Customer Reviews for

Faith

Average Rating 4
( 149 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(63)

4 Star

(45)

3 Star

(28)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Couldn't put it down!!

Best book I've read in a long time. Well written, sensitively told family story about a devout Roman Catholic family with buried secrets. I literally couldn't stop reading it, and snuck off to read it whenever I had a free minute. I finished it in one day. I've read and...
Best book I've read in a long time. Well written, sensitively told family story about a devout Roman Catholic family with buried secrets. I literally couldn't stop reading it, and snuck off to read it whenever I had a free minute. I finished it in one day. I've read and enjoyed all of Jennifer Haigh's novels but this was my favorite. An intelligent, thought provoking page turner.

posted by FictionLoverNYC on April 24, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Great book. Highly recommended.

My first Nook book. I walked around the house with it for two days. Read in bed in the morning and at night. Thought-provoking. Infuriating. Heart-stopping. Without a doubt, I'll be recommending it to my book group.

posted by printress on May 30, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 152 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8
  • Posted April 24, 2011

    Couldn't put it down!!

    Best book I've read in a long time. Well written, sensitively told family story about a devout Roman Catholic family with buried secrets. I literally couldn't stop reading it, and snuck off to read it whenever I had a free minute. I finished it in one day. I've read and enjoyed all of Jennifer Haigh's novels but this was my favorite. An intelligent, thought provoking page turner.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 19, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    The best book I've read this year- an emotional family journey

    Haigh sets her story in Boston in 2004, shortly after scandal began to rock the Catholic diocese. Many priests had been accused of sexually abusing young people, and the large Catholic community was devastated. Sheila McGann tells the story of her half-brother, Art Breen, a priest accused by an eight-year-old boy's mother of molesting her son. There is an element of mystery to the novel as Sheila attempts to discover whether the charges are true. Art's mother, a devout Catholic, believes her son could never do what he is accused of. Sheila's brother Mike, a former cop and father of three young boys, is disgusted, believing that no eight-year-old boy could lie about being molested. Sheila supports Art, but has her doubts. The title of the book, Faith, is brilliant, for this is a book not about religious faith, but more about faith in your family. Sheila says to Mike, "Sorry, Mike, but sooner or later you have to decide what you believe." It was a thing I'd always known but until recently had forgotten: that faith is a decision. In its most basic form, it is a choice. I love those lines, because faith really is an active thing. You can grow up attending mass every week, participating in the sacraments, but to really have faith, you have to choose to believe in something. Family is at the heart of this novel, and Sheila's family has its troubles, like most. She says: We are a family of secrets. Without knowing quite how I knew it, I understood what might be said, and what must be quiet. If from the outside the rules appeared arbitrary, from the inside they were perfectly clear. I suspect that Sheila's family is not as unlike other families as she believes. I think many people reading this book will relate to the McGann/Breen family. What I like about Haigh's books is that the characters are so real, you think that you actually know them. Father Art is the most well drawn. He is a lonely man, even as a youth; perhaps being a stepson and stepbrother added to that sense of being different. As a priest, Art cannot marry or have a family of his own, and this isolation hurts him. His loneliness is palpable, and when he meets the young boy and his drug-addicted mother, he feels a sense of family and belonging. The least well drawn character is Art's mother. Sheila and Mike do not like their mother, they make many cutting comments about her, but I was never clear exactly what she had done to warrant this dislike. She seems to be very distant from her children, and perhaps the author made her character less clear to her children to emphasize that distance. Faith is an emotional ride, and it affected me deeply. Days later, I find myself still thinking about Father Art, my heart aching for him. The writing is superb, the characters are so real. It is simply the best book I have read this year. It ranks up with Emma Donoghue's amazing Room in the emotions that I felt when I read it. I grew up in a Catholic family, and that part of the story resonates with me, but you do not have to be Catholic to appreciate the richness of this story. If you have siblings, you will understand the feelings here.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2011

    Must read!!

    Saw a review of the book in the Costco Connection and picked it up on my Nook; could not book the down. The way Jennifer intertwined each of the family members in the story was wonderful.

    Great read!

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 30, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great book. Highly recommended.

    My first Nook book. I walked around the house with it for two days. Read in bed in the morning and at night. Thought-provoking. Infuriating. Heart-stopping. Without a doubt, I'll be recommending it to my book group.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2013

    Anonymous

    The first part of this book was slow and I wondered if I had made a mistake buying it. It picked up pace and it really had my attention. It had a very sad turn of events. The Catholic church seems to have no option but to make a settlement. Maybe thats why there is so many lawsuits, some of the alleged molestions going back several years. I recommend reading this book, it will leave you wondering.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2012

