Customer Reviews for

Faithful

Average Rating 4.5
( 38 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(21)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 38 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted January 18, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Not Your Typical Christian Romance

    A story of life-long friends each struggling with life changing moments that tests their faith in God.

    Cydney thought she knew God's plan for her life but at 40 she realizes the path God has chosen for her may not be what she thought after all.

    Dana seems to have the perfect life until she discovers her husband is having an affair and her world is rocked out of control.

    Phyllis has a deep relationship with God which she passes on to her children easily but her husband is a non-believer which makes their life together tumultuous at best. When she runs into an old friend, a very Christian man, she starts to question her life choices.

    God and their faith play very important parts in each of these women's lives. Is their faith strong enough to help them through their struggles?




    The author writes quite naturally about not only individual relationships with God, including the issues of premarital sex, lust, betrayal, trust, and faithfulness but she does it without being preachy and doesn't lead us to the "happily ever after" scenario.

    There are definite Christian messages throughout the entire book but it is truly the story of three women in totally different stages of their lives and how the deal with strife as well as the day to day issues every woman faces daily.

    The women and men in this book are flawed just as all of us are, there is no perfect life. Challenges are faced , dealt with, moved on, just as we all of do everyday. The difference is that in this book the relationships with God are brought to the forefront, not kept in the background and while the issues tackled are not easy, the author has written them in a way that not only shows God's love but interweaves hope and faith in a way that shows that all relationships including those with God and our family entail a great deal of work. We are never promised that life is going to be easy.

    If you are looking for a typical Christian romance book, this is not it. This book is much more. As a Christian our faith can be questioned daily and this book uses these three women's lives to show us just a few instances of questions but there is a true underlying message for everyone. God will give us strength but we must put in the time too. The time for prayer, the time of helping others, the time for ourselves. Most importantly our hearts need to be open to receiving His gifts.

    This is a well written novel that I truly enjoyed but be prepared to not only read about the faith of the characters in this book, it will also make you look at your own faithfulness.

    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishing. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255 : "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 11, 2010

    Defining Faithfulness

    I enjoyed Kim Cash Tate's debut novel not only for the intriguing characters and the sisterhood they enjoyed (who doesn't love a girlfriends novel?) but also for the subtle ways the characters learn that faithfulness is not only between husbands and wives, boyfriends and girlfriends, and life-long friends. Ultimately the One the characters learn to be faithful to is God. Beautifully written, and highly recommended! Cindy Thomson Author of Brigid of Ireland

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 30, 2010

    Not your typical romantic fiction!

    Faithful, a novel by Kim Cash Tate, takes you through the joys and struggles of three special friends. Cydney, Dana and Phyllis are strong women of God who encourage and walk through life together. As trials and difficulties hit, they each learn deep lessons in faithfulness - to each other, and most importantly, to God.

    The cover of the book lead me to believe it would be all romance and lovey-dovey relationships, but I was relieved to discover the storylines went much deeper and beyond the typical romance novel.

    I don't often read fiction, and this was my first time reading a novel by Kim Cash Tate. I was pleasantly surprised as each page drew my attention. The author did a fantastic job of bringing each character to life. As I got to know each one, I felt I could relate to different characteristics in each of them. I loved them and wished I could be the fourth member of their tight-knit friendship!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    Love

    I love everything she writes!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 19, 2011

    Awesome!

    Very riveting and kept me on the edge of my seat waiting for the next thing to happen. I laughed, cried, laughed and cried some more. Faithful showed me what I need to do and woke me up to my unfaithfulness. I loved every minute of it and couldn't put it down. This is a definite must read for any woman, Christian or not that is struggling with some things.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 15, 2011

    Great Read !!

    This book lets the reader into the lives of three women, who also happen to be friends. What makes this book unique is the reality circumstances each of these individuals go through and how God is needed, relied on and then magnified in each of these situations.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    "Before the cross" tendencies meet "in the grace" moments for a super-charged drama.

