Customer Reviews for

A Faint Cold Fear

Average Rating 4
( 277 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(128)

4 Star

(78)

3 Star

(39)

2 Star

(18)

1 Star

(14)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

16 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

Amazing Read!

This was the first book I read of Karin Slaughter's and I have to say that I fell completely and totally in love with it. The plot catches you from the beginning and doesn't leave you hanging at the end. The characters are so complex that you just want to believe that...
This was the first book I read of Karin Slaughter's and I have to say that I fell completely and totally in love with it. The plot catches you from the beginning and doesn't leave you hanging at the end. The characters are so complex that you just want to believe that they are real because they seem that way in the book. If you are looking for a good read, pick thins book up and don't stop reading until you are finished!

posted by Karin_Fan on October 26, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Nothing rang true

Pages and pages of mind-numbing dialogue between truly unlikeable characters interspersed with laughably improbable gore. At the appearance of murder #x (I'm trying to avoid spoilers here for those who feel they MUST read this really bad book), I actually nearly laughe...
Pages and pages of mind-numbing dialogue between truly unlikeable characters interspersed with laughably improbable gore. At the appearance of murder #x (I'm trying to avoid spoilers here for those who feel they MUST read this really bad book), I actually nearly laughed -- I figured one more and the author would have written the perfect satire of the genre. Nothing rang true in this book. The bad guy became patently clear by the evil glint in his eye, even though it was very difficult to believe in his sudden and nonsensical transformation. The murders were meant to 'shock and awe' with their brutal details; the sex scenes were absurd, the dialogue, as I've said, went on and on without a reason, and the resolution was cheap and unsatisfying. Also, finally, there's a bit of small-mindedness to the book. Almost all of the bad things happen to or because of someone of mixed race, gay men, a skinhead, Jews.... As one pal pointed out, the one gay woman who had a heart of gold was incredibly ugly, as the author made sure to point out repeatedly.

posted by Anonymous on July 22, 2003

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 128 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7
  • Posted October 26, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Amazing Read!

    This was the first book I read of Karin Slaughter's and I have to say that I fell completely and totally in love with it. The plot catches you from the beginning and doesn't leave you hanging at the end. The characters are so complex that you just want to believe that they are real because they seem that way in the book. If you are looking for a good read, pick thins book up and don't stop reading until you are finished!

    16 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2005

    Bone Chilling Thriller!

    On the local campus in Heartsdale, Georgia a boys' body is found. Although it looks like a suicide, Sara Linton, the towns medical examiner suspects foul play. Then, one after another, bodies start showing up, looking like suicides, but could this be possible? An epidemic of college suicides? Lena Adams, who survived a brutal rape and attempt against her life, was once a respected police detective, but now struggles working for an egotistical scumbag boss, with the college campus security. Lena sets out to prove that she is still a good detective and wants to solve this mystery, but she runs in to all kinds of obsticles that just make her look suspicious to the local police. This book is riveting! You won't be able to put it down. The pace is fast and the leads keep you guessing until the very last page is read. Karin Slaughter has woven together one of the best plots I've read so far this year!! You will never figure out who is the mastermind behind all these deaths!

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Good read

    Very entertaining and intelligently written. Kept me guessing. Excellent weekend read.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2013

    Kathy's opinion

    Great book. Would be better without the f word.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 3, 2012

    Good Read

    One of her best - keeps you wanting to know the outcome. Good author

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2012

    Good book

    I got the sample and im going to get the full version great book so far cant wait to finish it

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 9, 2011

    Another great must read

    Fantasic, twisty read.
    Become a K. Slaughter fan/reader...you will NOT be disappointed. Read all at once. Could not put down.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 12, 2011

    Love Karin Slaughter

    I have read and thoroughly enjoyed every book Karin Slaughter has written. Great author who has created a fantastic group of characters. Buy it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 29, 2011

    Great Page Turner

    This was a great read. Read it in a few hours. Timing and layout were excellent. There are very few of the murder mysteries that I dont have to go back a chapter or two to figure out what was happening due to the storyline skipping around so much.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2013

    Great!

    This is not a book for teens as it is very graphic. The story is great!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2013

    Anonymous

    Good. Liked it a lot

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2013

    JACES BIO

    Name? Jace Jallil Shadeslayer.*Gender? Girl* Apperarence? She is not particularly skinny but is slender with a flat stomach and a (giggle,giggle,ahem,ahem) rather large bust. Her almost black hair is always pinned behind her ears and curly. Her eyes are a golden brown with flecks of yellow,green,black,and hazel. Her eyes are deep set and very large. Her nose turns up at the end slightly and her upper lip is very accentuated and sharply angled while her lower lip is round. They turn up at the corners like she is about to smile all the time unless she is upset or frustrated or angry, in which case she purses them and looks quite stern. She is short physically,about 5'4, but has a very large presence. * Other? She has a brother who is an ex god. Son of hades and Athena (i know...unlikly match right?). Her brothers name is Isfrael. He is the god of thought. He used to live with her but had to leave on important buisiness. She now lives with Alekoli, who everyone calls Alekz (sounds like alex.) Except Jace, who calls him Kol. Sh was a witch who was turned into a vampire. FAVS------ Song? Demons by Imagine Dragons or Raduoactive by ImagineD. POEM? Renisance by Edna st. Vincent millay. QUOTE? "But i dont want to go amongst mad people" replied alice. "Oh you cant help that," said the cat. "We're all mad here." DRINK? Non-diet Dr. Pepper. SNACK? Bday cake flavored ice cream. CLASSIC- Pride and Pejudice/Anna Karenina. BOOK? Raven Boys, City of Bones, Insurgent.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2013

    Freedom's bio

    Name: Freedom • Gender: Girl • Age: 18-20 • Description: Dark brown hair below her shoulders. Beautiful sea green eyes. Freckles across nose and some parts on cheek. Glasses. • Clothing: Neon green t-shirt with black skinny jeans and sneakers. • Crush: Yes • Status: Single • Speicies: Ghost Girl • History: You dont want to know • Bye. Thanks for reading!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2013

    Jordan to Saber Girl

    *Walks in with Bambam, his Russian armada, and his toucan, Lucky.* XD

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2013

    Kay

    Okay lets move to the fifth result.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2013

    Alec

    Ok gtg bbl.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2013

    Soul

    Sorry i was watching tv))

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2013

    TO ALL

    LAST TIME WE ARE MOVING!!! MOVE TO THE FIFTH RESULT. T.t

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2013

    Read

    Everyone should read this book ciz it is a cool book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2013

    Great!

    Another great book. At times little sick but who loves Criminal minds will love her books :-)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 128 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7