Customer Reviews for

Fae

Average Rating 4.5
( 59 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(34)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

C.J. Abedi (which actually stands for sisters Colet and Jasmine


C.J. Abedi (which actually stands for sisters Colet and Jasmine) have started a new series in the realm of YA fantasy literature.




"Fae" is a welcome addition to the genre.




The entire story is based in Roanoke, North Carolina and draws heavily from the...

C.J. Abedi (which actually stands for sisters Colet and Jasmine) have started a new series in the realm of YA fantasy literature.




"Fae" is a welcome addition to the genre.




The entire story is based in Roanoke, North Carolina and draws heavily from the missing colony lore surrounding it. The Abedi sisters have created some beautiful mythology weaving the Fae into this narrative.




Caroline is busy trying to be a normal teen when she is drawn into this Fae world by the handsome and intriguing Devilyn. All of this is because of Caroline's lineage, which she of course knows nothing about.




Helping to make this story relate-able is a fantastic set of supporting characters. Caroline has a best friend, Teddy, that anyone would be lucky to have. Devilyn's grandfather is amazing and adds an incredibly interesting twist to the whole story. Caroline's parents are near perfect and the depth of their caring for her is beautiful.




Chosen family vs. blood family is a large theme throughout this book. Are the bonds that we choose to create stronger than the bonds we are born into? What is loyalty?




In this very crowded field it is hard for a book to really break out and distinguish itself. Fae does this. It provides a well thought out story. The back-story and history are fully developed and well presented. The introduction to all of the elements flows well for the reader. The characters interact believably.




It is a well crafted story that deserves to find an abundance of readers.




I would also like to add that the cover is beautiful. Simple and evocative. Perfect.




I was provided a gratis copy for the purpose of review.

posted by CharDixon on July 30, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

Boo

More plot spoilers ruining the book bragging about their free copy for their so called honest review. Come on ppl. Stop with the plot spoilers. We do not need you to tell us every detail of the story. We can read, and prefer to read it for ourselves. We do not like you ...
More plot spoilers ruining the book bragging about their free copy for their so called honest review. Come on ppl. Stop with the plot spoilers. We do not need you to tell us every detail of the story. We can read, and prefer to read it for ourselves. We do not like you ppl telling us a readers digest condensed version of it simply because you got a free book. Stop with the plot spoilers.

posted by 8888649 on August 18, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2013

    Interesting Concept

    I love the twist on what happened to the lost colony. The story is captivating and once started almost impossible to put down. It was a great way to spend a rainy day. The ending is abrupt and definitely leaves you wanting more. I will be putting this on my watch for list and hope it does not take too long for the next installment.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 28, 2014

    COPY This is one of those books that I kind of regretted readin

    COPY

    This is one of those books that I kind of regretted reading until the series has been completed.

    Although I had an inkling of who or what Caroline may be I was more shocked on her family history and how closely she was related to Virginia. I felt sad for her what her ancestors experienced due to the rules they broke all in the name of love. I like Caroline's character especially when she's not aware of her hidden beauty and who she truly is. What I like about her is that she was able to trust Devilyn even when what was revealed to her was unrealistic. I love how she loves Devilyn and wants to spend her life with him even knowing what fate decreed for her in the future.

    As much as I love Devilyn, I hated his decisions regarding his way of protecting Caroline. I agree with Caroline and quote, "But my love, clearly, was of no value". I understand that he wants to protect and that he loves her but he's fighting on doing the right thing. And when the going gets tough he did something more which shocked me at the end. And that leads to a cliffhanger.

    When I first heard of Tatiana, I had a bad feeling about her and I was right. I wished that Odin explained it to her or told her the truth instead of finding it out that way and instead she's against them now. I also kind of thought that Teddy was her perfect match even if they are both the opposite of each other.

    Despite it being more on the romantic relationship between Caroline and Devilyn I find that it fits the story well and it doesn't deviate from the problem of the story since they are related.

    I'm so happy that I read the book recently and I only have to wait a few days/ weeks until the release of the second book in May.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 18, 2014

    Firstly, I have to say that I loved this book. So much so, that

    Firstly, I have to say that I loved this book. So much so, that when I was half way through it,
    I messaged the author and asked them to message me ASAP when the 2nd book in the series arrived.
    Fae is similar to twilight except for the fact that the main character Caroline doesn't become a sullen,
    hallow mess when things done go her way like Bella Swan. 