    Faithful presents the story of three women who must face diverse trials and stages of growth. It gives a realistic account of what so very often happens to women. "Before the cross" tendencies meet "in the grace" moments for a super-charged drama that will have you turning the page for more. Read this book and you will find a fresh perspective on faith, fellowship, and friendship.

    Rating: 5/5 Stars

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 16, 2011

    Brilliant!

    This book has ministered to me in a profound way! I totally recommend it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 10, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Not full of melodrama, but seemed sincere and heartfelt.

    I found this book to be very sincere and believable. I sensed the author's heart for marriage and healing in this story. I could tell that she poured her heart into the message that was so skillfully woven into the story. This book, while dealing with Scriptures, church, and other Christian themes, did not feel preachy at all. I dislike preachy stories. This was so natural in flow and theme that I didn't feel like a sermon was being preached. That is a good thing, especially if people of weak faith read this book. It won't turn them off to the message.

    Having known people in just about every situation written about in this story, I found the conflict to be well done. It showed the dark side of sin and temptation without getting too ugly. So many books where women were cheated on show rage that goes on and on and frankly, that gets old. I want to walk into the pages and tell the characters, "A-hem, you are supposed to love Jesus and believe in grace and forgiveness, remember?"

    There was such a godly balance in this story that was refreshing. The author didn't shy away from showing the beauty of marital love and true peace in the home. These issues are so important and many authors skim over them, probably out of fear that it won't be well-received. I loved how deep the author delved into the story regarding the marital themes. Sex in marriage is beautiful and if the author had totally shied away from showing this, then the book would have been weak, at best. I also loved how the author showed that honesty is essential in any relationship for it to be solid enough to withstand temptation. Real love doesn't hold back.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2010

    An example of strong women

    The bond between women friends is unique and can withstand many of life's most difficult situations. The book Faithful, by Kim Cash Tate explores the friendship between three women and their faith.


    The three main characters of this novel experience each have a crisis in their lives. Whether the characters' struggles are infidelity or commitment issues, women lean on each other and their faith to stand tall during their crisis.


    What I took from this novel is that no person's life is perfect. We don't know what is going on behind closed doors. But, when a life altering event happens, women turn towards their girlfriends for support and guidance. And, for some, their faith helps them pull through the difficulties. No matter how a person handles life's difficulties, it's always easier to have the support of friends to carry you through.



    Also, one of the characters of this book has a life attitude that is admirable. She takes a stand for her beliefs and lets no one sway her from her life purpose and goals. In today's world, strong woman characters are an important example that women are in control of their lives and goals. No one can stand in the way of a determined, strong woman.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 30, 2010

    Great, easy read

    This book focuses on the relationships of four different women, all in different stages in their relationships. It was interesting the way the author focused on God in these relationships, and showed that through Him, anything is possible. I may not agree with everything the author had to say, but I did find the book enjoyable. I think it would make a great book club book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 27, 2010

    Nice read with lots going on.

    "Faithful" is a book about 3 friends, Dana, Cydney (Cyd) and Phyllis. The three are strong Christian women who always put God first in their lives. When the book begins, each is at a different point in their relationships. Dana catches her husband in an affair, Phyllis is struggling with a husband who is a non-believer and Cyd is floundering in the dispair of not being in a relationship--on her 40th birthday--at her baby sister's wedding. As the book goes on we see each woman struggle to deal with the new situations before them. Dana has to come to terms with an unfaithful husband. Does she stay, does she kick him out. How does God play in all this, and can she maintain a strong relationship with Him through it all. As a leader in their church, Scott (the husband) makes his infidelity public and the church as a whole ends up learning about sex and it's role in God's Plan. Phyllis attends a college sorority reunion and meets the man of her dreams: handsome, spiritual, loves his family. She struggles greatly between wanting that godly man and wanting to be faithful in her marriage and to God as well. When Syd meets Cedric, the best man at her sister's wedding, she is pulled to him physically, but when she finds out he is a ladies man, and a luke-warm Christian at best, she decides to turn her back on those feelings and focus on finding a man who is as strong in her faith as she is. But Cedric isn't ready to give up on her, or God for that matter. This book has a LOT going on. I think I would have enjoyed it a whole lot more if it only focused on one or two of the woman's issues. But there's the three main characters, the cheating husband, Cyd's younger sister...it all adds up to a lot to keep up with. Once I would get into one storyline, I would jump to another, then another and another. It was a nice little read, with some great spiritual tidbits to think about. But I just couldn't get into it that much with all that was going on. I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their BookSneeze book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 25, 2010

