Customer Reviews for

The Fairy Tale Bride

Average Rating 3.5
( 248 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(76)

4 Star

(87)

3 Star

(51)

2 Star

(12)

1 Star

(22)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

18 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

Miranda Fenster has always believed in fairy tales, even when he

Miranda Fenster has always believed in fairy tales, even when her life has seemed far removed from them. Unable to secure a husband during the London season, Miranda returned home and ended up staying there. When her parents passed away, she and her twin brother Valenti...
Miranda Fenster has always believed in fairy tales, even when her life has seemed far removed from them. Unable to secure a husband during the London season, Miranda returned home and ended up staying there. When her parents passed away, she and her twin brother Valentine had to take care of the numerous younger sisters and the entire estate. Valentine sinks into despair when his elopement goes awry, so Miranda takes it upon herself to make things right. Miranda's plans go awry though, and she finds herself in a compromising situation. Soon Miranda's faith in fairy tale endings will be severely tested, and she will find out if her dreams can all come true.

This was an interesting book on a couple levels. I found the writing to be a bit uneven. The prologue read really smooth and immediately drew me in, but then the first few chapters felt a bit stilted. They were hard to get in to. Things definitely smoothed out though, and I was once again drawn into the story to the point where I didn't want to put it down. I think the author did a great job with the character of Miranda and her love of fairy tales. This could have been a bit annoying after a bit, but the author kept it all balanced so that you understood Miranda's love and connection with the tales while never allowing it to become to saccharine. I found a lot of the supporting characters intriguing, and I wanted to learn a lot more about many of them.

This book manages to straddle the line between a typical romance novel and a fairy tale. Personally I could have used a little less of the pining for one another, but this aspect was very unique from your typical romance story as they couple in question actually got together fairly early in the story. Their troubles were a bit unique for their situation though. There was also some unique mysteries and twists. I though those were particularly well done, and they kept me on the edge of my seat eager to find out what would happen next. People who love sweet romance books will enjoy this book, as will those who love fairy tale type stories.

Galley provided for review.

posted by l_manning on June 18, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

17 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

anonymous

I definitely do not recommend this book. The hero was caught up in some strange moralistic code but it was never explained with any clarity as to why he behaved as he did. He was a thoroughly unlikable character. At times the plot made no sense.

posted by romanticallychallenged on January 19, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 51 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2012

    Pretty good

    I enjoyed this book and it had an interesting story. It was a fully developed book with a few editing mistakes. There was one scene near the end that was kind of choppy and confusing, but overall nicely done. Loved that it was a full length book for free, that was entertaining to read. Sometimes after you finish reading some of these so-called books you feel like you not only wasted your time, but also killed some of your brain cells. I finished this one cells intact.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2011

    It was nice

    The ending seemed a bit rushed but overall a good story.

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2013

    Good

    For the most part it was good..

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 26, 2013

    I thought it was a sweet book.  

    I thought it was a sweet book.  

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2012

    Ok

    It was an ok kind of book not really the best though it was hella long and i just wanted to get to the end... the beginning was pretty boring and didnt really pick up until the end. Butit did have a pretty good twist.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2014

    Drags on a bit, but gets better near the end.

    I really thought I'd like this a lot, but the middle of the story just went on and on. The beginning quarter and end quarter of the story were really good, but by the end quarter I really didn't care what happened to the hero and heroine, I just wanted it over with. There was entirely too much seperation between Simon and Miranda for me to even care by the point when they finally overcame their difficulties, which were all in Simon' head and of his making, anyway. Maybe if some of his rejections of Miranda were edited out in the middle, this would be more believeable. Hero worship can only explain Miranda's tolerating Simon's behavior for so long, even if she did believe the lie he told her to explain his behavior. I think the biggest reason I couldn't buy her constant love and support for him is that he gave her so much rejection, paired with the reader allowed to see the lust he felt for her and hid, but an abysmal lack of any love he felt or that she could see. I like my male heros to be kind and loving toward the heroine, even if it's only in their thoughts. Simon did realize he was being selfish, but where were there any words of kindness or gentleness shared with Miranda that would allow her to see his true feelings? I was left seeing Simon as the most selfish, narcissistic beast, and I kept waiting for Miranda to leave him so I could cheer her on. Maybe if she had, Simon would have been forced to grow up and consider someone else's feelings and wants for once instead of his own. It was so much about Simon that when the "happy ending" came, I felt horrible for the heroine that she was going to end up with him, because she deserved a true hero, and Simon isn't it. It was 600 pages of watching a heroine work very hard and give all of her love to a hero that didn't deserve her. Parts of it were well written though, and the plot twists at the end were clever. I think with more editing, the author has great potential.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2014

    Very enjoyable read.

    Nice wee story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2013

    Okay

    Historical romance. Was an okay read. Almost 450 story pages.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2013

    Worth a read.

    cute story line. Had the potential to be a 5 star rated book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2013

    ????

    This book had great potential.?thus the three stars) But by the time you get to the last 100 pages or so, the whole book seems to stray off course and becomes a little confusing. Its almost as if the author does not know how to end the story. Too bad..... :(

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2013

    Fast read

    Light and fast...nice romance.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2012

    I love to read about Dukes. It was o.k. but hey! its free...you

    I love to read about Dukes. It was o.k. but hey! its free...you have learned not to read certain authors. I love the romance of the Seasons and finding husbands. I enjoyed the book, maybe you will like it too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2012

    Good

    Good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2012

    Great read

    It was a twisted but nice book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2012

    Decent book

    Okay

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 1, 2012

    it waits to be opened...

    Liked the summary...haven't gotten the time to read yet.
    I like Debbie McComber and have grown very fond of ebooks
    by Ruth Ann Nordin...My hope is this meets those criteria.

    0 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2012

    Good story

    A fairy tale story

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2011

    recommended

    a must read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2011

    Ok

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2011

    not bad.

    Followed a theme throughout. A typical regency romance.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 51 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3