Customer Reviews for

Fahrenheit 451: 50th Anniversary Edition

Average Rating 4
( 1095 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(512)

4 Star

(382)

3 Star

(126)

2 Star

(46)

1 Star

(29)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

37 out of 40 people found this review helpful.

Very Highly Recommended! An excellent symbolic warning to society of today!

Take a step into an alternate reality in which attempted suicides are a daily occurance and firefighters are relentlessly called to start fires. That is exactly what Ray Bradbury does in his excellent forewarning of a novel, Farenheit 451. Bradbury writes futuristically...
Take a step into an alternate reality in which attempted suicides are a daily occurance and firefighters are relentlessly called to start fires. That is exactly what Ray Bradbury does in his excellent forewarning of a novel, Farenheit 451. Bradbury writes futuristically about a symbolic society that takes place around the time we are currently in. The society is one in which free thought of any sort is shunned if not completely blocked out by technology. Houses are filled with TV walls, 4 to a room all playing a different show, and front porches are completely done away with in the novel. The novel centers around Guy Montag a firefighter in the society who is discovering ideas he never thought possible to have.
Montag is a firefighter who makes a living burning down houses containing banned books which include anything historical or of a literary nature. He meets a strange neighborhood girl who's family is the odd-ball group of the town because they all get together and talk around a table at night. Within the discussions between Montag and the girl a notion crosses Montag's mind that is later developed when he watches a woman burn with her books rather than live without them. From this thought that maybe there is something missing from Montag's society, Montag ventures on a secretive and dangerous journey to discover what it is. During this journey Montag is hunted down, outed for concealing books, and forced to run away with other literary followers. In this journey he discovers that unlike his society believes, free thought is the true happiness. Montag and his group of literary followers are given a chance to redefine the then fast-paced, materialistic, and thoughtless society Bradbury describes.
The society in which Montag lives is one that denies any opportunity for free thought. This is seen in Montag's homelife, typical to his world in which he and his wife are overcome by technology every waking moment. Mrs. Montag spends her days with her "family" as she called it in a parlor. This family consisted of three wall-sized televisions each playing a different show. T.V. has even become a thoughtless act as shown when Montag questions his wife as to what she is watching and she can mention the names of the characters but cannot tell what action is taking place, only that she is amused by it. Mrs. Montag can only dream of the addition of a fourth Wall Television to keep her eyes occupied and mind blank. The action of having 3 blaring T.V.s in one room of Bradbury's society is an exaggerated symbol for the fast paced media we do have in the world today such as using cell phones while on the computer while a T.V. drones in the background. The commercials we see on T.V. now that are 10-30 seconds long and up to 5 minutes consecutively are a real life representation of the short of thought society Bradbury warned against and feared in Farenheit 451.
To enhance this theme of thoughtlessness in Bradbury's novel people in his society do not even have a chance to think while falling asleep. Mrs. Montag wears her seashell radio to bed every night. This seashell is not full of ocean sounds but instead radio and chatter that run through her ears and her mind all night while she sleeps. This defeats even the slightest chance for sound thought and therefore exemplifies once again Bradbury's warning and novel's theme that the media and technology we use, taken over the limit will prohibit thought and stop progress.
Bradbury's novel Faren

posted by 8013415 on April 24, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

12 out of 72 people found this review helpful.

Boring and stupid

This book was just plain boring. The plot was too heavy and too much information was stuffed into the beginning of the book. It moves at a very slow pace and never picks up. I had a snail that moved faster than this. Read something else.

posted by Anonymous on August 7, 2000

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 382 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 20
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2010

