Customer Reviews for

Fahrenheit 451: 50th Anniversary Edition

Average Rating 4
( 1095 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(512)

4 Star

(382)

3 Star

(126)

2 Star

(46)

1 Star

(29)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

37 out of 40 people found this review helpful.

Very Highly Recommended! An excellent symbolic warning to society of today!

Take a step into an alternate reality in which attempted suicides are a daily occurance and firefighters are relentlessly called to start fires. That is exactly what Ray Bradbury does in his excellent forewarning of a novel, Farenheit 451. Bradbury writes futuristically...
Take a step into an alternate reality in which attempted suicides are a daily occurance and firefighters are relentlessly called to start fires. That is exactly what Ray Bradbury does in his excellent forewarning of a novel, Farenheit 451. Bradbury writes futuristically about a symbolic society that takes place around the time we are currently in. The society is one in which free thought of any sort is shunned if not completely blocked out by technology. Houses are filled with TV walls, 4 to a room all playing a different show, and front porches are completely done away with in the novel. The novel centers around Guy Montag a firefighter in the society who is discovering ideas he never thought possible to have.
Montag is a firefighter who makes a living burning down houses containing banned books which include anything historical or of a literary nature. He meets a strange neighborhood girl who's family is the odd-ball group of the town because they all get together and talk around a table at night. Within the discussions between Montag and the girl a notion crosses Montag's mind that is later developed when he watches a woman burn with her books rather than live without them. From this thought that maybe there is something missing from Montag's society, Montag ventures on a secretive and dangerous journey to discover what it is. During this journey Montag is hunted down, outed for concealing books, and forced to run away with other literary followers. In this journey he discovers that unlike his society believes, free thought is the true happiness. Montag and his group of literary followers are given a chance to redefine the then fast-paced, materialistic, and thoughtless society Bradbury describes.
The society in which Montag lives is one that denies any opportunity for free thought. This is seen in Montag's homelife, typical to his world in which he and his wife are overcome by technology every waking moment. Mrs. Montag spends her days with her "family" as she called it in a parlor. This family consisted of three wall-sized televisions each playing a different show. T.V. has even become a thoughtless act as shown when Montag questions his wife as to what she is watching and she can mention the names of the characters but cannot tell what action is taking place, only that she is amused by it. Mrs. Montag can only dream of the addition of a fourth Wall Television to keep her eyes occupied and mind blank. The action of having 3 blaring T.V.s in one room of Bradbury's society is an exaggerated symbol for the fast paced media we do have in the world today such as using cell phones while on the computer while a T.V. drones in the background. The commercials we see on T.V. now that are 10-30 seconds long and up to 5 minutes consecutively are a real life representation of the short of thought society Bradbury warned against and feared in Farenheit 451.
To enhance this theme of thoughtlessness in Bradbury's novel people in his society do not even have a chance to think while falling asleep. Mrs. Montag wears her seashell radio to bed every night. This seashell is not full of ocean sounds but instead radio and chatter that run through her ears and her mind all night while she sleeps. This defeats even the slightest chance for sound thought and therefore exemplifies once again Bradbury's warning and novel's theme that the media and technology we use, taken over the limit will prohibit thought and stop progress.
Bradbury's novel Faren

posted by 8013415 on April 24, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

12 out of 72 people found this review helpful.

Boring and stupid

This book was just plain boring. The plot was too heavy and too much information was stuffed into the beginning of the book. It moves at a very slow pace and never picks up. I had a snail that moved faster than this. Read something else.

posted by Anonymous on August 7, 2000

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 126 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7
  • Posted March 8, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Fahrenheit 451, by Ray Bradbury

    Although Fahrenheit 451 has a superior idea and message that inspired its creation, for me, Ray Bradbury fell short on the entertainment value. This book has a reputation that precedes itself, and I was excited to read one that I've heard so much about. That being said, I was left disappointed after a while.

    Towards the beginning, I was hooked. It was so different for me to read a futuristic type book, and this had just the right amount of science fiction in it to begin with. I was looking forward to learning about Clarisse, who offered a little bit of mystery and a promise of change. But I think the turning point for me was reading about Clarisse's fate in the story. When I read this, I thought that either the character had their information wrong, or that they were lying about her. Turns out that I was wrong, and this thing had actually happened (I don't want to spoil it). After that, all I could think of was, "Why in the world would Ray Bradbury do that? It's pointless!" Now when I look back on it, it wasn't the most hare-brained idea as I thought it wax, but the way he wrote it into the story made it...strange, to say the least.

