Customer Reviews for

Faith Deployed. . .Again: More Daily Encouragement for Military Wives

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 11 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted September 17, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    A Must Have for Every Military Spouse!

    If a cord of three strands is not quickly broken as stated in Ecclesiastics 4:12, then a band of 25 entwined with God's scripture is impenetrable! In the award-winning book, "Faith Deployed Again," Christian author, Joceyln Green, joins forces with 25 inspirational spouses from every Armed Service branch. Together, they build a fortress of strength by sharing their life experiences to help spouses overcome the unique challenges that military life presents.

    Each real life story layers the fortress with wisdom gained from common trials that every military spouse will relate to and directs readers to the source of that strength:our Lord, Jesus Christ. From trusting God when receiving relocation orders and embarking on dangerous deployments to conquering everyday family issues,"Faith Deployed Again" will launch hope, comfort, and peace into your life, empowering you to live a joy-filled life, even during life's trials.

    This is a must have for every spouses personal arsenal.

    Penny Monetti: Author of "Called to Serve: Encouragement, Support, and Inspiration for Military Families" and "Choose to Dance: A Mother Daughter Guidebook for Tackling Life's Tough Issues."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 11, 2011

    encouraging indeed ~ read it and gift it

    Reading Faith Deployed...Again was like standing around a warm kitchen, talking late into the night with girlfriends who have been there -they get it. Their stories are honest and real, their advice rich and worth remembering, and every chapter centers on scriptural truth. I found myself marking pages, underlining passages and going online to read more on their blogs. I didn't want the conversations to end.
    The stories of these woman are unique but each one pointed me towards the steadfast love of God and reminded me that I live to bring glory and honor to His name, no matter the circumstances. This book would be a great gift for a military wife or mom.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 8, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Amazing... Again!!!

    I was honored to be asked to review a book called "Faith Deployed" back in 2009... I was totally in awe of how these people "got" what my life as a military wife was like! They understood and "knew" what I was going though. And I have to tell in in the two years since reading this book, I have actually used it as my daily devotional more than a few times!

    Then I heard there was a sequel and I just had to read it!!!! I was NOT disappointed! Once again each day spoke to my heart and each story seemed to come at just the right moment to help me though the difficult time or problem I was struggling with! Again... I was struck by the honestly and willingness to talk about real issues and real struggles that military wives deal with day in and day out... and then to be able to discuss those issues from a Christian point of view and to back that view up with scripture! Wow!

    If you are a military wife I can not stress enough to you how important it is to read this book!!! Each entry starts with a scripture, then flows into a story, which is then followed by a question or thought to ask your self and then is final summed up in a short prayer!

    As a military wives we can't live day in and day out (being in the middle of a deployment or not) alone and this book was an awesome reminder that we are not alone, there are others going through the same thing we are and God's presence is with us all!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 8, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Deep and Heartfelt

    In Faith Deployed...Again, thirty military wives and Blue-Star moms share heartfelt, biblical advice in short devotions that can be read in snippets of time. Each devotion is beautifully written, with personal anecdotes, Scripture passages, and prayers. Even though I'm not a military wife, I was moved and convicted by many of the readings. Excellent advice is given on protecting marriages, caring for yourself, and providing stability for children.

    Faith Deployed...Again would be excellent for military wives, friends or family of military wives who would like to support them better, and even for women whose husbands travel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 4, 2011

    Will Speak to the Heart of EVERY Military Spouse

    "The choice is ours. The stakes are high -the minds, hearts, and attitudes of our families. We can either live our military lives victoriously, confident in the goodness and sovereignty of God, or in defeat, as victims of circumstances beyond our control."
    -Jill Bozeman and Jocelyn Green

    I mean, hello?! How many times have I said what that quote says? The whole time I was reading, I was highlighting, marking, writing, "YES!" in the margin, "Exactly!" "Amen!" What a book!

    Faith Deployed ... Again: More Daily Encouragement for Military Wives is a collection of reflections, stories, and encouragements from military spouses across every walk of this life. Each short piece offers scripture, reflection, and a prayer. Every military wife should read this book together with her bible and be encouraged, grow stronger, cry when needed, and use it to move forward each day.

    I tell spouses all the time: "Use the tools He gives you and you cannot fail." Consider this book one of those tools. Happy Reading!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 4, 2011

    This book is a must have!

    Faith Deployed. . . Again: More Daily Encouragement for Military Wives is the type of book that you can read and re-read and every time get something new from each of the stories shared by Jocelyn Green and over 25 contributing authors. The struggles with military life, deployments and marriage are ever changing and different for everyone. To have each of these stories find a special place in your heart makes it a MUST HAVE!! If you are a military spouse, buy one for you and a friend! If you are a civilian, this is a very wonderful gift idea.

    There are wonderful biblical quotes and real life wisdom from wives of all branches of service. I love the bible verse before each story, the question(s) encouraging you to relate the story to your life and prayer after each story asking for God's guidance. The stories themselves are not too long, only 2 pages. They are relatable, uplifting and sometimes bring tears to my eyes.