    A Good Book

    Fahrenheit 451 by Ray Bradbury starts off slow. The pages seem to stick together, coming untwined. The main character Guy Montag gives the impression as if he knows everything. He makes the whole scene that he is in is all planned. He expected what happened next for a few pages. The beginning was very confusing, because it mentioned things that not yet were explained. As I read on it became clearer, and clearer. Some parts became confusing again, but the entire book was well written. Clarisse is no doubt my favorite character. Her eyes were open to the world, nothing could stop her. She saw the world in a way no one else did, because no one else did. She was, literally, one of a kind in the world of Fahrenheit 451. She opened Montag's eyes, because they were blinded from the truth. She did with the simplest question, "'are you happy?'" Fireman, in the story, changed over time. They burned the books people read. The Government shut the eyes of its entire population, or so they thought. Some held on, held on to their books, and their reality. Are world can relate in a way to the world of Fahrenheit 451. They were glued to televisions; they also beat up, or made fun of the one that were different. In their world no one questions, they weren't even given choices to things, such as their president. Montag was what he eventually started hating, a fireman. I did not enjoy the scenes with his wife involved, she seemed so simple. She was even more than simple she was terribly, and utterly boring. I enjoyed the author's word choice. He selected big words that I was not familiar with. He always had me either grabbing a dictionary, or using context clues to figure out a word. He really increased my list of vocabulary. I did not enjoy everything though. I did not like how he always lingered with his explanations. But in all it was a very good book. He really had me reading, and guessing to the end.

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Challenging but Good

    I enjoyed Fahrenheit 451 by Ray Bradbury alot. Even though it is a challenging and old style worded book, it still has a good story. The characters are intriguing and the plot summary sometimes is slow but at the end of the second section, the book begins to turn very exciting and will keep readers attention and keep them guessing.

    Mostly sci fi or fantasy readers will like.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2010

    Fahrenheit 451

    Have you ever wondered what it would be like to live in a world where books didn't exist? Well that's almost the case in Fahrenheit 451. The only difference is that in the novel books aren't allowed to exist, although they do still exist. Montag is a fireman, but not one that you would think of in today's world. He was paid to burn books, houses, and the people if that's what needed to happen. Montag doesn't see why this is wrong, because he has never experienced any other world. His eyes are opened during this novel to a different view, one that he may just agree with.
    Bradbury's theme in Fahrenheit 451 was this, books bring knowledge and individuality to the world, them being banned isn't going to rid the world of disagreement and war, it just gives people less free range to think on their own. As you read the novel you will see that people aren't stopping reading because it's the law, just as everyone doesn't stop speeding or drinking and driving. There is something so spectacular in those books that people would risk their lives to protect them, and maybe if everyone could find that same wealth of knowledge the books wouldn't be banned.
    I believe the people of the novel think they live in a Utopia, because they're so sheltered from the real issues of the world. Montag's wife Mildred spends all day talking to people of her "parlor" because she has made those people a reality. She doesn't realize that books are a bigger wealth of knowledge then those parlor walls, and by reading those books she could gain individuality, and become aware of the past. People are scared to read because they think they're going to find out something atrocious. By taking away the books the government has taken away any chance of this society's survival. People need to know their history, they need to know the mistakes of the past so that they can learn from them, and the history resides in books.
    I believe that this book is worth reading. It can be dry in parts, but it has a good lesson to be learned. Individual thinking and knowledge are something we can not live without. Books bring that to people, and although some people don't enjoy reading as much as they enjoy watching TV, it should be offered just the same.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2009

    Mrs. Quackenbush Book Review

    This book was extremely interesting. The author was very descriptive throughout the entire novel. His use of imagery gives readers a detailed look at each and every character and setting. <BR/><BR/>The plot line of this book was also very interesting. Ray Bradbury takes the readers into a very dark and ignorant world, but shows how there is a glimmer of light and hope. <BR/><BR/>I would recommend this book to anyone who seeks a good read. Any reader that likes to read a book with twists and turns will love this novel. This book will also build the reader's vocabulary with its intelligent sentence structure.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2008

