BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Faefever (Fever Series #3)

Average Rating 4.5
( 2685 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1826)

4 Star

(570)

3 Star

(175)

2 Star

(51)

1 Star

(63)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

13 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

Heading out for number four...

I can't believe I waited so long to pick up this series. Dark Urban Fantasy readers, if you haven't checked this series out, do it as soon as you can, it's amazing! This apocalyptically-gritty story was both fascinating and titillating. The thin wall of reality protecti...
I can't believe I waited so long to pick up this series. Dark Urban Fantasy readers, if you haven't checked this series out, do it as soon as you can, it's amazing! This apocalyptically-gritty story was both fascinating and titillating. The thin wall of reality protecting the human world from the desolate reality of the Unseelie prison is growing increasingly unstable and barely holding. If it falls, it's going to be survival of the fittest and humans are no match for the starved Unseelies, who have been denied their freedom for almost one million years. Their ferocious hunger for destruction is infinite and limitless. The impending invasion may be inevitable and unstoppable and the future has never looked so bleak for Mac. This book easily became one of my top favorites! I highly recommend this book and the entire series in order Darkfever and Bloodfever. Mac's character is growing on me more and more, and while she still mourns for the party-girl that she used to be, at least Mac has accepted her new life with courage. Jericho Barrons remains a surly enigma, and I had a feeling not much would be revealed regarding his character in book three. However, I'm expecting a snowball of change will start rolling down the hill with books four and five, and it's time to give us more on Mac and Barrons relationship than unquenched attraction. But that's just my opinion...

posted by readtolive_livetoread on September 25, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

13 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

disappointing

I was hoping this was the last series. Unfortunately, it is not. There are two more. Series one was good, two was ok, and three just sort of dragged. I

posted by Anonymous on September 27, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1826 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 92
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Heading out for number four...

    I can't believe I waited so long to pick up this series. Dark Urban Fantasy readers, if you haven't checked this series out, do it as soon as you can, it's amazing! This apocalyptically-gritty story was both fascinating and titillating. The thin wall of reality protecting the human world from the desolate reality of the Unseelie prison is growing increasingly unstable and barely holding. If it falls, it's going to be survival of the fittest and humans are no match for the starved Unseelies, who have been denied their freedom for almost one million years. Their ferocious hunger for destruction is infinite and limitless. The impending invasion may be inevitable and unstoppable and the future has never looked so bleak for Mac. This book easily became one of my top favorites! I highly recommend this book and the entire series in order Darkfever and Bloodfever. Mac's character is growing on me more and more, and while she still mourns for the party-girl that she used to be, at least Mac has accepted her new life with courage. Jericho Barrons remains a surly enigma, and I had a feeling not much would be revealed regarding his character in book three. However, I'm expecting a snowball of change will start rolling down the hill with books four and five, and it's time to give us more on Mac and Barrons relationship than unquenched attraction. But that's just my opinion...

    13 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 12, 2008

    the temperature is rising

    i loved, loved, loved this book! i can't believe it is getting so many poor reviews. i think maybe the people who haven't liked it just simply don't understand it. i think you have to have a vivid imagination and really enjoy paranormal/fantasy writing to get the full benefit/impact of this series. it is not setup to be a simple HEA romance; it can be dark, scary, thrilling, and hilariously funny all in one. it's a saga along the lines of the harry potter stories....you have to read the entire series to find the ultimate answers. i loved KMM's highlander books and as you read the fever series you can see where these stories spring from the highlanders. sure, it's frustrating when the books simply end with so many unanswered questions, but for me that's half the fun. hope time flies til the next installment. keep up the GREAT work, KMM!

    8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2008

    Suspenseful, Thrilling and Fantastic!!

    This book, being part of a series, was and is Fantastic!!! If you have started from book 1, then you will learn more of the whys/whats of events happening in the book. I like this book because it keeps me wanting to read more and guessing what's going to happen next, with no real idea of what's going to happen. This is why I like it. In most books I've read, I can tell what's going to happen already. Here, it keeps me craving for more and wondering every day what's going to happen next. If you want your romance and Happy ever after after the first book, then this book is not for you. For me, I love it, and am waiting anxiously for the 4th book!!!

