Customer Reviews for

Fair Game

Average Rating 4.5
( 396 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(263)

4 Star

(91)

3 Star

(29)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

13 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

Our Review [by Shawnie – LITERAL ADDICTION’s Associa

Our Review [by Shawnie – LITERAL ADDICTION’s Associate Reviewer]:
PATRICIA BRIGGS, HAS DONE IT AGAIN.

The wait is over. Fair Game, the newest installment in the Alpha and Omega series, is here, and let me be the first to tell you all that it is AWESOME! ...
Our Review [by Shawnie – LITERAL ADDICTION’s Associate Reviewer]:
PATRICIA BRIGGS, HAS DONE IT AGAIN.

The wait is over. Fair Game, the newest installment in the Alpha and Omega series, is here, and let me be the first to tell you all that it is AWESOME!

The first thing you’ll notice when you begin this book, is that it’s a lot darker than the first two novels. When I read the Prologue, I was expecting something lovey dovey between Charles and Anna (probably because that is what I wanted to see from them), but that is so not what we get - Mrs. Briggs hits us hard with despair and loneliness in the shape of a small child, and then death to top it all off. I found myself trying to figure out what this all had to do with the story, but once the prologue is done, we meet Anna… Briggs keeps us on the edge of our seats with this one, because you never know which way the story will go.

Charles has dealt more deaths in the short amount of time since his father - The Marrok - brought the North American Wolves out to the public than in his entire two hundred years of life. And wouldn't you know, it’s starting to take a toll on our Alpha male, who would never ask for help from his Anna because he wants to protect her. HOW DO YOU THINK THAT'S GOING FOR HIM? *laughs* It’s sad though really, because he is pushing her away, and we - the readers - start thinking that they aren't going to last. Brother wolf isn't having that though. *GRINS* No I will not tell you what he does because that would be cheating, but Bran, our cool and calm Marrok, has a plan now that he is seeing what is happening. (WARNING! YOU WILL WANT TO SHOOT HIM IN THE BEGINNING.)

Charles needs a buffer, so what does Bran do? He sends Anna, out as a consultant for the F.B.I, which makes Charles her muscle on this latest adventure of theirs. Soon, because nothing ever goes smoothly for these two, they find themselves knee deep in a situation that can either spiral out of control or mend something that is broken. I will let you guys decide which one it is or is it both? Hmmm *GRINS*

Within this installment we meet some interesting new characters and get a taste of some old oness too; like Asil who is a personal favorite of mine. Briggs gives you everything with this book - just like Cry Wolf and Hunting Ground.

We get to see Anna as she grows and becomes the women she and Charles believe she can and will be. She isn't all the way there, but a certain situation sure makes her see herself differently, and she will make you want to cheer her on. GO ANNA!

There is so much in this book: romance (you have to wait for it), action (what's a Patricia Briggs novel without some action), plus a lot of humor in this one too. I swear I was laughing so hard at times I had to go back and reread those sections again. ¿ Trust me when I tell you that this book is worth every second it takes you to read it and then some. The ending leaves you drooling for more… so much more.

I cannot wait for the fourth book, which we all know isn't going to be out any time soon, which sucks, but we have Mercy Thompson to look forward to in the beginning of next year.

P.S. THERE BE GHOST IS THIS BOOK, AND THEY AREN'T NICE. *Laughs*

LITERAL ADDICTION’s Associate Reviewer gives Fair Game 5 Skulls and would give it another ½ if there were one to give.

Pick up Fair Game if you haven't already, and if you haven’t started this series yet, go and get the first 2 as well because you are missing out.

posted by LITERALADDICTION_MLO on March 8, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

I'm confused by why the Nook book is almost 5 dollars MORE expen

I'm confused by why the Nook book is almost 5 dollars MORE expensive then the paperback.......I love this series but this is insane...

posted by JenScheil on July 12, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 91 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2012

    A must read!

    Let me just say WOW! I love the Alpha & Omega series and this book does not disappoint. The two mated werewolves Charles an enforcer for all the North American wolves and Anna the Omega can't seem to get a break. They are always being sent on another mission by Charles father the leader of all the North American wolves. This latest involves werewolves, witches, the fae, a mystical white stag, psycho humans and the FBI. I didn't like the cost of $12.99 for only 230 pages of material but what can you do. Ms. Briggs keep them coming!

