Customer Reviews for

The Faith Club: A Muslim, a Christian, a Jew--Three Women Search for Understanding

Average Rating 4
( 49 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(27)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Three brave women cross barriers, educate and inspire!

I was asked to read this and lead a bookclub at my church. At first I was put off by the oversensitivity and whining of the main characters, but as the book progresses, they begin to confront their assumptions, challenge themselves and each other, and grow as friends ...
I was asked to read this and lead a bookclub at my church. At first I was put off by the oversensitivity and whining of the main characters, but as the book progresses, they begin to confront their assumptions, challenge themselves and each other, and grow as friends and human beings. Lots of new information about each religion is included, which serve to educate the reader as well, as we begin to question our own stereotypes around people of other faiths. I felt I had important insights about the point of view of someone from another experience than my own, and I grew fond of these brave, tenacious women, who wouldn't stop trying to find common ground or come to a place of respect and appreciation for each other's beliefs! I love the way the book is organized, alternating transcripts of recordings from their actual meetings in real time, with look-back commentary from three perspectives. A quick and easy read, and made for a very lively discussion at the book club. If EVERYBODY read this, there would be a lot more harmony between neighbors of differing faiths, and a lot less misinformation circulating! And there are ample materials included to help readers who wish to follow their lead and form their own Faith Club discussion groups. Well worth the time and effort.

posted by Aprilsongs7 on October 4, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

faith?

While each of the authors are religious and identify with a certain faith (Christianity, Judaism, and Islam), not one was active in their faith. They may have gone to church or the mosque but it didn't seem like any was actually involved in a relationship with their God...
While each of the authors are religious and identify with a certain faith (Christianity, Judaism, and Islam), not one was active in their faith. They may have gone to church or the mosque but it didn't seem like any was actually involved in a relationship with their God. I was expecting to hear about their personal relationships and walks with God, but all I heard was traditions. This should be called "Religion Club" not "Faith Club." All it did was irritate me that I could have read a book on each individual religion and experience the same knowledge.

posted by S_Mama on December 26, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 50 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted December 26, 2009

    faith?

    While each of the authors are religious and identify with a certain faith (Christianity, Judaism, and Islam), not one was active in their faith. They may have gone to church or the mosque but it didn't seem like any was actually involved in a relationship with their God. I was expecting to hear about their personal relationships and walks with God, but all I heard was traditions. This should be called "Religion Club" not "Faith Club." All it did was irritate me that I could have read a book on each individual religion and experience the same knowledge.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 26, 2010

    HATED THIS SO MUCH I COULDNT FINISH IT! HORRIBLE, INACCURATE, STEREOTYPED

    As an American Muslim who's name is also Ranya, I was intrigued at the idea of this book. But not even 1/2 way into it, I could no longer continue. Ranya Idliby needs to get her facts straight. She flat out misquoted the Quran, gave incorrect facts and was very weak/shallow in her religion. I am not that religious, I dont wear a head scarf or anything but even I was outraged. I know several Jewish women who also hated this book saying Pricilla was very sterotyped and a horrible portrayal of a Jewish woman. DONT WASTE YOUR MONEY! Just talk to your friend's to get the inside scoop on different cultures/religions...you'll learn more that way!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 4, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Three brave women cross barriers, educate and inspire!

    I was asked to read this and lead a bookclub at my church. At first I was put off by the oversensitivity and whining of the main characters, but as the book progresses, they begin to confront their assumptions, challenge themselves and each other, and grow as friends and human beings. Lots of new information about each religion is included, which serve to educate the reader as well, as we begin to question our own stereotypes around people of other faiths. I felt I had important insights about the point of view of someone from another experience than my own, and I grew fond of these brave, tenacious women, who wouldn't stop trying to find common ground or come to a place of respect and appreciation for each other's beliefs! I love the way the book is organized, alternating transcripts of recordings from their actual meetings in real time, with look-back commentary from three perspectives. A quick and easy read, and made for a very lively discussion at the book club. If EVERYBODY read this, there would be a lot more harmony between neighbors of differing faiths, and a lot less misinformation circulating! And there are ample materials included to help readers who wish to follow their lead and form their own Faith Club discussion groups. Well worth the time and effort.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2008