    After that, I simply started liking the book less and less, until the end I wanted to skip pages to get it over with. Obviously I didn't, but it's never a good thing when I want to! There was nothing wrong with the plot-- it's actually extremely original-- but the author's style of writing was just bizarre to me. At times his sentences would run on in such a way that I wondered if I had missed something. It was never a case of a confusing, long, but complete sentence that you just had to read slowly-- the sentences were almost juvenile (in that one aspect, of course!). I think this type of thing that I saw throughout the book is what really made me dislike it, instead of a boring plot, flat characters, etc.

    I hate to say that, because Ray Bradbury is supposed to be one of the best authors of his time, and I love to read (and do it constantly). I don't know if I have some kind of weird idea about his writing style and it's actually quite good, but I've read so many books that go deep into each character and the plots surrounding them, unlike Fahrenheit 451, and hardly ever has this style of writing made for a bad read.

    All of this being said, however, I can't take away from the message of the book. I think, in this sense, Ray Bradbury knows what he's doing, and he does it well. I can imagine that, after it's release, Fahrenheit 451 got much positive feedback from the public, it being a novel of censorship and all. Back in the day, they most likely needed a book like this to move themselves along (though I think a book that does the opposite is needed in the current society).

    All in all, I give this book three out of five stars. I may have given it four or five, but the above reasons changed my opinions about its value. I would recommend this book to someone who wants to read the classics, but I'm warning that it might not be as enjoyable as it's made out to be.

    3 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2001

    Perhaps they should burn this book

    There was really nothing incredibly special about this book - the futuristic setting was hard to understand and relate to. There are a few lessons of rebellion, independence, and censorship, but other than that this book has little to offer. All I got out of it was a laugh (from the fact that one of the scorched books on the cover was 'Cather in the Rye' - I hate that book) and the ability to spell the word 'Fahrenheit' correctly.

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2011

    If You Like In-depth books, check this out!

    For something so far out in the future, Fahrenheit 451 paints quit a picture of how our society might be. Guy Montag is a fireman whose job is to start fires. And no I¿m not kidding. In this futuristic time setting, firefighters were to set fire to one thing, and one thing only. Books. In this society books were forbidden from everyone. Luckily, houses were fire proof. But there were always those unfortunate cases when the house went down with the books. Guy Montag did what he was supposed to do until he met this curious seventeen year old girl, Clarisse. She opened Montag¿s eyes to so many questions about his life and she brought up how society used to be when everybody could think for themselves. Montag had a secret of his own. One he was keeping for quit sometime. Thinking he could trust his wife, she betrayed him. Guy knew what he needed to do. With the whole community chasing after him, he did what he thought was best. He ran. In my opinion, this book was a little to in depth for me. But there were some parts that kept me reading. One part of the book that really hooked me was when Beatty came to the house to check on Montag, who said he was sick, and during the whole meeting with Beatty, Montag had a book under his pillow. When his wife, Mildred came to fluff his pillow, she noticed the book. Montag got increasingly angry at her because she was about to rat him out to Beatty. To put in into perspective, Mildred wasn¿t all that good of a wife to Guy. She used all his money, didn¿t respect him and expected to be treated like a princess in return. Montag never really complained. He just wanted to make her happy. So when he yelled at Mildred he was shocked with himself. Finally, Beatty left and Guy told Mildred he wanted to show her something. He took her over to the vent and showed her that he had been hiding books from her. Being the stuck up wife she is she walked away from him to answer the phone and told him that her friends were coming over. I didn¿t like the book for this reason because the way Mildred treated him made me mad because he¿d done so much for her and she treats him like garbage. In conclusion I think the book was very well written. Bradbury really wanted the reader to understand that living in a society like this wouldn¿t be right and that we should be grateful we don¿t have to follow ridiculous laws. Ray Bradbury did a great job in explaining the emotions of people and he painted a picture with his words about the society Montag lived in. I would recommend this to someone who liked in depth books and sci-fi story lines. I personally didn¿t like it all that much because it was hard to follow.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 7, 2011

    I have some things to say.....

