Customer Reviews for

Fae

Average Rating 4.5
( 59 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(34)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

C.J. Abedi (which actually stands for sisters Colet and Jasmine


C.J. Abedi (which actually stands for sisters Colet and Jasmine) have started a new series in the realm of YA fantasy literature.




"Fae" is a welcome addition to the genre.




The entire story is based in Roanoke, North Carolina and draws heavily from the...

C.J. Abedi (which actually stands for sisters Colet and Jasmine) have started a new series in the realm of YA fantasy literature.




"Fae" is a welcome addition to the genre.




The entire story is based in Roanoke, North Carolina and draws heavily from the missing colony lore surrounding it. The Abedi sisters have created some beautiful mythology weaving the Fae into this narrative.




Caroline is busy trying to be a normal teen when she is drawn into this Fae world by the handsome and intriguing Devilyn. All of this is because of Caroline's lineage, which she of course knows nothing about.




Helping to make this story relate-able is a fantastic set of supporting characters. Caroline has a best friend, Teddy, that anyone would be lucky to have. Devilyn's grandfather is amazing and adds an incredibly interesting twist to the whole story. Caroline's parents are near perfect and the depth of their caring for her is beautiful.




Chosen family vs. blood family is a large theme throughout this book. Are the bonds that we choose to create stronger than the bonds we are born into? What is loyalty?




In this very crowded field it is hard for a book to really break out and distinguish itself. Fae does this. It provides a well thought out story. The back-story and history are fully developed and well presented. The introduction to all of the elements flows well for the reader. The characters interact believably.




It is a well crafted story that deserves to find an abundance of readers.




I would also like to add that the cover is beautiful. Simple and evocative. Perfect.




I was provided a gratis copy for the purpose of review.

posted by CharDixon on July 30, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

Boo

More plot spoilers ruining the book bragging about their free copy for their so called honest review. Come on ppl. Stop with the plot spoilers. We do not need you to tell us every detail of the story. We can read, and prefer to read it for ourselves. We do not like you ...
More plot spoilers ruining the book bragging about their free copy for their so called honest review. Come on ppl. Stop with the plot spoilers. We do not need you to tell us every detail of the story. We can read, and prefer to read it for ourselves. We do not like you ppl telling us a readers digest condensed version of it simply because you got a free book. Stop with the plot spoilers.

posted by 8888649 on August 18, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 16 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted August 16, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Fae by C. J. Abedi Sixteen years old, Caroline Ellis, has no i

    Fae by C. J. Abedi

    Sixteen years old, Caroline Ellis, has no idea that she is adopted and the heir to the throne of the Light Fae.

    Devilyn Reilly is the only Fae to be born of both Light and Dark, son of the Dark King and heir to the Dark throne.

    It is prophesied that Caroline and Devilyn are soul mates and through their union, the Fae will be unified.  Unfortunately, Devilyn’s father wants Caroline dead and to turn Devilyn to the dark side of the Force (Sorry couldn’t help the Star Wars humor).

    In order to protect the unknowing Caroline, Devilyn disguises himself as a new student at her High School.  He attempts to fight his destiny and not fall in love with Caroline.  Originally, he pushes her not to like him.  However, fate has other plans, and the two are matched up on a long term history project.  No matter what his current feelings are, he will do whatever it takes to keep her safe.  

    Caroline is a humble loveable character, which has no clue that she is desirable.  Devilyn comes off as being perfect but struggles to believe that he could be good/light enough for Caroline.    I love that Fae was written in a two-person point of view.  It made you understand what Caroline and Devilyn were thinking and made both characters seem very believable.  

    I love the cover; it drew my attention to the book.  The colors are rich and vibrant; the font is perfect, and the photo enchanting. 

    I had a hard time putting this book down.  There was never a dull moment.  I can’t wait to see what C. J. Abedi comes up with in the next book of the trilogy.

    ARC provided by publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.  

