Customer Reviews for

The Faerie Ring

Average Rating 4.5
( 54 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(24)

4 Star

(22)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted September 18, 2011

    Live To Read

    The adjective used with this book is spellbinding and spellbinding it is. Many readers will not be able to put the book down, finishing it in under four hours. The plot is one of the best spins on faeries that most readers will have seen for a long time. The events are fast-paced and exciting, particularly in the middle and the characters are so fun to read about.


    The historical setting enriches the whole faerie theme, making the story slightly different from other novels with a similar theme. The romance isn't the main focus, but it develops at all the right times and is believable. The love interest actually isn't that obvious until further on in the book, the reader will be content to guess and wait though-there is more than enough going on that this part isn't missed.


    The author writes very smoothly, the transitions are not the least bit choppy and everything falls neatly into place. The reader will experience the same emotions that the main character feels over certain events in the story-a large range of them too...this is, of course, a mark of a good author if she can evoke emotions in the reader. The sadder events in the book-poverty, orphans, death, etc...-are written clearly and plainly. The author handles these qualities very well, she doesn't gloss over them.


    Reiker is probably the most interesting character. The reader will not be quite sure what role he is to play until further into the novel. He is enigmatic, somewhat protective, and his intentions are never quite clear. Tiki, the main character, is impressive. She literally works with what she has...and she doesn't have all that much. She is very likable and will connect with the reader easily. This book is recommended to teens/young adults/adults who enjoy escaping into a meshed world of fantasy and realism.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2011

    Great Faerie Book

    This book is one of those books that you think you know what is going to happen but then Tiki does something to save her "family". I am in love with this book! Highly recommended for people that was some action, suspense, romance and a lot of faeries.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2012

    I love a good faerie tale

    So of course growing up I was always the 'Fairy Tale' kinda girl. Well, now that I'm supposedly grown-up, I adore a good 'Faerie Tale'. Kiki did NOT disappoint! The story was amazing, fast paced & full of intrigue. I related to Tiki trying to figure out who she could trust as well as her protective mothering nature. The entire storyline was phenomenal however, I think Kiki did a great job wrapping up the story yet leaving enough unfinished/unresolved so that you are desperate for more.....

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2013

    LOVED IT!!!!!

    This book was an attention gette rfrom the very beginning. It hooked from the first page and I couldn't pu tit down until I finished this. If you live paranormal YA books thennthis is a great one for you!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2013

    Great book

    I loved this book, it makes you believe. I didn't want it to end! BRAVO!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 10, 2012

    I loved it! I've always been fascinated with history and fantasy

    I loved it! I've always been fascinated with history and fantasy and to have them both combined was a great read!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2012

    Wholesome fantasy

    Great book!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Excellent book, can't wait for the rest of the series. Really ke

    Excellent book, can't wait for the rest of the series. Really kept my interest.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 8, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Loved It

    4.5 Stars

    I absolutely loved the setting of The Faerie Ring. Victorian Era is one of my favorite time periods to read about now add that in with some very wonderful characters this made for a very quick read. I literally flew through The Faerie Ring because I got so wrapped up in Tikis world.

    Hamilton did a wonderful job with all the characters to where I couldn't help but care for each and every one of them even one of the antagonist. She did an excellent job with Tiki. I loved how she was such a strong character and with the things the world threw at her instead of growing cold and hard she still found time to take care of her "family" other orpahaned kids just like her. Honestly how can you not care for the group of orphans that we are introduced to, each one helping in taking care of each other and trying to survive the gritty slums of London.

    Reiker is the love interest, and at first I didn't know what to think of him. Was he someone to trust or was he gaming Tiki. He remained a mystery, everytime I thought I knew what he was about his actions made me second guess myself. Learning about him was half the fun.

    The book had alot of twists and turns that had me guessing,not to mention discovering the secrets of the characters right along side with them. I like how the main focus wasn't really the faeries but it was about Tiki, her orphan family, and of course the faerie ring which in this case really is a ring and not a circle of mushrooms.