    Faith 'less' Club

    Where is the 'faith' in the faith club? Disappointing from a 'religious' stand point. Interesting women, kind women, caring women -- but none of them except for Ranya have any idea on what it means to have 'faith' in their religion. Most disappointing is the Christian author - what a sell out - she folded to the others thoughts and ideas and didn't stand on her own two feet on what Christianity is all about. Very disappointing. I was left feeling cheated at the end..I thought each would strongly stand for what they believed instead of the 'new age' feeling I came away with.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2007

    disappointed with the entire book

    I was so thrilled with the idea of this book, I waited and waited for it to come out so that I could read it.I love the idea and get the point, but I already know bible stories. I wanted to hear passion and read a great story of faith. This was bible stories and he said she said stuff. I was very sad, I quit half way through the book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 26, 2012

    I thoroughly enjoyed reading this book. As a Jewish woman I am c

    I thoroughly enjoyed reading this book. As a Jewish woman I am constantly questioning my beliefs and my faith. This book helped me do some soul searching and understand things a bit more. I honestly couldn't put it down because I wanted to read the next discussion! While not all of the book was awe-inspiring, as no books are, if you start reading with an open mind you will get something out of it. My suggestion: read it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2012

    Recommended for those who appreciate ALL religions.

    If you are secure enough in your own faith in God, and open minded enough to believe your own religion isn't the center of the universe, and that all religions are equal paths to God - then you'll enjoy this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2011

    0 stars

    DO NOT READ!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Awful book!!!!!!!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 4, 2011

    Do not waste your time or money!

    If you have trouble sleeping at night, just pick up this book, you will be out in no time! I loathed this book. There is no story line, there is nothing to make you want to read this book. It is 300 pages of three women talking on and on and on. The three women came from three different religions, but none of them had any kind of faith in their religions and they had no idea what they were talking about. The Jewish woman did not know if she even believed in God and the Christian woman wanted to be on both sides of the fence sort of speek, she wanted a God but when it was convenient for her. The Muslum woman did not know what she believed. I was so disappointed because at the end, the Christian woman decided that she "hopes there is a God." (You have got to be kidding) And then turns into a Universalist. She was more worried about offending the other two women, than she was about practicing Christanity. She was a Fraud! Do not bother with this book. Spend your time and money on something else worth reading.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 6, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    By Far The Most Life Changing Book I've Read This Year

    When I first saw this book, I was immediately sold. I picked it and refused to leave without it. I love learning about religions and I was intrigued by the idea of the three monotheistic religions coming together and trying to understand each other.
    From beginning to end, I was hooked. I would read a chapter and stop for a day or two to really get the full impact of it. These women were incredibly brave and through their quest to find similarities, they found that they grew individually in their own faiths as well as growing together and embracing all three.
    It truly is an inspirational read and I recommend to every one who has ever had a small inkling of interest in these three religions.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2008

    Setting the record straight

    I was really looking forward to reading this. It seemed so promising. However, I need to clear something up. Judaism DOES believe in the afterlife. We call it the World to Come, and it will happen when the Messiah comes. I was upset that such incorrect information was allowed to be included in this book. I did learn a lot about Islam, which was positive, but towards the end, I felt like the book took a more political stance, rather than a spiritual or religious one. I'd love to be able to contact Priscilla and talk over Judaism issues. I don't really want to recommend this book, due to its misinformation concerning Judaism.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2006

