Customer Reviews for

Fairest

Average Rating 4.5
( 264 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(165)

4 Star

(55)

3 Star

(26)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

41 out of 45 people found this review helpful.

Reviewed by The Story Siren for TeensReadToo.com

In a land where beauty means everything, Aza finds herself lacking in every way possible. Her only redeeming quality is the beauty in her voice. If only her singing reflected what others saw when they looked upon her face. She spends most of her time trying to hide her ...
In a land where beauty means everything, Aza finds herself lacking in every way possible. Her only redeeming quality is the beauty in her voice. If only her singing reflected what others saw when they looked upon her face. She spends most of her time trying to hide her face from the staring eyes of guests at her parent's inn. Singing is the only beauty Aza finds in herself, and she sings often while she is working.

She discovers that she can "throw" her voice and make it appear as though it came from another place in the room! She tries to teach her family her new trick but no one else is successful.

A Duchess passing through the inn on her way to the King's wedding invites Aza to come along as her maid. While at the castle, the new Queen discovers Aza's talent in "throwing" her voice and insists that Aza stay and become a lady in waiting, so that the Queen can use Aza's voice as her own.

When the King is injured, the young Queen is hungry for power and the kingdom is soon threatened to fall apart, as well as Aza along with it.

I have heard great things about Levine as a writer, so when I had a chance to read FAIREST I jumped at it! And I have to say that I wasn't disappointed! I loved the fairy tale setting and the storytelling quality of Levine's writing.

The plot was fast-paced and Aza's growth within the novel is believable. Aza isn't your typical heroine and that made the story so much more enjoyable. I loved that the book tackled the issue of beauty, which is something that I know I struggle with, as well. I know that I'm looking forward to reading more of Ms. Levine's works in the future!

posted by TeensReadToo on October 28, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Kinda boring

I found this book to be really slow. I wanted to see more of a snow white tail like it was suppose to be, but you got to meet the nombs like more towards the end of the book. It really depends on what you like because my sister loves this book she has read it three t...
I found this book to be really slow. I wanted to see more of a snow white tail like it was suppose to be, but you got to meet the nombs like more towards the end of the book. It really depends on what you like because my sister loves this book she has read it three times, and i'm sure she will read it more in the future as well. It had a beautiful meaning though great theme and i would suggest this book to anyone who is down and need some cheering up to do.

posted by KaykayKD on April 9, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 165 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 9
  • Posted October 28, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by The Story Siren for TeensReadToo.com

    In a land where beauty means everything, Aza finds herself lacking in every way possible. Her only redeeming quality is the beauty in her voice. If only her singing reflected what others saw when they looked upon her face. She spends most of her time trying to hide her face from the staring eyes of guests at her parent's inn. Singing is the only beauty Aza finds in herself, and she sings often while she is working. <BR/><BR/>She discovers that she can "throw" her voice and make it appear as though it came from another place in the room! She tries to teach her family her new trick but no one else is successful. <BR/><BR/>A Duchess passing through the inn on her way to the King's wedding invites Aza to come along as her maid. While at the castle, the new Queen discovers Aza's talent in "throwing" her voice and insists that Aza stay and become a lady in waiting, so that the Queen can use Aza's voice as her own. <BR/><BR/>When the King is injured, the young Queen is hungry for power and the kingdom is soon threatened to fall apart, as well as Aza along with it. <BR/><BR/>I have heard great things about Levine as a writer, so when I had a chance to read FAIREST I jumped at it! And I have to say that I wasn't disappointed! I loved the fairy tale setting and the storytelling quality of Levine's writing. <BR/><BR/>The plot was fast-paced and Aza's growth within the novel is believable. Aza isn't your typical heroine and that made the story so much more enjoyable. I loved that the book tackled the issue of beauty, which is something that I know I struggle with, as well. I know that I'm looking forward to reading more of Ms. Levine's works in the future!

    41 out of 45 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Mirror, Mirror, on the wall...

    In oung Aza's crazy world of obsessed beauty (sound famailair?) she stands out. Not only because she has the voice of an angel, the fairest in all the land but becuase...well...to put it bluntly, she's just not that pretty.
    In this fairy-tale ride of love, hope, and justice, Gail Carson Levine weaves one magic tale. As a fan of her other novels, I found this one no different. It's fun, romantic, fantastical, and a breath of fresh air if you're searching for a feel-good but NOT "fluffy" book. It's definately a girly book, but not like Sleepless in Seattle is a chick flick. Think girly as in...the movie Pride and Prejudice. That has some deeper stuff in it, right? Yes, and so does this book. How Aza's inner beauty shines to make her beautiful with those who truly love her, and how the pretty faced girl really ISNT that pretty at all...settles for a great lesson without being preachy. And that lesson is quite the perfect one for our generation of air brushed models and obsessive Coach carrying young girls. And just like me, at the end, you'll see how real beauty is indeed, the fairest of them all.
    So, cons? Not too many here. Parents can rejoice- there's no language to speak of, little violence or thematic material, and no heavy romance, only some kisses. Trust me when i say it does NOT get any cleaner than this. Which is just another reason i love Mrs. Levine, she keeps it thrilling and VERY romantic, while keeping things CLEAN. that, dear reader, is something you just don't see too often.
    So set back, relax, and curl up with a mad good love story with some actual depth. Like me, you'll gobble up this fantasy quickly..and you'll be glad you did.
    Happy Reading!

    ~Thanks for reading my review! please check out my page, and take a look at my other reviews! God bless!~

    15 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    No rating can compare!

    If I could I would give Fairest ten stars. I absolutely loved this book! It is the best I have read in a while. The characters are interesting and detailed, the setting is perfect, and the story is like no other. If you read this book you will be amazed how it draws you in. An absolutely unforgettable experience.