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2012

    LOVE THE SERIES!

    I was browsing at B&N for a good book and I came across the Fae Series. I read the back of the 5th book and was enthralled. I didn't want to start at #5 so I picked up #1 and thought I'd give it a try...hooked me like a fish. After reading the first one I picked up the other 4. It is so well written that you feel like you are in the book. I highly recommend this series to anyone who is intrigued by the paranormal. In my opinion, those who gave this book a poor review didn't have the next one close at hand!! :)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 19, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Damn, still no answers...

    It is so hard to believe that after completing the third book in this series that NOTHING has been answered. Mac still doesn't know who to trust -- V'lane, the Fae Prince, Rowena, the sidhe seer ruler or Barrons, her employer and sometimes protector. This has been excruciating for this reader. I still don't know what Barron's is. I find myself totally obsessed over finding out his story, but it is not revealed. As I finished reading each chapter, my nerves got worked up more and more. Now that I've finished book 3, will I keep reading -- YOU BETCHA! I won't give away the ending here, but things have just jumped to another level. I can hardly wait to start the next book. Damn the Unseelie!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2010

    Great Series!

    You are going to be happy with this series! It does leave you hanging, but the last book will be out in December. I don't want to put any spoilers, but I really enjoyed this book. I highly recommend reading them in order. It would not make sense if they are read out of order. First book is dark fever.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Good Third Installment

    I have been behind on many of my series but found some time and decided to continue the fever series since Shadowfever isn't too far away! I have to say that KMM does not disappoint with this third installment of Mac and Barrons. There were times (as there was in the other two books) when you just wanted to either kick Mac or Barrons in the "petunia" so they would both be straight with each other. Of course, if I didn't feel this way in this book, I would wonder if I picked up another series by mistake. The book is fast paced and enjoyable read until...

    I had pondered about even mentioning the ending, but several people had mentioned it as a cliffhanger. Well, yes, it is a cliffhanger (I usually hate those) but there was something more in the ending I hated. All I will say is that it almost made me give it one star less. Upon reflection and the note by the author in the book, I decided this was EXACTLY the end and emotion that was intended so I gave back the star I almost stole. Therefore, this book has 5 stars and I recommend this series. If you haven't read it yet, I suggest you start at the beginning with Darkfever. The series comes together much better that way for readers.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    FAEFEVER!!!!!

    Fae fever is Lots of all-out action and mystery. If you enjoyed the previous books (and you really should start at the beginning, even though the author kindly supplies a summary of what is going on as an introduction to the main story), you should enjoy this one. But don't look for the completion of a main story arc in this book and don't look for answers to most of the questions that have been brought up thus far. Things are still going to get even more confusing and crazy before anything like answers or a resolution occurs. And if you thought the last books' endings were rather too much like cliff-hangers, you'll think again regarding this one.
    Personally, I am still curious enough about Barrons and V'lane to want to find out more, so I will continue to read. I was tiring a little of Mac, who is feisty to the point of insanity, loving the power of eating fae a little too much (ugh!) and playing everyone off against each other; letting Barrons shelter and mentor her, but still ready to double-cross him at the drop of a hat just because he doesn't tell her all his secrets and even though she's obviously attracted to him. After three books of the same, I'm not sure how long I'll continue to find Mac all that sympathetic. In a way, this makes the ending of this book a little easier to take, although it's really not a good thing.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2009

    Enthralling as usual

    I thoroughly enjoyed the book. It was interesting learning more about, not only Mac, but the other characters as well. I would recommend this series and her Highland series to any reader interested in the supernatural, time traveling, and just plain sexy, stimulating enrapture.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Bring on Fever number 4.....

