Customer Reviews for

Faith of the Fallen (Sword of Truth Series #6)

Average Rating 4.5
( 425 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(327)

4 Star

(58)

3 Star

(22)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 426 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 22
  • Posted May 11, 2011

    explaining Marxism in terms anyone can understand

    Faith of the Fallen is a wonderful example of explaining Marxism in terms anyone can understand. It should be mandatory reading for all US History and English classes. It takes you on a progressive journey of one individual, Nicci, and how she became the way she was, believing what she believed, and eventually realizing the truth in all of what she had done. It also takes you on a journey into seeing exactly how something so small as doing something "for the good of all people" turns into the majority barely surviving in a slavery type of life, no joy, no dreams, no wish to better themselves, only expecting those in power, or those who have more than "their fair share" to take care of those "less fortunate". This book is a journey of those who feel there is more to all this and their efforts to "rise up and live their own life".

    The only thing I felt cheated out of was the fact that Nicci's own journey to find this out was too gradual and her eventual epiphany was nearly anti-climactic and did not include the most important element of "self-sacrifice" to feel her own "self-worth". I did, however, understand that because it was a gradual journey for her, she came to her own conclusions in the end and didn't need someone else to show her the way. So, that, in itself, was a redeeming quality.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2012

    One of my favorites, if I must choose...

    Book #6 in the Sword of Truth series. This is one of the great inspiring stories of, hence the title, faith. Not necessarily in any deity, but faith in yourself to stand firm in difficult times. Faith in your fellow man to fight beside you for what is just. This book takes you on the usual roller-coaster ride of emotions. Definitely one of the great memorable books in the series.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2006

    Unbeatable!!!

    Goodkind takes the reader for an amazing ride.He makes you hate the villans and by the end come to an amazing understanding of why they are the way they are. This book will make you cry for the characters and what they go through and then smile when the bad guys get completely STOMPED! The war rages on and leaves you hanging onto your seat for the next book. To even think you could give this book a bad review is uncomprehendable! I think the whole series has made me look at life differently because of the way Goodkind makes the characters see things in different ways. Regardless, the whole Sword of Truth series takes the reader on a rollercoaster ride of emotions that you'll want to experience again and again!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2012

    Life

    Shows the internal struggle of richards lost faith in man and his way towards freedom.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2012

    Subliminal message

    There is definitely a moral left behind after goodkind takes u on this journey. I liked it, although i would have prefered to have a different cover picture. It gave away a lot.

    Will continue reading the series

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2012

    Best book with the name Rahl in it!

    I have read all of the books containing the name Rahl and this is the one that sticks out the most. The triumphs and struggles seem to hit me the hardest. Maybe it was where I was at when I read the books but I doubt it. Give it a read and you wont be dissapointed.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2012

    Speechless

    This might be kind of an editorial review, but hear me out. The messages in this book are invaluable. In this book (as well as some of the later novels) give a very vivid view on Goodkind's philosophy on life. If you're one who sets this book, or any of SoT, down because you grow tired of the messages relating to politics, life, good vs. evil, or sense of individuality, you have major issues. As Goodkind descibes some of the back histories of people like Nicci or Richard or anyone else in this book, he is silently illustrating the forms of life that we can all relate to. If I was a school superintendent, i would irrevocably reccomend this book to students and have them see in depth the messages of Terry Goodkind and how he reminds readers of the simplicity and beauty of life. As Richard says, "Your life is yours and yours alone. Rise up and live it."

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 31, 2011

    Love this book

    This is one of my favorite books in the series. The plot is thrilling and it left me dying to read more. Nicci's story line is so moving and I love the story arch for Cara and Kahlan.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2011

    Best book in the series so far

    This has been my favorite in the series so far. After being slightly disappointed with Soul of The Fire this book made up for it and more. I couldn't hardly make myself put my NOOK down to stop reading!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 26, 2011

    Great comeback from book #5

    I was very disappointed with book number 5, it was essentially pointless and could have been a third of the length. I said to myself "if the 6th isn't any better I'm going to end it here and enjoy what I've read", and I'm glad I kept reading. Terry brings it back with faith of the fallen, giving you what you loved in the other novels. I think it's a great read, new storyline to follow and some fantastic developments. You laugh and cry with the characters and yearn for #7.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Powerful, Heart-Rending. Yet the best in the Series

    " Faith of the Fallen" is another beautiful and crafted odyssey. Goodkind's best interpretation through the lives of Richard, Kahlan and Nicci. A profound portrait to the best and the worst in humanity. The quest to find a sense of wonder, the true meaning in life, and a testament of nobility's triumph over evil. Having extinguished the chimes back to the underworld, and after an astonishing ending in " Soul of the Fire", Lord Rahl takes his beloved Mother Confessor back where everything started. Hartland. However; marked by previous events in Anderith and the Old world, Richard and Kahlan are about to find out that life's fate and redemption sometimes come in the form of evil. A glimpse of nobility, faith and the fervent meaning of life. In the Sixth installment of the Sword of Truth,In the search of the true meaning of her existence, Nicci, a sister of the dark takes Richard prisoner, leaving Kahlan behind in the hands of the imperial order. Goodkind takes readers back to Westland, Hartland, the home of Richard Cypher, and into the heart and soul of the Old World: Altur'Rang. Jagang's Homeland. "Faith of the Fallen" Becomes a fascinating journey featuring some of the best characters in the series and a heartbreaking goodbye to a favorite one. Goodkind's " Faith of the Fallen" is yet the best and most powerful installment in the series. It took "Stone of Tears" and "Blood of the Fold" for nicci's character to take a life of its own. The greatest character in the series besides Richard And Kahlan. Nicci's quest to find her true meaning of existence. Imagine you could write a book about peoples journey through life, where you put your heart and soul on your beliefs, and embrace them as they come. Through Nicci's life, Goodkind has done it. "Faith of the Fallen" becomes a heartfelt story, with a bittersweet ending, and as is usual of Goodkind's style, it does not fall short graphically as he describes all the mayhem left by the war between Jagang's and the D'haran army. Goodkind is great developing characters and setting up the story. It is amazing how complicated the book seems at the beginning with so much going on, but the author unfolds the story in a way that is not just spellbinding, but has a mystique about it. Goodkind's "Faith of the fallen" establishes time and time again his excellence and gift beyond any measure.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 14, 2011

