Customer Reviews for

Faithful

Average Rating 4.5
( 38 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(21)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted December 11, 2010

    Defining Faithfulness

    I enjoyed Kim Cash Tate's debut novel not only for the intriguing characters and the sisterhood they enjoyed (who doesn't love a girlfriends novel?) but also for the subtle ways the characters learn that faithfulness is not only between husbands and wives, boyfriends and girlfriends, and life-long friends. Ultimately the One the characters learn to be faithful to is God. Beautifully written, and highly recommended! Cindy Thomson Author of Brigid of Ireland

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    Love

    I love everything she writes!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 19, 2011

    Awesome!

    Very riveting and kept me on the edge of my seat waiting for the next thing to happen. I laughed, cried, laughed and cried some more. Faithful showed me what I need to do and woke me up to my unfaithfulness. I loved every minute of it and couldn't put it down. This is a definite must read for any woman, Christian or not that is struggling with some things.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 15, 2011

    Great Read !!

    This book lets the reader into the lives of three women, who also happen to be friends. What makes this book unique is the reality circumstances each of these individuals go through and how God is needed, relied on and then magnified in each of these situations.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    "Before the cross" tendencies meet "in the grace" moments for a super-charged drama.

    Faithful presents the story of three women who must face diverse trials and stages of growth. It gives a realistic account of what so very often happens to women. "Before the cross" tendencies meet "in the grace" moments for a super-charged drama that will have you turning the page for more. Read this book and you will find a fresh perspective on faith, fellowship, and friendship.

    Rating: 5/5 Stars

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 16, 2011

    Brilliant!

    This book has ministered to me in a profound way! I totally recommend it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 10, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Not full of melodrama, but seemed sincere and heartfelt.

    I found this book to be very sincere and believable. I sensed the author's heart for marriage and healing in this story. I could tell that she poured her heart into the message that was so skillfully woven into the story. This book, while dealing with Scriptures, church, and other Christian themes, did not feel preachy at all. I dislike preachy stories. This was so natural in flow and theme that I didn't feel like a sermon was being preached. That is a good thing, especially if people of weak faith read this book. It won't turn them off to the message.

    Having known people in just about every situation written about in this story, I found the conflict to be well done. It showed the dark side of sin and temptation without getting too ugly. So many books where women were cheated on show rage that goes on and on and frankly, that gets old. I want to walk into the pages and tell the characters, "A-hem, you are supposed to love Jesus and believe in grace and forgiveness, remember?"

    There was such a godly balance in this story that was refreshing. The author didn't shy away from showing the beauty of marital love and true peace in the home. These issues are so important and many authors skim over them, probably out of fear that it won't be well-received. I loved how deep the author delved into the story regarding the marital themes. Sex in marriage is beautiful and if the author had totally shied away from showing this, then the book would have been weak, at best. I also loved how the author showed that honesty is essential in any relationship for it to be solid enough to withstand temptation. Real love doesn't hold back.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 25, 2010

    Inspiring, Uplifting...A MUST READ!

    The first thing that captivated me about Faithful: A Novel by Kim Cash Tate was the beautiful, beautiful book cover! I think I just sat and gazed at the cover for a full two minutes before opening the book to read it. Well, let me assure you that the story is just as beautiful and inspiring as it's cover. It's not often that this happens and when it does, it's like eating your favorite cinnamon rolls while they're steaming hot ~ truly delectable! (Grin) The story opens with the main character, Cydney Sanders celebrating her 40th birthday on the day of her younger sister's wedding. Cydney is happy for her sister but internally she is struggling because her life has not turned out as she planned. The biggest disappointment? She's still single. It goes on to explore the lives of Cydney as well as her closest friends and family as they experience romance, humor, struggles and testing of faith, as well as the blessings that God can and will create in our everyday lives if we just commit to following Him. Throughout this book, the author shares Biblical references as to God's viewpoint on marriage. Wow - the Bible really has a very awe inspiring view of what marriage should be! My recommendation? Read this book! I found this book to be refreshing, inspiring and I truly enjoyed it. Many thanks to Thomas Nelson Publishing for the opportunity to review this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2010

    Unbelievably uplifting!