    Book Based on Current Events

    This book really kept my interest. It tells the story of a priest accused of child abuse from the point of view of the priest and his family. I recommend it highly.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 5, 2012

    another good book by Jennifer Haigh

    This novel is set in Boston during 2002---the days of the "witch hunt" for priests who abused children. An Irish priest is accused. The story is told by his sister, and there are no difficult parts to read about any sexual abuse. His sister investigates the allegations and presents testimony for the reader to judge if the priest was guilty. A younger brother discovers other evidence that is crucial, but he does not reveal it. The plot and characterization is great. My book discussion group enjoyed this novel and the earlier Haigh novel The Condition.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2011

    Loved It

    When I first started the book I didn't think I was going to like it but as I got into it I could barely put it down. It opens your eyes into the everday lives of people from many different walks of life. It also opens your eyes to the controversy within the Catholic Church about priests and the accusations that have come out. It shows how even in something as grave as ruining peoples lives, some people will stoop as low as possible for money. In the same realm, others will do anything to protect the innocent. This is not the whole jist of the book but it does play a big part in it. I think it is a good read and I would read other books by this author in the anticipation that they would be as good as FAITH!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 26, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    You will get angry no matter what your opinion is

    Ah, the pedophile priest scandal. No matter what you say about it, somebody will be angry at you. I can't think of a single person who isn't disgusted and outraged by child molestation - and rightfully so. The controversy is in the way the Catholic Church responded.

    Full disclosure time: I'm not Catholic, but my parents are. (They converted after my brother and I were grown up.) More disclosure: I disagree with a lot of the policies of the Catholic Church. (Hey, if I agreed, I'd be Catholic myself.) I will say this: there are some good things about Catholicism - the long tradition of learning and scholarship, the spirit of reaching out to those in need, the vivid imagination that informs their lore, and the sheer beauty of their churches and rituals. BUT - appreciating the good things about Catholicism does not excuse child molestation. "Ever. Nor does it excuse those situations where abuse occurred and the perpetrator was simply moved to another locality, or sent to "treatment" without a court hearing. If nothing else, those kids deserved to have their grievance heard under the laws of this land - I don't care WHO the perp is, he can damn well go to a civilian court (and a civilian prison if found guilty.)

    Lecture over. Now that I've ticked everybody off, let's talk about the book. The main character, Sheila, is caught between her two brothers - one an accused priest, the other a man who has his own dysfunctional ties to the alleged victim. The story of Sheila is well played - she grew up in this whole Boston Irish Catholic milieu, and it seems like she never did feel comfortable in it, and escaped to live her own kind of life. I can relate to feeling estranged from the atmosphere you grew up in. But Sheila, like most of us, still loves her family, and the crisis and heartbreak draw her right back in. Think about it: a brother you love is accused of a terrible crime. What would be worse: finding out that he did it, or finding out that he was falsely accused and all of your lives were damaged for nothing?

    It's a pretty intense book, and it will make you think about your own family ties, and the future of the Catholic Church.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 4, 2011

    Highly Recommended

    I've read and loved several other books by this author. This is one of my favorites.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 25, 2011

    OUTSTANDING! AN EXTRAORDINARY READ

    This is a masterpiece. I have not read a book this exceptional in a very long time. I am always looking for that story that makes me say....I want more! This is that novel.. Read this, you will not be disappointed...

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 22, 2011

    Best book I have read this year!

    This book is well written and I could not put it down. The view of a family and their demons is phenomenal. Additionally, the story was riviting. A must read for anyone who enjoys well written modern fiction.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 22, 2011

    Couldn't put this book down. Loved it. Hated it to end.

    Best book I've read in a long time. Couldn't put it down. I lived in the area at the time and was mesmerized by the whole book. Nothing I have read on this subject came close to the real problem with the church. Called all my friends to get this book. Well written. I think this book is for everyone. I just downloaded Mrs. Kimbal and can't wait to get started.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2014

    Made for interesting discussion at book group

    Interesting topic at book group around the subject of the book, Catholic priest and child molestation, as well as family support, people's prejudices,etc

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2013

    Wow!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    I love this it draws u in so much it feels like u are in the bookget the book i loved it so much i so happy i picked the book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 18, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    3 stars

    Characters were relatable and the story is interesting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 1, 2013

    Started out a little slow, but once it took off, I could not put

    Started out a little slow, but once it took off, I could not put it down. One of the best books that I have read this year. I also recommend Jennifer Haighs other book Mrs. Kimble.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 9, 2013

    A Page Turner

    A compelling story about the highly-charged contemporary issue of priest pedophiles, this novel helps the reader understand that there is another side to be considered. Jennifer Haigh is a master story teller; her characters are well-drawn and believable, the action is fast paced, and she is well-acquainted with Catholic practices. Similar to the play "Doubt," this novel helps the reader better understand the complexity of the issue and the intricacies of arriving at justice.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2013

    LLP

    Exciting! Dramatic

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2013

    Good read

    I have read all of jennifer haigh's books i waited so long to read this one since i didn't think the subject matter would appeal to me i was wrong i live her writing style

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 152 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8