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 30, 2013

    C.J. Abedi (which actually stands for sisters Colet and Jasmine


    C.J. Abedi (which actually stands for sisters Colet and Jasmine) have started a new series in the realm of YA fantasy literature.




    "Fae" is a welcome addition to the genre.




    The entire story is based in Roanoke, North Carolina and draws heavily from the missing colony lore surrounding it. The Abedi sisters have created some beautiful mythology weaving the Fae into this narrative.




    Caroline is busy trying to be a normal teen when she is drawn into this Fae world by the handsome and intriguing Devilyn. All of this is because of Caroline's lineage, which she of course knows nothing about.




    Helping to make this story relate-able is a fantastic set of supporting characters. Caroline has a best friend, Teddy, that anyone would be lucky to have. Devilyn's grandfather is amazing and adds an incredibly interesting twist to the whole story. Caroline's parents are near perfect and the depth of their caring for her is beautiful.




    Chosen family vs. blood family is a large theme throughout this book. Are the bonds that we choose to create stronger than the bonds we are born into? What is loyalty?




    In this very crowded field it is hard for a book to really break out and distinguish itself. Fae does this. It provides a well thought out story. The back-story and history are fully developed and well presented. The introduction to all of the elements flows well for the reader. The characters interact believably.




    It is a well crafted story that deserves to find an abundance of readers.




    I would also like to add that the cover is beautiful. Simple and evocative. Perfect.




    I was provided a gratis copy for the purpose of review.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 7, 2013

    I wasn't sure if I was going to like this book since it tells yo

    I wasn't sure if I was going to like this book since it tells you right off the bat what is bound to happen and that clearly Devilyn is going to try to fight it. Plus is he a complete hurtful jerk in the process. Caroline has no clue what is going on besides that he feels the constant need to humiliate and hurt her, and that makes me angry. Unfortunately, he clearly will do everything in the world to protect her no matter what, and it turns out that includes hurting her...and himself. I love how this book has a look into the light and dark fae, and what it truly means, and also the mythological beings such as Odin. But thennnnn we get to the ending. I cannot believe Devilyn. It made me absolutely furious.....and absolutely in need of the next book. The only thing that bothered me, is that he was clearly so powerful and unique and that Caroline didn't really seem to have much going for her, but I am prayinggg that gets even better in the next book too =)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2014

    First off! I'd like to say that I really enjoyed this read. I re

    First off! I'd like to say that I really enjoyed this read. I read some of the other reviews and didn't like what I heard, but I am glad to say that I disagree with most of them.

    Caroline is your average teen girl. She has her self doubt of herself, especially since she is one of the smart kids in school, she's used to being invisible.

    That is until Devilyn arrived. (I do have to say I like the play on his name. Devil with the yn added in. Fits him perfectly) He is the new quarterback at school.

    At first he is not too accommodating to Caroline. But the more she is around him the more obsessed she is feeling toward him. Devilyn is so cool and collected around her, there is no WAY he could feel anything for her, especially since he has the head cheerleader in his arm. BOOOOOOO!

    But little does she know, he is fighting an even more ferocious battle inside of himself. He KNOWS what their future is, what their real relationship means, and he is trying to protect her from that. But will he be strong enough to resist her love? You'll have to find out for yourself!!!

    This was a great read! I thought the characters were fun and witty. The sarcasm that Caroline bring forward is laugh out loud worthy. I would recommend for all who like Fae, Fantasy, Romance, or if you just want to try something new!

    I received this copy for free for an honest review. Thank you C.J. for letting me read your work. I had a blast! And WILL be waiting for the next one to come out next month!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 15, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Easy enjoyable read. I received a copy of this book in exchange

    Easy enjoyable read.

    I received a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.