    Fahrenheit 451

    Fahrenheit 451 is a truly interesting and exciting book! It takes place in a future society where books are prohibited. For years, Guy Montag has been working as a fireman. It is his job to set the fire-proof houses in flames and burn all the books inside. Never has he questioned his duty before. In fact, it was quite the opposite. He loved his job! To him, it was a pleasure to burn books. He thoroughly enjoyed seeing each page light up and ignite in flames. Then, he meets Clarisse McClellan, his new seventeen-year-old neighbor. She is different than everyone else. She thinks and spends time outside observing or pondering things. Most of the people her age, prefer watching TV or driving cars at an extremely high speed. Suddenly, Montag finds himself noticing things that he didn't see before. He realizes that he is not happy. Something in his life is missing. <BR/><BR/>To find the answer, he turns to books. Although it is against the law, he starts reading them secretly. He discovers that books contain and preserve a lot of knowledge. Furthermore, books seem to make people think. They challenge the mind and expand imagination. Now, he must make a choice: he must either forget everything that he has newly acquired within the last few days and return to his normal, unhappy lifestyle, or he must stand up for what he believes in and defend books. Read Fahrenheit 451 and find out what Montag decides to do. <BR/><BR/>Fahrenheit 451 presents some striking similarities to our own society. In the book, the people don't think on their own. Neither do they really have anything to talk about. Instead, they watch the ¿family¿ in the parlor. Of course, this society is far more extreme than our society. Nevertheless, it is interesting to see how civilization can evolve due to a lack of knowledge. In the book, Beatty, the fireman captain, explains that people began to have less and less time to read. They started to just read digests instead of novels and later just one-liners. In the end, nobody read anymore at all, but watched it on TV. As time went by, books were eventually prohibited without protest. They were considered discriminatory and were burned if found. Back when Ray Bradbury wrote Fahrenheit 451, watching TV was not as common as it is now. Neither were TVs as big; therefore, it is amazing to see how Bradbury's imagination lead to a book describing some future society that is actually not so unlike our own civilization.<BR/><BR/>Fahrenheit 451 is really worth reading. I would definitely recommend it to anyone who enjoys comprehending the effects and impacts of books and knowledge. Ray Bradbury gives a truly attention-grabbing insight into the human mind. He describes how books are essential to preserving knowledge. For without reading, people start to stop thinking. As you can find out in Fahrenheit 451, reading is the key to knowledge.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 15, 2012

    Interesting and Well-Written

    I greatly enjoyed Fahrenheit 451 and recommend it to all science fiction readers and anyone who likes a book that makes you think. Although Ray Bradbury’s style of giving long descriptions, bleak dialogue, and well-shown character actions is not my favorite type of writing style, I think that this is a well written book. Bradbury’s word choice is excellent and he has a large vocabulary, which I loved because I was learning so many new, interesting words. His book flowed very well from page-to-page and had a gripping plot. His characters were developed and all contributed to the ending of the story and the tone of his book created a range of emotions for me. Fahrenheit 451 is the type of book that you can come back to and learn something new every time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 28, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Dystopian cautionary tale

    Fahrenheit 451 is one of the most famous works of science fiction, and with "Brave New World" and "1984" represents one of the most memorable and haunting dystopias. In a future world, books are banned and firemen actually set fires instead of extinguishing them. The state exercises a form of social control through controlling what sort of information people have access to. It turns out that not all books are banned, only those that we would today consider "great works" - Plato, Shakespeare, The Bible, Darwin, etc. For me one of the biggest surprises about Fahrenheit 451 was the rationale that was offered for the burning of those books. In a nutshell, they offended politically correct sensibilities and the authorities felt that they would undermine the social cohesion. This expunging of the classics from the culture has an uncanny resonance with the attempts over past few decades to expunge them from the undergraduate liberal arts curriculum. And rationale is also similar: these books are not "diverse" enough and may offend the sensibilities of an ever-increasing list of "minorities." It is hard not to wonder if a milder, softer version of dystopian future that Bradbury was worried about in the early 1950s has not in fact arrived.

    Bradbury's writing and ideas are somewhere between those of George Orwell and Philip K. Dick. His style is very engaging, and even poetic. His writing is at its best when one of his characters engages in a prolonged monolog. However, the plot development could use some improvement. There is very little in terms of transition from one scene to the next, and most scenes are overly compressed. It is very hard to follow the plot developments at times. Nonetheless, Bradbury is a wonderful stylist and unlike much of science fiction this book is a pleasure to read on a purely literally level as well as for its sweeping ideas.

