Customer Reviews for

Fade Away (Myron Bolitar Series #3)

Average Rating 4
( 130 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(56)

4 Star

(39)

3 Star

(18)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Excellent Book, as is all Harlan Coben books.

This book is the First Myron Bolitar series and I could not put it down. The first Book of Coban's I read was The Woods and after that I was hooked. As I explained to my father (who also enjoys a good book) Coban's books are non stop from page 1 throughout the end. I us...
This book is the First Myron Bolitar series and I could not put it down. The first Book of Coban's I read was The Woods and after that I was hooked. As I explained to my father (who also enjoys a good book) Coban's books are non stop from page 1 throughout the end. I used to think Dan Brown was my favorite author, but Harlan Coban beats him by leaps and bounds. Read this book and all the rest - anyone who enjoys a good can't put down book will love all the Harlan Coban's.

posted by Suzi_K on April 9, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Still good

Some of my favorite books of all time are from coben like Tell No One and No Second Chance. I love sports and thought the combination of basketball and mystery would be great. But this book was not memorable and the basketball scenes are not possible. Still one ofmy to...
Some of my favorite books of all time are from coben like Tell No One and No Second Chance. I love sports and thought the combination of basketball and mystery would be great. But this book was not memorable and the basketball scenes are not possible. Still one ofmy top 5 authors.

posted by 15979476 on April 20, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 131 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7
  • Posted April 9, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Excellent Book, as is all Harlan Coben books.

    This book is the First Myron Bolitar series and I could not put it down. The first Book of Coban's I read was The Woods and after that I was hooked. As I explained to my father (who also enjoys a good book) Coban's books are non stop from page 1 throughout the end. I used to think Dan Brown was my favorite author, but Harlan Coban beats him by leaps and bounds. Read this book and all the rest - anyone who enjoys a good can't put down book will love all the Harlan Coban's.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 26, 2012

    Great series

    If you like any of Bruce Willis's movies where he is a tad bit of a smartie pants, you'll love Myron. I've thoroughly enjoyed this series and can hardly wait to start the next book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2012

    Still good

    Some of my favorite books of all time are from coben like Tell No One and No Second Chance. I love sports and thought the combination of basketball and mystery would be great. But this book was not memorable and the basketball scenes are not possible. Still one ofmy top 5 authors.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 11, 2010

    Myron Bolitar is my hero!

    I discovered Harlan Coben and Myron a few months ago and I just love it. I have so much reading them and this book is no different than the others. They are equally great and the best one is whatever I am currently reading. The audio-books are great too if anybody is interested. The characters make these books so much fun. Winn is the coolest guy ever! i hope they have a Myron Bolitar movie or movies one day.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2009

    Good fast read

    Coben has a writing style that is fun to read and the characters are fun to follow

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2008

    Great Book

    Fade Away is a solid Thriller/Mystery novel from cover to cover. I am not usually a big fan of the genre and even though my father bought this book for me, I still really enjoyed it. Coben's character Marvin Bolitar is a ex-FBI agent who previously had a career ending injury and is now asked to join the New Jersey Dragons, a NBA team. The reader is thrust from the beginning beyond this simple story of living ones dream when we learn that Bolitar is not expected to actually play for the team, but rather he is investigating the murder of one of the star players who has mysteriously dissapeared who just happens to be his former rival. The novel begins with basketball being a main focus eventually transitioning to more of a mystery and involves a robbery and many other elements of crime from the past. One of the reasons I enjoyed the novel is because it is able to remain serious throughout the novel while being humourous at the same time because of Marvin's actions and thoughts. Many of the characters such as Esperanza and Big Cyndi have a large part in creating this effect. The main part of the storyline keeps the reader interested and preparted for the fantastic ending that Corben has written, which was truly surprising and fufilling of a great novel such as this one. One of the main reasons that this novel really kept me entertained was the dialogue. It was able to move the story foward in an effective manner while at the same time able to remain witty and insightful. Marvin's many comments on the world around him serve as one of the more entertaining parts of the novel to me. The best part of the novel to me was the ending. Coben is able to create an ending that though it is not expexted and surprising is still reasonable and makes sense when one looks at the novel at a whole. Harlan creatively ties together the multiple story lines of the novel into one cohesive ending, and even leaves the reader with some suspsense of what is going to come afterwords. I would recommend this book to others and I plan on reading more of Corbens work.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2013