    This was a great book, although the end did leave you hanging and hoping the next book comes out really soon. Not quite a natural break, most books leave you off feeling good. This book left off with Mac in trouble and you wanting to keep reading. Not a bad thing, just different. The entire series had been original and quite well written, with no sex!!! Not many authors pulling that off now a days. All the books I tend to read are full of it, so this was a nice change. Hope some of Mac's questions are answered in the next book, and I hope she gets through the Death by Sex fae encounter, she is the hero so I am sure she will make it through just fine.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 26, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Can't put down!

    I read the first book of the series, Darkfever, as a free audiobook on iTunes and was immediately drawn into the story. I finished the second and third books in two days. Once you start you can't put them down. The story is interesting and exciting and the characters are well developed.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    I LOVE THIS SERIES!! GREAT CHARACTERS!

    I could not be happier with how this series is developing. The character development is flawless and realistic. I love the sexual tension between Barrons and Mac. I love that the author strings it along and only gives us mini... and I mean MINI!... tastes of what is to come (hopefully) and what is going on between the two characters. I think these books have been well written! They are exciting, suspensful and captivating. I really get caught up in Mac's character. I've already read the first three books, in less than a week, and now I am starting up on the 1st one again to glean any information I can on whats to come. I like how the author drops little hints here and there. Enough to put some things together, but not all. Its just really good suspense in my opinion. I am dying to know more of what will happen. I love the characters. I can't wait for the next installment. The authors teasing way of writing works great for me. It builds up a lot of anticipation. I like that.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 27, 2008

    #4 Cannot Arrive Fast Enough

    I actually scheduled a vacation around the release of this book. When I noticed the 1st two were released in paperback, I ordered the whole series to date. Just after the delivery of the 3rd book I remember reading a review which contained complaints regarding lack of plot development. I have to wonder if that reviewer and I read the same book. I mean the biggest thing that could have happened, well, happened! I don't want to contain any spoilers, but seriously I was left gripping the edge of my seat when I got to the last page. Mac is darker and way tougher, the heat between her and Jericho Barrons can practically be tasted on the pages, I still want to kick Rowena's petunia, and you get a glimpse of Alina's elusive journal. What more could you want? Before reading Faefever, I started at the beginning and read Darkfever again. If you can devote the time to re-reading 1 and 2, I highly recommend it. I was able to submerge myself in the dark streets of Dublin for 4 whole days and I loved every moment. I am shaking with anticipation for the 4th release. When will that be exactly? Tomorrow? The next day? Whenever it is, it can't frogging come soon enough.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2008

    It sucks you in

    Unlike the previous two books, I took my time with Faefever. I didn't devour it in one sitting as I did Darkfever and Bloodfever. I wanted to savor it because I knew it'd be a long time before I got the fourth. The book starts off slow and annoyed me a little with the 'what's happened until now' stuff. But I understood that was necessary for folks just tuning into the series 'which is nuts - you simply have to read them in order!'. Throughout most of the book, Mac is on her own and really - isn't this her story anyway? I did like the interaction she had with Christian and really wanted to see more of that. I loved that Moning wove the MacKeltar's into this story as well. I also loved the birthday cake scene with Barrons and Mac. And yes, like other fans, I keep waiting for them to 'get together.' I think Mac's character has developed really well and Moning does it with a fine hand. She continues to show us the Mac we knew at the beginning of Darkfever is indeed gone and probably lost forever to the Mac we know at the end of Faefever. This is NOT a traditional romance, by any means, and you have to go into the series knowing that right up front. It's dark urban fantasy at its finest. As a writer, it takes a lot of guts to tell the story the way you want and not bow to convention. I LOVE that Moning does just this with her characters, with the quasi-romance between Barrons 'who, incidentally, is smoke' and Mac, with the flirtation with V'Lane, and even the controversial ending. I applaud her for continuing to be true to her story and her characters and willing to tick off fans with the ending. Sure, I'm ticked off--not becuase of what happened to Mac, but because we're left in such a cliff-hanger. If you're thinking of reading this book, start at the beginning with Darkfever and then Bloodfever. This is a series and NOT stand-alone books. The character development continues with this book, as well as the relationship development. 'I would like to see Mac end up with Barrons, but I'm thinking that may not happen...' I will be salivating to get my hands on Dreamfever next year. Write fast, KMM. Write fast. :'