    This book was an O.K. book. It wasn't the best, yet it wasn't the worst. I think the plot line was a little too confusing because I could really not understand what Ray Bradbury meant half the time. I had to reread sentences at least 4 times and most likely more to get the gist of what the sentence said. I literally was reading two books at once, one being Fahrenheit 451, the other being the dictionary. To me, it felt as though every other word I had to look it up in the dictionary. The book, as I said, was O.K. I liked some of it, and I didn't like some of it. I didn't like how in the end, Guy was going back and forth with himself; I did not understand it at all. I did like the adventure and the suspense that Ray Bradbury brought forth in this novel. The novel was quite short, and I think a little too much was packed into it in those short pages. It seemed as though Ray Bradbury was writing upon a limit and wanted to make sure he stayed under that limit, so he packed it all into less than a 200-page book and then published it. One of the things I really didn't get about this book was the hound. What was it? Why was it even there? I never got my questions answered, but I can infer it why it was there. My prediction as to why it was there was to kill the people who did not cooperate. But why, would you need a mechanical dog to do that? It hates half the people it works with anyway. You barely even heard about it until the end, when he was on a mission to hunt someone. I also did not understand the talking walls called families. Where did that even come from? Apparently, they nagged at you or talked to you or nagged at each other inside the wall. That was all very strange to me and I had no idea how that idea struck Ray Bradbury or where he even got it from. Apparently, the families were also your televisions. They were a show I guess. I didn't understand how Guy's wife and her friends watched television. There was no regular television, I am assuming, and it was all just very confusing for me. Ray Bradbury can write well, because this book was written well, but it was WAY too confusing for me. Overall, my rating of the book is O.K. because as I said before, I liked stuff about it, and I didn't like stuff about it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 6, 2011

    Not very enjoyable but well written

    Fahrenheit 451 is the temperature at which paper burns. It is also a well-chosen title to a book that warns us about the dangers we face from society if we are not careful about censorship. In Fahrenheit 451 Guy Montag is a fireman tasked with burning books. He comes to realize how shallow society has become and decides to think for himself and try to save as many books as possible.
    One of the most important parts of the story Fahrenheit 451 is when Guy Montag kills his fire captain, Captain Beatty, and runs from the perusing police. In this particular part of the novel Guy has just been found harboring books instead of burning them, as his job requires. His captain then makes him burn his own house, along with the books, and then proceeds to berate Guy on by taunting about how futile books are and how they don't make sense. Guy eventually snaps and turns on Captain Beatty with his flamethrower killing him. He then knocks unconscious the other two firemen he is on duty with and makes a run for the edge of the city. Guy finally makes up his mind to think for himself and no longer be told what to think by a society so materialistic that they cannot even enjoy nature anymore.
    After he kills Beatty and makes it to the edge of the city, Guy jumps in a river and floats down until he meets a group of travelers that have been memorizing books to preserve their knowledge. After speaking with Granger who leads the group, Guy decides to travel with them and help them in their quest for knowledge. Guy is unsure whether or not to trust anyone and is careful about Granger, but after talking to him he decides that he will accompany them on their journey.
    The climax of the story is by far when Guy kills Beatty. He is already under a huge strain from knowing he could be found with books any day. That along with Beatty's taunting pushes Guy over the edge and Beatty deals with the consequences of his actions. The most exciting part of the book is also the most important. This point in the novel is the point of no return for Guy. This is also when Guy realizes that he can make a difference and decides to do so.
    Fahrenheit 451 is a informative and well written book. It is a look into the future of a society that, if we are not careful about censorship, could become a reality. Even though this seems far-fetched, the story is up close and personal with the reader and easily conveys its ideas.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 18, 2011

    Quite interesting.

