Customer Reviews for

Fade (Wake Trilogy Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 666 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(395)

4 Star

(164)

3 Star

(77)

2 Star

(23)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

29 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

Reviewed by Randstostipher "tallnlankyrn" Nguyen for TeensReadToo.com

As one case closes another one opens. Janie Hannagan returns, this time using her abilities of being swept into a person's dreams to solve a sex scandal at her school.

Several calls have been made on Fieldridge High School's anonymous phone line. Although inau...
As one case closes another one opens. Janie Hannagan returns, this time using her abilities of being swept into a person's dreams to solve a sex scandal at her school.

Several calls have been made on Fieldridge High School's anonymous phone line. Although inaudible at times, the messages result in the assumption that certain faculty members and students at Fieldridge have been fooling around. So Captain and her agents use their closest resources to try and crack the case, meaning Janie and Cabel will have to figure out what is going on. Objection at first by Cabel, but Janie gives the final decision and both are on the case.

While the investigation continues, Janie is given the chance to finally see what lies ahead for her. Hardly given any information about her ability, Captain gives Janie a box full of papers written by Martha Stubin that not only contains her secrets and past, but the positive and negative effects of helping others with their dreams. Although she may have a clue with what these effects are, Janie isn't so sure she is ready to confirm what she already knows.

With the intensity of the case and her outcome, Cabel isn't so sure he can handle the danger that Janie puts herself in, and their relationship begins to weaken. Will they be able to get through this case peacefully or will it tear them apart?

As a highly anticipated sequel to WAKE, FADE certainly lives up to expectations. Along with Janie, readers will be able to delve deeper into the enormity of Janie's ability and the strain that it causes not only on her but also on Cabel.

The simplicity of the writing and the creativity of the plot will leave an imprint of the reader, causing it to never FADE from their mind.

posted by TeensReadToo on October 28, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Disappointing...

(SPOILERS IN HERE!) Okay well as we all know, Wake was Amazing! But, this sequel I really did not like. First off, the ending is sooo bittersweet it makes the entire series depressing. I hope this isn't a spoiler but, Janie learns how her power gives her more bad side-e...
(SPOILERS IN HERE!) Okay well as we all know, Wake was Amazing! But, this sequel I really did not like. First off, the ending is sooo bittersweet it makes the entire series depressing. I hope this isn't a spoiler but, Janie learns how her power gives her more bad side-effects like, blindness at 25 years old! Her hands are gonna like, squish up. And, that gonna leave Cabel with a blind old lady when there in their 20's. Ugh, that would suck. And for what? To just do some crime work? And she can never get out of it. She cant ever stop her deterioration. I'd be f'n pissed. And in the end, when Janie accomplishes her goal when she goes undercover in a crime, the whole aspect ALmost makes it believable, but not quite. It could have been amazing, it just didn't quite make it for some reason for me. Ugh, Im really mad at Lisa McMann for writing such a disappointing sequel. I mean, I'll still read the 3rd book, because there are still a lot of unanswered questions. Another complaint I had was I hated Cabel and Janie's relationship this time. I hated that (SPOILER) they eventually did it together. I mean, I'm not against that, I just think it was placed in a really odd area of the book, like it was no big deal. It didn't seem to add anything to the story. They waited and waited just to make sure they were gonna stay together, and then they just like gave up and Janie went for it. Didn't really make any sense. So the author made a mistake of putting that in. So, you should still give it a try. Of course! But, Im just saying it disappointed me!

posted by kajJK on June 10, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 164 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 9
  • Posted December 13, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Series

    FADE, book 2 in the Dream Catcher Trilogy, is the continued story of Janie Hannagan-Dream Catcher. Janie is sucked in to the mind of the dreamer, an ability that has always haunted her, but now Janie is learning to control it. Not only can she pull out of the dreams, but she can help to change them. Janie's ability lands her a job with the police. The only other person outside of the police force who knows about her, or cares, is Cabel--her partner and the boy she loves. But Janie's newest assignment, to bait a suspected sexual predator, could push Cabel to far and Janie is learning that dream catching comes at a high price.