    I think my favorite part of this book is that it is not a religious book; it's spiritual. It helps the reader gain insight, inner strength and the ability to grow closer not only to God but also to their spouse during not only very trying times but joyful times too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 8, 2011

    Wonderful Devotional For Military Wives

    "The Bible Gives Several analogies regarding our spiritual "dress." A passage in Ephesians 6:10-19 tells us to put on the full armor of God, which at times has been hard for me to relate to. How is it that a woman can put on the armor of God in order to be dressed and ready for service (Luke 12:35)? As I looked closer at Ephesians 6, through a "pink lens," I noticed that the purpose of the armor is protection."-Excerpt from "The Armor of Light", page 110 by Rosie Williams in Faith Deployed...Again Faith Deployed...Again is a wonderful devotional for military wives. Divded into sections based on situations military wives might encounter, the devotional provides food for the spirit and comfort for the soul. Each devotion contains a scripture, prayer, questions to ask yourself, and wisdom from other seasoned military wives. As an Army wife, I value the wisdom of other military wives who have gone before me, especially those who have God's heart in mind. The military life is a different culture full of pressures and challenges that are unique and need to be handled with care. I am thankful for the women who participated in this devotional for other military wives. They have paved a way for us, and if we are smart we will listen to what they and God have to say. Many blessings to you as you find God's purpose in your life as a military wife! Disclosure: I received this book free from the publisher and was not required to give a favorable review. The thoughts and opinions expressed here are entirely my own.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 24, 2011

    Great devotional for military couples - wives and their spouses

    I began reading Faith Deployed . Again: More Daily Encouragement for Military Wives, by Jocelyn Green (and contributing authors) with great expectancy. The previous devotional, Faith Deployed: Daily Encouragement for Military Wives provided many Biblical truths applicable to men as well as their wives. I was certain I would not be disappointed. I knew I was going to get a lot out of this book when I read the first devotional, Vision Check by Jocelyn Green. She talks about how David begins his many writings in the book of Psalm talking about the difficulty of his situation. However, by the end of the chapter he praises God as he knows, despite the situation and his emotions, God still reigns and is in control. He doesn't deny or discredit his situation and emotions but acknowledges that God is greater than anything he is experiencing. I have mentioned the same idea to my both my wife and father when speaking about why I have grown to love the book of Psalms. There are situations that stand out to both the military wife and the Soldier. Sarah Ball hit on one such subject in Two Are Better Than One that is consistently on my mind; redeployment. My biggest fear isn't deployment but the effect of deployment after the time away is over. How will we move forward as a family together instead of apart? How will God grow our marriage when we are used to relying on ourselves more than each other? Sarah writes, "During deployment, I became very independent. I parented our daughter, gave birth to our son, maintained the cars, mowed the lawn, and did everything on schedule." She also states "Each deployment ends with a new struggle for me to allow him back into the center of family life and the roles that God intends for him to have." I am convinced every Soldier has this same thought on his mind when he thinks of deployment. She answers the question beautifully as she reminds us of Ecclesiastes 4:9-10,12 "Two are better than one, because you have good return for your work; if one falls down, his friend can help him up . A cord of three strands is not quickly broken." Sarah encourages couples to be united together in Christ. Deployment continues to be a daily word in our home. As we prepare for our deployment, we ask ourselves what God is planning to accomplish through this event in our lives. Catherine Fitzgerald reminds us all of an important reality in her devotional Finding Your Ministry. As the military sent her to various duty stations, she desired close friendships instead of sinking in the loneliness of the situation. She realized God was leading her to start a Bible study to reach out to military wives. She writes how several military wives express their inability to be involved in ministry due to children at home, their lack of ability or their deployed husbands. How easy it would be to have the same mindset. How could God even consider using me when I am in a foreign country far from my family? How could I have any impact in such circumstances? Yet Catherine reminds us that God desires us to serve. My wife and I are prayerfully asking God how He will use us when we are thousands of miles apart. Yes, I was not disappointed at all as I read through Faith Deployed Again. It is, indeed, an encouraging book for both the military wives and their spouses. Most important, it sits solidly on God's word, leading us to life in Jesus Christ. I strongly encourage couples to read this book and become encouraged to

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 22, 2011

    Jocelyn Green has her finger on the pulse of military wives.

    "Jocelyn Green has her finger on the pulse of military wives. She has been one, and she listens and connects to the heartfelt stories of military wives. Jocelyn knows how to communicate a hope filled message to these warriors on the home front! The more Barb and I serve these heroic families, the more we realize the sacrifices they make on our behalf to protect our freedom. Read this book; buy additional copies and resource every military wife you can get it to. They will be blessed by your desire to speak life into their great hearts."
    ~Dr. Gary and Barb Rosberg
    America's Family Coaches
    Authors of "6 Secrets to a Lasting Love", "Pre-Deployment Military Marriage DVD, Dilemmas and Breakthroughs"
    Internationally recognized marriage and family coaches, authors and radio hosts

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2011

    Encouragement on every page!

    "If there is anything that I have learned in the past twenty years of Christian ministry to our military and their families it is that encouragement is DNA specific. As an encourager I know that my opportunities to be used directly flow through the experiences that I hold in common with those whom I serve. It is from those very personal places where the presence of the Lord delivered me that has given credence to my words when shared with others. Faith Deployed...Again: More Daily Encouragement for Military Wives expresses those kinds of words that emanate from the heart of Christ and flow through military wives that have experienced the ordeals that all of you hold in common. You will find a hug from Jesus on every page that will give light to an otherwise shadowy day or the strength and courage necessary to persevere when weakness threatens to sap the life essence from your soul. What you will then discover within these pages is that the Grace of the Lord Jesus Christ is truly sufficient for your every need! Moreover you will find that you will have become a river of healing to those around you-transformed from encouraged to encourager."
    ~Bob Flynn, President/CEO, Christian Military Fellowship

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2011

    Hope and encouragement for the military home front

    Hope and encouragement - I can think of no greater gift to give the military home front. Faith Deployed.Again is Christian military wives and mothers.cheering, encouraging, challenging, guiding, mentoring us in our journey to know the Author of Hope, Jesus Christ, while we combat the challenges of the military lifestyle. I highly recommend this book!

    Benita Koeman
    Founder, Operation We Are Here

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 11 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1