    The Faith is Worth Joining

    I¿d like to recommend to you a book I¿ve just read. The Faith Club arose out of the rubble of 9-11, as three young mothers living in New York City ¿ a Muslim, a Christian, and a Jew ¿ agreed to meet together to discuss their differing faiths and how they might learn to live together in peace. They could not have imagined what was in store for them. At a minimum, it meant hours of gut-wrenching, painful, honest self-disclosure, as they explained to each other, as best they could, what they believed and why, and as they challenged each other with the obvious ambiguities and inconsistencies of their different faith perspectives. It also meant a lot of personal growth as, through the process of interfaith dialogue ¿ and we¿re talking about a period of over two years here ¿ the women grappled with what they really believed, as opposed to what they had always been taught ¿ and as they seriously considered the faith and understanding of each other. No holds were barred. They talked openly and honestly about everything you can imagine: The Christian understanding of Jesus¿ crucifixion and whether or not the Jews were to blame the Jewish claim to a Promised Land and what that meant for Palestinians the suspicion that all Muslims are terrorists-in-waiting, versus the fact that the majority of Muslims are as peace-loving as everyone else. Out of their dialogue, the women came to appreciate and accept each other as individuals who share a common humanity and a common quest for peace, albeit from different faith perspectives. More than that, they came to love each other, and that love helped them bridge the gap between their different religious traditions. What I appreciated most about The Faith Club is its raw, often brutal, honesty. Here are three women who are willing to let you in on their often down and dirty efforts to come to grips with each other. What I found myself struggling with was the often simplistic way in which the women were able to resolve fundamental differences of religion by stressing such commonalities as their love of God, generally, while, for example, ignoring the critical issues of such Christian beliefs as the Incarnation and the Atonement. But, to be fair, the authors never claim to be theologians, and that may be the most compelling reason to read the book: It doesn¿t seek to answer all your questions about Islam, Judaism or Christianity, and it doesn¿t pretend to offer a panacea about how our differences can be resolved rather, it offers a first-hand look at how three women from these differing religious perspectives found, through the process of interfaith dialogue, a better understanding of themselves and each other, and how people of differing faiths can live in peace and harmony in love with each other. I recommend the book highly. Whether, in the end, you agree or disagree with their conclusions, you¿ll be enriched by their journey of faith.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2012

    John 3:16

    For God so loved the world that He gave His only begotten Son; that whosoever believeth in Him should not perish, but have everlasting life. †††

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 31, 2012

    Just OK

    What I thought was the premise of the book wasn't exactly what the reader gets. You learn quickly that the women are well off. They seem to be very self-absorbed. They don't always leave room for anyone else to have an opinion that is different from theirs. When asking my pastor some questions about parts of the book, he wasn't quite as liberal as they seemed to want the reader to be. Still not sure what they tried to children in the book they wanted to write.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2012

    Get this

    You have to read this. At least the sample

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2011

    Most eye opening book ever

    This book is a must read! This will either change your way of thinking about different people or you are to cold hearted to care. We all share a common element...we are human!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 7, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    They Began With a Goal to Learn About Each Other's Religions - Ultimately They Grew into Intimate Friends and Grew Stronger in Their Respective Faiths

    I won't repeat what other reviewers have written. I merely add my observation that these three women met regularly, over coffee/tea and baked goodies, taking turns hosting the meetings in their homes. They had some tense moments as they questioned and answered one another about their beliefs. But in the end, I believe, they grew to value each other's friendship so highly that it enabled them to get past the tensions. Instead of merely viewing one another as spokesperson for a particular religion, they became to each other the embodiment of a "person living a life of faith" in the best and truest sense of that phrase. Reading the book was like seeing an illustration of the growth of three souls from learning the tenets of a theology, to experiencing the character of the living Creator of All Things. I highly recommend this book to women who are members of, or who want to understand better, any of the three faiths discussed in "The Faith Club."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 1, 2009

    This book had me from the beginning. It was a quick very thought provoking read.

    This book was so good that I have recommended it to my women's book club at church and it is our current reading selection. It was originally recommended to my by someone whose opinion I value which is why I purchased it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Educational and informative of the three religions

    I would feel so lucky to have three intelligent friends to discuss religion. This book enthralled me to the point that I thought I was there having coffee with those ladies. We need more books on the subject of the different religions. I was brought up a Christian and married a Catholic. Both religions gave me faith and a feeling of belonging. After I was divorced I did not go to church, but now have returned to a non-denominational church. The Faith Club brings up many questions and makes one wonder why did this separation of faiths happen.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2009

    educational

    I applaud these ladies for their candor and honesty as they dealt with the differences in their religions. The book becomes a lesson in tolerance for all who read it as well as an education in these religions. The reader cannot come away unmoved.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 50 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3