    I read Kim's last book and couldn't wait for the latest! Yet, I'm still amazed by the fact that I started reading it last night and couldn't wait to finish it this morning! What a phenomenal title and what a wonderful message. Kim's characters, imagery, and heart for God are so evident in every word. Thank you for giving us a book that shows us reality, gives us something to aspire to, and reconnects us with ourselves and God. What a blessing!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2010

    Awsome Book!!!

    WOW! I read this book cover to cover in 2 days. This book really spoke to my heart about friendship, love, commitment and most of all trusting God to lead every area of your life. This book was so encouraging in that even though you go threw difficult things in your life if you lean on the Lord he will show you all kinds of wonderful things. Cydney was such a great friend, sister and daughter in this book she was really showing how women really thought. Cydney was a 40 year old woman who thought she would be married and have kids by the time she was 40 but God had other plans for her. I love that this book showed how women can abstain from worldly things. Cydney showed me that real love really does exist in this crazy world we live in. I really like how the author showed how different each woman was. Dana and Scott were displayed as the almost perfect couple very active in their church leading young married and soon married couples til Scott had an affair and the best part was they did come together as God healed their marriage. I will be passing this book on to all my girlfriends!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2010

    Inspiring and Relevant

    Faithful is the story of three friends, Cydney, Dana and Phyllis, and their journey through life-altering struggles. This book felt so real it was hard to remember I was reading fiction. I was moved to tears many times as I read through the story of these three friends and the struggles they faced. Kim Cash Tate does a wonderful job of introducing the characters and as I read I felt like they were my friends. I cried and laughed with them throughout the story. The author's references to scripture and prayer made the journey all the more meaningful for me. I was challenged to evaluate my own motives for some of my thoughts and conversations. I would highly recommend this book! Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze.com <http://BookSneeze.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 8, 2010

    Great Book

    Rarely am I moved by fiction the way I have been moved by the characters in Kim Cash Tate's Faithful. Cydney, Dana, and Phyllis quickly become women you care about and want to see God's best for as you watch each deal with personal battles. Be warned, spoilers ahead! When I first picked up Faithful by Kim Cash Tate, I wasn't sure what to expect. I had never read a book by this author before and the the subject matter was a little advanced for me. Fortunately I was pleasantly surprised. From the very first page you're drawn in into the lives of Cyd, Dana, and Phyllis... This book covered several topics I think are relevant in real life such as the dangers of premarital sex and the terrible consequences an affair can have on your marriage and those around you. It also shows you that despite these things you can find solace in the arms of God when you literally have nowhere to turn. When you have a problem, a concern, anything the first person you should turn to is Jesus. I really enjoyed how this book showed the importance of Christian fellowship. It's important to have people who can help you out in times of need.
    I highly recommend this book for others to read. Not only will you have an enjoyable story you'll also learn some valuable life lessons.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 1, 2010

    AMAZING writing!!!!!!

    Faithful, a novel by Kim Cash Tate


    Cyd Sanders, turning 40 and wondering why she's never found the man of her dreams.
    Stephanie Sanders London, her sister, who has found a man, Lindell London, and married him, but did she marry him for the right reasons?
    Phyllis Owens, married to Hayes, but she wants more from him than he is willing to give.
    Dana, married to Scott, but there is a shadowy 3rd person who is trying to break up their marriage.
    Cedric London, brother of Lindell, but are they anything alike?
    Rod Clarke, widowed, with 2 young daughters, where does he fit into this?

    Why have I written this review with only questions, and no real synopsis of the story?
    Because this is an amazing story, that needs to be read with a fresh mind. Kim Cash Tate has woven this novel around these central characters, and I don't think a short synopsis could do this book justice.
    If you want to read a story that will make you cry, laugh, and praise God, then you need to read this one.
    I could not put it down.

    I recieved a free copy of this book from Booksneeze to read and review. No other compensation was given. The opinions expressed here are my own.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2