through. The only person who ever understood her pain was Miss Stubin and now she's dead. So who does she really have?

    I would recommend this book most definitely. It shows that no matter who you are or what you've been through there can always be hope. There can always be love. There is no such thing as a 'nobody.' Everyone has a purpose here. This book takes you on a journey with Janie. You become a part of her, rooting her on and hoping a better life for her. People enter her life and she slowly begins to understand love and dreams; dreams both literal and in theory. This is Janie's journey, and no matter what anyone can be anything.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    WAKE!!!!

    was absolutely amazing.<BR/><BR/>i couldn't even put it down.<BR/><BR/>i read it in an hour and a half.<BR/><BR/>i have waited for FADE forever.<BR/><BR/>dont pass up a chance to get this book when it comes out AND WAKE as well.<BR/><BR/>absolutely one i would reread.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Totally in LOVE with Cabe

    The first book captivated me at the start. Cabe's love for Janie to me was just WOW! It made me love Cabe's character so much, and in this second book, it's no different.
    This second installment went more in depth with Cabe and Janie's relationship and the struggles the two faces together as they catch a sexual predator. This novel was exciting, thrilling, and oh so romantic.
    Definitely one of my favorite book series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 15, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Love love loved it!

    This book was great! I once again read this book in one sitting. This book was a lot more adult then the last book in the series (Wake). Janie and Cabel's relationship is really solidified in this book. This book is the first look into Janie's ability to use her gift (if you want to call it that) to help solve crimes. This assignment puts a strain on her relationship with Cabel since she has to put herself in harms way to solve it. Janie also discovers the very troubling physical consequences of her ability. Gone will be released Feb 9th 2010! Cant wait th finish the series and find out which path Janie chooses..I bet it leads to Cabel! Wink wink

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    This book is amazing

    I bought both books of this series and couldn't put them down! After i read them, i passed them on to my friends and they all wanted to read the third one to see would happen next! Its a great realistic fiction and McMann does a great job in description and being relatable to the reader. This series, by far is one of the best i've read and its a break from all the classical book for school.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 14, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Definitely A Must Read!!

    When i first read Wake, i wasn't really certain that it would be something that i would like but i ended up loving it, and then when i heard there was going to be another one i was excited to jump at the chance to read it... Fade was definitely worth the wait!! It was so good, and such a fast read, There are so many things that happen that make you want to get through it as fast as you can to finally read what happens in the end, i would definitely recommend this book to anyway who loves a nail biting, amazing story, and the relationship with Cabel and Janie in this book just grows and becomes even more addicting!! READ IT!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 18, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    extremely good

    this book is the sequal to Wake, and is very entertaining, and fun to read. i have read it in a day because it was so good. its a very simple read and a very fun read as well. there is action and romance, and fantasy, and is an overall page turner that i will definitly read again.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    AWESOME!

    I loved the first book and was thrilled to read the second one and now all I wanna do is read the 3rd one. It has me wanting more!! I love the characters and Cabel and Janie are so cute!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 28, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Fade

    I loved the first one and was anticipating this ones release. I loved these books and i would suggest them to anyone. I hope you all enjoy this series as much as i did. :)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 4, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Oh, my God.

    All I have to say is.... it's totally different than Twilight. And I love it.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 3, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Sequel

    A wonderful sequel to "Wake". As a High School Librarian, I think that Lisa McMann has a beautiful way of describing what is going on around her characters, with a unique writing style and beautifully keeps her audience interested. I would highly reccomend this book to 14-19 year old girls (not really a "guy" book). Although I thought the first one was better due to the fact that this one was a bit predictable. The last couple of chapters were very intense and kept you on the edge of your seat. Enjoy!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 28, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    The Best!

    I couldn't put it down!! I finished in only a couple of hours! I hardly ate while I was at a restaurant. I only read. I love this book. It's amazing. I highly recommend reading this. The story just got real better. Totally better than Wake.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 27, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Amazing

    Fade has to be one of the most memorible and enticing book I have ever read. It kept me on the edge of my seat after every word, every sentence, every page, and every paragraph. It's so overwhelmingly addictive that I finished it in less than 3 hours. This book will keep you screaming for a sequel!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 665 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 34