    The world that they are living is just complete chaos and sadness. Books delivers knowledge destroying the law system of the society. The society is completely brain washed. Good thing Montag turned his life around and survives from the bomb. 3 stars I have to give.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2011

    Fahrenheit 451

    You stay up late and into the early morning because you cannot seem to put a good book down. That one wonderful book could mean having your house burnt and a life time in prison. Is it really worth it now? In Guy Montag's world, having a book is closely related to having killed someone. He is a fireman, but he does not put the fires out. Instead, he starts them. He is married to Mildred, who spends all of her time watching TV on the parlor walls and overdosing on sleeping pills. What a wonderful life! They both cannot seem to remember where they met, and they both are living a blissful, thought- free life. Well, until one day when Montag is walking home and he meets Clarisse; a seventeen year-old teenage girl who is constantly thinking and asking questions. She eventually has him thinking real thoughts and he starts to question his job. So, he starts to bring home books that he takes from the burning sights in order to read them and see what is in them. He finds out there is no real harm in them, but rather very interesting ideas which make you stop and think. He decides to try and stop the burning of books. This eventually gets him into major trouble.
    The first scene with him and his wife is negative; he walks into the room and accidentally kicks the empty container which held about twenty or thirty sleeping pills in it. He goes to the side of his wife's bed (they sleep in separate beds) and realizes she may die from an overdose. He immediately calls the hospital and two guys who are smoking come in and shove a mechanical snake through her body. The suction snake supposedly takes out all the bad stuff she had taken, takes out her blood, and puts new blood into her body. After the men leave, Guy thinks to himself that if only those men could have replaced her flesh, brain, and memory as well as her blood. This scene suggests to the reader that the relationship between Guy and Mildred is not very good. I think that, although, the whole scene is depicted vividly through Ray Bradbury's words, the ideas presented in it are a little extreme and uncomfortable to think about. Just imagine, coming home from work to a wife who has overdosed on her sleeping pills, having two complete strangers come into your house and stick a machine down your wife's throat, and then walk out smoking. Keep in mind neither of these two men are M.D.s. You then go into your own bed to sleep. It is almost frightening to think about a life like this.
    Fahrenheit 451, by Ray Bradbury, is a well-written book. It describes situations with the intensity the reader would feel if they were in the actual situation. Many times throughout the book a character swears, and if the reader does not appreciate profanity, then this book would not be enjoyed as much as it would be if there was no swearing. The story is about a world where you live a life most of us would fear living in, but makes the circumstances feel very real to the reader. By the end of the book, the reader will, undoubtedly, feel they personally know every character in the book; whether or not they liked them. I would definitely rate this book a three out of five.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2010

    Well.....

    Ray Bradbury is a very good author, he presents this book well.

    I think it would be a great book for teenagers to read because it will make you more of an intelligent person, and understand how your parents fell. The down side of this novel is that sometimes you don't really understand what's occurring in the book, actually that happened to me a lot.
    This book will make you understand how your grandparents feel in the sense that they're usually complaining about the technology.
    If you are a teenager this will make you feel slightly different about the world, it will make you a more mature and intelligent person if you read it.
    Fahrenheit 451 is a decent book and slightly change you but it's a little hard to understand and those loose ends don't come completely untied until the very end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 3, 2010

    Interesting, yet blurred

    Have you ever imagined a world where reading is illegal? That sounds pretty sweet right. Wrong. It is a disaster in the mind of Ray Bradbury. This book is a very interesting book. The author uses a very different style of writing. I suggest this book for eight graders and up.
    The main character is Guy Montag. Montag is starting to become very confused about life in general. He begins to question the relationship with his wife. He suddenly picks up a book on day. This is where the action begins with the authorities investigating. From there, it is a full on chase.
    The writing in this book is very confusing. He jumbles subjects and verbs a lot. The book was also way to short. Too many things happened for 160 pages. I still think it was interesting. It had high and low points of the story.
    Overall, this book was about 3 out of five stars. I liked the concept and the idea was flawless. The problem was just poorly written. I would just like a new author. In conclusion, don't pick up this book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 3, 2010

    Farenheit451

    Book Review Outline Book title and author: Fahrenheit 451, Ray Bradbury Title of review: Summer reading Number of stars (1 to 5): Introduction The book's 50th anniversary occurred just this summer. Ray Bradbury is a very descriptive writer. He often writes books with a science fiction theme. Description and summary of main points The book was focused on Guy Montag. He was a future fireman who burned books although he secretly liked them. The book focuses on him and another character that try to stop the burning of books. Evaluation The book was both interesting and boring at times. It was filled with several key points that led to the climactic points in Fahrenheit 451. Conclusion Overall, my opinion states that this book was fairly good and highly recommendable Your final review My final review of this book states that this book had its ups and its downs. It was truly an interesting book. I recommend this book to any future possible buyer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2010