    I love this series. It's fast paced and holds your attention from page one. Janie and Cabel have had such hard lives you can't help but want a happy ending for them, and with all the twists and turns they take, you have to keep reading to be sure it ends well. This book is a bit darker than WAKE. There's mention of sex, more graphic than in most of the YA I've read, but nothing over the top. If you've followed any of my previous book reviews and we have similar tastes, you'd probably enjoy this one.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 25, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    it was gud

    i really like this book to but i like the first one way better at the end it confuesed me and it made me cry becuz of that whole going blind thing i no its not really but the book hauned me for days i just had to know if she still falls into dreams or if she went blind all i know is i have to wait till feb 2010 and i will

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 3, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Sequel

    A wonderful sequel to "Wake". As a High School Librarian, I think that Lisa McMann has a beautiful way of describing what is going on around her characters, with a unique writing style and beautifully keeps her audience interested. I would highly reccomend this book to 14-19 year old girls (not really a "guy" book). Although I thought the first one was better due to the fact that this one was a bit predictable. The last couple of chapters were very intense and kept you on the edge of your seat. Enjoy!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 24, 2012

    Lisa McMann does it again! This time the stakes are higher as C

    Lisa McMann does it again! This time the stakes are higher as Cabel deals with the risks Janie has to take and Janie copes with just how hard things get with her ability. To say Janie gets in over her head is an understatement as she nearly falls victim to one of the worst kinds of evil in humanity. Cabel struggles to let Janie do what she needs to, knowing what could happen, and despite the new steps they take in their relationship, it stresses their bond until it nearly breaks.

    What I liked about this book was that teenage high school seniors are portrayed pretty realistically. Even the topic of safe sex is addressed, and teenagers partying too hard and dangerously. What I didn’t like about this book is that I have a hard time believing that Janie would be allowed to get so deep in a mission as to be as in danger as she ends up. Then again, I know nothing about teenage NARCs.

    Ultimately, Fade is a really great sequel that serves to only get readers further invested in Janie’s life. This story is a true emotional rollercoaster that takes you places you wouldn’t normally dare go.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2012

    Fa FADE c:

    "I ELL-OH-VEE-EE IT!!!!! :)"
    -Sadie Bay [SADIE MARIE MATHEN]

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2012

    Second book better than the first

    These are really short books, but they tell alot of story. Second book was really good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2012

    Luvs it!!!!!

    Jamie is soooo lucky to have caleb. I would love to have caleb but i have to admit they do make a cute couple and partners in their job even if caleb is to protective. I also feel sorry for jamie because of the curse/gift on the way you see it for me it could go both ways good for help bad cause of the pain she has to suffer for it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2011

    Awesome

    Great book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 22, 2011

    Oh geezz'!!

    Couldnt put it down finished in liike 2 days nd noww for gonne * excited*

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 14, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Fun, engaging read and I would recommend

    Since Fade is book #2 in this trilogy, it's suggested you read Wake first.

    I liked this book much better than Wake. Partly because I was use to McMann's writing style, so I knew what to expect. Her writing is very blunt and to the point without much descriptive writing. At times, I wish there would have been more descriptive so I could relate more with a particular scene or character. I don't think however that being less descriptive made the plot lack any substance. There is more suspense in Fade and even though you have a pretty good idea about how things are going to go down, there's always something that will take you by surprise.

    Janie and Cabel's relationship grow further and there are plenty of sweet moments however towards the end Cabel really got on my nerves. Something happens and the way he reacts to the situation really made me mad! Let's just say they both have issues and it's going to take a lot of time and therapy for them both to work through it, considering Cabel's past with his parents and Janie's past with her parents and her future as a Dream Catcher, I'm not sure if their relationship will hold up. We'll have to keep reading to find out!!

    This was a fun, engaging read and I would recommend reading this series. It only takes a few hours to get though a book and if you've read Wake, you defiantly need to continue the series so you can see what Janie and Cabel's future hold.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2011

    okay!!

    i was waiting and waitin for the excitement. It was like a rollercoaster.Fade wasnt as good as wake. Although it wasnt that good it answered alot of questions i had. Wake had me wondering alot when i finished.So i was really ready to read fade.Janie is puttin her abilities to the test.She is really working on contolling her gift and her relationship.Cabel is still holding on also. They are coping with the daily troubles and obstacles they have coming so far. At times i wished i coulve changed some things that happened. I learned alot i didnt know also in this book.Overall it was okay.Gone should be next!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2011

    Better then the First For Sure!!!

    Starts right off from when the first book left off. The first was interesting and this comes right back very interesting also I would recommend this if you are looking for something a little seperate from vampires.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 11, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Check it out

    This is a really good part 2 to Wake. The characters all remain true to form and the story is written in a similar fashion. I really liked the story in this one (probably not for younger readers). The characters get a bit deeper in this one and you are given the opportunity to see who they are a bit more. Enjoy

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 30, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    The writing still kills me ...

    I will not, for the sake of everyone's time and opinions on the matter, go back into the rant about the writing style. Everyone has their own thing, I should just except it - even if it does irk me to no end and ultimately make me read a book slower from frustration. Having said that, since I read Wake before this, I knew what I was getting into by continuing with the series - so it was a little easier this time around to get over it.

