Customer Reviews for

FairTax Book: Saying Goodbye to the Income Tax and the IRS

Average Rating 4.5
( 64 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(49)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 65 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2009

    Fair Enough

    I really enjoyed the Fair Tax book because of it's stimulating and provocative ideas. If the concept of instituting a fair tax in the federal government took hold, we may be able to stimulate our economy and promote the use of savings accounts. Great read for students of the economy and government!! It is also an easy read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Don't like what the government is doing to your life and your grandchildrens future?

    Then this is the book for you.

    More than a way of changing how the federal government is funded. More than doing away with the April 15th blues. The revenue neutral and highly progressive Fair Tax (currently a bill in congress) is away of citizens regaining control over government. It puts you in control rather than being controlled.

    Just look at your paycheck. The part where the deductions are listed. Look at that total. Imagine it in your pocket ready to save, invest, or spend.

    Imagine living in a country where you decide how much tax you will pay out of that paycheck.

    Why did I re-list The Fair Tax book in the "Also Recommended" section. After reading it I started buying and passing out copies. After reading you'll want to both keep a copy and pass it on to others.

    Michael Krabb

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2012

    Great Pitch

    America has a huge inventory of foreclosed homes, and a wealth of talent ..It follows that an incentive to buy used product would clear that glut, put tradesmen back to work.

    That is just one benefit that should compel the reader to support this idea!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2011

    A must read!!!!!

    A well written and easy to understand explaination of the way our government manipulates the system and the uneducated! Most people can learn to be anything they choose but few choose to study the complexities of the tax code. This leaves them at the mercy of lobbyists, government officials and special interest groups. Take the power from them and put it back into the hands of the populace!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2010

    WOW!

    I firmly believe that this one piece of legislation could turn both our economy and our country around. It just makes too much sense. The only problem with it is that it will take control of the purse strings away from partisan politicians and back in the hands of the people. That is why this legislation faces such a tough battle. When was the last time congress voted to limit its own power?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A Proactive Paradigm Shift In The Way American Should Be Taxed

    I listen to Neal Boortz on the radio for about two years. He is boldly spoken, yet entertaining. He does very well in this book. I can tell where Congressmen John Linder wrights his parts. It is the difference between an old wise man and an old I told you so man. I love it!

    I recommend this book if you are looking for the following: general tax education, a look into the future, how to change that future, something better than flat tax, a simple fair solution to overcomplicated unfair current tax code.

    This book, with tax paying Americans will change America. I have joined the fight. I hope you will, too!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 14, 2008

    Should be required reading for every American

    This book should be read and kept in every home in the USA. It explains just how the government is taking our hard earned money so they can spend spend spend on their pet projects while we struggle paying our bills they are wasting our money!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2008

    Taxpayers Need to Read This Book

    I heard of the FairTax last year through all of the political hype but remained skeptical. Take the time to read this book and you too will become a supporter of the FairTax. Neal Boortz and Rep. John Linder make taxes interesting(!) and keep you turning the pages.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2007

    Finally, someone's doing more than just complaining about taxes - they're actually coming up with solutions!!

    I LOVED this book! I originally heard about the Fair Tax idea from a friend, and had a lot of questions. By the time I was finished with this book EVERY SINGLE QUESTION I had started with had been answered. I am so glad that this idea is being spread. I hope that more people will read this book and educate themselves about the possibilities of a new tax system. As a businessman I deal with tax decisions on a regular basis. I have begun sharing this new tax philosophy with anyone who will listen. I no longer just complain about taxes, I have joined the fight to actually change them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2008

    fair tax economic salvation

    I read the book twice because I thought that I surely had missed something. great facts, understandable, pleasurable reading. I implore anyone who really loves this country and wants to see power in the hands of THE PEOPLE to enjoy this book. Easy 6 hour committment. It will open your eyes and your brain. One quick fact....My wise old father always used to say. 'Corporations do not pay taxes son. The people who use their products and services do'. Major focal point. I could go on and on with how this system of taxation would help me as asmall business owner. Just not having to invest 3 to 5 percent of my annual gross to prepare for the IRS gauntlet is enough reason. It is such a simple solution to a complex problem.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2007

    A very necessary book.