    By Gen

    This one got a bit long in the middle, but leave it to Harlen to bring it all together in the end, and make a wonderful ending. I feel bad for Myron now that he knows the truth, but you will have to read for yourself, what Myron finds out. Good read. By Gen Monte

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    just read

    I got up at 4 this morning to finish it. it was one of the best he has done.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2012

    Loved this book

    I'm addicted to the Myron Bolitar series. I never really figured out "who did it" till the very end. Great book and as always Harlan Coben kept my attention with his "witty" sense of humor and Colorful characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2011

    Highly Recommended

    Harlan Coben is in my opion one of the top mystery writers today, he keeps you in suspense and has twists and turns throughout while being reall down to earth,, I am on my 6th Myron Bolitar series book....Stallion

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 30, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    3 Times the Charm

    This 3rd installmenr was the best so far.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 1, 2009

    hooray for harlen coben

    love myron bolitar!! keep 'em coming

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 6, 2009

    this rocks

    i love the myron bolitar series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 29, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Long Weekend- Short Story

    If you were a successful mystery writer and you suddenly needed to come up with some pocket money, say to buy something frivolous, maybe a boat, you might go away for a long weekend and churn out a cute little story that was short on substance and maybe a little long on heart. Your readers would be happy, you'd have your quick cash, and the next thing you'd be sailing away, maybe thinking about that next real novel you were going to write. You know. The one with some substance, some character, some real plot- the kind that keeps your name up there with the good crime writers. After all, you wouldn't want to fade away.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2008

    a superb story

    Ten years ago an injury ended his stint in the NBA without him playing one professional regular season game, but though Myron Bolitar has always thought of what could have been he uses self deprecating humor to move on and mope over what was lost to fate. He spent time as the most visible undercover FBI agent in the country (remember this is pre Plame days) before deciding to become a sports agent.---------------- New Jersey Dragons owner Chip Arnstein wants to hire Myron to find his longtime sports rival going back to the sixth grade and the ACC, Greg Downing, who has had an illustrious pro career. The word to the media is he sprained his ankle but on the street and in the Dragons front office Greg vanished five days ago. Using his not so honed FBI skills, Myron investigates with clues leading to a corpse, gambling, bold thirsty point shaving mobsters and a bit of everything else. Myron realizes he never came to grips with the injury that ended his career before it began.--------- The reprint of the third Bolitar tale (see DEAL BREAKER and DROPSHOT) is a superb story that easily overcomes the initial credibility of an owner hiring a sports agent to play sleuth due to the hero. Myron is wisecracking throughout targeting himself more so than others, but as he gets closer to finding his firmer rival, he realizes the humor hides his disappointment. This is a terrific series that holds up nicely a decade plus since its first printing as this entry affirms.------------ Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2006

    Coben scores a hit

    A great read, a touching conclusion, and an outstanding addition to the Bolitar series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2005

    absolutely fantastic

    I am addicted to Myron Bolitar so this noevel was, i have to say, one of the best books i have read. The plot is gripping form start to finish, the humor out of this world-Harlan Coben is simply the best.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2004

    Brilliant... his best in the Myron Bolitar series

    Wow... that sums up this novel. I've read 3 other Myron books and 3 of his stand alones, and 'Fade Away' is as good as my previous favorite of Coben, 'Gone For Good' (a stand-alone). Fade Away definitely deserved the Edgar Award. It was also the wittiest of all of Coben's books that I've read. I literally laughed out loud. The fact that Coben followed this masterpiece with such an average novel 'Backspin' is beyond me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2003

    Fade Away -- A Great Read!

    Excellent book -- worthy of the Edgar award. Harlan Coben keeps a quick pace, high wit, and adds lots of intriguing characters who are never quite what they appear to be. He is a joy to read and this book, in my opinion, rates as one of his best.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2001

    I love It!

    The writer suspends his reader from beginning to end...great story, great plot, one for everyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 131 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7