    This book basically picks up where the last book left off. In this one, Janie actually starts working with Cabel's boss to help bust some pretty foul things going on in their school. In the midst of that, Cabel starts to get a little distant as Janie is learning more and more about her abilities. Like all good things, her "gift" comes at a very high price, and Janie's having a very hard time dealing with her fate. Like any girl who has a mission, Janie sucks up her emotions and puts them aside while she goes undercover at her school - as well as slipping into dreams, obviously.

    The storyline to this one, in my opinion, was a lot heavier and had more meat to it. While I did enjoy Wake, I thought this one was better for the simple fact that you had more to the story than just Janie going around and getting into peoples' dreams. The relationship between Janie and Cabel grew beautifully throughout the book. It was very believable and I'm also impressed with how the author dealt with the sex issue between the couple in the book - it was more implied than getting too graphic with it. I would have liked to see a little more interaction between Janie and Carrie though, it seemed like Janie was a little too focused on the case. A good friend always makes time for those that have been there for her. ;)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 2, 2010

    Not bad...

    I actually finished the book in one day which is rare. Fade expands more on Janie's and Cabel's relationship and the problems they have to overcome due to their past experiences and lack of love growing up. I like the new mission that Janie gets but I thought it was a little too obvious overall. I found myself knowing what was coming and wishing it would come faster so I could get to other things. Not as good as the first, in my opinion, but still an ok read. I will continue the series once the next one comes out in paperback because I do like both main characters. I want to know more about their journey and hopefully the next will be a lot less obvious.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Great sequel to Wake

    Although the book still had its' interesting short phrased format, I thought the story started off a little slow. Janie started becoming an emotional emo wreck and her relationship with Cabel started to get tiring. It was nice to see them together but when things started to crumble, I was getting tired of them. Otherwise, the book mainly focuses on Janie developing her skills and learning more about becoming a Dream Catcher. However underlying this, is another story arc of a case given to Janie (she actually volunteers for it) regarding student and teacher relationships.

    When it came to that plot, it was very well written. The parts with Janie and Mr Durbin together were so well done, I could feel the uneasiness Janie feels, and it made my skin crawl with disgust - it made such an impact on me that it just felt dirty reading how they interacted and talked. So, in regards to that story line, I thought it was very well done and invoked a lot of feeling from the reader. It may be hard to read for some readers as although it doesn't really go into much gritty detail, it does have heavy phrases and statements where it makes you pause because it's images are now embedded in your head and you just want it out as fast as possible.

    As this book really centralizes on Janie developing as a character, it was also very well done. It also makes her relationship with Cabel develop - and although romance isn't for me, this kind of romance was all right and tolerable and it's actually more realistic than other couples I've read in YA fiction. Cabel and Janie do act more mature than their age which is also nice to see (I've seen and read worse).

    Overall, I was pleased with how the book ended - despite a slow start. I'm eager to know what happens in the third novel and can't wait to pick it up next. I hope all goes well for Janie!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 17, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A Story that will not soon... FADE.

    I read Wake and Fade in the same day. So going into Fade, I had an idea of Lisa McMann's writing style and I have to say that I was pleasantly surprised to see that Fade was a much more in depth story. I love seeing what character are thinking and feeling and I thought that in Fade you got to see much more of Janie's struggle and also some of Cabel's, which was a bonus.

    I also liked this story line better. The scene at the party was so well written I actually started to giggle at myself because I felt like I was a little tipsy, it's like reading a book by an english author and taking on the accent. I was in Janie's shoes and I love it when that happens.

    The complexity of Janie and Cabel's relationship is so deep that there were points when I set the book aside and went, "WOW! How can these two be together and still find it in themselves to trust?" They both have so many demons to fight and yet they have this relationship that is way beyond anything that I have ever experienced. For some people, that might be unfathomable, but for me it was amazing to read.

    I think that this series would be a great transition to an adult series. I know it would never happen, but I think there could be some awesome story lines about crime mysteries and romance, even with the "things" that she will eventually have to endure. I would love to see where it would go, but Gone is the last book and I am very excited to read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2010

    Okay.......

    I am only 13 but i would like you to read my review on this book ,it will help alot. This book was not the best. The first book wake was alot better. This book had alot of drama,&love. I had read it in one sitting. One reason being the big font and the other being that it was very intresting to me. What kept going through my head was whats going to happen next. All i though it was a good book i do not recommend it to children 11 and under because of a few parts in this book. All in all the author did a okay job with this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2009

    Fade<3

    I love this series, espically the writing, the characters are wonderful to me, you dont need to read the one before this to understand Fade, I loved it, its a book that you can never put down

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 29, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Good book!

    This book is really a great book. I loved reading it!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 164 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 9