    Fae revolves around Caroline Ellis, Your average 16 year old student. But what Caroline doesnt know
    is that she is the only living descendant of Virginia Dare (A light fae, who fell in love with a Human) and
    the Heir of the light fae. 

    Enter Devilyn Reilly, Devilyn's birthright is to become the king of the Dark fae, but as he was taken and
    raised by Oden (the current elder of the light fae) Devilyn is torn between who he was born to be and
    who he was raised to be. 

    Caroline and Devilyn are made for each other, destined to be king and queen and to align the light and
    dark. Devilyn swears to keep Caroline safe, as his real father wants to destroy Caroline and any plan
    to align the fae. 

    Fae is beautifully written and easily enjoyed! I loved being torn between the love affair of Caroline and
    Devilyn. The back and forth, will they wont they, is the perfect amount of romance for any reader. 

    I cant wait for the 2nd book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    4.5 Stars 'Fae' is the first book in a young adult fantasy tril

    4.5 Stars

    'Fae' is the first book in a young adult fantasy trilogy that tells the story of our two main characterrs - Caroline Ellis and Devilyn. Devilyn is a full Fae, but is the only one ever created of both Light and Dark. Caroline is half Fae - a descendent of Virginia Dare, one of the settlers from the Lost Colony of Roanoke Island - but she has no idea. There's a prophecy that tells of Caroline and Devilyn being soulmates and creating a new kingdom together - one that will unity the Fae and banish the Dark. The prophecy doesn't end well, for it states that Caroline will die in the end. Devilyn has been tasked with protecting her at all costs - but he refuses to acknowledge the part of the prophecy that says he and Caroline are soulmates and will fall in love. He's convinced that he'll keep her safe and keep his distance - that it's best that way. Or is it?

    I'm not quite sure where to even start on this book. The plot itself intertwines so many awesome things - faeries, Norse mythology, the legend/myth of The Lost Colony of Roanoke Island - along with tons of action and romance, to create one incredibly enchanting and wholly unique book. I was immediately drawn into the story and found myself devouring each page to see what would happen next. The story is told from alternating viewpoints - those of Devilyn and Caroline. I loved that it was done in this way because the reader gets a peek inside the hearts and minds of the main characters that we wouldn't ordinarily get to see. Caroline and Devilyn are well written main characters whom I found to be realistic and easy to identify with. They both have their strengths along with their flaws, and I have to admit that I'm a huge romantic at heart, so I loved watching them grow closer and seeing how things developed between them. Even though it seems like the characters experience what some call "instalove," I didn't mind it because of the background we were given - the prophecy and the history behind it all. It made it feel all the more destined to me and not so much "lust at first sight" than an actual soulmate connection. As I mentioned, the plot encompasses so many amazing concepts that it had me hooked from the first paragraph. I literally couldn't stop reading until I finished the book. The way the author took all the different mythology, folklore, myths and legends and blended them seamlessly together into a fresh, original story is downright epic. I honestly can't say enough about it all that would do the story justice, so I'll stop my feeble attempts there. I'm definitely going to be reading the next book in the trilogy to see where the story will go next. Very highly recommended for fans of lots of genres including fantasy, paranormal, action, and romance.

    Disclosure: I received a copy in exchange for an honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2014

    Matt

    Smiles see you tomorrow

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2014

    Andrew

    I think ill retire for the night he says and walks back to nach res one

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2014

    Audrey

    Coosed her eyes and tapped her foot

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2014

    Emma

    Goes there

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2014

    Cadance

    Trots-er, walks around, looking for Shining Armor.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2014

    Jet

    Yea

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2014

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2014

    Austin

    Goodbye everyone. Im an outcast has usual.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2014

    Topaz

    "Aaargh!" She growled, still smacking the source of light at her hips that glowed through her dresd.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2014

    Queen Nicola

    She went back to 'nach' res one

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2014

    Lorinella

    Good night she said to mat turning away then she turns back and plants a kisd on his lips then she hurrys off (ill make sure to advertise for the next ball my little redhead)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2014

    Xander

    He smiles. "A moment like this." He sung.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2014

    Judith

    Looked around.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2014

    Awesome detail

    Good read

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2013

    Awesome read!

    Where the hell is book 2!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2013

    Love it

    Cant wait for more

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2