    I used to be a fan of the flat tax, but after reading this book and applying the little I know of economics, I concluded that this is better than the flat tax. The person that said it was not going to happen has because the corporation are going to blame the price change to the government either did not read the book, or has no ideas of the dynamics of free market capitalism. If companies could get away with pricier products (especially when not in a monopoly or oligopoly) then they would do it now, they do not need a scapegoat. Every american who cares even a little about our economy should pick up this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2007

    History not learned will be repeated!

    History shows us that in the 1773 a group of colonists dumped a little bit of tea Ok alot of tea into the Boston Harbor to show the king that they were being taxed unfairly. (Also known as the Boston tea pary). Hmmm What happened next? Oh yea I know we had a revolution and became the greatest nation on earth. Now that being said, most of Americans in the middle class are tired of the government taxing them to death without representation. History is why you need to read the book and relize that we need a FAIR TAX!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2007

    The only hope for America

    Everything about this plan makes perfect sense. It would make the USA stronger than anyone could have ever dreamed. If you disagree, then you are too ignorant to function in a free society. Go live in one of your pinko fantasy worlds. There are many people smarter than you who KNOW it will work, with MILLIONS of dollars spent researching the plan. If you don't agree with the FairTax, you do NOT deserve to continue stealing my oxygen.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2007

    Never gonna happen...

    The text in this book, much like communism is a good idea... but when placed in practice, it will never work. Humans are greedy individuals. In THEORY, once the taxes are put in place, the prices on consumer goods will go down to compensate... in REALITY, those companies will blame the government for the tax, and pocket the difference in profit, leaving the US consumer to pay the difference. Also, it is HIGHLY PROBABLE that the current president at the time this bill is passed will LINE ITEM VETO the abolishment of the IRS and leave intact the national sales tax, thus creating a new tax for the government while keeping the IRS as well. It is a very dangerous idea, and with the track record of humankind, should remain in this book and stay just as it is... a THEORY.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2007

    Never gonna happen...

    The text in this book, much like communism is a good idea... but when placed in practice, it will never work. Humans are greedy individuals. In THEORY, once the taxes are put in place, the prices on consumer goods will go down to compensate... in REALITY, those companies will blame the government for the tax, and pocket the difference in profit, leaving the US consumer to pay the difference. Also, it is HIGHLY PROBABLE that the current president at the time this bill is passed will LINE ITEM VETO the abolishment of the IRS and leave intact the national sales tax, thus creating a new tax for the government while keeping the IRS as well. It is a very dangerous idea, and with the track record of humankind, should remain in this book and stay just as it is... a THEORY.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2006

    An unrealistic idea

    The FairTax will likely end up on the same scrap heap of ideas as the 1980's balanced budget amendment, with which it share some common attributes: simplistic, easy to understand, ideologically correct, and totally out of touch with reality. Sadly, neither liberals nor conservatives will be able to resist the opportunity to attempt - or to be perceived to be attempting - social engineering, of whatever idelogical stripe, via the tax code. For that reason alone, the idea will never be implemented. An additional issue is that the FairTax is regressive for those services that are locally regulated (cable and utility rates, for example). Does anyone seriously think that cable TV rates will drop 20+ percent if the FairTax is implemented by the national government?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2006

    Building a Better America ...

    This book is all about restoring the great dream of our Founding Fathers, that being, placing power in the hands of the people and limiting the power of big government! A facinating common-sense approach to economics that recognizes taxes are the money of the American workers, not the politicians. This book is a guide to taking home more money in your paycheck and eliminating the IRS. What more could you want to start building a better America?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2006

    What America Really Needs!

    This book was great! It's really hard to make tax talk interesting, but Boortz did it with this book. It really opened my eyes to how the system really does SCREW us! Anyone that uses money needs to read this book. With enough people aware of the problem and the solution with our tax system, we may be able to see changes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2006

    Great Idea

    Neal Boortz and John Linder make a very compelling case for the fair tax. I certainly look forward to the day when I get to keep my entire paycheck. I believe something needs to be done concerning our tax system. More business people and wealthy individuals do more creative things to avoid paying taxes. This problem is due to our busted tax system. All this would go away if we adopt the fair tax. Finally, I would like to say that I was skepical at first, but like I said earlier, he makes a compelling case. It is interesting that all the economists agree on the growth aspect of this plan. They differ in how fast the economy grows. I really enjoyed this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2006

    Read it and pass it on

    My Dad passed one of his copies down to me. I am going to have my wife read it next. Every American needs to read this book. It was a fun book to read about a sad topic - TAXES. But as this book says, we don't have to live this way any more. It is easy to make life good again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 65 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4