    An alright book

    In this book you will learn about a strange man named guy montag who works as a fire men. The book mioves alon slowly and can get boaring at times. I thought the book was slow moveing but was an ok book.
    Farenheit 451 is a fictional book set in the future where the main character works as a fire men but in this time period the fire men start fires instead of putting them out.On one of montags late night walks he runs into a teen age girl that is out walking the streets late one night. They begin to talk and he finds her quite interesting. The girl talks about the past when people were aloud to own books and the fire men put out fires instead of starting then. through out the book the speeak more and she begins to channge his mind about his job.
    The author Rat BRadbury is very discriptive in this book. He does a good job of discribeing what's going on and whos doing it. I liked the characters that he chose and the roles they played.
    Although the book was slow moveing i did enjoy reading it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 22, 2010

    Review for Fahrenheit 451

    Fahrenheit 451 is a fantastic book, full of adventure. Guy Montag, the protagonist, burns books because everybody thinks the same in the society where he lives, they that books are boring, they don't have interest, they just give sadness to people and they out of fashion, because people in that society experience technology which is really advanced, they are living in the year of 2022. The book begins with Montag burning books, and he meets Clarisse McAllen. Clarisse is person whom, she only interest in technology, on her tv, and she does odd things, and she is always asking for questions.
    Montag, here from everybody even his wife that books are useless, they don't serve anything to them, and people who want to keep books, they can't because firefighter will come and burn the homes of everybody who has books. The government is also included in this, because they are the ones, that don't books anymore, and everybody has to be like them, which is unfair. People in that society; don't realize the severity that they are living with. Captain Beatty is Montag's boss in the fire house. He tells the same thing to Montag, and Montag gets tired of hearing the same over and over again.
    Montag meets with Professor Farber, he is a writer who cannot write anymore because people don't like books anymore, and Montag bring a bible with him, so he can convince professor Farber to do something, first the Professor says no, and Montag decided ripping off the bible's pages, and the he decided to help Montag. Montag's idea was to put books, in each of the firefighter's homes, so he could tell people that they still like books, but then they had to burn the houses of the people who had the books. So, Montag decides to do that, with the help from Professor Farber. Montag tries to convince her wife about the situation, she says that she was scared and she doesn't care.
    He also meets with Granger who is also trying to convince people about the books, and Montag realizes that he is not the only one fighting for this war. Granger is very intellectual and he becomes the leader of the book club.
    The books ends when, all the houses are destroyed because of the books, but Montag realizes and everybody believe that without books there will be a emptiness in the world, and there will be destruction that can occur in the motivation of the person with pleasure and entertainment.
    Montag sees the destruction as the same with Clarisse, because she only cared about her TV, and she didn't have real relationships with anyone, and she tries to suicide and she almost succeeds.
    With the all burning of the houses, and the destruction of the society , he believed that the society will see a future, in building a better society, where people can let other people enjoy books, and give them a lesson about how to respect books, after so many writers, writing books, with they're imagination where people don't have imagination. Montag believed that people can conciliate technology with books.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 19, 2010

    WoW!

    Fahrenheit 451 by: Ray Bradbury
    In Fahrenheit 451 Guy Montag was a book burner, they called a "fireman." It the time frame that this book took place in it seemed that people did not know what it was like to think for themselves at all. Ray Bradbury made seem like it was illegal for people to think for themselves and if they did they would get in trouble.
    There were people that paid these "fireman" to burn these books. If they found books hidden in a house then they would burn your house also. Guy Montag had no problem burning books because he enjoyed it. He liked the sound of the books burning pages. I found it wired that some people were okay with these "fireman" burning all their books. To me it was confusing, it was like would never think for themselves.
    It took some one way younger then Guy Montag to prove to people that they could control their own mind. This same person got Guy Montag to see what he was doing was bad. Up in tell that point he never looked at burning books as a bad, because he enjoyed it.
    As I read this book I got angry with it. It was like a society that could not think for them self. A lot like to day society. I would recommend this book to any one, especially this that needs an eye opener.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2009

    Though I enjoyed Ray Bradbury's Fahrenheit 451 I personal found it rather bland.