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Not Briggs' best work

    This was, in my opinion, the darkest novel that Briggs has written to date. It was a difficult read for me because the killers were so brutal. It was like reading Law and Order: SVU - Paranormal Division, or something. I generally like the Alpha and Omega series better than the Mercy Thompson series, though I love them both, but this novel reminded me more of the Mercy series. This is my least favorite of the Alpha and Omega series, for sure, and my third least favorite by Briggs. It was pretty obvious who the bad guy was, and Briggs is usually better at keeping me guessing. I just didn't feel the level of suspense that I'm used to when reading a Briggs novel. To me, this was one of those books that was necessary to move the story forward, and that usually makes for a less than amazing story. However, I still enjoyed the book, and it was still well-written. I just hope the next one is better.

    Charles and Anna have hit a rift in their marriage, so they weren't as close as they have been in previous novels. This isn't because they don't like each other anymore; it's simply because Charles' guilt at being his father's unquestioning assassin is taking a toll on Charles since he's more about justice than mindless killing. Since the chemistry between them is non-existent for most of this novel, and the majority of the book was set in Boston, this crossed over into the realm of Urban Fantasy rather than Paranormal Romance. The sweet romance of this series is supposed to be what sets it apart from the Mercy series. I'm sure you see the problem with this crossing over. However, there were some extremely interesting developments in the story.

    One of the newer things I noticed is that Charles and Anna are working with humans to solve a crime. Now that the werewolves have come out, it's important to have good public relations with the humans. I really liked Leslie, and I hope to see more of her in future books. She was a fantastic character. She was strong, intelligent, and open-minded. Also, Charles grew a lot in Fair Game. He developed more than I expected him to, and I can't wait to see what these developments mean for his and Anna's relationship, as well as his relationship his father. Bran changed a little as well, and Anna really stood on her own two feet. She has become much stronger and will not let herself be victimized again. She's healing by leaps and bounds.

    I liked the developments with the fae, and the ending has ensured that there will be a lot of turbulence in the Mercy/Alpha and Omega world. I'm interested to see how these developments affect Mercy and company in Seattle, as well as how they affect Bran and the Marrok's pack in Montana. These two series just got a lot more complicated, and the next few books for each series are going to be intense. One thing about the ending really bothered me, though, and I just feel like more people should have died. I know that sounds harsh, but once you read the book, you'll probably understand what I mean. Of course, maybe death was too good for the bigots. Yea, I got angry at quite a few people while reading this.

    The pacing of the book was done pretty well, though it did drag and some places. I felt like some of the parts were a bit uncalled for and just used for padding to make sure the book was long enough, and parts that would have shown Anna and Charles trying to fix their relationship or developments in the serial killer case were skipped over.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 8, 2012

    Loved it. Patricia, I love your books, can you just write faste

    Loved it. Patricia, I love your books, can you just write faster please? :)

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2012

    Wow- excellent

    With the exception of one detail, excellent and unexpected.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2013

    Worth reading !

    I was worried about some of the reviews of this book but I really wanted to know how the story of Charles and Anna continued. I am so glad I got this book. I enjoyed it just as much as I did all the other books of Patricia Briggs.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2013

    great series

    Good addition to the series and to the Mercy Thompson world.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 19, 2013

    Werewolf Shifters

    Love Patricia Briggs! Only problem with the Alpha and Omega Series is you usually have to purchase a book with multiple authors to get the first part of the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2013

    >> I really enjoyed this addition to the series! After rea

    >> I really enjoyed this addition to the series! After reading the reviews I was not sure what to expect, but I was pleasantly surprised. Anna has grown quite a bit. I was happy to see that she does not have to cower behind Charles. As always, I really enjoyed Brother Wolf! The plot is good and moves at a great pace. Nice twists and turns. It was a page turner for me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2013

    Great continuation of great series

    Like the characters - happy to see them again. Story is good in and of itself, but much more enjoyable if you've read the other books in this series and in the Mercedes Thompson series. You will not go wrong with any of them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2013

    This was incredible. The best in the Alpha and Omega series so f

    This was incredible. The best in the Alpha and Omega series so far. Patricia Briggs leaves us on the edge of our seats hoping that the next book in the series will be out soon! Thanks Patricia! I can't wait to see what happens next!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2012

    Love!

    I first fell in love with the mercy thompson novels then when i found out that alpha and omega was branch from that story line i had to grab it! I loved this book and being able to see a different side of charels was great! Keeps you guessing till the end! I cant wait for the next book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 26, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Wow. This one blew me away. Small correction to the synopsi

    Wow. This one blew me away.