    Overall this was a refreshing read for me and looks like a start to a very promising series. I can't wait for the next book in the series although this could have been a standalone with the satisfying ending but I have a feeling there will be a few things touched in the upcoming books that was left a slight mystery.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 6, 2012

    Uniquely Creative Story - Loved It!!!

    The Faerie Ring is definitely an Epic YA read, seamlessly blending elements of Oliver Twist, Cinderella and the paranormal Otherworld of The Fey together into a uniquely creative mystery set in Victorian England.

    Sixteen-year-old Tiki at first seems to be a hardened pickpocket and the leader of a ragged group of orphaned thieves, who are living in a rickety, abandoned clock maker’s shop. But as the story unfolds, it becomes clear that Tiki isn’t what she appears to be and the children she cares for have become a family, with Tiki taking on the role of mother to Shamus, Fiona, Toots and four-year-old Clara. And when Tiki is presented with the irresistible opportunity to steal a beautiful ring from Queen Victoria, she throws caution to the wind and grabs the chance with both hands. She’s sure she’s found the way to take her family out of poverty by selling the ring. But, the ring is not simply a ring. It’s a powerful vessel, entrusted to the British royal family to conceal and protect, which holds the peace between the human and Fey worlds. A Faerie Ring.

    Enter Rieker, an enigmatic fellow thief who happens to show up at unexpected times and places to rescue Tiki from fantastic and frightening creatures, and who also seems to know a great deal about the ring Tiki has stolen. There’s no question this handsome, brooding stranger has secrets that, when revealed, will surprise you. And Tiki also has secrets, some she keeps close such as the unusual birthmark that encircles her wrist, her life before she became a pickpocket and the fact that she’s drawn to Rieker even though she’s sure he can’t be trusted. Others secrets are simply hints and intuitions that Tiki initially shrugs off as her imagination. The movement of shadow out of the corner of your eye sometimes should not be ignored.

    I found The Faerie Ring to be a wonderfully entertaining book with, to my mind, an unusual and original premise. I loved it, and I highly recommend it as an amazing story! The only complaint I have is that there’s still some unanswered questions about Tiki’s history, which I hope is an indication of a sequel in the works.

    I agree completely with the rating of this book. I’d have no problem with my thirteen-year-old daughter reading it. Should they make this book into a movie? I’d sign the petition! I give The Faerie Ring four and a half stars!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2011

    Best book

    She keeps you hooked tovthe end i hope there will be a sequel :D

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 14, 2011

    Magical and Enchanting! A MUST read!

