Customer Reviews for

Fairest (An Unfortunate Fairy Tale Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 799 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(570)

4 Star

(140)

3 Star

(53)

2 Star

(19)

1 Star

(17)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

26 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

This seuel to UnEnchanted has solidified this series as one of m

This seuel to UnEnchanted has solidified this series as one of my favorites. I loved the first book with its great take on a storyline and lovable characters and the second book definitely doesn't disappoint. The series is about a teenage girl named Mina who finds out t...
This seuel to UnEnchanted has solidified this series as one of my favorites. I loved the first book with its great take on a storyline and lovable characters and the second book definitely doesn't disappoint. The series is about a teenage girl named Mina who finds out that she is part of the Grimm family - as in The Brother Grimm of the fairytales. As a Grimm she has to take up the faimly mantle passed onto generations of completing quests that reflects the fairytales that we know of. These quests seek her out, so she has no choice but to complete them.

Fairest take off about a month from the events in UnEnchated. You don't necessarily have to read the first book. There are summaries of what happened in the first book intertwined within the story, but I would recommend reading the first book to get a full sense of the story and the characters. Whereas UnEnchanted serves as an introduction of the major players and the major conflict happening, Fairest  has a more dramatic feel to the story. It focuses a lot of the fleshing out of characters, especially Mina and Jared (whom it is revealed who/what he is). You get to read a different side to Mina. You see tha talthough she has this great responsibility put upon her, she's still a teenager prone to all the emotions teens feel and experience. And it doesn't always put her in the best of light. However, do not fret. There is still action - in fact that's how the book starts off, but there's a bigger spotlight focusing on the relationships between characters. This book is filled with great drama, and don't think since it involves teenagers that it's corny or formulaic. Like Hahn is good of doing in this series, she takes the mundane/cliche and makes it not only unique but gives it a mature tone to it. You don't feel like you're reading a sappy, run of the mill teen soap opera.

If you enjoyed the first book (which I definitely did), the sequel will not disappoint. There is still great writing and likeable characters with doses o f action, drama, romantic tension and a rock band! If you have an hour or two to spare and in the mood for a modern fairytale, I highly suggest you let Mina and the gang lead you on this tale.

posted by chibilee02 on January 1, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

39 out of 70 people found this review helpful.

I enjoyed the second book but........ it was not as good as the

I enjoyed the second book but........ it was not as good as the first. Mina is weak and dumb. Instead of leaning on lessons learned before she is just stuck in her head for most of the book. I figured out that she was the queen 100 pages before she did. I hate a whiny g...
I enjoyed the second book but........ it was not as good as the first. Mina is weak and dumb. Instead of leaning on lessons learned before she is just stuck in her head for most of the book. I figured out that she was the queen 100 pages before she did. I hate a whiny girl and unfortunately that is who she is in this book. I have seen this idea (Grimm) before but, never like this, I just hope the next book is as strong as the first. I want to see Mina really grow into a "Grimm" and not cry, moan, and limp her way along.

posted by 7189916 on June 30, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 570 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 29
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2013

    Add On

    Oh, another thing is that i think Mina and Jared should be together....I like Brody but i like Jared better :D

    20 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2012

    :o!

    Omigosh!!!!! This book is absolutely AMAZINGGG!!!!!!! I mean wow! This is just.... i cant even describe it, it was that good! Chanda Hahn is a GIFTED writer, and I HIGHLY recommend this book! I will definitely be reading #2!! Im just so mad that #3 isnt coming out til 2013!!! >:( i cant wait that long!!! And i agree with the people that said she belongs with Jared :)))) Brodey is just the cute-boy-next-door type.. he doesnt beling with Ms. Grimm!!!!

    17 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2012

    The smashwords copy is the longer full story

    The smadhwords copy is the longer full story

    9 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2012

    Good book but...

    They have two copies of the same book on here! This one is just smaller print.. but that made me buy BOTH of the copies without realizing they were the same. Don't get me wrong. I should have looked at the descriptions harder to realize he books sounded to similar. But they didn't give a clear indication that they were the same so i feel kind of cheated

    9 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2013

    Jared

    Team Jared!!! Brody is cute and Nan deserves him. Jared is hot though and cute too. Lol

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2012

    Anonymous

    Oh my gosh this book is soooo good i cant wait for the third one. I made me cry when Nan and Brody kissed and I have my hopes set high on Jared and Mina being together

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2013

    LOVE IT!!

    I immediately fell in love with the first book and after reading the sample i wanted 2 read more but after looking at the comments, I see that there are some huge disappointments. Like Brody ending up with the best friend! Thats not right.

    If someone coud lend me the book. Please, that would be awesome!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2013

    Luv

    I luv this book!!!!!! I love this whole series and author. I can't wait for the next book!!!!! I am just a little disapointed in the romance in this book it is kind of confusing and really jacked up but other than that I love this book!!!!! :) - prettygirl

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2012

    Ok so ler me get this strait

    Brody goes fo her best friend so sad if that happen to me i would slap them to get there memory back!!! Plus is jared a fae. If he is then mina will finish the story and loose him!!! But if she doesnt she will die and leave him brody you are a jerk i dont care if you dont have your memory you left her brocken hearted twice!!!!!!

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2012

    TO THE USER THAT SAIS GOOD/BAD

    You must have gotten the wrong copy. Its 465 pages not 168.

    4 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2013

    Peace01

    Spoiler Alert, sort of!
    OMG MINA JUST KISS JARED ALREADY!!!!!1!!!1!!!! LOL, I am sorry, but seriously!?!? Hurry up, I am DYING here!!! Only people who have read this will understand, but OMG This is frustrating. Do it! DO EEEET!!!!!!!1!!!1!!!!11!!!!!
    Look for Peace01 for more reviews.
    P.S, *facepalm*

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2013

    AMAZING!!!!

    Was a gerat book!! The author cept me up for nights with exitement.
    I recomend this series!!!!!!!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2012

    Great read

    This book was amazing just like the first i loved it :)

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2013

    Miss hahn

    When is the third book coming out?????? You said in june or july. July is almost over and I'm dieing from the supense please please pleeeeeeaaaaasssseeee tell me your 3rd book is coming out

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2013

    Can't wait!!

    I CANOT WAIT FOR THE NEXT BOOK!! The moment I started to read the first book, I had fallen in love! I can toally relate to Mina, and i can seeiously see myself in her place. Its such a magical book, and now its like twilight, TEAM JARED AND TEAM BRODY! I CANT CHOOSE NOW XD

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2013

    Omg

    OH MY GOSH THAT WAS SO SAD IM STILL CRYING MINA IS SUPPOSED TO HAVE A HAPPILY EVER AFTER NOT NAN AND HE KISSED MINA BEFORE HE KISSED NAN PLEASE HURRY AND RIGHT THE NEXT BOOK I NEED TO KNOW WHAT HAPPENS!!!!!!!

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2012

    Love love love

    I want a third book to come out guick i read both in a week i need to know what happens next! To the auther hurry with the third book such a good series. From irishprincess4 PLEASE write the third one i need it soon!!! I used to not like reading but that book made me venture!!! Not stop reading and write

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2015

    Idfwu

    Some of yall people are spoiler alerts like omg

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2014

    Read in one night

    Book was really awesome willing to share but have no clue how lol

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2014

    I love this book

    This is a good book . Im so happy i fond this the begining was slow ,but ended gareatly .if you read the fist book you will love this, its a good buy.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 570 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 29