    Inspiring, Uplifting...A MUST READ!

    The first thing that captivated me about Faithful: A Novel by Kim Cash Tate was the beautiful, beautiful book cover! I think I just sat and gazed at the cover for a full two minutes before opening the book to read it. Well, let me assure you that the story is just as beautiful and inspiring as it's cover. It's not often that this happens and when it does, it's like eating your favorite cinnamon rolls while they're steaming hot ~ truly delectable! (Grin) The story opens with the main character, Cydney Sanders celebrating her 40th birthday on the day of her younger sister's wedding. Cydney is happy for her sister but internally she is struggling because her life has not turned out as she planned. The biggest disappointment? She's still single. It goes on to explore the lives of Cydney as well as her closest friends and family as they experience romance, humor, struggles and testing of faith, as well as the blessings that God can and will create in our everyday lives if we just commit to following Him. Throughout this book, the author shares Biblical references as to God's viewpoint on marriage. Wow - the Bible really has a very awe inspiring view of what marriage should be! My recommendation? Read this book! I found this book to be refreshing, inspiring and I truly enjoyed it. Many thanks to Thomas Nelson Publishing for the opportunity to review this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2010

    Unbelievably uplifting!

    I read Kim's last book and couldn't wait for the latest! Yet, I'm still amazed by the fact that I started reading it last night and couldn't wait to finish it this morning! What a phenomenal title and what a wonderful message. Kim's characters, imagery, and heart for God are so evident in every word. Thank you for giving us a book that shows us reality, gives us something to aspire to, and reconnects us with ourselves and God. What a blessing!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2010

    Awsome Book!!!

    WOW! I read this book cover to cover in 2 days. This book really spoke to my heart about friendship, love, commitment and most of all trusting God to lead every area of your life. This book was so encouraging in that even though you go threw difficult things in your life if you lean on the Lord he will show you all kinds of wonderful things. Cydney was such a great friend, sister and daughter in this book she was really showing how women really thought. Cydney was a 40 year old woman who thought she would be married and have kids by the time she was 40 but God had other plans for her. I love that this book showed how women can abstain from worldly things. Cydney showed me that real love really does exist in this crazy world we live in. I really like how the author showed how different each woman was. Dana and Scott were displayed as the almost perfect couple very active in their church leading young married and soon married couples til Scott had an affair and the best part was they did come together as God healed their marriage. I will be passing this book on to all my girlfriends!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 10, 2010

    Wonderful Book!

    Faithful is a story of three best friends. Each of them encounter their own struggles, all unique and full of trial. Cyd is turning forty and is still single, making it worse, her baby sister is also getting married on her fortieth birthday! When Cyd meets the best man of her sister's wedding and it sends her into a tailspin of drama. Can she walk out the life of purity she's committed all these years to?

    Phyllis struggles in her marriage. She became a Christian years ago, but her husband refused to do the same. While he loves her, he continues to hurt her with his apparent disdain for God. When she encounters a Godly man, who awakens a part of her that her husband cannot, will she make the decision to end her marriage?

    Dana is happily married and all seems to be perfect in this Godly marriage. When Dana's husband is caught in an affair, will Dana be able to forgive and continue in her marriage?

