BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Fading Echoes (Warriors: Omen of the Stars Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 615 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(516)

4 Star

(52)

3 Star

(22)

2 Star

(12)

1 Star

(13)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

22 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

LOVED IT!!!!! =) <3 WARRIORS!!!!!<3333 :D

First the book: OMG I absolutely loved this book! It was so amazing. I loved with Tigerstar and Hawkfrost coming from the Dark Forest to train cats that are still alive. This book was so absorbing and i finished it in two days! It is no dissapointment, just like all the...
First the book: OMG I absolutely loved this book! It was so amazing. I loved with Tigerstar and Hawkfrost coming from the Dark Forest to train cats that are still alive. This book was so absorbing and i finished it in two days! It is no dissapointment, just like all the other excellent warrior books. Ivypaw is jealous of Dovepaw and Hawkfrost starts to train her in her dreams!!! I liked Ivypaw in the other book so i hope she doesn't become like evil with Tigerstar. I also LOVE Tigerheart!!!<3 He is great and Tigerstar is training him also. But he doesn't know that Tigerstar is evil. Also, there is alot of hints that Tigerheart likes Dovepaw. And i also think that Dovepaw likes him! They are a cute couple. But i don't know how they could ever be. People are saying that Icecloud likes Lionblaze. I didn't really catch this in the book. I don't know...=) But i think they would make a cute couple and i think Lionblaze maybe should get a mate, it might him calm down sometimes! Idk lolz =) I was hoping that Lionblaze and Heathertail would be together because they are perfect together but i guess thats not gonna happen! Breezepelt is NOT a good mate for Heathertail!! In the next book i hope Dovepaw and Ivypaw recieve their warrior names. I want Jayfeather to take on an apprentcie,too. And one more thing...i feel sooo bad for Briarpaw (later Briarlight) in this book!!! She would've made an excellent warrior!!! I loved her and still do but she can't be a warrior. My guess is she may become Jayfeather's apprentice. So, you NEED to read this book. But remember, if u have not read the other books you need to read them first!
-Warrior101

posted by 1031836 on April 2, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

From Whispertail to all those willing to listen

I am looking for a good, strong, brave, loyal, and dependable clan. Any offers? I really need a clan. Leave your description, clan, and other topics that might interest me. By the way, I'm a she-cat.

posted by Anonymous on January 13, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 623 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 32
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2010

    LOVED IT!!!!! =) &lt;3 WARRIORS!!!!!&lt;3333 :D

    First the book: OMG I absolutely loved this book! It was so amazing. I loved with Tigerstar and Hawkfrost coming from the Dark Forest to train cats that are still alive. This book was so absorbing and i finished it in two days! It is no dissapointment, just like all the other excellent warrior books. Ivypaw is jealous of Dovepaw and Hawkfrost starts to train her in her dreams!!! I liked Ivypaw in the other book so i hope she doesn't become like evil with Tigerstar. I also LOVE Tigerheart!!!&lt;3 He is great and Tigerstar is training him also. But he doesn't know that Tigerstar is evil. Also, there is alot of hints that Tigerheart likes Dovepaw. And i also think that Dovepaw likes him! They are a cute couple. But i don't know how they could ever be. People are saying that Icecloud likes Lionblaze. I didn't really catch this in the book. I don't know...=) But i think they would make a cute couple and i think Lionblaze maybe should get a mate, it might him calm down sometimes! Idk lolz =) I was hoping that Lionblaze and Heathertail would be together because they are perfect together but i guess thats not gonna happen! Breezepelt is NOT a good mate for Heathertail!! In the next book i hope Dovepaw and Ivypaw recieve their warrior names. I want Jayfeather to take on an apprentcie,too. And one more thing...i feel sooo bad for Briarpaw (later Briarlight) in this book!!! She would've made an excellent warrior!!! I loved her and still do but she can't be a warrior. My guess is she may become Jayfeather's apprentice. So, you NEED to read this book. But remember, if u have not read the other books you need to read them first!
    -Warrior101