    After having read the book Fahrenheit 451 I found the world the characters' lived in to be very close to the world we live in today. Though the book was very well written it did not grab my attention as well as many others I have read. I found the ending did not seem to finish as I had expected and it lightly disappointed me. Mr. Bradbury did use a lot of thought provoking words and sentences. I often found myself rereading parts because I was not sure I had read it correctly. His way of righting made the words flow freely. I found it very ironic the good versus evil between the two main characters (Beatty and Montague), As well as the use of firemen in this novel. To be honestly I did not particularly enjoy this book it didn't captivate me and make me crave for more. I personally would not recommend this book for an child to teen audience but it seems to be a great novel for adults.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2009

    Fahrenheit 451 Review

    "It was a pleasure to burn. It was a special pleasure to see things eaten, to see things blackened and changed." One of the opening lines to this tale of irony and destruction. Fahrenheit 451 is a story about firemen who actually set the fires. It is about a man named Guy Montag who is going through doubt about what he is doing and why. He begins to think of his life and feel empty. This books is about his journey to find the truth, answers to his questions. One of the biggest issues in this book is the fact that they are encouraging ignorance and frowning upon knowledge (though they do not fulling explain why this is). In a society still hundreds of years in the future, they go through atomic wars, burn books, and live life like it is nothing. In Fahrenheit 451 there are a lot of things that are in the story only as symbols. Mirrors, the Phoenix, and blood. Families are not highly regarded. Woman talk about their children with no respect, and they do not care for them. People consider the actors on TV to be their family. Bradbury put a lot of the things that were happening during the 50s (when he wrote the book) into his story as things that were in the future that the book is set in. People in this society don't care about or enjoy books, and the few that do are considered crazy. Pretty much everything about this futuristic society (as in the people) is backwards from how we live now. The way people deal with things in their lives, in this story, are in a sense, crazy. They don't care, they partake in many reckless activities on a regular bases, and they have no remorse if anyone was hurt, or even if people die. It's as though they feel no emotion. In my opinion the characters and the way they act really portray the horror of what life could possibly become in the near or even far future. If you read this book and think that it could possibly happen, it would probably scare you. It seems sort of crazy, Bradburys view of the future, so much of what he wrote in this book, is actually happening today (the "seashell radios" are like iPods and the wall TVs are much like our huge flat screen TVs).

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 16, 2009

    Fahrenheit 451

    I really enjoyed this book. It was a very interesting book. I wish the ending had a little more detail and the author made a second book. I liked that Clarisse confensed Montag that book are very good not evil. When Montag first met Clarisse he really could careless for her and just ignore her. They then started to talk more on there way home from the bus. They became very good friends and started to talk about the past. Clarisse asked Montag if it was true that firemen use to actually put out fires. Then he said where would you hear something funny like that? All houses are fire proof? Clarisse would then start talking about books. That's when Montag started to get interested into books. Instill one day Montag took some of his work home. (BOOKS) Clarisse his wife then turned him in for having books and then leaves him. Than when Beatty made Montag goes on a call he was supposed to be off. When Montag got there, there were books everywhere. The old women would not let them take her books. So Beatty made Montag burn her whole house down including her. When Montag when to his house after that they made him burn his own books. So when Montag had the flame thrower he started burning down his bed room then Beatty started yelling at him. So Montag took his favorite book and burned Beatty a live. Now Montag is a wanted man. This very good book for anyone to read. Some parts are very different but is a very good book if you have a good imagination. People can change for the better. But near the end when Montag killed Beatty he became a wanted man. Then made a fake death at the end condensing people he was actually dead but he isn't. He then found a little community full of people who loves books and after they read them they burn them. They try to keep the book in there mind and re tell stories to others.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2009

    Good book!

