Customer Reviews for

Fairy Tale

Average Rating 4
( 149 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(63)

4 Star

(38)

3 Star

(25)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(13)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Reviewed by Ashley B for TeensReadToo.com

Morgan Sparks and her boyfriend, Cam, have been together forever, basically. She knows they are perfect for each other, and nothing can break them apart. Then Pip, Cam's "cousin," comes to stay with him, and Cam is suddenly different.

When Cam finally fesses up, he r...
Morgan Sparks and her boyfriend, Cam, have been together forever, basically. She knows they are perfect for each other, and nothing can break them apart. Then Pip, Cam's "cousin," comes to stay with him, and Cam is suddenly different.

When Cam finally fesses up, he reveals to Morgan that he is a fairy. He and Pip were switched at birth, and Cam's biological brother died. Now Cam is the rightful heir as Fairy King.

Morgan wants nothing more than to be with Cam forever. But he is physically changing, and Morgan can't help but think maybe he should leave.

This debut novel was absolutely stunning. I wasn't sure what to expect, seeing how it is about a male fairy, which is kind of strange. But I fell in love with it. I loved everything about it. I didn't want it to end, though.

I loved Morgan's character, but she did bug me sometimes. I couldn't decide who I liked better between Cam and Pip, but I think I choose Pip, because of the way he spoke.

I recommend FAIRY TALE to everyone. It is amazing.

posted by TeensReadToo on August 12, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Horrible

I'm an avid book reader and I said I would never bash a book, but this story was pathetic. It was weak, has unbelievable character relationships, and just plain awful. I read it in about 5 hours. If you want to read this then GET IT AT THE LIBRARY! Don't waste your mone...
I'm an avid book reader and I said I would never bash a book, but this story was pathetic. It was weak, has unbelievable character relationships, and just plain awful. I read it in about 5 hours. If you want to read this then GET IT AT THE LIBRARY! Don't waste your money on it.

posted by AmandaCherie on March 3, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 63 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted March 24, 2010

    This book is really good.

    I just bought this book for something to read and I loved it. It very edgy and emotional. Loved it.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 12, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Ashley B for TeensReadToo.com

    Morgan Sparks and her boyfriend, Cam, have been together forever, basically. She knows they are perfect for each other, and nothing can break them apart. Then Pip, Cam's "cousin," comes to stay with him, and Cam is suddenly different.

    When Cam finally fesses up, he reveals to Morgan that he is a fairy. He and Pip were switched at birth, and Cam's biological brother died. Now Cam is the rightful heir as Fairy King.

    Morgan wants nothing more than to be with Cam forever. But he is physically changing, and Morgan can't help but think maybe he should leave.

    This debut novel was absolutely stunning. I wasn't sure what to expect, seeing how it is about a male fairy, which is kind of strange. But I fell in love with it. I loved everything about it. I didn't want it to end, though.

    I loved Morgan's character, but she did bug me sometimes. I couldn't decide who I liked better between Cam and Pip, but I think I choose Pip, because of the way he spoke.

    I recommend FAIRY TALE to everyone. It is amazing.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 26, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    different type of fairy tale, but great none the less!!

    well who said all endings should be fairy tale endings?? well this book makes you believe in second times around. Your loving and rooting for one character then you wish him the best but root for the other. It is a sad ending which i think we would all have liked if it was a bit longer, but none the less it was a good read, the main female character sounds a little selfish through out the book but towards the end you feel sorry for her and how her life is going. all said and done it was a pleasent read which i would recommend.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 19, 2009

    Amazing, beautiful, and fun

    Wow. Just wow. This book was a beautiful story. By far one of the best books I have read this summer. Can't wait to read more!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 15, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Tear Jerker

    This book was a diffrent type of fairy book all togeether. One minute you love one charector the next you love the next one more. I geranty this book will make you cry because your sad and then cry all over again because of happiness.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 3, 2011

    Wonderful!

    I treasured this book and could't put it down. It was amazing, i was so intrigued by this book, i felt that i was actually part of this story.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 14, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Great book!!