    This book started slow and was very repetitive but once it got going I was completely caught up in the story. I enjoyed the way the story was told by both Devilyn and Caroline's perspectives, I like knowing what they are both thinking. The concept of the Light/Dark Fae Devilyn trying to stay light was very good - I can see him crossing over to the dark side very easily. Caroline has so much to learn about herself that I was surprised that she took it as well as she did. I am looking forward to reading the next book in the series. I would recommend this to YA readers and adults as well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 16, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    I am not a big reader of books on Fae. If you look at my booksh

    I am not a big reader of books on Fae. If you look at my bookshelves on Goodreads, you will see very little of these types of books. The funny thing is, that I always seem to enjoy these books and FAE is no exception. A YA fantasy/paranormal book, I felt comfortable with the story right away, snuggled into it and I couldn't wait to see what was going to happen from page to page.

    The book starts off with the story of The Lost Colony of Roanoke Island. A mystery all its own and the authors took this real life mystery, shaped it and spun a tale so incredible that you will wonder, wow, what if? Being that we will never really know what happened to the colony, even if some had integrated with local tribes, it's a truly safe mystery to take liberties with.

    This story brings to the reader the stories of the Dark and Light Fae. Odin, a god from Norse Mythology, with his wisdom and sorcery, guides Devilyn, the Chose One who was born from a father who rules the dark and a mother who was a princess of the light. Devilyn is determined that a prophecy not be fully fulfilled but finds out just how hard it is to undo a destiny foretold long before he knew what it was.

    This story is full of humiliation, betrayal, hope, insecurities, love, sadness, awakenings, lies, truth and more. The authors layer the stories of the modern teenage highs school scene, the insecurities of the teens not in the "it" crowd, the fae realms, a boy in turmoil, and the war being waged among other things and intricately weaves them throughout each other in a way that none are felt less consequential than the other and leaving all important characteristics in place. As a reader, it kept my attention and I was captivated with each different character, their role, and their story.

    The way the authors treated their characters showed a great deal of love for them. You could feel the emotions of each one as if you were them and experiencing it. The humiliations endured, the trepidation of Devilyn, the fathering of Odin, the friendship of Teddy, the awkwardness of attraction and I swear when Caroline blushed I could feel myself blushing!

    Of course, I didn't get the resolution I was hoping for, because I failed to realize that this is the first book in a trilogy, but I'm super eager for May when the second book, The Dark King, comes out. What will happen between Caroline and Devilyn? Will they ever be able to be together safely? The chemistry between these two characters is undeniable and I am rooting for this couple to overcome fate and create a new destiny.

    (4.5 stars given just because there were a few slow moments and times when I was going enough, get on with the story)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2014

    Kriss

    She shrugs, walking back to her wall.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2013

    Grest Great read Grest Great resd

    Enjoyed this book a lot. Sad that i have to wait for the next one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2013

    grest Great book

    I love the historical aspect of the novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2013

    Great!

    Great!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2013

    Ending is horrible!!!!

    Please tell me this is book 1 of a series? I loved this book! Tge writing was good and the story was excellent! But how dare Devilyn be able to choose what HE WANTS! I was livid when the book was over - please write a sequal to this and fix Devilyn's stupidity!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 9, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Grade: A- I love stories about fairies, fae and sprites. All of

    Grade: A-
    I love stories about fairies, fae and sprites. All of them. YA lit has had tons of them floating through, some notable ones like The Iron
    Fey series by Julie Kagawa and Wicked Lovely series by Melissa Marr to name a few. I have read those series and many others. I love
    the magic, the mysticism, the lore of the fair folk. There’s so much that you can do with them from cute to scary. Each tale has a bit more
    to it then the last, and all the authors do an amazing job weaving the fae legend in their own way.