    To say the least, Fahrenheit 451, by Ray Bradbury, is about a man with the world against him, doing whatever it takes to show his evil world what is right. Guy Montag is a futuristic Big-city Fireman. However, these people do not know the concept of a nice respectable fireman. They are taught to fear fireman who, instead of putting out fires, start them. Having books is illegal, and hiding them will get your house burnt down. Guy is a Fireman who begins to realize that literature is a precious thing, and burning it is, to say the least, wrong. Guy begins to take and hide his own books, and, when he discovered, the other firemen try to arrest him. Guy is sent into hiding, where he meets a group of travelling men outside city limits. These men are pro writing, and they all have a certain piece of literature that they must memorize, and gladly joins their group.
    Personally, I thought this book was a wonderful portrayal of the future, and what we need to avoid as we fall deeper into the technological world. One non-major point that Ray Bradbury makes is the fact that we should not give our minds to technology. Guy Montages wife, Mildred, is addicted to her interactive television. The concept is that you have screens surrounding you that more or les put you inside the show. They send you scripts in the mail and all you do is enjoy the show. Throughout the novel, you can see Mildreds mind rotting away to nothing. She has been brainwashed into hating books, and the only time she talks to her husband is while asking for the forth wall-screen to complete her TV room. While his portrayal of a scarier future is ominous and adds to the book, I think that one of the most important events of the story is when Guy meets Clarisse McClellan. Clarisse is a young girl who is not like the rest of the people in the book. She is in love with nature and afraid of what is happening to her generation. She turns Guy on to the idea of a simpler world, where people talk and families eat dinner together. I think this is the first real stepping-stone towards guy's rebellion, and, when Clarisse dies, it pushes Guy over the edge to where he feels he needs to do what he does for people like her.
    To sum it up, if nothing else, you must give Ray Bradbury credit for writing a wonderful fictitious tale, years before it actually could happen. He creates many technologies that were only a dream in his time, and is successful in showing us what we should fear, and avoid at all costs in the future. It is a passionate book, which pulls you inside and keeps you going until the last words.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 1, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    an okay book

    I had to read this one year for school, and I will admit that maybe the first 50 pages had me hooked. but slowly, it started to get very boring. It's a very deep thinking book and has excellent writing. The plot is unique and the characters are as well.
    so, I wouldn't recommend it as a book to read for fun, but if you are into dramatic and intense books, then this is the one

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2008

    Fahrenheit 451

    Fahrenheit 451was first published in 1953 and now is the most famous book written by Ray Bradbury. It¿s about a man named Guy Montag, who lives in the future and is in his thirties, works as a fireman and instead of saving people from fires his jobs is to create fire by lighting up illegally own books since houses and everything else is now fire proof, and he has been doing this for the past ten years. When suddenly everything change when him came across a young girl of the age of seventeen who was moving to the next door of him named Clarisse McClennan. She had an uncle who remembered the past when books were allowed and firemen¿s jobs were to save people from fire instead of what they are doing now killing a great author¿s masterpiece. Soon Guy and Clarissa starting talking and he realized that he never loved the wife he has been married to for ten years and also he wasn¿t happy about his life and what he was doing on the day to day basis. Now instead of being a follower and just do what he was told he started to think what his boss was telling him to do and figure out the pros and cons the decision would complete in. as time goes on the more he became aware about his surrounding and he soon thought of an idea to start making books again with an old English professor and a book printer he knew back in the day and the next morning he didn¿t go to work which caused his team leader to come and check if he was all right when he discover he was fine he told Guy in a hushed voice he knew about his plan and all the books he had in his home and he was going to give Guy 24 hours to destroy it and if he doesn¿t the firemen will come and destroy it themselves. So the next night he went to work and gave the team leader one of his books he had in his home and as the night goes on it was normal like nothing is happening when a call comes in and they all race to the truck and when they get to the location Guy discovered it was his own home they were going to burn. He quickly scurried to the old English professor¿s home to escape from their sight when Guy arrive the old professor immediately and without delay he had a plan for him to getaway. By the time Guy was ready to leave the professor had completely told the arrangement of the escape and was soon on his way. I would proudly recommend this book for anyone who loves reading in their spare time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2008

    Not as good as anticipated

    I finished reading Fahrenheit 451 after being recommended this book. It was suppose to be of a 'challenge,' (as my teacher would say) but to me it was pretty boring. The first two-thirds of the book were uninteresting and crap basically, but the rest was okay. But mostly throughout the book it just didn't grab my attention. I probably won't ever read it again, and I won't recommend buying it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 126 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7