Customer Reviews for

The Faerie Path (Faerie Path Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 152 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(79)

4 Star

(39)

3 Star

(22)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Amazing! A great start to a series.

Anita lives in London,England in the 21st century. She has an ordinary life; hangs out with friends, goes to school, ect. But, she mysterious things start to happen. She got two marks on her back.She thought it is a rash. The day before her 16th birthday, her boyfriend,...
Anita lives in London,England in the 21st century. She has an ordinary life; hangs out with friends, goes to school, ect. But, she mysterious things start to happen. She got two marks on her back.She thought it is a rash. The day before her 16th birthday, her boyfriend,Evan, takes her on a small boat ride on the river. He was about to tell her something very important when the boat crashed. Evan and Anita ened up in the hospital. They are fine but Evan is "sleeping", sort of like in a coma. Evan soon disappears. She recieves a pretty journal but has no idea where it came from. Anita sees a stanger and he tells her to follow him and take his hand. She got transported to the realm of Faerie, and she is Princess Tania who had been missing in the Mortal World ( Earth) for 500 years. But can she just forget her old life and move on?? And is Gabriel up to something? Read to find out! This book was amazing! A must-read!

posted by kaitlyn97 on April 22, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Good Ideas but Poorly Executed

Frewin Jones definately had some good ideas here but her execution left somewhat to be desired. Her suggestion that the two worlds existed side by side and almost overlapped in areas was intriguing. It explained how the two worlds could exist in the same space without s...
Frewin Jones definately had some good ideas here but her execution left somewhat to be desired. Her suggestion that the two worlds existed side by side and almost overlapped in areas was intriguing. It explained how the two worlds could exist in the same space without sounding far-fetched. When she brought this up I expected a full, detailed explanation. Instead she brushed over it leaving me wondering if she understood her own theory. The idea of the Amber Prision was truely genious. I loved the idea that people could be trapped in amber like bugs. However, once again her description of this wasn't overly detailed and she never once made this connection. Among other things her dialogue was weak and problems were far to easily resolved. Over all I felt that Jones just fell short. She had all the elements of the next great teen fantasy but just didn't make it. However, young girls will probably love this and parents will appreciate that its clean.

posted by Anonymous on June 6, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 154 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8
  • Posted April 22, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Amazing! A great start to a series.

    Anita lives in London,England in the 21st century. She has an ordinary life; hangs out with friends, goes to school, ect. But, she mysterious things start to happen. She got two marks on her back.She thought it is a rash. The day before her 16th birthday, her boyfriend,Evan, takes her on a small boat ride on the river. He was about to tell her something very important when the boat crashed. Evan and Anita ened up in the hospital. They are fine but Evan is "sleeping", sort of like in a coma. Evan soon disappears. She recieves a pretty journal but has no idea where it came from. Anita sees a stanger and he tells her to follow him and take his hand. She got transported to the realm of Faerie, and she is Princess Tania who had been missing in the Mortal World ( Earth) for 500 years. But can she just forget her old life and move on?? And is Gabriel up to something? Read to find out! This book was amazing! A must-read!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 28, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by The Compulsive Reader for TeensReadToo.com

    Anita Palmer believes that she is an ordinary girl, simply excited for her sixteenth birthday, and the plans her new boyfriend has made. She thinks nothing of the strange dreams she's been having. But when her birthday ends in disaster and the dreams get more and more vivid, Anita begins to feel afraid. <BR/><BR/>Then she is swept into an entirely different world, the world in which her boyfriend--and Anita--really belong. Here, she is Tania, the seventh princess of Faerie. <BR/><BR/>But all isn't joyful. The kingdom is mourning the death of her mother, and her eldest sister refuses to see her. And more importantly, there is a traitor in their midst... <BR/><BR/>THE FAERIE PATH was very charming and yet mysterious at the same time. The writing has a slight tendency to bog the reader down every once in a while, but the numerous plot twists keep the book from getting boring. Full of intriguing details and breathtaking descriptions, the story reads like your favorite fairy tale, and the surprise ending will leave you waiting in anticipation for the sequel, THE LOST QUEEN.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2008

    Good Ideas but Poorly Executed

    Frewin Jones definately had some good ideas here but her execution left somewhat to be desired. Her suggestion that the two worlds existed side by side and almost overlapped in areas was intriguing. It explained how the two worlds could exist in the same space without sounding far-fetched. When she brought this up I expected a full, detailed explanation. Instead she brushed over it leaving me wondering if she understood her own theory. The idea of the Amber Prision was truely genious. I loved the idea that people could be trapped in amber like bugs. However, once again her description of this wasn't overly detailed and she never once made this connection. Among other things her dialogue was weak and problems were far to easily resolved. Over all I felt that Jones just fell short. She had all the elements of the next great teen fantasy but just didn't make it. However, young girls will probably love this and parents will appreciate that its clean.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2007

    One of those books!