    As a last note, I found it incredibly ironic that I read this book on Kindle. Based on this alone I am fairly optimistic that reading and great books will not only survive but in fact thrive well into the 21st century.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 6, 2011

    This book was aptly reviewed when it was first published!

    There¿s a book sitting on display in the library with what looks like a headless soldier on the cover¿Ray Bradbury¿s Fahrenheit 451. That can¿t be right; no self-respecting dystopian 1953 novel would be caught unawares with its protagonist headless. Fortunately, a closer inspection reveals that the man on the front of the cover has not in fact been drawn with his head off; his face is hidden in his sleeve in a despairing position, with one arm drawn up over his face. Wait, now there¿s something funny about the clothes. They¿re entirely in print.
    This first-edition cover of Fahrenheit 451, and the cover of many other editions of the same book, disguises what appears at first to be a rather droning story. The man on the cover, it turns out, started those flames himself, and doesn¿t seem to see that they are burning not only the books his society has deemed illegal, but himself as well. Admittedly, the flames are pretty hard to see at first in the pages of Fahrenheit 451. Maybe the match is struck when a nonconforming young girl confronts the main character on his commute home from his job as a book-burner, a girl with curious, raptly listening ears and eyes that want to see and explore everything. And they¿re eye-wateringly visible when the man goes with his fire crew to the house of a woman who hoards illegal books, and before they can light the kerosene-soaked books and house, the woman sets it aflame herself, still standing on the porch amid her treasures. By the time the main character reveals to his wife the books that he himself has hidden, against every instinct, the book itself may as well be a coal in a furnace.
    It¿s hard to tell how fast this flame smolders, though. The text seems initially a little slow and paragraphs are the length of whole pages. However, it must be said that Ray Bradbury has exquisite sense of timing; the story starts moving just as the reader becomes used to the writing style and can follow along. Each turn of the story is perfectly tuned to how a reader would perceive things¿everything can be seen realistically through the main character¿s eyes, which makes up for the less-than-flying-speed of the text.
    Overall, when one thinks of how much television people watch now, those flames Ray Bradbury lights with his slow-moving match can singe more than one would expect. The main character, spiraling down from book-burner to book-hoarder, and then to an even lower level than anyone would expect, becomes the opposite of what his society wants him to be. Other critics have praised Bradbury¿s masterpiece as being ¿Frightening in its implications¿(The New York Times) and I have to agree with them. Every decade, it seems, we move an inch closer to the world Bradbury describes. This is a stunningly scary novel¿a great examination of the human condition and what may be to come.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2011

    Highly Recommended for middle schoolers wanting a tough read

    Just as books are meant to be read, firemen are meant to put our fires. In the futuristic world Bradbury has created in Fahrenheit 451, these simple statements are turned around to produce a frightening alternative society. Here books are illegal and firemen are called to light them on fire. Suicide attempts are regular occurrences and driving below 55mph is illegal. Houses are built with television walls and the ¿parlor¿ is constantly on. The main character Guy Montag is a firefighter himself. He has been burning books for as long as he can remember and the smell kerosene feels like a perfume. Then Montag understands that there is more to life than listening to what others have to say.
    At the beginning of the book Montag had just had the pleasure of burning down a house when on his way home, he meets a 17-year old girl named Clarisse. They talk for a while and Montag learns things he had never imaged leaning. In those five minutes of his life, Montag realizes that there is something missing in his world. Something he can¿t fully describe. When Montag sees a woman die with her books instead of living without them, Montag tries harder to find the missing piece of his life. After being asked by Clarisse, Montag asks himself over and over again ¿Am I happy?¿ Throughout the novel, Montag finds himself face to face in many situations where he must choose between what the society thinks and what he thinks. He gradually starts to think for himself and questions the world as it is.
    I was a somewhat disappointed when I read Clarisse¿s fate. I had actually imagined Clarisse and Montag starting some sort of a revolution in which books could be read again and where people paid more attention to the world around them. Even if Bradbury thought that Clarisse had to have the fate that she did, I felt like he should have been more detailed and explained it more thoroughly. After all, Clarisse did play a big role in changing the way Montag thought about the world. I was also upset on with how the book ended. In my opinion, the book was a bit of cliffhanger and I am definitely not a fan of cliff hangers.
    There were also some things that I really enjoyed about this novel. For example I took pleasure in seeing Bradbury¿s view of the future. People normally see the future as a place where everyone is happy yet Bradbury evidently didn¿t think this way. I also like how Bradbury writes of Captain Beatty. At first some may think of him as plain vile but it is clear to see that he has just misunderstood life. Although he is a clear antagonist, in my opinion he is not necessarily evil as many might think. All in all I think that this book is a great read and I would recommend it to anyone!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 2, 2011