    <i>Small correction to the synopsis at goodreads site -- all the victim are not werewolves (all the victims are werewolves or other supernatural beings like the fae).</i>


    Being a fan of Ms. Briggs and the Mercy Thompson series, I was, of course, interested in more of Charles and Bran and her whole upbringing but until this book the A&amp;O series lacked some oomph! or something for me (in fact whole passages of earlier books were rather sluggish and uninteresting to me; felt needed to either be more on the romance or less on the romance with more on the action or more on the shaman spiritualism; books just did not seem to find the right balance. I enjoyed as this author can write--but not a huge fan).

    <i>Fair Game,</i>
    despite Charles' persistent soul searching, was an intense, enjoyable read that had to be done in one sitting (okay, pre-ordered for March because of author without realizing which series but once started could not put down until finished). Story arc built well, characters interesting, mystery progressed with reasonable clues without irritatingly intense foreshadowing, worldbuilding and politics in the world where supernatural beings were out in public (I believe this author was one of first to use that plot device) rather plausible -- just kept my interest start to finish.

    And what an ending! No cliffhanger ending just to make you buy next in series; but, oh boy, you can see it opening a whole new can of worms to make the series get even more interesting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 20, 2012

    Actually 4.5stars This is such an easy series to read and this

    Actually 4.5stars

    This is such an easy series to read and this third entry was no different. Anna &amp; Charles are dispatched by the Marrock to aid Boston&rsquo;s finest &amp; the FBI stop a serial killer this time out. This killer also counts werewolves among his victims. Werewolves and Fae are also now common knowledge and I didn&rsquo;t agree that so much information about them should or would be given so freely (even in the guise of Public Relations) so there quite a bit more interaction with the human world. Anna&rsquo;s conflicted because she feels Charles&rsquo; recent withdrawal from their mating and fears his pack assignment is slowly destroying him. Extremely steady navigation is required to avoid the strategically designed minefield of intimacy and emotional issues with their mating plus the public relations &amp; political arenas involved with resolving this case.

    As ever, Charles and Anna make new friends as well as encounter new and dangerous enemies while they carefully love each other and include the reader in their wolf magic. The story may seem to start a little slow but before you&rsquo;re done with the first chapter you&rsquo;ll find you&rsquo;ve been treated to a dose of Omega magic yourself. While Anna befriends a local FBI agent and stretches her Omega muscles to enlighten the local Alpha, Charles wrestles inwardly personal demons that he can&rsquo;t quite come to grips with alone. While as a whole I see a lot of character growth in the series, I wasn&rsquo;t overly impressed with Fair Game. The mechanics are fine and I adore the leads; but I was able to guess the villain of the piece well before the denouement, which stole some of the enjoyment.

    I am excited for the next installment to see who falls under the Charles &amp; Ann enchantment next.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 14, 2012

    Another great story

    I am consistently Impressed by Ms Briggs ability to keep the deeper personal needs & backgrounds as part of her plot lines. It gives depth to both the good & bad guys. Beyond that, she doesn't resolve all of their issues, she lets them learn about themselves in a way that is quite insightful and doesn't allow one "side" to always have it all figured out.

    All that to say that while some of the plot lines are mildly predictable, the driving forces of the characters distract you. Don't be hasty in pinning down "who done it" or why.

    Should be rated a 5star but sexual content is a bit much for me in any of Ms Briggs books. Silly, I know, since the violence doesn't bother me at all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2012

    ? J . ?bmbgjcngyigjgjgj gjy .gjyiyiyi . ? ?gjgj .

    G . Y bmbm . ? Bmyibvn bvnbntiyiiutyiy bngjbm

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2012

    Another good one!!

    Patricia Briggs can really tell a story! Read & enjoyed all her books. Have to say Mercy Thompson and Alpha Omega are my favs. If you like fantasy give them a try. You won't be sorry.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2012

    Great ending!

    Story kind of grusome, but the ending starts an awesome new storyline!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2012

    great

    come on #4

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 25, 2012

    Very Good Book

    I am a big fan of Patricia Briggs so this book was a must have. It was an easy read but still kept me entertained. I love the characters but wish the plot lines were a little more defined. Overall it was nice read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2012

    Good Read

    I gave this book 4 stars because Patricia Briggs is an awesome write and the book was good. I prefer the Mercy Thompson series to this series since there is alot more interaction between characters, as well as a whole cast of characters. I love Anna and company and the book has a great plot. I definitely recommend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 91 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5