Customer Reviews for

Fade

Average Rating 4
( 22 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 11 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted January 1, 2011

    fade

    very good book! brilliantly written and carried out, horrifying twists and plot turns, and an awesome ending.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 21, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Good Story, Strong Characters

    Mr. Cormier gives us so much in what seemed too short a novel. Paul, the son of a factory worker in depression times is fascinated by a story regarding his uncle. Apparently when a family photo was taken, his uncle somehow disappeared from view in the photo. Paul later learns that this was not a prank but the result a special power that his uncle possesses. Paul also learns that he has the same power.

    The power is not a gift but in reality it is almost like a drug that has side effects that effect your mind towards violence. Paul must wrestle with the urges caused by the power while he goes through a lot of teenage issues such as the crush he has on his aunt.

    The author develops a small town, much in the way that Stephan King does with his Castle Rock tales. The characters are rich and extremely interesting and you get to the end of the book too fast to notice. I had read an another excellent book by Mr. Cormier about a teenager with a bicycle (I can't remember the title) who is actually going through psychotherapy while he imagines himself racing on the bike and avoiding dangers. With these two excellent reads under my belt, I will look for more books by the same author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2006

    Power and Desire: Taking Control of 'Fade'

    When people think about superpowers, what usually comes to mind is one of the Marvel heroes, such as Spiderman, Superman, the Hulk, Batman, etc. But when you pick up a book where ordinary people use superpowers in a realistic manner yet have no possibility of comprehending the repercussions of such a power, the novel becomes more enjoyable and fascinating. In this more mysterious and obscure genre enters a first-rate novel called Fade, written by Robert Cormier. Fade follows the life of thirteen year old Paul Moreaux, a young boy who lives in 20th century America. This young boy possesses a gift which has been passed down generation to generation from the males in his family the ability to ¿fade,¿ to disappear into nothingness whenever and wherever he desires. At first, Paul is both thrilled about and skeptical of this newly founded prospect, but he soon learns the consequences and tribulations that come with such a powerful and dark gift. His juvenile acts lead to discoveries of a sexual nature that is both exciting and rebellious, which gives a dark glow to his character. Paul¿s actions stem from his compulsion to understand the actions of the people around him. When his dad gets involved in the violence of the labor revolts, Paul feels obligated to commit an act that will haunt his life forever. To give away the plot would ruin the amusement that this book provides its readers. The book does an excellent job of playing the innocence of youth off the wisdom of maturity. Paul is at the age where he realizes the seriousness of life and the gravity of it as a whole, but at the same time his immature nature takes over throughout the novel, causing him to perform dark acts and dirty deeds to fulfill his pleasures which he cannot control. As the fading starts to become involuntary, it finally distorts his whole life. Paul learns the hard way about the complexities of the adult world through ¿fading.¿ He also realizes that the power of invisibility doesn¿t provide a cure for life¿s difficulties, misfortunes, or pleasures. This power, as the reader soon discovers, provides no purpose whatsoever, but it does induct evil and misfortune to those who come across its awesome power. Fade is a novel that gives you chills up your spine because it makes you look at your surroundings differently and will make you wonder about the things going on around us that we are unaware of. Cormier does this by mixing fantasy, suspense, and reality into a wonderful, crafted masterpiece. He makes the characters in the novel so real that you would mistake this novel for an autobiography. Fade is original, compelling, and most of all, a surprising novel, a truly fine novel, as it possesses dark powers that do unimaginable things.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2006

    The Story Of A lifetime

    In this highly suspenseful novel by Robert Cormier you read about a 13 year old boy who learns to ¿fade¿ or become invisible. This book is full of murder, sex, and violence of all sorts. This book is not recommended for people under the age of 16. Robert Cormier is a highly acclaimed author who is able to capture the mind of the reader and hold them within the confines of the novel until the end. As I read this book I was pulled in and could not put the book down. I would recommend this book to anyone who likes adventure and suspense in a story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2005

    !!!!!:)!!!!!

    just to say something first: i am in 8th grade and i just read Fade and i understood it all... but whatever. I read alot and i was in the bookstore one day looking for a book to read. i picked up Fade because i seen it in the store a bunch and i couldnt find anything else that looked very interesting. since there is no excert or whatever on the back i started to read it. All i read was like the first page where Cormier describes the picture and i was hooked. this was an amazing book! i kept you jumping from sides about if what Paul had written was fitcion or autobigraphical. it was exciting and had me on the edge of seat wanting to find out what would happen next. i must admitt that i was told a few times to put it away while reading in class ) but Fade is slightly disturbing in some of its content and might not be sutible for young readers but i read alot and i had no problem with it really. i think at some point everyone should read Fade! it is my favorite or one of my favorite books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2005

    Bestseller No Doubt

    This book is full of action and mysteriousness. It keeps you hooked until the very end and i must confess can be confusing at times. It is somewhat gory and violent but any young adult can handle it. Cormier really jumps inside his character and gives plenty detail. This is the fifth robert cormier book i've read and he doesn't fail to impress me. The whole idea for this book wasn't very original, with having a 13 year old figuring out his past and learning to fade or become invisible. Robert cormier displays his own flavor and originality in this book and it's truly a work of art. I strongly recommend this book to anyone

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2004

    Just a comment...

    I loved the book, but the post 3 before mine really shouldn't have been put up. For that person to have read it in 8th grade they just can't comprehend the vastness cormier talks about. i'm assuming theyre just an average 8th grader. i tried reading in the middle of the night in 6th grade and was totally confused. i waited 2 years then tried the chocolate war (so i was in 8th grade, but i've always been in honors and just have a higher comprehension than this kid or something) since then i've read all of cormier's books. I read fade in 9th grade and even at that, i think it was barely a book i should have read at the time. i just think there are many different things people need a certain intellectual level to enjoy, such as books like this, or movies such as the royal tenembaums. so many people don't understand it. Just wanted to say that 3 posts before this, pretty much disregard that review. it is an amazing book. :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2003

    This book was great

    Robert really gave some insight into what really goes on a boys mind, like fear, indecision, confusion,lust and all that stuff. I also like the fact that eventhough Robert gave him the power to fade, he didn't make him out be this super hero who always knew what to do. Even though I like this book, I'm still a little confused. How did his brother die?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2002

    I remember loving it.

    This was one of the first books I had ever read. About 10 years ago I read it. I believe that this book could be the reason why I read so much now. This story was entertaining and disturbing at the same time and for young adults this could be a great book to start a reading carrier with. In the end this was the first story to ever show me what different worlds books can hold.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2001

    A Lesson in Life

    I read all of Fade in about two days it was so good! I started reading it when I got it and I was hooked instantly. The story really teaches young readers about life. Robert Cormier did a great job writing this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 11 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1