Customer Reviews for

Faith Bass Darling's Last Garage Sale

Average Rating 4
( 29 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(16)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 16 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2012

    This book was fantastic, one of the best I've read in many years

    This book was fantastic, one of the best I've read in many years. Each and every character resonated and of course Faith Bass Darling will be permanently fixed in my mind as one of the best characters ever. Absorbing and brilliantly written, I predict this book will be a classic. I loved it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2012

    Faith Bass Darling's Last Garage Sale is a charming novel that y

    Faith Bass Darling's Last Garage Sale is a charming novel that you will want to read again and again. It is beautifully written, with wonderful characters. I would highly recommend it!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2012

    I was completely unprepared for this book to be so GOOD! It's r

    I was completely unprepared for this book to be so GOOD! It's rare to find a debut novel that can make you laugh and cry AND think. Especially one with a setting at a garage sale, for crying out loud! Even the antiques are like characters that help slowly unfold the plot. I just loved it. So original. So much fun. And yet so smart with so much good stuff to takeaway. If you think it's fluff, or the stereotypical quirky Southern novel, you're in for a surprise. For me, it was a great one!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 28, 2012

    Lynda Rutledge’s book is a pure joy to read. Well written

    Lynda Rutledge’s book is a pure joy to read. Well written, with a unique approach to unlocking the historical secrets of a family, it kept me reading despite my intentions to only read fifty pages a day. There was enough intrigue to keep me going, but not so much that I was overwhelmed by doom and gloom. At the same time, as the mysteries unfolded, there were charming tales of antiques that were being sold off in a yard sale to dozens of families who had no idea of their true value. The ending is clever and unexpected. It leaves you with a nice warm feeling for both Lynda and the characters she created.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2013

    Jake

    shrugs i dt know...i may have to go soon but ill be back in like an hour

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2013

    To all

    Yall stupid get guts and go with real pepole dummys

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2013

    Jessica

    She hums.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2013

    Jace

    A Girl with red wavy hair just below her shoulder blades walks in. Her eyes are purple. "Can i join you?"

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2013

    Ryan to Max

    Im pretty sure its dead

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2013

    Dimitri

    Kk thanks

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2013

    Mia

    * sighs*

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2013

    Kane

    Bored

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2013

    Rose

    Meh too. Byeeeee!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 14, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    ¿Doesn't the soul have a memory?...If not, what¿s all this livin

    “Doesn't the soul have a memory?...If not, what’s all this living for?” This is the key question Faith Bass Darling asks Father George Fallow, the local Episcopalian priest. For Faith has late stage Alzheimer’s disease and knows her mind is shutting on and off so regularly that she can’t discriminate between real conversations with old friends and neighbors and the “ghosts” she keeps seeing and conversing with. Faith was once a woman truly blessed or at least so she thought when she was younger. But now one terrible tragedy, a marriage of convenience for her late husband, and a daughter who ran away has taught her differently. She’s dropped her Baptist church-going; indeed in the recent past years she has lived the life of a recluse. That’s all changed now because God has spoken to her. She’s got the rest of one day to get it all right.

    Everyone has tortured memories which are painful in this novel and yet Lynda Rutledge mixes humor, puzzles and a type of mystery plot in which we learn the separate but oh so connected story of each character. These include Father Fallow who has been a priest so long that he presides over services in a rote fashion that has absolutely no meaning for him; yet Faith is the one person whose honesty and pain have touched him deeply to search more for the next step in his journey. Then there’s Sheriff John Jaspar who used to be best friends with Faith’s son Michael; he’s an African-American whose rage at racism once, he believes, caused the terrible tragedy in Faith’s life. Yet she continues to be kind to him.

    Faith’s daughter, Claudia, has been running for years but now she’s returned to find her mother selling “everything” in the house on the front lawn, specifically charging from a quarter to a dollar for antique furniture, Tiffany lamps, etc. Claudia wants one thing which she believes will solve her problems but she’s going to get more than she bargained for and learn a great deal about her “real” problems in the process. On and on it goes.

    A final group of scenes are so unexpected one doesn’t know whether to laugh or cry. Faith Bass Darling’s Last Garage Sale is a wonderful, engaging novel about what really matters with memories and relationships, about moving past ideals and dealing with reality, about forgiveness, expectations, disappointments, and so, so much more! Superb fiction which should be a bestseller and would make a grand movie!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 15, 2012

    December 31, 1999. Y2K madness. Tiffany lamps. Elephant clocks.

    December 31, 1999. Y2K madness. Tiffany lamps. Elephant clocks. Rolltop desks. A ring. Faith and faith. Family secrets. Forgotten friends. Memories. Possessions. Welcome to the eponymous Bass, TX, and the spontaneous yard sale rolling out on the lawn of the stately Queen Anne mansion owned by Faith Bass Darling who, in her 69th year, decides that she does not want to go before she's gone or die before she's dead.
    This book reminded me why I love to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 16 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1