Customer Reviews for

The Fairy Tale Detectives (Sisters Grimm Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 369 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(283)

4 Star

(55)

3 Star

(17)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

25 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

AWESOMEST SERIES EVER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

I have read every book in this series, think exactly what the title says, and I would love for Mr. Buckley to come out with the 8th book. This book is docoiusaliexpeisticfragicalirepus!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!1

posted by Book-Lover568 on June 24, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

the premise offers little compensation for having to deal with Sabrina

Michael Buckley begins this children's series with a compelling premise: The stories of the brothers Grimm and other fairy tale originators (Hans Christian Andersen, etc.) are all true. In a Tolkien-style spin, fairy tale creatures (called "Everafters") used to coexist ...
Michael Buckley begins this children's series with a compelling premise: The stories of the brothers Grimm and other fairy tale originators (Hans Christian Andersen, etc.) are all true. In a Tolkien-style spin, fairy tale creatures (called "Everafters") used to coexist with humans, but since then they have been exiled to a small town near the suburbs of NYC. The Grimm family is still around, monitoring the Everafters and suspicious crimes in the area.



Unfortunately, this premise offers little compensation for having to deal with Sabrina Grimm during the first half of the novel. Recently orphaned under odd circumstances, Sabrina (age 11) and her younger sister are sent to their mysterious grandmother whom the girls were told had died years ago. This all occurs in the first chapter. From there to the halfway point, readers are privy to Sabrina's numerous railings against Granny Grimm proclaiming her as a fraud and a lunatic.



After the halfway point, when the author finally lets Sabrina be an effective character instead of her previous killjoy self, the story picks up. Sabrina also becomes tolerable to read about. At times Buckley seems to forget that he is writing a children's novel--perhaps hoping to imitate Jasper Fforde's more effective integration of fictional-characters-as-real-people into his popular Thursday Next novels. This creates scenes that seem incongruously gory, some characters even seeming vicious, especially when, at other points, Buckley seems to be at pains to avoid writing about violence (particularly with the circumstances of the girls' being orphaned). Buckley seems uncertain of his audience and his own style--which changes throughout the narrative.



Overall, the story reads more like a setup for future books rather than an actual story that can stand alone. Hopefully, now that Sabrina is out of her funk and the premise is in place, the sisters' future adventures will be more enjoyable to follow.

posted by MissPrint on February 16, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 55 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2012

    Sisters Grimm

    VERY GOOD lots of mystery !!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2011

    Sisters Grimm rocks!

    I love the sisters grimm series. The have a great plot line, but are a little slow at the biginnings. If you have putdown this book because it wwas boring KEEP READING! I was the first one in my class to read this book and i recommonded it to my friend. Now everyone in my cpass has read it and said they love it. Now we are all waiting for the final book. If someone asks me for a good book the first word that pops out of my mouth is sisters grimm. I really hope they make a movie out of it...but if they do better be like the book. If you havent read them yet i would highly conside it!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2013

    Sisters Grimm

    I have this book! ITS AWESOME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 30, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    An excellent adventure

    The story is certainly filled with fun and a very entertaining read. Nearly every fairy tale or story I've read as a kid was featured in this book. I guess you could say, it was like reading something that came out of Shrek, sans the main cast. The concept is certainly very interesting and adding in the idea of making the Grimm family a family of detectives out to solve mysteries caused by the Everafters (characters and creatures from the fairy tales) makes the story all the more fun to read. There were a few parts here and there that made me laugh out loud (the momma bear part was really good).

    I have to admit I didn't like Sabrina at first. Her skepticism got annoying and for someone who's very young (around 11 years of age) she doesn't act like it. She's certainly very mature - however given that they have jumped through a dozen or so foster homes, perhaps that's what made her grow up so fast. However, I still think she's a little too skeptical for her own good. All characters though were well done and each had something I liked. Which makes the book even much more enjoyable to read.

    The ending of the book is well done, albeit, a little too quick in finishing off the main story arc but naturally it leaves a lot more to do with the Grimm family and leaves me with a lot of questions. I am definitely going to get into this series. It's a quick read and there aren't any lulls or anything that takes you away from the main plot.

    Overall it's certainly worth a look into if you want something light and easy to read. It's filled with adventure and will keep you entertained, and hopefully getting you to pursue the series a little more further.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2014

    To who is writing a sisters grimm two

    Youre a terrible writer bad paragraphing and bad grammar and bad info. Ha you dont know whos older emma is younger and allison is oldest duh

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2014

    Good for kids

    This book would be great for upper elementary schoolers and middle schoolers. I believe a few high schoolers would enjoy it to.

    Well written for a young adult book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2013

    Hi

    Wicked hi some help is good 2:)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2012

    It was a good book

    It was a good book, but it was intended for girls around the ages of 8 and 10.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2012

    great!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!"!""!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!/!!!/!!,!-+/-!*!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    This book is thrilling and will keep you going till the last page and until then you wont want to put the book down, its the greatest book so far that Michael BUckley has written. Sorry if i spelled his name wrong i dont have the resoice with me right mow i lended it to somebody

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2012

    Awesome!!!!! =)

    I Love this book it is so adventurious!!!! There is a mystery
    around every corner.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 16, 2012

    Let me start by raving about the actual, physical book. Could th

    Let me start by raving about the actual, physical book. Could that cover be any lovelier? It reminds me a lot of the Lemony Snicket book design. Looking from the deep red cloth and incised gold lettering to the ruffled pages and classic illustration, I almost squealed. This is what a wonderful book should look a feel like. Kindle be darned.

    Sabrina and Daphne Grimm are cast in the traditional orphan role after the disappearance of their parents. They are taken in by an oddball grandmother who lives in Ferrtyport, a town populated with people from fairy tales. The sisters discover they are heirs to a long line of Grimm family detectives who investigate fairy tale case. The girls take on a case of their own in this lighthearted mystery. This is a great intro to the whodunnit genre for children.

    This smart tale doesn't talk down to the age group. At the same time, it kept the vocabulary and storyline appropriate for the target readers. However, I enjoyed the book a lot as an adult reader.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 17, 2012

    Very Smart and Very Funny

    I was delighted when I read the first in the Sisters Grimm series. What a smart and current take on traditional fairy tales! Strong female characters but would be engaging for boys to read also. You're never quite sure who the bad guy really is. Great read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2012

    My favorite book series for kids

    A great introduction to chapter books for kids.easy to get into. Fast and action packed

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2012

    Anonymous

    All my friends hated it but i loved it!!not my fav topic but i got hooked on it when i picked it up!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2012

    Best book!!!

    This series is so exiting. When i first started reading them i coildn't stop.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2012

    Awesome book!

    I thought it would just be another boring old book ,but toataly not!Awesome book I'd recmend it to anybody who likes fairy tales and mysteries

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2012

    Awesome plot line !

    Cool book!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2012

    Fairytale

    This is a great book for 6-12 year olds and of course fairytale lovers, moms your children will fall in love with the sisters grimm series i know i did

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2012

    This stinks

    This book is the worst of rhe seris

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2011

    Great

    This book is great if u love fairy tale. Its amazingly AMAZING te first few chapters!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 55 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3