    The best in the series

    Faith of the Fallen is by far my favorite in the SoT series, I've read all of them. Eventhough the plot has the same formula, it is the 'joy in the journey' that kept me on board. What I found most attractive in this book were the values Richard upholds and the inner strengh he finds to overcome his obstacles. The fact that Goodkind gives us a lot of gray areas is refreshing, in so many stories good and evil are to defined. I've reread this one without starting from the beginning of the series and found it's a good book to review and test my personal values, that coming from fantasy fiction novel is awkward, none the less, that's what I got out of it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 3, 2010

    Best book i've ever read!

    Terry Goodkind is by far my all time favorite author. This book is my favorit of the "Sword of Truth" series and i am currently reading it for the 4th or 5th time. Something About Terry Goodkind allows him to write a completly fictional book based in a world of fantasy and magic, and yet he is able to write about such profound things like, the nature of man, and good verses evil, in such a complelling and true to life way, that it amazes me. He describes issues and problems that we are facing today, and does it in such a way that by the time you finish the book, you feel completly edified and uplifted. I just wish he had MORE books!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Book

    I started reading the sword of truth series after i got hooked to the tv show based on it, the legend of the seeker. While there are some differences, i have fallen in love with the books. The characters are elaborate and powerful. I have enjoyed every book in the series and plan on keep reading.

    The only problem is that every book does involve Richard somehow being the only one who can save the day, and after six books that does get a little old. But once you look past that small detail, it is an amazing book series!!!!!!

    I would recommend that anyone who likes magic, strong female leads, romantic storries, and powerful villains should read this series!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 22, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    One of the Best Books I've ever read

    I consider myself to have read an extensive amount of novels, but I must say, Terry Goodkind's Faith of the Fallen stands out foremost in my mind. Up until this point in the series, The Sword of Truth books were a fun read, but I was never really rivetted by them. However, Faith of the Fallen changed all that. The plotline and characters really flourish in this installment, leaving the reader breathless and waiting for more. However, the thing that really ensnared me was the inspiring message that Goodkind delivers in this novel. Possibly my favorite quote of all time, the main character Richard proclaims, "Your life is yours alone. Rise up and live it." This powerful message is the heart and soul of this entire series. Even when these characters are living in their darkest hour, they never give up and rise to face the challenge. For a fantasy novel, there are many real-life lessons that can be learned from the characters Richard, Kahlan, and Zedd. These people who have lost everything still continue to fight for freedom, even when all hope is lost. However, Goodkind shows throughout all his novels that hope never is truly gone.

    Goodkind's Faith of the Fallen is a truly wonderful read and excellently crafted together. His imagination never ceases to amaze his devoted readers.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 20, 2010

    Terry Goodkind has once again taken my breathe away!

    Terry Goodkind has once again added to (my opinion) the best fiction series I have read. The Seeker of Truth has once again gone on a journey to save the ones he loves. This book has been the best one in the series. Beautifuly written and plotted, Goodkind had me on the edge of my seat the entire time reading his wonderful novel. I hope all you readers that read this book will enjoy it. Thank you.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Review-Faith of the Fallen

    First of all it's apart of a series and you gotta read the whole thing. This one tells about a socitiy where socialisum is king. The main character, Richard becomes a captive and must adapt to the people, law, and the socitiy in order to live. Instead he brings about changes to make life easier for those around him. The folks around him, change. And because of that change take back their town from the law and remove the socialisum problems to make it better. Oh and the statue on the cover - wow! You have got to read about it. What one man can do! Wow!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 15, 2009

    Powerful story telling, and inspiring.

    I have followed the works of Terry Goodkind since 96' and this novel really hit me. Being a Director of Human Resources and a young middle aged man, I found myself easily captured by the storyline and the trial and tribulations that are incountered. This work ranks with the original novel which i've read 16 times over the course of a decade. I hope you find this book as enjoyable as I have and perhaps willing to be inspired to wear the sense and reasoning behind the story in your life.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 15, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    One of Terry Goodkind's best

    If you've started on the Sword of Truth series, you'll know how well Terry Goodkind portrays his characters. This book blew me away! While there wasn't a whole lot of action/adventuring, the character development and overall storyline will keep you turning the pages. "The Faith of the Fallen" has to be my favorite of the "Sword of Truth" series, if not my all time favorite book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2008

    Faith restored

    So far this is my favorite in the entire series (a close second being Temple of the Winds). Kahlan is by far the greatest character in the story. My only issue is how her and Richard keep being torn away from one another to be tested by life and then thrown back together at the very end of the book (I am in awe of their love and commitment to each other). I love Cara too. The women in this series are tough as hell and I love it! I have not stopped reading except to work and sleep. I can't wait till Confessor.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 426 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 22