    22 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 2, 2010

    A Positive Direction for the Series

    I must admit, Hunter is starting to captivate me once again. I didn't like Po3 (with exception of Sunrise), and I thought The Fourth Apprentice was a little bland, but this book is anything but. I think the angle of Dovepaw's POV provided a lot of useful insight, particularly regarding her feeling towards the prophecy. She hates being used as a tool, and it will take some time for her to get used to her powers the way Lionblaze and Jayfeather have.
    Speaking of those two, I have really been enjoying them lately. Jayfeather is as sharp, witty, and lovable as always, and Lionblaze is maturing up nicely. We also get hints of some romance between Lionblaze and Cinderheart, which I would support wholeheartedly. As Cinderheart is the reincarnation of Cinderpelt (who was in love with Firestar he whole life), she should get all aspects of a warriors life, including having a mate. On a weakly related note, where is all the Lionblaze x Icecloud coming from? Has it been hinted in the books also, or am I missing something? But I digress.
    Anyways, I think that having the perspective of Jayfeather, Lionblaze, and Dovepaw adds a lot of depth to the book. I hear we may be getting a Flametail POV in the next book, so that should be exciting, also. We may see a little more about Tigerheart, who I personally don't like. I hate how he seems to make advances on Dovepaw (I am against cross-clans, except for Graystripe XD), and he seems weak-willed if he is taking lessons from Tigerstar.
    Ahh, Tigerstar. I love how the series is using him. His way of manipulating weaknesses is genius, and I can't wait to see who else is being trained in their dreams. Ivypaw is turning into one of my favorite characters, what with her "I love my sister, but she's pissing me off," mantra. I wonder what will happen when and if she learns the truth about Hawkfrost and Tigerstar. I'm hoping for something that pulls in Lionblaze and Brambleclaw, such as one or both of them learning about this and putting a stop to it. If it were both, it may build something between Lionblaze and Brambleclaw, which would be nice because Brambleclaw doesn't seem particularly close to anyone in the clan right now.
    Another reason I can't wait for 'Night Whispers' is because of the way Hunter answers questions. To many inquiries posed about the future, she answered, "You'll see in 'Night Whispers'." This is greatly building the anticipation. The third book of the arc often seem to be turning points in this series, most notably in 'The New Prophecy'. No one can say the tension is loose right now. We have Thunderclan and Shadowclan at each other's throats for a battle that Ivypaw unintentionally started for Tigerstar, ill feelings for Lionblaze and Jayfeather from Dovepaw, who feels like nothing but a tool. Last, but not by any means least, there are the cats that are training in the Dark Forest, like Breezepelt, Ivypaw, and Tigerheart. Breezepelt in particular is a very interesting character. His life, to put it bluntly, sucks. I can't wait to see just how far he'll go to get his (illogical, in my opinion) revenge.
    Overall, I found this book a great installment into an improving series, and it is definitely worth a read.

    10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    *~Fading Echoes~*

    First off, this is probably the BEST series I have ever read! I have read all the books including manga. They are interesting and mesmerizing. I had been anticipating Fading Echoes since the name was first announced. I really want to know what happened to Hollyleaf since it was never fully explained if she survived. The Erins hinted that nobody really did know what happened to her. What do you think? Well, apart from the mysterious Hollyleaf situation, what about Lionlaze? I think he and Cinderheart would be the cutest couple ever! If you are this far in the series, then you must know about Dovepaw. She IS one of the Three, but what about her sister? What happens to Ivypaw? In Fading Echoes, you hear about Ivypaw's jealousy. Do you think she has good reasons to be angry? All these questions are left unanswered unless you read this AMAZING book! Hats off to the Erins for another great addition to the series!

    *~Scarheart~*

    9 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 11, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    I CAN"T WAIT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    I CAN NOT WAIT for this book to come out. I have read 100 pg. of the first omen of the stars book on http://browseinside.harpercollins.com/index.aspx?isbn13=9780061555091
    I love the first. I really like Dovekit. I hope they make Leafpool a medican cat again.