    Faithful was such a great read! I found myself really drawn to the characters, each of them were so easy to relate to. I could barely put this book down because of how realistic the storylines are. I also love how much the author uses God in this book. A lot of time in Christian novels, God is just metioned a few times here and there, but Kim Cash Tate really dives in and shows you the cracks and crevices of what a true relationship with God looks like. I loved every minute of this book and would recommend it to anyone. I would especially recommend this book to anyone struggling in a marriage. I have no doubt that it gave me insight and wisdom that will someday be able to help me when I myself am married. The characters become like your best friends and with the steady, yet exciting story line, it's a quick and wonderful read for anyone!

    ________________________________________________________________

    I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of theirBookSneeze.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2010

    Inspiring and Relevant

    Faithful is the story of three friends, Cydney, Dana and Phyllis, and their journey through life-altering struggles. This book felt so real it was hard to remember I was reading fiction. I was moved to tears many times as I read through the story of these three friends and the struggles they faced. Kim Cash Tate does a wonderful job of introducing the characters and as I read I felt like they were my friends. I cried and laughed with them throughout the story. The author's references to scripture and prayer made the journey all the more meaningful for me. I was challenged to evaluate my own motives for some of my thoughts and conversations. I would highly recommend this book! Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze.com <http://BookSneeze.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 8, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Faithful

    Faithful is written by a new to me author. I wasn't sure what to expect but I really was surprised. First the title had me fooled, its about being faithful to God, I thought it would have something to do with marriage.
    The book kept surprising me, I thought it would wind up being chick-lit, but it was so much more than that. The author weaves a very believable story that is a christian fiction. With characters so real that you feel like your in the middle of the story, I could imagine women like these living in my neighborhood. I got a few laughs out of this story but also some times that were very emotional. A book that will hold your attention until the end.
    I was provided a copy of this book for review from Booksneeze in return for an honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 8, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Faithful~ Too Real Life

    Three life-long friends experience life-altering struggles. Will they find the strength to be faithful to the covenants they've made with God...and each other?
    Cydney Sanders thought she knew God's plan for her life. She'd marry, have kids, and then snap her body back into shape with Tae Bo. But she's celebrating her fortieth birthday as the maid of honor at her little sister's wedding . . . and still single. Why would God give her this desire to marry, but no husband? And why is her life suddenly complicated by the best man-who's the opposite of what she wants in a husband?
    Cydney's best friend Dana has the perfect marriage. But when Dana discovers her husband's affair, her world goes into a tailspin. And Phyllis is out of hope after six years of unanswered prayers for her husband to find faith. When she runs into an old friend who is the Christian man she longs for, she's faced with an overwhelming choice.
    With life falling apart around them, can they trust God like never before?

    I finished this book but it really didn't sit well with me. I am more of a Happy Ending/Light Hearted/No Worries type of girl and this was too....just too..ughg I'm not sure but the affair didn't sit well with me and then it was "fixed" to fast for me. The ending was better in regards to the other couple in this book but when you start a book with an affair in the first couple of chapters, in my opinion Not a good thing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 8, 2010

    Great Book

    Rarely am I moved by fiction the way I have been moved by the characters in Kim Cash Tate's Faithful. Cydney, Dana, and Phyllis quickly become women you care about and want to see God's best for as you watch each deal with personal battles. Be warned, spoilers ahead! When I first picked up Faithful by Kim Cash Tate, I wasn't sure what to expect. I had never read a book by this author before and the the subject matter was a little advanced for me. Fortunately I was pleasantly surprised. From the very first page you're drawn in into the lives of Cyd, Dana, and Phyllis... This book covered several topics I think are relevant in real life such as the dangers of premarital sex and the terrible consequences an affair can have on your marriage and those around you. It also shows you that despite these things you can find solace in the arms of God when you literally have nowhere to turn. When you have a problem, a concern, anything the first person you should turn to is Jesus. I really enjoyed how this book showed the importance of Christian fellowship. It's important to have people who can help you out in times of need.
    I highly recommend this book for others to read. Not only will you have an enjoyable story you'll also learn some valuable life lessons.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 38 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2