    Highly Recommended - you must check it out!!

    Ever thought of a future where firemen's jobs are to burn books and houses except of saving them from fires? Guy Montag was fireman who has enjoyed his job for 10 years until he met a special 17 year-old girl, Clarisse. Clarisse changed Montag's perspective of the way the society was and Montag decided that it was time to change it back to how it was in the past. He met up with a Professor, Faber, and they plotted to save the society. Every story has its climax, I think the climax of this story, and also the turning point, is when Montag took the book from the old lady's house. He took the book because his curiosity took over and he couldn't help but took it. Because of the action, Montag started to doubt the rules of the firemen. To me, this is the most important part of the book, because this is where the main theme of the story is. Mr. Ray Bradbury is telling us that, everyone can have their individual thoughts, opinions, and rights, and all have curiosity. There is no controlling others to have them every single rule. My personally think that the author has done a very good job telling the story with a deep meaning under. He used characters, like Captain Beatty, to represent the different people in our society who sometimes stop us from achieving something that they think is wrong, but really is right. There are people, like Professor Faber, who has great ideas but doesn't have the courage to make something real out of it; only waiting for someone to appear to help them achieve their goals. And last but not least, there are people, like Guy Montag, who start out by following all rules until one day, under some influence, start to realize what is wrong with the society, and become determined to fix it. A smaller theme of Fahrenheit 451 is to follow your own thoughts if you think that it is right, don't let others bring you down. If Montag was so determined by his opinion that burning books is wrong, he could've been influenced by Captain Beatty's lectures and brought down by him. Then the future of that society could've stayed the same way with firemen burning books. I think the author presented the theme really well, kept the story going, and had readers' eyes glued to the book. He kept the tone of the book very exciting and sometimes mysterious. His language could be easy to read yet have so much meaning in them, which only adds positively to the book. The author carefully put many small themes into the book that leads to a big, main theme, so there is a lot to learn from the book and the author. In conclusion, it is definitely worth your time to read this book and learn a lot from it. After you reading, your perspective will change and you will most certainly enjoy it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2011

    Recommended

    Fahrenheit 451 Book Review
    Zack Mellin


    What if you lived in a world where books were considered dangerous and illegal? This is a reality for the Protagonist of the book Fahrenheit 451, Guy Montag. Fahrenheit 451 is an exceptional novel about Guy Montag, who, in the beginning of the novel, is an average fireman, who begins to suspect something is very wrong with the society he lives in. In this future society he dwells in, Guy Montag's job is to burn books, even if he has to burn people along with them. Not only that, but in the society people have lost all sense of creativity; no one thinks for themselves anymore, they don't ask questions or look at the beauty of the world. Montag did not think this way of life was wrong until he met a young girl named Clarisse who opened is eyes to the horror of the world he was living in.
    In the beginning of the novel, Guy Montag was an average fireman; he didn't ask questions, he didn't feel weird, and he was certain that he loved his wife. This all changed when he met his new neighbor, Clarrise, who made him realize that he was living a lie; he didn't know why he was burning books, he didn't know why no one asked questions, and he didn't know if he actually loved his wife. After talking to Clarrise, Montag began to ask more and more questions, some if which led to answers, others that lead to more questions. All of these questions led to him almost going mad for answers, so mad that he would break laws which he had sworn to protect. This all proves how dangerous it is to live like everyone else; to not ask why, to not stop and look at your life, to not do what you want to do, because if we don't, we may end up like Montag, living a lie.
    As you can see, Fahrenheit 451 is a very deep, meaningful book that shows just how dangerous it can be to not be yourself. Guy Montag realized it so late that the only way to get out of it was to destroy everything he had ever worked for and to turn his back on the society he had once called his home. Many people to this day live like Montag did; they just want to fit in that they do what is expected of them, they aren't spontaneous or original, they are just a reflection of their neighbors. Fahrenheit 451 can teach us all a lesson about being yourself and not following the crowd, which is why I think it is an exceptional book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    As good as I remembered...probably better.

