Customer Reviews for

Fairest of Them All

Average Rating 4
( 54 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(24)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

A wonderful classic love story

Welcome to the Middle Ages where the Gavenmore men have been cursed for centuries doomed by loving fair faced women, is it real or imaginary. It will take Austyn of Gavenmore to find the answer and it will take the head strong willful antics of Holly of Tewksbury procla...
Welcome to the Middle Ages where the Gavenmore men have been cursed for centuries doomed by loving fair faced women, is it real or imaginary. It will take Austyn of Gavenmore to find the answer and it will take the head strong willful antics of Holly of Tewksbury proclaimed the fairest face in all of England to bring him to that end. But what end will it be, will she fulfill the prophecy of doom and disaster or will love reign over all else.
Teresa Medeiros is an amazing storyteller, from the first page her readers will be enchanted by her plot. They will be compelled to turn page after page to reach the outcome, to have their questions answered and they will be enthralled by her constant flowing dialogue that will take them to the imaginary castle high on a hill where all the secrets reside. Her characters are all unforgettable and memorable and her intimate knowledge of them will be apparent as you read. Her hero and heroine are two of the most likable and equally irritating people you will ever have the pleasure of knowing, but know them you will and by the end you will be rooting for their lives, their love and their future. Her supporting characters are also unforgettable and add depth to the story. Her romance is tragic and heartbreaking and pulls at your heartstrings. Her love scenes are sexy, sensual and sizzle on the page.
This is a historical classic tale of love conquers all and you will not read anything better no matter how hard you look.

posted by dhaupt on March 3, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

All right

This book was ok. The characters were somewhat distant, and I think that's why I didn't like the book more than I did. I just couldn't connect with them. I like the plot and storyline, but felt it was underdeveloped. It just seemed to end to quickly without ever ful...
This book was ok. The characters were somewhat distant, and I think that's why I didn't like the book more than I did. I just couldn't connect with them. I like the plot and storyline, but felt it was underdeveloped. It just seemed to end to quickly without ever fully developing. The story was sweet, but I just wish the plot had more depth and development, and that the characters were a bit more likable. In addition, some of her writing was just too flowery, it got annoying. I would recommend reading it because it is a likable book, just don't expect anything truly memorable.

posted by Anonymous on February 14, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 54 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted March 23, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Great Book

    The story had me at the garden scene and kept my attention with a strong female character named Holly and a handsome man with a mean streak named Austyn. This story brings everything, great lovable characters, good plot and a witty smart beauty who will do anything to win Austyn's heart.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 3, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A wonderful classic love story

    Welcome to the Middle Ages where the Gavenmore men have been cursed for centuries doomed by loving fair faced women, is it real or imaginary. It will take Austyn of Gavenmore to find the answer and it will take the head strong willful antics of Holly of Tewksbury proclaimed the fairest face in all of England to bring him to that end. But what end will it be, will she fulfill the prophecy of doom and disaster or will love reign over all else.
    Teresa Medeiros is an amazing storyteller, from the first page her readers will be enchanted by her plot. They will be compelled to turn page after page to reach the outcome, to have their questions answered and they will be enthralled by her constant flowing dialogue that will take them to the imaginary castle high on a hill where all the secrets reside. Her characters are all unforgettable and memorable and her intimate knowledge of them will be apparent as you read. Her hero and heroine are two of the most likable and equally irritating people you will ever have the pleasure of knowing, but know them you will and by the end you will be rooting for their lives, their love and their future. Her supporting characters are also unforgettable and add depth to the story. Her romance is tragic and heartbreaking and pulls at your heartstrings. Her love scenes are sexy, sensual and sizzle on the page.
    This is a historical classic tale of love conquers all and you will not read anything better no matter how hard you look.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2012

    Loved it!

    I lol at parts of this book. The hero wants no beautiful bride, his family is cursed byy bad luck in love. His bride disguises her beauty so no one will offer for her (at a tournament held by her father)she hopes to discourage one and all. He needs her dowry and is happy she's homely. Parts of the story turn dark and morbid when he learns his bride is a beauty, but all is well in the end.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 26, 2011

    Another Mederios Classic!!

