Customer Reviews for

The Fairy Tale Detectives (Sisters Grimm Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 369 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(283)

4 Star

(55)

3 Star

(17)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

25 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

AWESOMEST SERIES EVER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

I have read every book in this series, think exactly what the title says, and I would love for Mr. Buckley to come out with the 8th book. This book is docoiusaliexpeisticfragicalirepus!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!1

posted by Book-Lover568 on June 24, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

the premise offers little compensation for having to deal with Sabrina

Michael Buckley begins this children's series with a compelling premise: The stories of the brothers Grimm and other fairy tale originators (Hans Christian Andersen, etc.) are all true. In a Tolkien-style spin, fairy tale creatures (called "Everafters") used to coexist ...
Michael Buckley begins this children's series with a compelling premise: The stories of the brothers Grimm and other fairy tale originators (Hans Christian Andersen, etc.) are all true. In a Tolkien-style spin, fairy tale creatures (called "Everafters") used to coexist with humans, but since then they have been exiled to a small town near the suburbs of NYC. The Grimm family is still around, monitoring the Everafters and suspicious crimes in the area.



Unfortunately, this premise offers little compensation for having to deal with Sabrina Grimm during the first half of the novel. Recently orphaned under odd circumstances, Sabrina (age 11) and her younger sister are sent to their mysterious grandmother whom the girls were told had died years ago. This all occurs in the first chapter. From there to the halfway point, readers are privy to Sabrina's numerous railings against Granny Grimm proclaiming her as a fraud and a lunatic.



After the halfway point, when the author finally lets Sabrina be an effective character instead of her previous killjoy self, the story picks up. Sabrina also becomes tolerable to read about. At times Buckley seems to forget that he is writing a children's novel--perhaps hoping to imitate Jasper Fforde's more effective integration of fictional-characters-as-real-people into his popular Thursday Next novels. This creates scenes that seem incongruously gory, some characters even seeming vicious, especially when, at other points, Buckley seems to be at pains to avoid writing about violence (particularly with the circumstances of the girls' being orphaned). Buckley seems uncertain of his audience and his own style--which changes throughout the narrative.



Overall, the story reads more like a setup for future books rather than an actual story that can stand alone. Hopefully, now that Sabrina is out of her funk and the premise is in place, the sisters' future adventures will be more enjoyable to follow.

posted by MissPrint on February 16, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 369 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 19
  • Posted June 24, 2009

    AWESOMEST SERIES EVER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    I have read every book in this series, think exactly what the title says, and I would love for Mr. Buckley to come out with the 8th book. This book is docoiusaliexpeisticfragicalirepus!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!1

    25 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 20, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Sisters Grimm Motivate Smiles

    I'm not a child psychologist but I believe author, Michael Buckley has gifted the middle graders of today with his creation of the Sisters Grimm series. At a time when adolescence is looming up ahead and plush toys are packed away, the protagonists in The Fairy Tale Detectives successfully mirror the average ten-year-old's conflicts. And successfully soothe worries away. By introducing less than perfect princesses and pigs from famous fairy tales, Buckley allows readers to embrace the fantasy world of the six-year-old while encouraging a soupcon of suspicion that all is not what it appears in the world. Although hugely entertaining, this adventure also provides a place where greater acceptance of self and reality are fostered.

    22 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 18, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    great

    That was great. I enjoyed every minute reading this.

    19 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    The Brothers Grimm would be proud...

    Ah, the sister's Grimm. Ever since I picked up the first volume at a bookstore i have long been a fan (that's about 2 or 3 years, to be exact) These books got it all, baby! Fun, humor, sparkles of romance (esp. as the series progress) adventure, mystery, SUSPENSE...they're plain awesome and undoubtedly one of my favorite series of all time for me.
    Sabrina and Daphne set foot into a magical town, where almost all the residents are REAL fairy-tale characters. Think Disney World- Snow White teaches kirate, Prince Charming runs the town, Sleeping Beauty owns a cofee shop. Sounds fun right? Well, there's more, lots and i mean lots of these characters arent as, well, fluffy and charming as you may tend to believe. Most are downright wicked, and despise humans. so when Sabrin and Daphne are sent to live with their grandmother in this little magical town, it sets off a chain of funny, adventrous, and simply delightful reads. So far, there are 7 in this series. Each one better than the next.
    As for content? Look no further. Absoutle no language and no sex. Kisses and flirtations are shared, sometimes more strongly as the series progress, but nothing you could even call sensual. Violence is kept at a minium, but there may be just enought to ward off younger kids. There is plenty of crude humor (sometimes it makes me squirm- thats my only dislike of these books) but it's nothing bad, think Shrek crude humor. To grasp the delight of these books, i would reccomend readers 10/11 and older. Adults will adore these series, and catch things kids do not. It's pure fun and charm for all ages. The covers are simply beautiful, and the illustraitions are loveable and classic-worthy. These books are a classic all their own. I believe the true Brothers Grimm would be so proud, if not a little green with envy at all the hype and attention these strong girls are getting. I can promise that if you read this series, you will NOT be dissapointed.

    ~Thanks for reading! Check out my page and my other reviews! God bless!!~

    18 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2005

    My class (and I) loved this book.