    I really enjoyed Cyn Balog's story,characters and writing style. Morgan was such a fun character and loved her mother. Anyone would be lucky to fall for Cameron or Pip. I look forward to reading more of Cyn's books.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 21, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    a lovely book

    fairy tale is one of my favorite fantasy books! its an awesome story about a girl that lives a happy average/normal life in high school with a nice and ecstatic best friend, a gift for seeing what is goin to happen in the future, and has the one thing that every girl in her school wants: the most popular guy in school! and he is just perfect for her in every way, well a little too perfect! because he's been acting very strange every since his "cousin" comes to stay with him! and she fears that her boyfriend is hiding something from her!

    this book has adventure, teenage love, and many secrets! this book will forever be one of my all time favorite books!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 13, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Magical, Romantic, and Witty!

    I'll be honest-- when I first saw the cover for this book earlier this year, I fell in love with it-- or lust, since the original title (which was soon changed, why, I have no clue!) was Fairy Lust. The cover art caught my eye, and the summary finished drawing me in. Fairies, forbidden love, a possible love triangle... really, what about that doesn't sound interesting?




    I don't even know where to start-- over all, this book was great, truly an interesting (and unique) story. Did it have it's flaws? Sure, but what book doesn't. But there were only a few things about the book that bothered me (mainly the way that the characters acted/spoke during a few parts of the books, they seemed more like whiny teenagers than the strong characters I prefer in my books, but in the end, they managed to straighten up a bit), and none of these flaws were enough to make me dislike the book in any way. Instead, I've been captivated by Balog's writing, and I'm anxious to see more from this promising new author. Really, if this debut is this good, can you imagine what future books will be like? Wow!




    Back to the book-- the plot was good, and it really made me stop and think: what would you do if the love of your life suddenly told you he was a fairy? And what if he was going to leave for the other side to be King of the fairies in only a handful of days? What would you do, how would you react? And to make it even more complicated, what if the guy who's suppose to take his spot back on Earth starts attracting your attention-- is it okay to fall for the man replacing your boyfriend, even if there's no other way for it to work out? Morgan's life is thrown into instant turmoil, and I can't say I envy her having to deal with it all!




    Despite all these troubles, Morgan must continue her everyday life like nothing is wrong-- after all, she can't exactly ask her parents or friends for help, can you imagine trying to explain that your boyfriend, the All-American boy for the town, football star and all around tough-guy, is now a fairy, wasting away before your eyes, while no one else can see the fairy changes going on? She'd be locked up in the mental hospital quicker than she can say 'Tinker Bell'! Add to this the fact that Morgan has a unique talent: she can see visions of people's futures, except for Cam's, which is explained when she finds out his secret, of course.




    As far as the characters go, at the beginning, I was all for Cam-- he seemed like a sweet guy, yet masculine enough to satisfy the 'strong male' role that I so love in my romances. The connection between Morgan and Cam was there, and it was one of those 'aw' kind of moments, since they've been together from a very young age, from elementary crush to high school sweethearts. But as soon as Pip, the human baby stolen 16 years ago and taken to Fairy, comes into the story, and we learn more about him and watch as he tries to figure out this bizarre world and fit in, I found myself leaning more towards Pip instead of Cam....And so does Morgan!




    I'm not surprised that Morgan had such a hard time deciding, I know I would have. Which would you choose, the one you've known and loved all your life or the new boy who's making you blush and laugh over the simplest things? ....

    To read full review (apparently it excedes the max for B&N, sorry!), please visit my blog: http://tbqspersonalbookpalace.blogspot.com

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 21, 2012

    I loved this book! I loved how there were no bad characters in t

    I loved this book! I loved how there were no bad characters in this book, it was just a feel good book of love!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2012

    Love this book

    This book is really good i mean like really good best fairy romance ever

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2012

    Really is a great book

    Hello fellow readers my name is Maria Tuckweaver. I am honered to be here tonight in Minot,ND. I absalutleuy love the plot and rising conflict and the end really makes for a good story, but I know that If you adore a good book and love that is terribly perfect, you wil love this book I garentee it or your money back.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 2, 2011

    Wow.

