Customer Reviews for

A Faint Cold Fear

Average Rating 4
( 273 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(126)

4 Star

(78)

3 Star

(37)

2 Star

(18)

1 Star

(14)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

16 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

Amazing Read!

This was the first book I read of Karin Slaughter's and I have to say that I fell completely and totally in love with it. The plot catches you from the beginning and doesn't leave you hanging at the end. The characters are so complex that you just want to believe that...
This was the first book I read of Karin Slaughter's and I have to say that I fell completely and totally in love with it. The plot catches you from the beginning and doesn't leave you hanging at the end. The characters are so complex that you just want to believe that they are real because they seem that way in the book. If you are looking for a good read, pick thins book up and don't stop reading until you are finished!

posted by Karin_Fan on October 26, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Nothing rang true

Pages and pages of mind-numbing dialogue between truly unlikeable characters interspersed with laughably improbable gore. At the appearance of murder #x (I'm trying to avoid spoilers here for those who feel they MUST read this really bad book), I actually nearly laughe...
Pages and pages of mind-numbing dialogue between truly unlikeable characters interspersed with laughably improbable gore. At the appearance of murder #x (I'm trying to avoid spoilers here for those who feel they MUST read this really bad book), I actually nearly laughed -- I figured one more and the author would have written the perfect satire of the genre. Nothing rang true in this book. The bad guy became patently clear by the evil glint in his eye, even though it was very difficult to believe in his sudden and nonsensical transformation. The murders were meant to 'shock and awe' with their brutal details; the sex scenes were absurd, the dialogue, as I've said, went on and on without a reason, and the resolution was cheap and unsatisfying. Also, finally, there's a bit of small-mindedness to the book. Almost all of the bad things happen to or because of someone of mixed race, gay men, a skinhead, Jews.... As one pal pointed out, the one gay woman who had a heart of gold was incredibly ugly, as the author made sure to point out repeatedly.

posted by Anonymous on July 22, 2003

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 274 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 14
  • Posted October 26, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Amazing Read!

    This was the first book I read of Karin Slaughter's and I have to say that I fell completely and totally in love with it. The plot catches you from the beginning and doesn't leave you hanging at the end. The characters are so complex that you just want to believe that they are real because they seem that way in the book. If you are looking for a good read, pick thins book up and don't stop reading until you are finished!

    16 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2005

    Bone Chilling Thriller!

    On the local campus in Heartsdale, Georgia a boys' body is found. Although it looks like a suicide, Sara Linton, the towns medical examiner suspects foul play. Then, one after another, bodies start showing up, looking like suicides, but could this be possible? An epidemic of college suicides? Lena Adams, who survived a brutal rape and attempt against her life, was once a respected police detective, but now struggles working for an egotistical scumbag boss, with the college campus security. Lena sets out to prove that she is still a good detective and wants to solve this mystery, but she runs in to all kinds of obsticles that just make her look suspicious to the local police. This book is riveting! You won't be able to put it down. The pace is fast and the leads keep you guessing until the very last page is read. Karin Slaughter has woven together one of the best plots I've read so far this year!! You will never figure out who is the mastermind behind all these deaths!

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Good but could have been better

    Heartsdale, Georgia medical examiner Sara Linton travels to the Grant Institute of Technology where a student Andy Rosen apparently jumped off a bridge. Sara¿s eight month pregnant sister Tessa, known for her eating habits of late, happened to have been in the car with Sara when she received the call. The two women go to the death scene where Sarah joins her boyfriend Police Chief Jeffrey Tolliver who has begun investigating. Tessa enters the nearby woods to do the other bodily function that she seems to need to do every few seconds only to be viciously attacked.<P> Two more suicides occur and Tessa remains hospitalized. Meanwhile Jeffrey wonders if former police detective turned college security guard Lena Adams knows more than she is telling. Although Lena has her own problems stemming from an abduction and rape she still investigates sex and drug trafficking at the Grant Institute of Technology. Following the third death, Sara reconsiders whether homicide not suicide has occurred. Jeffrey tries to keep both women safe while seeking a killer.<P> Though the story line contains too many moments of self-deprecating doubts due to previous ghosts, fans will enjoy this terse medical examiner thriller. The key cast members constantly display their soul so that the audience receives a two edged blade. The motives of the characters are understandable but so intense that it sometimes slows down the prime plot and spins off several cluttering subplots. Still A FAINT COLD FEAR is a solid crime tale that showcases Karen Slaughter¿s ability to live up to a surname that seems apropos for a mystery author.<P> Harriet Klausner