    10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 20, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    THE BEST EVER!!!

    I absolutely love this book! I have read it several times and it never gets boring. I recommend it to anyone who can read!

    7 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 17, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    One of my favorites!

    I loved this book. I thought the characters were very realistic and you could definitely relate to most of them. I was hooked from the beginning. I loved how Ella Enchanted was a twist on Cinderella and Fairest was a twist on Snow White. It was very very good. Gail Carson Levine is a great writer. I recommend this to anyone who loves Fairy Tales.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2013

    BEST

    I LOVE GAIL CARSON LEVINE AND I BEG FOR BARNS AND NOBLE TO GIVE THE REST OF HER BOOKS!!!! PLLLLLLEEEEAAAASSSSSSSEEEEE!!!!!

    3 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2008

    one of my favorites!

    I completley fell in love with this book. I loved how the twist to the book gave it a different side of what to truley fall in love with. In all romance fairytales the prince falls in love with the maiden for sight and intrest but in this book the prince likes her for the inside and her voice. It means a lot to girls and show how everything is balanced in a females body to where both side come t one in love.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    delightful retelling of Snow White

    As a newborn, Aza was left at the Featherbed Inn in the village of Amonta, Ayortha. Though a baby, she was singing, which brought her to the attention of the kind innkeepers Father and Mother, who raise her with love alongside their biological offspring. However, Aza is far from pretty so as to not disturb their customers she remains hidden when the inn is open for business. Still her talent as a singer becomes known, but it is her other talent that brings her to the attention of the royals besides being able to sing like a lark, she can throw her voice so that the song sounds like it is coming from someone else. Though Father and Mother fear for her safety as they love Aza deeply, she goes off to the court to make it seem as if the horrendously untalented but kindhearted Queen Ivi sings in a public event. Soon afterward Aza as a lady-in-waiting begins to fall in love with prince Ijori, who she believes could never return her fellings due to her ugliness. When she finds a magic mirror that can change its user into the fairest beauty in Ayortha, Aza sees an opportunity to win his regard, but will soon learn there is a price to pay perhaps her life for this change. --- Though the target audience is older elementary school students, FAIREST is a delightful retelling of Snow White that will grip readers of all ages who cannot help but like and admire the kind heroine and her Prince ¿Charming¿. The story line is driven by the characters, especially the misadventures of enchanted Aza, whose escapades at the inn, at the court, and with gnomes teach her that outer beauty is meaningless without inner warmth and love shared with others. Readers will appreciate this superb fairy tale that showcases Gail Carson Levine¿s skill as one of the FAIREST preteen writers. --- Harriet Klausner

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2013

    Captivating

    This story is very well written and keeps you inside of it. I would definetely reccomend this amazing book to anyone.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2013

    What is this book about?TAP HERE FOR 4 GREAT BOOKS

    Ella enchanted ,the grim sisters, ivy's dragon, and once upon a marigold. These are my four favorite books in the fantasy aventure genre.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2013

    Fairest

    Fairest is a great book! I highly recommend this book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2013

    Enchanting

    This book is definetely a prize winner. I won't tell you what it's about because has already done that for me, but it just pulls you in and won't let you put it down. It's the type of story that has twisted common fairy tales and it has strongly highlighted a huge part of society: having beauty or being perfect. It is amazing how Gail put this together. Good job and thank you for letting us see your imagination in the form of a book. This book is absolutely the best!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2013

    Good

    Really good book. Writing style is awesome. Everything is pg and the magic is not spiritistic. Everyone should try to read it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2013

    Love it

    Love it

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2013

    Loved it :)

    Best book ever! If you ever have time on youre hands I suggest
    reading Fairest because you will never be able to stop reading :)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2013

    Fairest

    I'm wating for the day you dont have to buy someones words to read them. The sample was great I really like the main character so far and I really want to see what else the dutchess had to say. To bad for me.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2013

    Amazing

    This is an amazing book! I feel like I have read it over 100 times. I like how Gale Cason Levine had the main person be. Her nname is Aza and all she wants to do is be beautiful. At the end she falls in love. I also like how Aza thinks and everyone says she isn't pretty, but inside she is pretty, she has such an amazing voice. Her voice is so sweet.

    If you like fairy tales and fun try this fun, amazing book! It is awesome!!!!!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2013

    Leave some time on your hands!

    This is a very fun book that is full of adventure, romance, and magic! It may not be a whole lot like Snow White, but it is very interesting and a great read! For me, I have to have a long period of time in order to read one of Gail's books because its so hard to put them down! =D

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2012

    The best book ever!!!!

    Levine hit a home run on this book!!!one of the best books i have ever read! Great book. It i a MUST HAVE!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2008

    Fairest

    Fairest A classic fairy tale with some surprising twists, Fairest is sure to captivate middle school readers. Aza, an inn-keeper¿s daughter with a beautiful singing voice, is invited to a royal wedding by a duchess, whose dame is ill. At the wedding she promptly falls in love with the handsome prince Iorji. She is then forced to sing for the manipulative Queen Ivy who cannot sing (a voice matters very much in a country that loves to sing). She than finds out that Queen Ivy is not the only one who is manipulative, a magic mirror given to the queen by the fairy Lucinda is tricking Ivy to doing his bidding. This magic mirror is the key to finally being beautiful, no more pasty skin or large hips, but it comes at a price. After being thrown in jail, and escaping to live with gnomes, Aza is poisoned and has to defeat the magic mirror to save her self. If she can¿t . . . The author tells this story in a friendly tone she makes the story seem almost real. The characters she creates seem to have a human life, they don¿t talk in riddles of prophesies and battles. There is a lot of singing, and over all it is one of the best books I have read.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 165 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 9