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2008

    Awesome Novel

    Another great book in this series, I read it in one sitting. This was the darkest of the three books so far. Mac is still in the race to find the ancient book of Dark Magic so evil, it corrupts anyone who touches it. All Hallow's Eve is approaching and the city is descending into chaos. Can Mac prevent a deadly race between the immortals from shattering the walls between worlds? This book is non-stop action from start to finish and the ending is a shocker and a cliffhanger. I am looking forward to the next book in the series.

    1 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2008

    Love, Love, Love this book!

    I read this book in one day. I could not put it down. I have been waiting anxiously after reading the first two in the series and I was not disappointed. This is one of the very best books I have read this entire year. It will leave you open mouthed at the end of the book gasping for more. Very, very good read! But now Karen better hurry with the next book in the series. I cant wait to see what happens.

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2008

    Harrowing Installment to the Fever Series

    As with the first 2 Fever books, there is lots of great humor, sexual tension, drama, and darkness. Faefever delivers you lots of great characters in Mac, JZB, and V'lane. During my first read, the ending was both shocking and heartbreaking, but upon reflection it is a brave move by Moning. It definitely left me anxious for the release of Dreamfever!

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2008

    This is only book 3 people-not book five

    I didn't have expectations for the story, because KMM blows them away so I find its just easier to go into the story with a clear mind. I love her foreshadowing skills, and you can see little clues into the Mac series as far bas as Kiss of the Highlander. I don't understand why people are so angry. This isn't supposed to be a trilogy, and if you read books one and two you'd know that the HEA won't come until book five. I loved the story. It completely sucked me in, and while I agree that the ending left me totally confused, it also left me wanting more. The only thing that disappointed me was the length. It was shorter than I expected, and like others have said has a glossary in the back and a recap the first chapter. I was hoping for another 60-100 pages really. Not to mention that the story in this book only takes place in less than a week. However this is a brisk series, and I'm going to be in line next year for fourth story. While it may take a year to get a new story from KMM, her writing stays superb. Plus I don't feel like she's writing the next book strictly for her next royalty check which is a nice change from several other paranormal romance authors. 5 stars all the way.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2008

    WOW! Gorgeous,gritty,and addicting!

    I have followed the Fever series from the very beginning,and I was really impressed with this latest entry.Moning has crafted an enjoyable,incredible world with characters and events that will take you on an emotional journey like no other. Mac has grown in so many ways from the girl we met in Darkfever.She has become a complex,fascinating heroine that always entertains me.I listen to her story eagerly and with equal parts awe,fear,laughter and love.I share her doubts and desires,her triumphs and terrors.Moning doesn't stop with her,either. The other characters in Mac's world are every bit as complex and intriguing,yet Moning manages to avoid overload in the telling of Mac's story.Of course not every mystery will be solved,nor every question answered.That's why it's a series,to be absorbed and pondered along the way.FaeFever is action-packed yet subtle,a balance that only a truly gifted storyteller can achieve.It takes a skilled author to know how much to tell,when to tell it,and where.Moning IS such an author,and it shows. I am anxiously awaiting the rest of Mac's story,and in the meantime,I will occupy myself with one of the many fascinating mysteries to be found in her world.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2008

    Faefever (Fever Series #3)

    I honestly don't know how KMM does it. Each book tops the previous one. I thought Bloodfever was action packed, well Faefever tops it! I couldn't believe the amount of information that was given to us in this book. Does she answer all of your questions? Of course not! This is the 3rd book out of 5. But I felt like so much happened and I'm still trying to process all that we learned. If you want a book that will engage all of your emotions, this is it.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1826 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 92