    This book kind of kept me at the edge of my seat the whole time. I couldn't put it down. I loved the characters; I felt as if I were a lot like Morgan personality wise. Ugh, but the ending is so sad and amazing at the same time! I was wishing Cam was back to normal and didnt have to leave. I honestly would love to know how the author pictured both Pip and Cam!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2011

    :)

    i left tear drops on my nook!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2011

    ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS IVE READ

    I love it to death!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Can't Get Enough

    This is an amazing book about a girl who has the best boyfriend in the world. Then he starts acting weird. Soon she figures out that he's a fairy and he doesn't even belong here. The fairy king sent him away because he was sick and couldn't take the thrown. Well now they know that he is ok and they want him back because his older brother, died. I can't say anymore about the book. I dont wanna spoil it for you ;] I just Can't Get Enough !

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2013

    Rachel

    Name:Rachel... age:14. Looks:blonde hair blue eyes supermodel smile.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2012

    to ?

    It is sooooooooooooooooooooooooooo gooooooooooooooooooood if

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 13, 2011

    Wonderful Debut!

    I have read dark and tortured fairy stories, evil pixie stories, misunderstood fairy stories, and fairies as plants stories. I've loved them all. But Cyn Balog's version, FAIRY TALE, was so beautifully different that I now have a new favorite.

    FAIRY TALE was Ms. Balog's debut, and finaled for the Romance Writer's Association of America's RITA Award in 2010. Heck of a way to begin her writing career! The story takes place in an average American neighborhood, with your average, run of the mill teenagers. Oh, except that one of them is a psychic and the other is slowly turning into a fairy.

    Morgan Sparks has loved Cam Browne her entire life. They were born on the same day, been best friends since birth, and know everything about each other. That's why Cam's sudden change in behavior, live-in cousin, and the fact that he can now fly comes as a bit of a shock. Even her psychic powers didn't see that one coming.

    A week before their mutual birthday blowout, her glued at the hip boyfriend Cam starts pulling away and Morgan demands answers. She breaks Cam's rule of peeking into his future and becomes convinced he has a tumor and is dying. When she confronts him, she fortunately discovers Cam isn't sick . . . he's simply a changeling switched at birth, and the rightful heir to the fairy throne.

    Throw in a mean-spirited glowing pink blob hovering around trying to steal her boyfriend, a variety of unfortunate cuts and bruises, and the nerdy-turned-hottie Pip who turns out to be the human the fairies switched with Cam at birth, and Morgan's head is reeling.

    But with the countdown to their sixteenth birthday on--the age when fairies fully inherit their powers and the only day fairies can cross over into the Otherworld--Morgan becomes determined. She formulates a plan with Pip, while fighting confusing feelings of attraction, to keep Cam with her. But as she watches him daily change more and more into the fairy king he truly is, she has to decide if they truly are meant to be together, or if destiny has another plan.

    This story has everything I could want. A love triangle, sweet and chivalrous boys, strong heroine, involved and caring parents, angsty high school drama, and lots of giggles. Despite my mound of research I need to be doing for my own writing project, I gobbled this story up and immediately got SLEEPLESS, Ms. Balog's sophomore supernatural romance.

    On her blog this week, Ms. Balog talked about sequels and how everyone wants them for their stories. While she has no plans for a sequel to FAIRY TALE, she listed several humorous ideas. I was just one of many commenters BEGGING her for a sequel for this tale.

    I want to know all about Cam in the fairy world. Does he continue to save lives? What types of drama is involved with fairy politics? Since we know he defies fairy logic and can love deeply, does he fall in love with Dawn, his betrothed?

    I want to know more about Pip and watch him get the happy ending he truly deserves. I want to see the love story between Pip and Morgan develop and see if there are any more awkward transitions into the human world.

    I want to find out more about Morgan's psychic powers--why does she have them? Is there more to her powers then visions? Will she ever see Cam again?

    Please, Ms. Balog, inquiring minds need to know! :-)

    Until then, I will continue to gobble up SLEEPLESS and wait anxiously for STARSTRUCK to hit the shelves in July.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 63 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4