    C. J Abedi is no exception. I’ve read the reviews, I’ve seen people’s opinions, but honestly, no, this is not the “next twilight”, to say that
    would be to lessen the impact of this book. This book is an original. It’s not like any other book, so don’t come into reading this book
    thinking, “Oh man, this is totally going to be like Twilight,” because it’s not. It’s a wonderful fantasy story dealing with light & dark fae,
    destined rulers and a whole lot of other drama! It’s a perfect YA book. Just enough romance, drama, suspense to keep the plot moving
    and littered with wonderful fantasy build from lore. This book will appeal to the readers of the Iron Fey series and Wicked Lovely series
    for sure, so if you’ve read these books, loved them, and are dying because either the next one isn’t out, or they’ve ended. Pick this book
    up. You won’t be disappointed.

    The characters are very realistic, dispite being Fae, but at times can be a tad bit shallow, but if you look into the fae and the ideals, the
    fair folk are vain. They are shallow, and a bit shelfish, it is their nature, so I wasn’t really put off by this, because you can’t expect
    characters to be perfect in book one. They need to grow, develop and have life thrown at them.  The characters do tend to focus on their
    relationship, or lack thereof quite a lot, and I think it was a bit of an overkill for book one, but it didn’t make me stop reading.

    Another awesome addition was the hints of Norse mythology in this book. It wasn’t a prevalent theme, there’s no Thor or Loki, but I
    think with the fairy lore as well this made a very interesting dynamic for the whole book.

    I am glad I requested this title from NetGalley and if the second on is/will be on there, I’ll request it as well, if not, I’ll probably check
    Amazon and the library. I love fairy stories, they have a special place in my heart and this one will be among them, yes, it wouldn’t be the
    best fairy book written, but it’s just starting out, it has so much potential for future books, and the author could create one of the best
    fairy stories. Time will only tell.


    ** I got this title on NetGalley with the promise of an honest review *

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2013

    What I Liked: The MCs: I found Devilyn to be a well deve





    What I Liked:




    The MCs: I found Devilyn to be a well developed and intentionally complex character, but I wanted more from Caroline than I got. As the would-be queen of the light Fae, I expected her to embody those characteristics more than she did. Though in the interest of fairness it should be noted that I am particularly critical of female MCs who are rescued. 




    I was so frustrated by the cliffhanger ending, but in a good way. It definitely made me eager to read the next installment, which tells you the authors did a lot more right than they're given credit for on some Goodreads reviews. And boo hiss to the blogger who wrote a nasty review after only reading 6%! May your comment box be inundated with spam and all your requested galleys sent to me instead!




    What I Loved:




    The intensity of the opening scenes. The hook definitely did its job, and I finished reading in less than two days as a result. 




    The Roanoke legend connection/concept. A nice twist on the fae mythology. I actually was really engaged in this idea--which is a true credit to the authors since on the whole I loathe historical fiction to the point I refuse to review it because that's just not fair to the authors. I wanted to see more Roanoke than I got so I'm hoping there's more of that to come in future installments.




    I really enjoyed the minor characters, in whom the authors clearly devoted a great deal of energy. I felt good about the way they were engaging without overshadowing the MCs. Okay, Famous may have overshadowed Caroline a bit at times. It's been a while since I've read a YA with a featured creature character, and as an animal fangirl that was refreshing for me to meet one who wasn't campy.




    What I Wanted More Of:




    Some practical stuff didn't seem well vetted--like the diner closing for the night around 7 or 8 pm according to the story timeline or football practice in the middle of the school day. I felt there was too much data-dump. I think that's one thing M. Marr does really well that I felt might have been overworked in these pages. After the prologue, I felt the backstory scenes were a distraction that slowed the pace for me.  




    **spoiler alert next paragraph only* 
    I did not like Caroline having to be rescued by Devilyn at the end. I had hoped that she would take control of the situation, but I also get that it's probably too early in the series for that to happen. So the jury is still out on Caroline but I am definitely Team Devilyn!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2013

    This book was amazing, one of the greatest books i have read in

    This book was amazing, one of the greatest books i have read in the past couple of years. The story plot is amazing, couldn''t put the book down. Can't wait to read the rest of the series. 

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 16 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1