Customer Reviews for

Fahrenheit 451

Average Rating 4
( 438 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(223)

4 Star

(110)

3 Star

(56)

2 Star

(17)

1 Star

(32)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

16 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

Fahrenheit 451: don't read it just for the plot

I enjoyed Fahrenheit 451. True, it's hard to understand sometimes. I think what really made this book stand out to me was not the plot, but the motifs and symbolism. If you read this book just for plot, I will tell you that you will be confused and disappointed. The glo...
I enjoyed Fahrenheit 451. True, it's hard to understand sometimes. I think what really made this book stand out to me was not the plot, but the motifs and symbolism. If you read this book just for plot, I will tell you that you will be confused and disappointed. The glory of this book is in how Ray Bradbury uses symbolism and motif. When I say motif, I mean like a theme. Like fire and water. Bradbury often uses fire to represent ignorance in the book, and water to represent knowledge. Or masks and mirrors. Bradbury will talk about some of the characters (usually the ones who are following the crowd, like the Montags) having "masks," while other characters (those who are different like Clarisse and Faber) are described as with mirrors.
If you want to really read this book, I recommend getting one of those literature guides to read along with Fahrenheit. If you know the symbolism behind the book, you will enjoy it much more.

posted by BobWatcher on June 3, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

Overpriced

Had to read the book for school , took a LONG time for the book to get interesting

posted by 10707684 on January 10, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 17 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2012

    Meh...

    My class had to read this book last year in 9th grade. I was one of the few who didn't cheat off of sparknotes. The plot was pretty original and creative. What I hated was his writing style. It was too overly descriptive in need of more dialogue. Also, the ending is too rushed and didn't make much sense. Sorry, but the most I can give this book is 2 stars. This book is selling on the sole fact that he just died.

    4 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2001

    Bad Book

    F451 was a really interesting book the first 60 pages that I read. After that the book was just a bad read. The ending was horrible; it didn't explain what happened after the chase of Montag. What about Clarisse? She was the 'object' that made the beginning the most interesting. F451 was really just a waste of my reading time, and I wouldn't recommend it to anyone reading on their own time.

    3 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 21, 2012

    This book is about books being banned. People are not allowed to

    This book is about books being banned. People are not allowed to read books and if they have books then their house will be burned down. No one really has feelings for anything and do not communicate well. Montag gets a different perspective and tries to change the city.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 21, 2012

    I did not like this book very much. It was very uninteresting to

    I did not like this book very much. It was very uninteresting to me.

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2013

    Good message but...

    The message was good. It was a pretty short book too. BUT I found this book hard to read. Kept putting me to sleep.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 6, 2013

    Maybe I didn't really understand the book? But It was readable,

    Maybe I didn't really understand the book? But It was readable, so that's a thing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2012

    G

    H

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2012

    C how it goes

    I have to read for my book club. Read sample seems interesting. Lets c how this goes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2012

    Please let me know how this book is.

    I have to read this book for my summer reading project. I started to read the first couple of pages to get a feel for the book and it seems really confusing and possibly boring. For those of you who have read this book, please HELP ME!!! I'm 14 and i wanted to know if you think that ill be able to understand this book completley. Please write another review responding to this to let me know what you think. I really need your help!! Thanking you in advance.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2011

    CONFUSED!!

    Wait so when is this book ACTUALLY releasing? Obviiusly not October 11.....

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2006

    Fahrenheit 451

    This book was one crazy adventure. It was about a man named Guy Montag who is a firefighter. But instead of putting out fires his job is to start them. In this world books are illegal, but Guy lets his curiosity get to him and finds himself making the toughest decision of his life. To live his life being unhappy or to try and find the answers in books. Most of Montag¿s problems result from one decision he decided to make. Guy goes to visit a guy named Faber. Faber and Guy come up with a plan to shut down the firefighting business. But Guy starts acting out and ends up getting himself caught. He ends up becoming a fugitive. In my opinion this book had a very creative plot, but was not carried out well. This book wasn¿t all that exciting and if I didn¿t have to read it for a grade I would have stopped reading it right in the middle. There are some parts in this book where it is just pages of people talking. all in all it was kind of lame.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2006

    Book Review: Fanrenheit 451.

    Book review The overall book was about a man whose job was to burn books. He loved his job, But later pondered over his life . He questioned if he could continue burning books and if this was the real meaning of his life. Montag was like an average man he had a wife lived comfortably. Moreover Montag meets a seventeen-year-old girl who takes interest in Montag as if it was her own dad. Later he finds out that she has died and is deeply hurt. This book takes place in the future. Many people think that all books are enemies to them, But Montag realizes that books can help and guide people though virtual any thing. So he decides that he has to change and make a difference for the people. The book Fahrenheit 451 goes through many ups and downs such as suicide attempts, murder and even breaks up. This book contains a lot of drama. It takes you though a variety of emotions that many characters had. They expressed there feelings all throughout the story. The author did an excellent job with the book. I think the book was trying to convey an important message such as you can always make changes or make a difference even if others don¿t believe in the change that you are going to make. The book was kind of hard to understand because there was a lot of metaphors. If you understand were the metaphors are going then you will have no problems with this book. Personally I did not like the book because it just was not click or peeking my interest. Sometimes I had to force and just read it and try to like. The point that really stuck me was at the very end when Montag takes this very special book with him as he escapes home. Guess what it is? The Bible . I call the bible an outstanding and brilliant book way better than Fahrenheit 451. When you look at Fahrenheit 451 book cover looks pretty disturbing but it explains what the book is really about. How Montag was shamed about what he was doing how his life was going in the direction that he didn¿t want to go in. Fahrenheit 451 is a nonstop action book and a classic novel that was published 50 year ago and still amazes many people. What is your view of Fahrenheit 451?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2006

    Disappointing

    This book was written over 50 years ago, and the setting is in the future. Starting out, I thought the book would be a cool story because of the name and synopsis. Since the setting is in the future, you have to give the author some credit for making a story out of a prediction about the future. But the author overestimated his prediction, giving the story a somewhat childish fantasy feeling. In the story, people live in fireproof houses and regular everyday cars can travel at impossible speeds. Virtually everything is electronic, and that¿s one of the points the story tries to make. Since everything is much easier and technical for people, they feel like they don¿t need school or books or knowledge. In the society the story takes place in, books are meant to burned, along with their residences. The story has a good moral, but it¿s not exciting at all. There¿s hardly any action at all anywhere in the story. There is a lack of characters, dialogue, and interaction with other characters and objects. Some parts of the story are written well, while the rest of the story makes you want to skip big chunks of it. The main character is a guy named Montag, who is a fireman. In the time the story takes place, there are fireproof houses, so there is no need for firemen to put out fires. Instead, these firemen seek out owners of books, and burn the books along with the houses that carry them. Years into his career, Montag meets a 17 year old girl who acts much different from other people. She talks about things that make no sense to Montag. Eventually, Montag starts to wonder about what he is doing, and if it¿s right. His curiosity leads him to bring home a book, which firemen aren¿t supposed to do. This action leads to other sequences in the story. The main events are sequenced nicely in the story, but often the reader is left with big gaps of little dialogue and action. The ending of the book was also a bust. The main action in the story leads up to the setting of the ending, but that¿s it. There is nothing much after that. If you¿re looking for a book with a lot of details and thought with a moral, but not that much action or interaction, then this would be OK for you. But if you¿re looking for a book with action, thrill, and suspense, then I wouldn¿t recommend this book to you. Overall, I would say that this story didn¿t come close to what I was expecting, but I will give it credit for having a decent storyline.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 17 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1