    9 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 21, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    fading echoes

    gosh that title is spooky, ominous, foreshawdowing and yet thrilling. remember in firestar's special edition, where there's a cat named echo? Maybe the title has something to do with skyclan!?! It could be Skywatcher, but he's pretty old. Wait a sec, is he they one who gave they prophecy abou the three?! It's been a while so maybe it could be tinykit on the cover! Echosong has green eyes, so it can't be her,.... I can't wait for the 23rd! as many other writers have thought I wonder what happened to holly leaf. I too cried when I thought she died, but perhaps she suvived!!! I feel sorry for ivypaw. She probably feels outshined. Hollyleaf and I can relate to that. A thought just occered to me. If hollyleaf got out alive, maybe she found purdy, the cts in the mountians, or maybe even midnight!!!!!! Midnight confuses me though. She was in a meeting with star clan, but she also walks with the living. And she's a badger!!!! I think that the writers just make this up as they go along, because in one book, they wrote ,"three kits with tigerstar and firestars blood", or something like that. She's a great author, don't get me wrong, but one's mind shall wander dark questions if they let it....

    8 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 17, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    SPOILERS AHEAD!!!!!!!!!!

    After the sharp-eyed jay and the roaring lion, peace will come on dove's gentle wing.this prophecy was given to Dovepaw by the Starclan warrior and medicine cat Yellowfang. Doveaw doesn't remember it though. In this book, Dovepaw and her littermate, Ivypaw grow farther apart. Ivypaw is being traind by warriors from the Place of No Stars and doesn't know that they are bad. Her jealousy towards her sister grows as Dovepaw spends more time with Lionblaze and Jayfeather. Firestar knows who the three are. Russtefur dies over that strip of grassy land between ThunderClan and ShadowClan territory. Lionblaze and Jayfeather wonder,"Did StarClan really send that message to an apprentice who's never shown any connection to them before, or was it cats from the Dark Forest?" Night whispers is sure to be full of love and betrayal as we learn more about the cat who it was named after, and the next battle is sure to be even more riveting.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    an echo heard

    Erin hunters fabulous series bring you another tale of adventure. i cannot wait for this book to come out!!! here is the summary:After the sharp-eyed Jay and the roaring Lion, peace will come on Dove's gentle wing.

    Three ThunderClan cats, Jayfeather, Lionblaze, and Dovepaw, are prophesied to hold the power of the stars in their paws. Now they must work together to unravel the meaning behind the ancient words of the prophecy.

    As Jayfeather tackles his new responsibilities as the Clan's sole medicine cat and Lionblaze trains his apprentice in the ways of the warrior cats, Dovepaw hones her own unique ability and tries to use it for the good of ThunderClan. But the dark shadows that have preyed on the Clan for many moons still lurk just beyond the forest. Soon a mysterious visitor will walk in one cat's dreams, whispering promises of greatness, with results that will change the future of ThunderClan in ways that no cat could have foreseen. I have read all the books except for the ones in magma! hope you will enjoy the book.

    7 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2013

    Rtt

    This book was awsome. I reccomend

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 4, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    FireRipple's Review ;)

    The cover illustrations look very exciting I wonder where Lionblaze and Dovepaw are heading too; I do not remember them crossing any log (except to the island) before. I am very curious to who is on the cover, he reminds me of Ashfur except, he does not look very old. According to the last book, a dark time is coming for the clans, and when Jayfeather saw cats from The Dark Forest it made me think, they were going to come out of hiding and attack the clans. Surely, there are enough evil cats to end the clans Especially with Tigerstar and Hawkfrost training them. I still wonder if the evil cats come out of hiding and The Three having to fight them off is their destiny. Surely, it cannot be that simple I say that they have to use their individual powers to solve problems facing themselves and then all together, so they would have to learn how to cooperate with each other again. If the other cats from all four clans were to find out about their powers I would wonder what they would do to them. Would they banish them or make new clans of their names, Lionclan, Doveclan, and Jayclan. That would be very exciting, except how would they choose who goes to who is clan? What about Hollyleaf I do not possibly think she would be sent to The Dark Forest! I wonder, since she died in the tunnels, if she would resemble Falling Leaves and just travel through the tunnels for the rest of eternity. For heaven's sake, they cannot make anything too bad happen to her, many people must have cried when she died, I did! I am looking forward to this book. I want it in my hands now so I can be caught up with the adventures and feel like I am my own warrior experiencing everything. Please allow March 23 to come faster! If you would want to read this book, I would ask you to read The Fourth Apprentice Book #1 before, so you would not be too far behind.

