Customer Reviews for

A Faint Cold Fear

Average Rating 4
( 275 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(126)

4 Star

(78)

3 Star

(39)

2 Star

(18)

1 Star

(14)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

16 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

Amazing Read!

This was the first book I read of Karin Slaughter's and I have to say that I fell completely and totally in love with it. The plot catches you from the beginning and doesn't leave you hanging at the end. The characters are so complex that you just want to believe that...
This was the first book I read of Karin Slaughter's and I have to say that I fell completely and totally in love with it. The plot catches you from the beginning and doesn't leave you hanging at the end. The characters are so complex that you just want to believe that they are real because they seem that way in the book. If you are looking for a good read, pick thins book up and don't stop reading until you are finished!

posted by Karin_Fan on October 26, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Nothing rang true

Pages and pages of mind-numbing dialogue between truly unlikeable characters interspersed with laughably improbable gore. At the appearance of murder #x (I'm trying to avoid spoilers here for those who feel they MUST read this really bad book), I actually nearly laughe...
Pages and pages of mind-numbing dialogue between truly unlikeable characters interspersed with laughably improbable gore. At the appearance of murder #x (I'm trying to avoid spoilers here for those who feel they MUST read this really bad book), I actually nearly laughed -- I figured one more and the author would have written the perfect satire of the genre. Nothing rang true in this book. The bad guy became patently clear by the evil glint in his eye, even though it was very difficult to believe in his sudden and nonsensical transformation. The murders were meant to 'shock and awe' with their brutal details; the sex scenes were absurd, the dialogue, as I've said, went on and on without a reason, and the resolution was cheap and unsatisfying. Also, finally, there's a bit of small-mindedness to the book. Almost all of the bad things happen to or because of someone of mixed race, gay men, a skinhead, Jews.... As one pal pointed out, the one gay woman who had a heart of gold was incredibly ugly, as the author made sure to point out repeatedly.

posted by Anonymous on July 22, 2003

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 78 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Good but could have been better

    Heartsdale, Georgia medical examiner Sara Linton travels to the Grant Institute of Technology where a student Andy Rosen apparently jumped off a bridge. Sara¿s eight month pregnant sister Tessa, known for her eating habits of late, happened to have been in the car with Sara when she received the call. The two women go to the death scene where Sarah joins her boyfriend Police Chief Jeffrey Tolliver who has begun investigating. Tessa enters the nearby woods to do the other bodily function that she seems to need to do every few seconds only to be viciously attacked.<P> Two more suicides occur and Tessa remains hospitalized. Meanwhile Jeffrey wonders if former police detective turned college security guard Lena Adams knows more than she is telling. Although Lena has her own problems stemming from an abduction and rape she still investigates sex and drug trafficking at the Grant Institute of Technology. Following the third death, Sara reconsiders whether homicide not suicide has occurred. Jeffrey tries to keep both women safe while seeking a killer.<P> Though the story line contains too many moments of self-deprecating doubts due to previous ghosts, fans will enjoy this terse medical examiner thriller. The key cast members constantly display their soul so that the audience receives a two edged blade. The motives of the characters are understandable but so intense that it sometimes slows down the prime plot and spins off several cluttering subplots. Still A FAINT COLD FEAR is a solid crime tale that showcases Karen Slaughter¿s ability to live up to a surname that seems apropos for a mystery author.<P> Harriet Klausner

    5 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2012

    highly recommend - good reader

    Good story line. Keeps you wondering what's happening next.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 1, 2012

    Excellent book!!!

    I loved this book!I think the author is great.I have passed the book on,and everyone has loved it.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2012

    Crime & Mystery

    Fast paced mystery with a lot of crime. Story and plot was good. This book is part of a series, I've read them out of order but still like them. Easy read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2012

    Good story

    Excellent character development and interesting storyline. I will definitely read her other books.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2011

    Hunt

    I really enjoyed this book. It was a true page turner!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 6, 2014

    Although I really liked A Faint Cold Fear, it's my least favorit

    Although I really liked A Faint Cold Fear, it's my least favorite book in the Grant County series so far. It doesn’t seem to have that same gripping tension from the first two that kept me reading long after I should have gone to sleep. Don’t get me wrong, no one does the whole creepy thriller quite like Karin Slaughter, but I just felt like something was missing from this one. That little extra something that pushes itself under my skin and keeps me riveted. That said, it is a thoroughly enjoyable story that has some unexpected twists, some really creepy characters, and an ending I never saw coming.

    Plot
    I can seen Karin Slaughter’s progression as an author by this third book in the series. She’s developed a more honed ability to bait the reader and reel us in slowly, which makes reading this one a little more fun. But the plot does lack the unputdownable aspect of her previous two novels in this series.

    Characters
    The characters are as solid as ever and it’s both painful and engrossing to watch them try to come to terms with their inner demons. Karin Slaughter does an amazing job of keeping it real when it comes to the horrific events that have shaped her characters’ lives. And she doesn’t sugar-coat it. She doesn’t care if we like her characters or not. Being likeable isn’t really key to the story, but being real is, and they are authentic. It’s this characterization that really moves A Faint Cold Fear along more than the plot.

    Bottom Line
    Another solid thriller in the Grant County series that keeps the reader guessing. The author draws on the events of the previous books to develop her characters to realistic perfection.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2013

    Good

    I like this author. The book kept my interest. Will read another by her.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2013

    A good book, like this author alot ready to read the 4th book in

    A good book, like this author alot ready to read the 4th book in this series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 31, 2013

    interesting, entertaining, do try it out!

    I am in the process of reading all Karin Slaughter books that I can find, enjoy some more than others, I totally love all the characters in the grant co. series and the newer ones also. If you don't like suspense, terror, choose something else, for all that do, read them all!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2013

    Four stars

    Four stars!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2013

    Faint Cold Fear

    Keeps you guessing!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2013

    Recommended

    Would give it a 5 star rating, but way over-use of the "f" word. Large jump in time from small, skinny
    boy to grown teenager without other other characters growing too.

    Book discussion, no. Not a lot to discuss.
    I will read more by this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2013

    Love this author

    My first reading of Karin Slaughter, and I've purchased two more of her books! Great read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2013

    March 2013

    I really enjoyed this book, even though the language was a bit much. I was able to overlook it because the story was so interesting. The ending was a twist that I did not see coming. Well worth a read. It was hard to put down. This is what I look for when selecting a book to read.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2013

    Recommend

    I enjoyed this book even though it was pretty graphic and just a little creepy. I've read three of her books now and they're pretty much like this, but I'll keep reading her. Love the characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2013

    Onyx

    Looks down. ##Onyx

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2013

    The plot was great, all the twists and turns were wonderful. The

    The plot was great, all the twists and turns were wonderful. The only criticism I have, was the lack of depth to any of the characters. They were all so busy being detached from caring that I found myslef not caring who lived and who the murderer was. If she could find away to give her characters some warmth, it would make a world of difference. It was a good book, but I don't think I will purchase anymore of her books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 12, 2012

    This is a must read!!

    As usual, another edge of your seat thriller by Karin. Karin keeps me coming back for more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 78 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4