    Wonderful, funny, and heart warming! A good read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Funny & Romantic Tale of Unintended Love

    Redonk Nutshell: A legendary beauty disguises herself in a hideous costume to deter suitors in a competition for her hand, and inadvertently falls in love with one of them

    Fairest of them All is the story of Holly, the legendary beauty who's father wants her wed and holds a tournament to find her a husband. Never one to back down from a challenge, Holly decides to adorn herself as a hideous frump of a woman.

    Sir Austyn of Gavenmore is on the hunt for a plain and simple bride, preferably one with a decent dowry. He travels to compete in the tournament for Holly's hand. He has heard tales of the woman's beauty, and when she is revealed to be...er...lacking...it doesn't deter him in the least. In fact, his family is rumored to be cursed by beautiful women, so Holly fits his needs perfectly.

    Austyn wins the tournament easily, and when he takes Holly back to his home in Wales, Holly is determined to keep him at bay through desperate theatrical shows she think will make him regret his winnings. What she doesn't count on is being drawn to Austyn simply for him being him, and when her hag costume beings to weigh heavily on her, Holly realizes she needs to come clean. When Austyn learns of her deception (and believe me, he does), he locks her in the highest tower of his fortress. Regardless of the distance between them, both physically and emotionally, the connection that had been made between them in the few weeks they had together bound them, and Austyn can't keep himself away from her.

    I enjoyed Fairest of them All. It was a sweet fairy tale spin set in an early English time period. I'm pretty sure I tore through this baby in a day or so. An easy, fluffy read that left me with a happy smile on my face.

    Fairest of them All by Teresa Medeiros, 372 pgs, 1993

    Rating: B-

    Romance: 3/5 Raunch: 3/5

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 21, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Always a good story

    That's what you always get from Teresa. Always full of humor and fun with good romance. You can't go wrong with her books.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2007

    All right

    This book was ok. The characters were somewhat distant, and I think that's why I didn't like the book more than I did. I just couldn't connect with them. I like the plot and storyline, but felt it was underdeveloped. It just seemed to end to quickly without ever fully developing. The story was sweet, but I just wish the plot had more depth and development, and that the characters were a bit more likable. In addition, some of her writing was just too flowery, it got annoying. I would recommend reading it because it is a likable book, just don't expect anything truly memorable.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2003

    Truest Of Them All

    Fairest Of Them All is what every romance writer should aspire to be - truly romantic. This book is the ultimate in the genre. Teresa Medeiros has the incredible ability to combine humor, warmth, sensibility, exquisite historical detail and mind-blowing sex scenes to create lavish, luscious romances that reduce hard-bitten, jaded romance fans like myself to mewling, kittenish puddles of contentment. Holly is a totally believable female lead, and Austyn ... Sir Austyn of Gavenmore is the perfect romantic hero - a man's man and a woman's fantasy. Medeiros populates her book with secondary characters that are just as rich and multi-dimensional as her leads, but with enough subtlety to keep the reader from tiring of them. Medeiros draws the reader into the book from the first word and keeps you there until the last word has been read and savored. Fairest Of Them All is a beautiful, sizzling romance beautifully told.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2002

    Very Touching

    I really enjoyed reading this book. There is something in here for everybody: humor, colorful imagery, light magic, and a sweeping love that can threaten, or heal, everyone is its midst. Austyn is a great hero (though I found myself falling in love with Carey, his man-at-arms) and Holly is the perfect heroine. Teresa Medeiros is such a wonderful author and one of my favorites.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2013

    Excellent read

    Excellent read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2012

    Awesome

    Read it for the second time this year!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2002

    Greatest story of all time!

    This was very closely the best out of three Medeiros books I own. I laughed, cried, and even got angry along with the characters. She definately does a supurb job!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 54 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3