Customer Reviews for

Fahrenheit 451: 50th Anniversary Edition

Average Rating 4
( 1095 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(512)

4 Star

(382)

3 Star

(126)

2 Star

(46)

1 Star

(29)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

37 out of 40 people found this review helpful.

Very Highly Recommended! An excellent symbolic warning to society of today!

Take a step into an alternate reality in which attempted suicides are a daily occurance and firefighters are relentlessly called to start fires. That is exactly what Ray Bradbury does in his excellent forewarning of a novel, Farenheit 451. Bradbury writes futuristically...
Take a step into an alternate reality in which attempted suicides are a daily occurance and firefighters are relentlessly called to start fires. That is exactly what Ray Bradbury does in his excellent forewarning of a novel, Farenheit 451. Bradbury writes futuristically about a symbolic society that takes place around the time we are currently in. The society is one in which free thought of any sort is shunned if not completely blocked out by technology. Houses are filled with TV walls, 4 to a room all playing a different show, and front porches are completely done away with in the novel. The novel centers around Guy Montag a firefighter in the society who is discovering ideas he never thought possible to have.
Montag is a firefighter who makes a living burning down houses containing banned books which include anything historical or of a literary nature. He meets a strange neighborhood girl who's family is the odd-ball group of the town because they all get together and talk around a table at night. Within the discussions between Montag and the girl a notion crosses Montag's mind that is later developed when he watches a woman burn with her books rather than live without them. From this thought that maybe there is something missing from Montag's society, Montag ventures on a secretive and dangerous journey to discover what it is. During this journey Montag is hunted down, outed for concealing books, and forced to run away with other literary followers. In this journey he discovers that unlike his society believes, free thought is the true happiness. Montag and his group of literary followers are given a chance to redefine the then fast-paced, materialistic, and thoughtless society Bradbury describes.
The society in which Montag lives is one that denies any opportunity for free thought. This is seen in Montag's homelife, typical to his world in which he and his wife are overcome by technology every waking moment. Mrs. Montag spends her days with her "family" as she called it in a parlor. This family consisted of three wall-sized televisions each playing a different show. T.V. has even become a thoughtless act as shown when Montag questions his wife as to what she is watching and she can mention the names of the characters but cannot tell what action is taking place, only that she is amused by it. Mrs. Montag can only dream of the addition of a fourth Wall Television to keep her eyes occupied and mind blank. The action of having 3 blaring T.V.s in one room of Bradbury's society is an exaggerated symbol for the fast paced media we do have in the world today such as using cell phones while on the computer while a T.V. drones in the background. The commercials we see on T.V. now that are 10-30 seconds long and up to 5 minutes consecutively are a real life representation of the short of thought society Bradbury warned against and feared in Farenheit 451.
To enhance this theme of thoughtlessness in Bradbury's novel people in his society do not even have a chance to think while falling asleep. Mrs. Montag wears her seashell radio to bed every night. This seashell is not full of ocean sounds but instead radio and chatter that run through her ears and her mind all night while she sleeps. This defeats even the slightest chance for sound thought and therefore exemplifies once again Bradbury's warning and novel's theme that the media and technology we use, taken over the limit will prohibit thought and stop progress.
Bradbury's novel Faren

posted by 8013415 on April 24, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

12 out of 72 people found this review helpful.

Boring and stupid

This book was just plain boring. The plot was too heavy and too much information was stuffed into the beginning of the book. It moves at a very slow pace and never picks up. I had a snail that moved faster than this. Read something else.

posted by Anonymous on August 7, 2000

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2000

    Boring and stupid

    This book was just plain boring. The plot was too heavy and too much information was stuffed into the beginning of the book. It moves at a very slow pace and never picks up. I had a snail that moved faster than this. Read something else.

    12 out of 72 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2005

    Fahrenheit 451

    I believe that Fahrenheit 451 is a desecent book. It has good plots of the future, well described characters, and it has great suspense. I really didn't like it because it was sci-fi but it did keep me involved. I think anyone who enjoys sci-fi and suspense should read this book.

    5 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2001

    burn it

    This was not the greatest book ever written i think that Ray BradBury could have done a lot better job on this one. All in all this book was not very good although it had some action in it

    3 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2007

    Not a good book

    I felt this was not a good book. I thought it was boring and stupid. The only cool thing about it was the fact it was written so long ago but it is similar to life today. I would never recomend this book. The only reason I read it was because I had to for English.

    2 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2000

    it was werid

    I feel that this book was alittle much. Some of what bradbury said did not make much sense. I had to read for CP 10 English and I found it to very confusing and I dont not often find that when I read books. But this is my opinon.