    This story is better than I remembered. I first read F.451 back in high school. Now that I'm a seasoned adult I can appreciate the artistic writing of Ray Bradbury. I highly recommend this story to any younger reader.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2011

    A must read novel!

    Have you ever wondered what the world will be like 60 years from now? Well in Fahrenheit 451, Ray Bradbury describes a future that has been taken over by technology and ignorance. In this novel, a man finds himself questioning the morals and principals of the society he lives in. In this future based novel, the Government has brainwashed it's citizens into believing that everyone should be exactly alike. In this society, no one is smart or dumb, pretty or ugly, talented or unskilled, etc. Everyone is forced to be what they believe is "normal" or "the average human". This society brings the quotes "ignorance is bliss" and "curiosity killed the cat" to life. Everyone are complete air-heads and are nothing more than ditzy pawns in the Governments game of chess. This novel also puts some futuristic twists to some of today's commonly used technology and inventions. Televisions have been transformed into huge parlor walls that can be interacted with, billboards have been changed because the speed limit is so high that you can not see much as you pass by. Most importantly, books have been banned! Firemen have been instructed to start fires rather than put them out. They are now in charge of burning any books found in this society. Now as I was saying before, a man, Guy Montag, finds himself questioning authority and getting himself into a dangerous predicament. He begins to wonder why books are illegal and what these clusters of paper contain that the Government does not want anyone to see. So he hides a few books in his own home and begins to read and study them. But trouble is not far off when his captain suspects that he is disobeying the law. Montag not only looses his job in his adventure of curiosity, but also looses his friends, family, and himself. He is now confused and does not know who he is or what he is meant to do with his life. In this heart stopping novel, you will find thrill, danger, mystery, and excitement. This book definitely hits top 5 futuristic books of all time! Once you begin to read it, you will never want to put it down. Every chapter leaves you wondering "what will happen next?" "what will Guy Montag do, will he follow his heart or his mind?". Wonderful plot, complex characters, GREAT NOVEL!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2011

    451

    When you can't put a book down its good, right? But don't you hate it when the good book has a horrible ending?
    Fahrenheit 451. Fire proof houses. TV rooms. No thinking. Firemen don't put out fires, they start them. Burning books is Guy Montag's job. But he grows a conscience. Reading books is against the law, but curiosity takes hold. They say curiosity killed the cat!
    An uprising is planned by Faber who once was a coward and now wants a second chance at what he didn't do years before. "Now if you suggest that we print extra books and arrange to have them hidden in firemen's houses all over the country, so the seeds of suspicion would be sown among these arsonists, bravo, I'd say!" This kept me with high hopes for the books. I was rooting that books and thinking would be reinstated. We all have our reasons for reading on.
    For a developed setting and dynamic characters, the book ends without finishing. The book builds and falls before the climax. Maybe that's the trouble with thinking; we finish the book in our head before we are done reading it.
    You may like the ending, but building up to that? Read and see if you agree.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2011

