BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Fade to Black

Average Rating 4.5
( 24 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Wow...

I really dislike reading, but Alex Flinn's 'Fade to Black' was fantastic. It had a sense of reality to it. It shows what people really do think. This book, in my opinion, was one of the best books I've read. I'd recommend this book to anyone.

posted by Anonymous on February 28, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Shade

There is this guy i had a crush on in second grade and still do, (If my friends found out they would tell him), and then there are two other guys. One askes me about everything and i guess i'm the only girl that he talks to. The other, one of the kids that sat next to h...
There is this guy i had a crush on in second grade and still do, (If my friends found out they would tell him), and then there are two other guys. One askes me about everything and i guess i'm the only girl that he talks to. The other, one of the kids that sat next to him told me that he (the other guy) wanted to go out with me. Should i do anything?

posted by 18668968 on February 16, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 15 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2007

    Wow...

    I really dislike reading, but Alex Flinn's 'Fade to Black' was fantastic. It had a sense of reality to it. It shows what people really do think. This book, in my opinion, was one of the best books I've read. I'd recommend this book to anyone.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2013

    ?!

    When did the review section become a reltionship help line? Its really annoying for people( like me) trying to find out more about this book!!!!!!!!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2013

    Courtney

    Okay! I will be so nervous though. His name is Cruse. He is so dreamy. He is cute funny not really smart and creative. I love his eyes! They are so big and brown!!! Every time we look at each other i always smile and blush! It is so annoying. His cousin Ayden my best boy friend not dating boy friend sd he might like me but he is not sure. I just hope he does!!!!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2013

    B

    Him. Ask out him. Oh never mind!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2013

    To Aphrodite

    Im jade an i like this guy at school. His name is michel. I asked him out and he said no he was already dating someone. But he blushesed and i cant tell if he likes me or not. Help.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2013

    Aphrodite to all

    My temple is now at ancient greece result 2

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 29, 2011

    Highly Recommended!! check it out!

    The book starts off with a HIV positive teen named Alex Crusan driving his car early one morning when he gets attacked by a boy with a baseball bat. Later, they rush him to the hospital and he reportedly has multiple wounds found on is face and abdomen. The author in Fade to Black keeps you on your toes and makes you not want to stop reading. You can picture everything the author is trying to describe and he's very detailed within every passage. I would give this book a five out of five. Its very entertaining and interesting. It keeps you wanting to know more. No book comes close to being this good. I'm sure that many people could relate to the characters in this story. This is by far the best book I've ever read, even the very first page drew me in wanting to know more about this kid and the things he has to sacrifice just to live his life. The book is somewhat inspirational to people who might have terminal diseases and I think the overall message that their trying to get through is live your life to the fullest. I haven't found one book that even comes close to being as good as this one and I hope one day you guys have a chance to read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 19, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    best book ever

    I bought this book for my grandson. Below is his review of this book.

    Meemajo



    It's the best book I've ever read. It keeps you in suspense. I am a fan of Alex Flinn.

    by: Johnny P.
    age 14

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 3, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    I love this book!

    I have never read something like this before!
    -- in a good way :D

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2008

    AWESOME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    This book is terrific it shows how you can make it through some in your teen life without getting fustrated.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2008

    Fade to Black

    The title of my book is Fade to Black by Alex Flinn. I believe the author¿s purpose for writing this book is to show people that even if you have a disease and bad things are happening to you, don¿t give up. Just because someone does do something to you doesn¿t mean that you have to ruin their life. I think Flinn wrote this book because he wanted to show people that even when odds are against you, if you keep pursuing what you want you will make it. I think the author intended on having teens read this book because the lesson could be taught best to them. I have heard a lot of stories from my parents talking about how they wished they would have forgave some of their friends for doing something to them that didn¿t really matter. The narrator¿s point of view is that no matter what age you can still stand up for yourself. Alex Crusan is the main character in this book, I feel he should have written it because he¿s the one with the sickness and he¿s the one that the theme is about. I could mostly relate to Clinton Cole. I could mostly relate to him because I have been in the same situation as him a lot. He gets blamed for something huge that he really didn¿t do, and I get that a lot. I feel the author did a good job and did get his success from writing the book. I feel he obtained all his goals. The book taught me the theme. I won¿t back down no matter what the odds are. If I feel I can do something, I¿m going to do it. This book is actually one of a kind. I haven¿t found one book, movie, or essays that are anything like this book. I don¿t really understand how the book title relates to the message of the book or how the book was written, either way it¿s a really good book. I recommend this book to anyone. I personally am not a reader, but I read the first couple of pages of this book and actually wanted to read it. I liked the ending of this book it explains a lot of this and says what happens to the people. I found this book to be enjoyable, it really draw¿s you in. I would give this book at 5 out of 5. It is very entertaining and it keeps you wondering what¿s going to happen next. It is by far the best book I have ever read. The first page of this book is better than any other book. ¿Maybe I am a ghost people look through like water, maybe I am invisible so they do not know who I am, maybe they think words are invisible so I cannot hear them say things about me in the hallways, but words are not invisible, and neither am I, and I will always, always hear them.¿ (Clinton Cole pg7-8)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2005

    a really great book

    I don't usualy like to read but I liked this book because I liked the way there were 3 diferent people telling the story. I really related to all the characters. It made it a really quick and easy read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2005

    one of the best books i have read

    i think this is one of the best books i have read because it is exciting from beginning to end. i recommend it to everyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 15 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1