    2 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2013

    SPOILERS. I feel like I'm the only one who didn't like this book

    SPOILERS. I feel like I'm the only one who didn't like this book. I read this for my English class last week, and I really didn't like it. It's not because I didn't get the message or because it was an assignment rather than something to read for fun, either. I thought it was pretty interesting for the first part and half of the second. After that it went down hill. It's like he ran out of time writing it so he started rushing everything. It was way too fast paced to the point that some of the events just seem pointless to add in. And the you think something big is going to happen throughout the whole book but it never does! He meets that group of book people and you assume that they'll do something really great but all the do is talk about books for 2 pages, eat some bacon, and then it ends with them going off into the city. COMPLETELY ANTI CLIMACTIC. This book had such a great concept and it sounded so good to me when I chose it, but it was a giant disappointment. Too bad. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2011

    Do not read. It is very boring and confusing for some people

    I love books and never had anything bad to say about them in till I had to read this one. It is very boring and confusing to some people. It was even boring to me.I still to this day want to burn this book, which is funny since the main character used to burn books. I DO NOT recommend this book to any one!!!

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 1, 2010

    disliked

    I disliked this book it is not my favorite syfy book. I know that they burn books that are against the law but really I don't understand why books would be against the law normally when i read syfy it makes sense. I gave this book a 1 star because i didn't understand it. A syfy book in my opinion is diffrent it is intresting to me i understand it all. I would not recomend this book to anyone of my reading level.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 2, 2010

    Sorry but I hated it.....

    I disliked Fahrenheit 451 VERY MUCH. The reason I gave it 4 stars in the conversation section was because my class and I could always talk about how much we hated this book. This book was weird and I could've sworn that the author was going mad while writing it. I'm sorry but everybody in my school was keeping the books in pristine condition SO THEY COULD SELL IT when school got out...... This might be a good book for some but not for me. Wouldn't suggest the book.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 1, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Farenheit 451 was soo boring

    in my opinion F. 451 was completely boring!! There was nothing in it to compell me to keep reading it. I found that if you want to read this book you should a dictionary on your side at all times. My friends and i read it together and we all thought the book was way to hard to read. Dont get me wrong i like challenges, however this book had me totally confused from begininng to end. The only real thing that i liked about it was that someone took a stand against the lying gov't. the plot was way to hard to swallow and there was too many things to pick up on. Through out the entire book i found it was way toon hard to figure out what was going on. Also, when your reading you never know whether the author is talking in a narritive or if he's speaking in a metaphor. i wouldnt reccomend this book to anyone who just thinks outside the box.... This book is for people who think WAYYYYY out the box for sure!!! However, if you do decide to read this book i recommend reading gathering blue after. it's almost like the aftermath of the war that occurs in the book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2008

    A reviewer

    TERRIBLE TERRIBLE i had to read it for school and i STORNGLY hated it

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2008

    Burn this book!

    So...first of all, I took this book literally and threw it into my oven at 451 degrees. This is the worst book that i have ever had the misfortune to gaze upon. I wanted to stab out my eyes with a broach. After reading, i felt the sudden urge to walk out into the middle of an express way and lay down.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2007

    the most boring book i have ever read

    I had to read this book for summer reading. I knew this book probably wouldn't be so great because most books for summer reading i have read are not good. Do not bother purchasing this book because you will quit it right away.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2007

    didnt like it

    we had to read it for school. i didn't get it really. i think that its not made for kids and i thought that it wasn't very exciting.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2007

    Book that deserves to be burned

    The idea of this novel was great but Bradbury's style of telling the story was extremely disappointing. He drags on and on when he describes something and then loses his point sometimes. If Bradbury actually had a gift for writing, this book could've been better.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2006

    Fahrenheit 451

    I thought that this novel was very boring. I lost intrest when I was reading it because its just so blah. Fahrenheit 451 needs some more excitement. When I am in English class, whenever we read something that doesn't intrest me I usually would get bored out of my mind. I am not saying that it is such a horrible novel Mr. Bradbury just needs to be more enthusiastic. Also, write about stuff that matters. Banning and burning books doesn't really matter to the younger audience. This book takes place in the near future, a place where books are banned. The fire department finds books and Montag has to burn them. He tries to find a symbol and an outlook on life.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2006

    WORST BOOK EVER

    This has got to be the worst book I ever read. The book is totally pointless about some guy who starts fires burning books and then ends up on an island with a bunch of freaks who read. I personally could not even read this book because it was so boring and instead just used sparknotes. If you have to read this book for class just use sparknotes. Honestly I made an A on my test so I don't think my teacher read it either.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2005

    what was the point of this book

    I though that the book was extremely hard to follow and was not at all interesting. The only good part was when Montag killed Beatty with the flame thrower.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2005

    Not worth the time reading

    I read this book in class and when my teacher assigned the homework, I wouldn't bother because it made me want to sleep. Maybe I'll enjoy it later on, but who cares if you watch television and eveything is in the 'fast lane'.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 1999

    Read This Book

    This is a really good book. When you first start reading it you don't really get into it, it takes until the second part until you really get into it and can't put it down!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2