    5 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2012

    GOOD READ

    I thought I had the good guys separated from the bad guys and was reading an entertaining criminal mystery book. The author outsmarted me by an ending that I never saw coming.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2003

    Nothing rang true

    Pages and pages of mind-numbing dialogue between truly unlikeable characters interspersed with laughably improbable gore. At the appearance of murder #x (I'm trying to avoid spoilers here for those who feel they MUST read this really bad book), I actually nearly laughed -- I figured one more and the author would have written the perfect satire of the genre. Nothing rang true in this book. The bad guy became patently clear by the evil glint in his eye, even though it was very difficult to believe in his sudden and nonsensical transformation. The murders were meant to 'shock and awe' with their brutal details; the sex scenes were absurd, the dialogue, as I've said, went on and on without a reason, and the resolution was cheap and unsatisfying. Also, finally, there's a bit of small-mindedness to the book. Almost all of the bad things happen to or because of someone of mixed race, gay men, a skinhead, Jews.... As one pal pointed out, the one gay woman who had a heart of gold was incredibly ugly, as the author made sure to point out repeatedly.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2013

    Lots of bad words

    This story is great but i wish it had less bad words in it

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2012

    Good thriller, but this is my nit-pick. Would a missionary reall

    Good thriller, but this is my nit-pick. Would a missionary really curse like Tessa does? Especially dropping the GDs.

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Good read

    Very entertaining and intelligently written. Kept me guessing. Excellent weekend read.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2011

    Missing lines

    Love Karin Slaughter, but only 85 pages in and 4 times i have had incomplete sentences which are always involving a hyphenated word. I have read 5 books on my nook and havent had this trouble. Has anyone else?

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2012

    Disappointed

    Can not believe a women would have a kidnapped rape victim insinuate she was turned on ny the rape. Then encourage another man to rape her. That is when I stopped reading. An insult to women. A male steriotype.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 18, 2012

    It's called RESEARCH, DO IT

    I am usually kind to authors and enjoy reading just about anything. This book helped me draw the line. While the plot had some interesting kinks, every thing else about the book was lacking. The characters were uniformly disagreeable, the author had clearly done little research (shotgun vs rifle for one example) and many of the plot "kinks" had insufficient foundation. I understand completely that a "mass market" book is unlikely to be the Great American Novel, but come on!

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2013

    Kathy's opinion

    Great book. Would be better without the f word.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2013

    Worth Reading!

    I'm reading the Grant County series in order and this is my least favorite of the three. I really like her books and will keep reading them but this Lena chick is super annoying in this one. Other than that it's just what I expect from this incredible author.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2013

    Unsatisfactory read!!!!!!!!

    Premise showed promise. BUT-as it progressed became tedious. Not one character was likeable. I could not find one character I liked or cared for. Even the character whowas victimized was not relatable. Could not believe her actions. Who was the protaganist?
    Committed to reading and finishing because I wanted to know how it would end. The ending was predictable. Able to determine who it was by the way the characters were developed and presented. Had a Lifetime or Hallmark channel movie feel to it.
    Will not attempt a second story by this author.
    -Reed

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2012

    highly recommend - good reader

    Good story line. Keeps you wondering what's happening next.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 3, 2012

    Good Read

    One of her best - keeps you wanting to know the outcome. Good author

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 1, 2012

    Excellent book!!!

    I loved this book!I think the author is great.I have passed the book on,and everyone has loved it.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2012

    Crime & Mystery

    Fast paced mystery with a lot of crime. Story and plot was good. This book is part of a series, I've read them out of order but still like them. Easy read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2012

    Just ok

    This book was ok, but not sure I'll read more by this author. It was so far fetched that I actually found my self saying "Oh, come on!", while I was reading.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2012

    Good book

    I got the sample and im going to get the full version great book so far cant wait to finish it

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 274 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 14