    Amazing! I found the book to be one that you can easily get lost in the pages. I was so into it I was surprised I finished it so fast. The beginning of the book (first chapter or two) may seem just ok&& iffy iffy and you might want to put it down but keep reading! It turns into a wonderful book!! I thought it was just going to be good but it was more than good it was OUTSTANDING! =D

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2007

    antia fan!

    i was brosein througe the bookstor, and saw this, i like fantsey, so i read the back. ten minuets later i was in line. i read it fast and now love it, i cant wait for book 2!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    REALLY GOOD!!!!

    I really love this book! I recommend it to any girl around 9 - 13. I really liked it and I love the series. I am still reading the Faerie Path books! Read this book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 15, 2009

    I love the World of Faerie

    I really liked ¿The Faerie Path,¿ by Frewin Jones. This book is very well written, with a nice balance between beautiful descriptions and fast paced action. The world of Faerie, which Tania visits in this book, is multi-layered and pretty believable. In fact, I wish I lived there myself! Another thing that made this book interesting was how each of the Faerie princesses has a different personality and talents. Frewin Jones did a good job describing Tania¿s emotions. It was easy to figure out what she was feeling and why. I liked the contrast between the beautiful world of Faerie and the regular ¿mortal¿ world. It showed how hard it was for Tania when she found out that she now has two homes, two loves, and two mothers and fathers. Even though ¿The Faerie Path¿ is, obviously, about fairies its not the ¿little kid book¿ you might expect it to be. I would recommend this book to any girl who loves fantasy. (like me!)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2008

    Amazing!

    This book is amazing and there is no other way to put it. It is one of my favorites and I am actually reading it now because I just got the other books and I am refreshing my memory. I would recommend this book to anyone who enjoys mythical things and being sucked into a book as if you are the main charcter.Keep writing for us Frewin Jones

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2008

    Love or Betrayal

    The Faerie Path was a sensational story that kept us reading all night long. The characters were so realistic and the setting was described so well that we felt as if we were in the book itself. This book is full of twists and turns: there is a surprise at every corner. If you¿re looking for a book with romance, betrayal, and a fantastic ending preparing for a promising sequel this is the book for you!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2008

    SUPERB!

    This book is a marvelous, page-turning, on-the-edge-of-your-seat, wondering-what's-going- to-happen-next book. It definitely calls for all fantasy lovers. I think it's more of a girly book, though. Without a doubt, I recommend it!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2008

    AN OUTSTANDING BOOK! MUST READ!!!!!

    When i saw the book at b&n i knew that it was going to be outstanding. I began reading it and i couldn't put it down. I finnished the book in 2 school days!!! It was an outstanding book and i recommend it to everyone!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2008

    Brilliant Work, Well Written, Must Read!

    I agree with the majority of the reviewers so far! I'm into Fantasy & Fairy books. I've read others that were lets say just horrible. This book Faerie Path caught my eye with the title. I loved every minute of it. Because it was so good I just bought the other 2 books in the Series from this site. Read it and You'll be hooked!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2008

    Unimpressive

    I was drawn in by the cover and fell victim to the classic cliche about not judging a book by its cover. The cover art is undeniably pretty. The book, on the other hand, is not. Although the plot line was decently original, many ideas in the series were not: fairies being harmed by metal, seven children (the seventh being special, of course), a gary stu hero to be in love with the mary sue heroine - and more. The romance was extremely ordinary to the point of being stereotypical. All main characters were far too good looking and far too good. Much of the more archaic language used by some characters felt strained and its usage seemed vaguely out of place. I was annoyed with the protagonist after about 10 pages. Maybe worth a read for your curiosity, but check it out of a library - don't waste your money.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2007

    Absolutely the best book in the world!!!

    I always hated reading.I would always complain about reading.and said it was boring.But, that was of course before i read The Faerie Path.This book now has me hooked on reading.This is the book that made me actually LOVE reading.This and the second book are absolutely amazing. This is so much better than harry potter!!!!!! Frewin Jones is such a wonderful writer. I will definitely be puting this book and Frewin Jones as my #1 on my favourite book and writers list.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2007

    A reviewer

    when i started to read the book i thought that it was going to take a wile to finsh but to my surprise it only took me 3 days becouse the book is so exciting and you just cant stop reading it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2007

    Fantastic!!

    I picked this book up many times before I actually bought it. It was AWSOME! I highly recomend it! I can't wait to get my hands on the new one! It's worth reading!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2007

    Very Good

    I thought this was a good book with an exciting plot! I can't wait for the next one! But I thougth it was sad that she had to be stuck on earth and loose her memory. *Opps* but this a really good book filled with passion,romance, and adventure!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2007

    Amazing!

    This book had me captivated from start to finish! It is an excellent tale of love, treachery, and intrigue! An excellent recommendation to anyone who loves fantasy fiction!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2007

    typical but delightful

    this book is a typical fantasy of faerie, maybe a little bit slow at the beginning, but I couldn't put it down at the end which was filled with surprising turns and almost all my predictions turned out differently.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2007

    a good book

    I thought this book rocked. The storyline was so interesting and once I picked it up, I just couldn't stand to put it down. I recommend this book to anyone who likes faeries!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 154 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8