    Love, Fireripple of Iceclan

    6 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    mossshine's opinon

    This is mossshine speaking leader of mapleclan which a clan i started.I can not wait till this book comes out i am so excited to tell you the truth i think lionblaze and ice will become a couple even though i don't like it i think it will still happen. but i think thecats from thedark forset will descent from the sky and attack the clans. i hate that people think cats are kitty pets they can be strong warriors thats what i liked about how erin hunter wrote this book im so excited remeber mapleclan and my name.
    bye everyone

    6 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 24, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Excellent as always

    Another very absorbing book by the Erin Hunter authors. And what a cliff hanger! Can't wait to read the next one in the series. Though I wondered why the intrusion from the Dark Side had not been revealed to all clan members so they could be more aware and not fall into traps, which seems to be happening a lot. All this secrecy has done nothing other than cause more damage in the long run.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 14, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Iceclaw with Understandable Truth and Theories

    First of all, I come with this understandable truth about Crowfeather. Crowfeather is not proud about Breezepelt, he's careless about him, as far as I know, Crowfeather is like that about Breezepelt because he wishes that it was Leafpool's kit. Crowfeather is still affectionate for Leafpool, you know? He didn't mean what he said at the gathering in Sunrise, he was only surprised, or was he? Now I'll give you my theories. Leopardstar might die in Warriors: Fading Echoes, and as for Firestar, least likely. After Leopardstar dies Mistyfoot will take her place as Mistystar, I wonder who her deputy will be? I don't know whether Ashfur and Hollyleaf are going to Dark Forest or Starclan, I mean they did do a bad thing. Ashfur almost ruined the Three, as for Hollyleaf, she killed Ashfur AND told everyone at the gathering about her parents. If you look at the cover of Fading Echoes, it looks like those two cats are Icecloud and Lionblaze. I hope this book is good (of course it will be).

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2013

    Best book ever

    This is an awesome book! I won't give out any spoilers except that if your wondering if you want to by this the answer is yes!! You will gain lots by reading book, no this searies, you will gain all the compashion, carisim and adventuristicness of this amazing book!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2012

    Lol

    I proudly ate at chick-fil-a today!

    3 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2011

    awesome

    kitty+pets%21%21%21%21

    3 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2012

    Blazinghowl

    Need a clan? Then join ClawClan! If you are interested please go to Guardians Of Gahoole The Golden Tree.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Awesome Book

    The second book in the Omen of the Stars series is an awesome book! I love all things Warrior Cats and this is close to my favorite book in the series. I haven't even completely finished it yet! It makes you want to read on.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 8, 2010

    Omen of the stars Fading echoes.

    Hey Sandtalon here the earthclan medicine cat.I think this book will be the most thrilling warriors book in a long time.I hope Leopardstar dies she's crazy .Firestar too he's nice and all but he's getting boring.O.k back to the book.I've heard that Jayfeather will have to look past his pride and ask for help to heal a badly wounded warrior which warrior is it Idk really .Also Icecloud might tell Lionblaze she loves him in this book and he will start to think about his future.I think the fourth apprentice is tigerpelt cus he's the fourth dark forest apprentice.1st was Brambleclaw 2cd was Hawkfrost 3rd was Lionblaze and I think Tigerpelt is the 4th.Also Ivypaw will probobly be visited by Hollyleaf cus they are alot alike both siblings to the three both not in the prophocy.I also think Holly will Lead the darkforest in the fight againts starclan IDK WHY I JUST DO.Well thats all I got c ya.

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2013

    It was obvious

    The prophacy. It was obvious. But this book is awesome. I still cant get over leafpool being their mother. Every word i read i get deeper into learning more about themm this was awesome. Five star.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2013

    I LOVE THIS BOOK IT IS THE BEST!

    This is the best book ever!! I love it,i have read almpst all the books and i think it is the best ever!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Thats all i goots to say bye

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 623 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 32