    I read to my second grade class everyday and have for ten years. Very few books get the response 'The Sisters Grimm,' did. All the kids sat still and listened each and every day when I read from this amazing, suspenseful and often hilarious book. Sabrina is such an amazing character. Her interior life is so developed, it's astounding. She's just so REAL! My kids have enjoyed this book so much that I've decided to use fairy tales as a theme for their story-writing lessons we're going to explore the works of Hans Christian Anderson, the Brothers Grimm, and so on. I already have several children asking when the next Sisters Grimm book comes out. I can't wait either, and not only because my class was so well-behaved when I read to them from 'The Fairytale Detectives,' but because I'm a fan as well. The humor is character and situation based -- NOT toilet based, and that is such a welcome relief. But the story is what's so fantastic. It's wonderful. What's also unique is to see the boys in the class not even questionning or moaning that the two main characters are girls! They're so caught up in the book, I don't think it's even crossed their minds. Then again, Sabrina is a very tough cookie! And Daphne is no prissy girl either. Anyway, this author's voice is so fantastic, and he does such a great job telling a story that I hope keeps writing! I would love to see a dozen books in this series! The kids love it! So, I figured the best thing I could do was write good review.

    13 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2012

    This is the most amazing series ever!!!!!

    This is the best book ever i recommend it and do not agree with the people that dont like it. It is sooooooooooooooooooo ooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo awsome!!!!!!!(I Vote for puck and sabrina)

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Laugh Out Loud Moments

    Sabrina and Daphne Grimm have lost their parents, lived in many inhospitable foster homes, and found out the grandmother they thought was dead is actually alive and well and going to be their new guardian.

    The girls' first impression of their new home of Ferryport Landing is not good. It does not get any better when their grandmother tells them they are the great, great, great, great, great granddaughters of the famous Wilhelm Grimm of Grimm's Fairytales. It gets even worse when she tells them that the stories are real. The girls are concerned about living with the crazy woman, but when they see the giant from Jack in the Beanstalk, they begin to realize that Ferryport Landing is perhaps not quite what it seems.

    This book is filled with fantastic descriptions of the Everafter characters. There is lots of humor which makes this a fast and fun read for all ages.

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    the premise offers little compensation for having to deal with Sabrina

    Michael Buckley begins this children's series with a compelling premise: The stories of the brothers Grimm and other fairy tale originators (Hans Christian Andersen, etc.) are all true. In a Tolkien-style spin, fairy tale creatures (called "Everafters") used to coexist with humans, but since then they have been exiled to a small town near the suburbs of NYC. The Grimm family is still around, monitoring the Everafters and suspicious crimes in the area.



    Unfortunately, this premise offers little compensation for having to deal with Sabrina Grimm during the first half of the novel. Recently orphaned under odd circumstances, Sabrina (age 11) and her younger sister are sent to their mysterious grandmother whom the girls were told had died years ago. This all occurs in the first chapter. From there to the halfway point, readers are privy to Sabrina's numerous railings against Granny Grimm proclaiming her as a fraud and a lunatic.



    After the halfway point, when the author finally lets Sabrina be an effective character instead of her previous killjoy self, the story picks up. Sabrina also becomes tolerable to read about. At times Buckley seems to forget that he is writing a children's novel--perhaps hoping to imitate Jasper Fforde's more effective integration of fictional-characters-as-real-people into his popular Thursday Next novels. This creates scenes that seem incongruously gory, some characters even seeming vicious, especially when, at other points, Buckley seems to be at pains to avoid writing about violence (particularly with the circumstances of the girls' being orphaned). Buckley seems uncertain of his audience and his own style--which changes throughout the narrative.



    Overall, the story reads more like a setup for future books rather than an actual story that can stand alone. Hopefully, now that Sabrina is out of her funk and the premise is in place, the sisters' future adventures will be more enjoyable to follow.

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2012

    Luv Ya

    I recomened reading the sample first. If you love the sample try to read the series.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2012

    AWSOME BOOK!

    This book was amazing. It had suspence, and it is a real page turner! I would recomend this book to anyone who likes suspence and adventure!

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2012

    The absolute best book ever!!!!!!!!

    I love mr. Canis!

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2012

    AWSOME

    I LOVE PUCK!!!

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2012

    I love this book

    This is my favorite series i have read book 1 which is this one and i am on book 2 page 90 trust me when i say it gets better enough were you can not stop reading about thisi promised myself i was going to read all the books book 8 and the other one coming soon book 9..............

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 25, 2011

    Isn't it obvious

    There are no words for it! CoooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooL

    4 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2010

    Must Read By Hailey a third grader

    In this Fantasy/Mystery book Sabrina and Daphne Grimm went to their house and saw Henry and Veronica Grimm, their parents, are missing. Sabrina and Daphne Grimm must find a way to find their parents. Read on if you like this paragraph.

    In the beginning Sabrina and Daphne know their grandmother is hiding a secret door. In the middle their grandmother lets them go in the secret door

    I recommend this book to Harry Potter and Secrets of Droon fans. I think 3rd, 4th, 5th and 6th graders should read it. It is around 290 pages per book. There are 9 books in the series.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2013

    By jaden g

    I love it i cant get enough of it i just keep reading i wish they would make a movie

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2012

    So far so good

    I read the sample and it really makes you want to keep reading. Just by the way the words are written, its so well described!! SO FAR SO GOOD!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2012

    The s The Sisre The Sisters Grim

    Honestly I didn't get to finish the book,but from what I read it was amazing.Every other sentence was amazing.I couldent believe what was written.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2012

    Fav book

    I love love love love this book its my favorite seiros

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 16, 2012

    An amazing series that brings fairy tales to life.

    An amazing series that brings fairy tales to life.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 369 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 19