    I¿ll admit that I wasn¿t expecting to fall in love with Kiki Hamilton¿s The Faerie Ring as much I did, but now after reading it, I totally get why I did. Hamilton¿s stunning debut has everything you could want- mystery, excitement, fantasy, heart, romance *wink wink*, compelling characters, and a completely captivating story. I read The Faerie Ring in one sitting because I simply could not put it down. I was absolutely captivated and enchanted by its magic. Hamilton has created a spellbinding and riveting story that is beautifully executed and masterfully weaved. The fantasy is fun, the characters are engaging, and the writing is superb. The story is fast paced and exciting, but never feels rushed or overwhelming. The world Hamilton creates in this book is extremely well developed, layered, and vivid. The world of 19th century London simply comes alive within the pages of this book and feels incredibly real. From the gritty slums of the city to the grand ballroom of Buckingham Palace to the otherworldy realm of the Fae, I saw every scene and every aspect of the setting clearly and easily in my head. And I felt like I was a part of it all! The dialogue, clothes, setting, history, etc are so very authentic that I really did feel like I had been swept away to Victorian London for a few hours. Yet, despite the setting and time period of this book, it possesses a great refreshing, modern feel as well. The fantasy elements in this book are wonderful and delightful! I loved Hamilton¿s take on the world of faeries. The faeries in this book aren¿t your adorable Tinkerbells. They¿re dangerous, powerful, and vengeful, but completely captivating. Hamilton creates a very intricate and complex history surrounding her faeries that really impressed me. The life of a pickpocket orphan makes for a thrilling story. I really enjoyed stalking the grimy streets of London with Tiki has she followed her marks and deftly stole from them. There¿s something so exciting about knowing that what these characters are doing (stealing) is wrong, yet not caring at all and being ready to loyally defend their actions if needed. And there is something so magical and compelling about a ragtag group of orphans who have banded together and formed a surprisingly loving, tight family. The love and compassion between this little group of orphans is so touching and heartwarming. The last quarter of the book is climactic and gasp-worthy, with unexpected twists, turns, and revelations. The ending made me smile (and maybe even tear up a bit) and left me wanting more. Hamilton¿s characters are so awesome! They really make this book spectacular. I absolutely love Tiki. She¿s smart, feisty, brave, loyal, and compassionate. She has such heart and strength, and the way she loves her new family is breathtaking. Tiki is a great example of a female YA protagonist done right! She¿s easy to relate to and impossible not to root for. Rieker *swoons a little*¿aww Rieker. This handsome, mysterious fellow is so intriguing. Even from his very first appearance, you get the feeling that there is so much more to him than what he simply lets on. But I love that even though he¿s keeping secrets and isn¿t always honest with Tiki, he¿s always himself. Even when his secrets are revealed, his personality never changes¿and thank goodness for that! I¿ve fallen in love with Kiki Hamilton¿s The Faerie Ring! This is an awesomely fantastic debut of what looks to be a phenomenal series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 14, 2011

    Quick, Involving read!

    Synopsis

    Tiki's memories of her comfortable childhood are fading. She's made a new family and she'll do anything to protect them. Even take on evil faeries and magic that she doesn't understand.

    Review

    This book grabbed me in the first chapter and managed to hold my attention, a rare occurrence these days. Tiki was an interesting character, and if I occasionally wanted to beat her over the head and point out what was going on, well, that's a pretty normal thing for me.

    The story is involving, and you find yourself cheering on the love story. The language is not overly involved, as can sometimes be the case in period pieces. Kiki Hamilton's writing focuses on the meat and bones of her story and doesn't get caught up on tangents or minutia. I hope that Tiki continues to have interesting adventures while discovering what, exactly, she it.


    My Recommendation

    I really enjoyed it, I hope you will too! 5/5 - Worth full price.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 25, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    , young teenage readers will enjoy visiting Kiki Hamilton's Dickensian fantasy realm.

    Following the deaths of her parents and needing to avoid her odious uncle, teenager Tiki lives on the streets of London. She and other street urchin pick pockets while they reside in a dump near Charing Cross Station.

    In December 1871, Tiki grabs a ring. However this bauble is not just an ordinary piece of jewelry. The ring belongs to the rulers of England and symbolizes the peace between the humans and the fey. If lost, the fey no longer are bound to idly observe the encroachment of the mortals into their realm. Tiki learns the truth and wants to return the ring to Queen Victoria in order to collect the reward that will enable her and her orphans to leave the streets. However, the faerie stalk her as they want the ring so that the truce ends with her blood as the catalyst in a dark magical assault on mankind. Only Rieker the thief as a sort of guardian angel and her urchin comrades have her back; while Prince Leopold stunned by the "ring" he sees etched around Tiki's wrist wants to know who she really is.

    With an in your face gleeful nod to Oliver Twist (Rieker is even reading the book) and the Prince and the Pauper, but starring a Cinderella heroine, readers will appreciate this engaging historical fantasy. Tiki is a super protagonist who cares deeply for her "children" while Rieker is an enigmatic thief who seems to always have her back. Although the ending feels more like a setup for future tales rather than a climax, young teenage readers will enjoy visiting Kiki Hamilton's Dickensian fantasy realm.

    Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2