    Best Fahrenheit 451 Review

    Guy Montag is a fireman who lives in a society in which books are illegal. His job is not to extinguish fires, but to light them. Homes with books are burnt occasionally so are the owners. Montag meets his new neighbor, Clarisse, who opens his eyes and makes him realize of the emptiness of his life. Guy Montag goes through a series of disturbing events through the next few days. His wife, Mildred, attempts suicide by swallowing sleeping pills. Then, we he responds to an alarm he is shocked by a woman's choice to be burned alive with her books. He then finds out that Clarisse has been killed. With unhappiness running through his life, he seeks a solution through some books he has stolen from fires. After reading books and receiving help from his wife and a new friend, Mildred's friends file a complaint against Montag. When Montag goes to the fire station the alarm goes off and he is forced to burn his own has after being betrayed by his wife. Beatty, Montag's superior, tries to put him under arrest foe keeping books, but is burnt to ashes by Montag. He then has to run away from the city, hunted by a mechanical hound and nearly ran over, into the country. Montag meets a group of men that hope to help mankind in the result of war that has just started. Montag and his new friends move on a search to fin survivors and start a new civilization.
    Fahrenheit 451 was a book that I enjoyed, but was some what difficult to understand. Reading about a society were books were against the law, or illegal, was fascinating. It was fascinating because at one point in the book a woman's house, that contained books, was burned down. She did not leave the house while it was burning and was burned to death. It made me think of the impact that literature has on certain people, how it can pull them away from their everyday lives. I believe that the importance of books in our society is fundamental for all learning.
    There was a plethora of very descriptive language throughout the entire novel; which helped you have a complete image of exactly what the setting was. It was as if there was a movie playing in my head. I thought focusing on the main idea was a bit troubling because of all the overwhelming amount of descriptive details. There was about one vignette for every three to four ideas. The novel itself was great. Many times while reading the book, it was so intense that I could not put the book down. It all goes back to the abundance of descriptive details.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2010

    Interesting Book!

    I liked Fahrenheit 451 because it showed me how books are important in your life and how it helps you with knowledge. Books could help you have bigger imaginations and entertain you. It also showed me how a person can change their thoughts and the way that they feel about something. Guy Montag never wanted to read a book because of all the things that Captain Beatty had told him. But because he had tried to read a book and talk to the retired English professor, Faber, he learned that books can help you in life in many different ways.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 19, 2010

    It has action, mystery and it shocks you every paragraph, a very good book.

    It was a pleasure to burn. It was a special pleasure to see things eaten, to see things blackened and changed." That is the introduction to the novel Fahrenheit 451 by Ray Bradbury. The whole novel revolves around the problem that the government has banned books from all of society. Anybody who is caught reading a book, or owns one, will get their own house burnt down by firemen. Montag becomes the protagonist in the book, when he starts to question if the government is wrong when they say that books are dangerous. So when Montag is ordered to burn down a house, he steals a book that later turns out to be the Bible and takes it to Faber, a person Montag assumed read books. The two soon after become friends and Faber reads to Montag every night through an ear piece Faber made. Later, Montag tells Faber that his plan is to memorize all the books he can get his hands on and later find a printer to make copies of all the books he has memorized.

    One of the most important parts in the book is when Montag meets Clarrise. She is a seventeen year old girl who loves life. Other kids her age think she is very strange, just because she does not go to "Fun Parks". A place the government provides kids to destroy things and kill one another. The thing Clarrise loves doing is observing people and asking them questions. When she asks if Montag is truly happy, Montag does not know how to answer the question. He then later realizes he is not. The reason I think that she is a very important character in the book is because she is the one who opens Montag's eyes and makes him see how the world they are living in really is and without her there would not really be an interesting story behind the book. The second most important event to me is when Millie, Montag's technology obsessed wife, turns him in and confesses that Montag had been storing books in their house. If she would not have done that, the story will would not have had the climax, that is when the police is on a manhunt for Montag.


    Overall, Fahrenheit 451 is a very interesting book to read, the way it is expressed is very stunning. When you read it you can imagine the scenery very clearly, and it feels like you are there. But the only thing I could have done without in the book, was all the swearing in it. You do not need to swear to get your point across. The book contains action, but not as much as what you would expect. But if you get passed all the swearing, it is a very good book to read. The lesson you learn from the book is very moving, I think anybody who starts reading this book will not be able to put it down for one second.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 16, 2010

    Good book!

