Customer Reviews for

Fairy Metal Thunder (Songs of Magic, Book 1)

Average Rating 4
( 16 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(6)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Wow!! What an author!! Jmm44

Makes you believe in fairies--leprechauns-- & witches --and enjoy the story on the way!!

posted by jmm44 on June 13, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Hate

Hate hate hate hate totaly hate it . I am so with you sis .

posted by Anonymous on September 9, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 6 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2013

    Wow!! What an author!! Jmm44

    Makes you believe in fairies--leprechauns-- & witches --and enjoy the story on the way!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2014

    Emilia

    So far it is supes grates

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2013

    Love It!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Read Please!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I can’t begin to convey how impressed I was by Fairy Metal

    I can’t begin to convey how impressed I was by Fairy Metal Thunder, it was a light, totally cheery and FUN read! J.L. Bryan manages to be beautifully descriptive, without being overly wordy. From fairy wings to fairy dwellings, auditions in the city, dwarf merchants and angry goblins- I was totally overcome by word pictures!!

    The night Jason has to skip band practice again to watch his little sister Katie, when he discovers a little green man (GOBLIN!!!) stealing his mother’s ruby earrings! Jason chases him out of the house and over the “wall” encasing Mrs. Dullaham’s house and follows him into… well, he ends up in The Land of Faerie.

    When Jason finally catches up to the little green man and proceeds to confront him…

    “Leprechauns! I spit on leprechauns!! I tie their shoelaces together to make them trip and fall! Leprechauns, indeed!”
    -Grizlemor the Cranky (a.k.a. the Goblin when Jason suggests he’s a Leprechaun!)

    To get Jason OUT of Faerie as quickly as possible and without anyone noticing that Grizlemor unknowingly led a HUMAN into the Faerie world, he agrees to give Jason back his things… but while Grizlemor is retrieving Jason’s things- Jason decides to “borrow” four magical fairy instruments that enchant human children!

    When Queen Mab discovers that Aoide’s instruments have been stolen and taken out of Faerie, she decrees that Aoide must get them back or she will be put to death! As it violates the Supreme Law to let magic leak into the human world!

    The keyboard sprouted silver wires that snaked around and plugged into Mitch’s other keyboards.

    Aoide and Rhodia, the fae that Jason stole the instruments from, are then forced to travel with Icarus (a member of the Queen’s guard) through the swamps to illicit the help of Hoke, the ELF and his cornhorses (unicorns!!!!!). Now thousands of years ago there was a Great Elf and Fairy War, and the fae won. So you can imagine how highly Hoke thinks of Queen Mab and fairies in general…

    Grizlemor (the Cranky… *hehe*) shows up to try and steal the instruments back from Jason and his friends- before finally giving up and MOVING into Jason’s room!!! Under his bed to be exact. So NOW, Grizlemor is trying to HELP Jason keep the instruments hidden from Queen Mab so as to avoid getting in trouble himself! WIN.

    “Well, young sir, I can’t live at my home anymore, and it’s all on account of you. So by my measure of justice, it’s your job to provide suitable lodging during my displacement.”


    If you can’t tell… While I loved this book, the characters, the world, the setting… Absolutely everything- Grizlemore TOTALLY stole the show for me! He may be a minor and secondary character, but I LOVED him!
    One of the main things I LOVED about Fairy Metal Thunder was Jason’s FAMILY. His overbearing, constantly involved, CARING parents. I feel like in Young Adult fiction there are just too many books that have absent parents… For whatever reason. And Katie- Katie was an AMAZING baby sister!

    This book, from the characters to the entire plot and setting was just AMAZING. The entire time you’re pulling for Jason and the Assorted Zebra’s, you’re also REALLY feeling bad for the fairies! You completely want them to get their instruments BACK!

    “You’ll only draw the fairies attention. And they’ll be quite vengeful.”
    “How vengeful?”
    “Have you ever been pecked to death by a vulture? Or slowly eaten from the inside by slime worms? Or ripped apart by a blunt-toothed brain bug?”

    J.L. Bryan hit the ball completely out of the park with awesome in Fairy Metal Thunder.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2012

    Jason plays in a garage band that doesn’t look like it&rsq

    Jason plays in a garage band that doesn’t look like it’s going to go much further than their garage. His parents are also not accepting him hanging around troublemakers and wasting time instead of working.

    One night when he is babysitting his sister, he discovers a little green man stealing his mother’s earrings. Jason follows him to fairyland. While waiting for the goblin Grizlemor to find the earrings, Jason sees four fairies playing instruments while children dance in a circle. He decides to take the instruments back to the human world for his band.

    At first the other band members don’t believe that the instruments are from fairy, but when they start playing and it seems their music attracts everyone, they start to believe. Then when they bring Mitch’s house down, they realize what they have.

    In the mean time, an elf has been hired to hunt down the instruments with his unicorn. We also follow the original owners of the instruments as they are punished for the loss of the instruments and how they have to try and go on making a living.

    I really liked this story. It’s a modern twist on the fairytale and it has the true, dark fairytale creatures. I got sucked into the story and couldn’t wait to see what happened next. I felt for poor Jason, but I have a feeling that his luck will improve in the next story or two. I definitely will be buying the next books. I think this is a story that anyone would enjoy.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 6 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1