    What would you do if someone bust through your door to burn your house down because you decided to read a book? This book explores a story set in the future about a fireman named Guy Montag, who does just that! When he's not at the firehouse he's home with his wife Mildred. While he's walking around one night he meets a girl named Clarisse and she kind of makes him start thinking about things differently. She talks to him about how things used to be, about how people used to have porches and people used to socialize, and how people used to read books instead of burning them. With that Montag starts becoming more and more curious about why books could possibly be so bad. He finally sits down and after he reads he realizes that there's really not anything wrong with opening up a book and reading it. When he finds out that something happened to Clarisse Montag seeks out Faber, an old English professor and tries to convince Faber to help him interpret books, and to kind of be a mentor to him. Everything gets chaotic when Montag tries to talk to his chief at the firehouse about reading, especially since firemen are supposed to be the ones burning books, and setting the houses that contain them on fire! So when he finds out one of his own firemen are harboring a pile of books he gives Montag one day to read and get it out of his system. Montag gladly takes that one day, but after that he wants to continue reading. And because he decides to do something different he has to avoid getting caught and become a man on the run. Which is probably easier said then done when "The Hound" is after you. The Hound is a mechanical dog that is supposed to Catch Montag, and not just catch him.. but kill him. Over all this is a very good book, and the way things are worded reminds me a bit of poetry because it's very descriptive. It's a little slow sometimes, but for the most part it was very easy to continue reading. I think the book is a good prediction of something that could happen if everyone gets super caught up in technology, Although I don't think firemen busting down doors to light houses on fire is going to happen anytime soon, thankfully.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 15, 2010

    Great book!Fun reading.

    Fahrenheit 451 was an interesting book. It all started with a class novel. When I first heard about it, I thought,"Awww man, another boring book project to do." I was going to zip read it like all other books I've read. So I opened the first page and began reading it; but for some reason, it got my attention and I actually read the whole thing. "Whoa, this book has a lot of creativity to it. Maby I should slow down a bit."
    Fahrenheit 451 is the story of a man (Guy Montag) simply doing his job. To him, there was nothing wrong about it; he just burned books for a living. Until, one day he ran into a 17 year old girl that enlightened him about the original firefighters. They were great men that actually put out fires instead of starting them. Montag thought to himself,"Why am I doing this then. Is what I'm doing wrong?" Later that night, he returns home puzzled. He is now starting to see the world in a different perspective. Throughout the story, many bizarre things happen to him. That sweet girl he met gets killed and his wife tried to commit suicide. All of the things he faces puts him in a character vs. self dilemma. Realizing all the wrong he has done over the years working for his job, he decides whether he should keep his job or run away forever. Running away would not be easy. They would send people with flamethrowers and a mechanical hound after him. But with all of the determination and courage he has, he runs anyway.
    I've read some of the reviews and I understand why it could be hard to read. Even though the book it written old fashioned, it is based about what will happen in the future. I admit, Ray Bradbury was no Nostradamus, but he was right on a few things. In our world today, look at emotions people have. They're tired, selfish, lonely, and even suicidal. Guy Montag sees a lot of people who act like this in the story. To this generation, it's normal to us, right? We don't know the difference. So where did it all go wrong. Back in the old days, dads would take their sons on fishing trip when they got home from work; or kids would stay up late to look at the stars (This is the mindset of the 17 year old girl). Now when we get home from work, we watch TV, go on Facebook, or play Xbox live. We should be the people to stand up and gain the courage to fix our problems. When I read the story, I felt a little bit of Montag in me. And it has helped me to be closer to my family. I would strongly advise one of my friends to read this. Fahrenheit 451 is a life changer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2010

    greatly recommended

    there may be a few things you will want to improve on the book once you finish reading it but you will be on the edge of your seat while you read this book.

    in the story, you follow a fireman named guy montag, who burns books early in the story but then comes to love books, and after his boss finds out he faces many foes. in the beginning montag meets a seventeen-year-old girl named clarisse, who mysteriously disappears later in the story after telling montag of the past...the past in which books were not burned, houses were not fireproof, and people truly spend time together as families.

    after clarisses disappearance montag meets faber, the one character who stays with montag until one of the last ending pages. he aides in montag's escape from one of his foes. ...i wonder if the movie version is as great as the novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 382 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 20