BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Faithful Place (Dublin Murder Squad Series #3)

Average Rating 4
( 416 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(164)

4 Star

(130)

3 Star

(76)

2 Star

(25)

1 Star

(21)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

25 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

good news/bad news, LOL!

The good news is that I couldn't put this book down; it's a real page-turner. The bad news: I'll probably have to wait another year, at least, for her next book. Count me a fan for life.

I won't restate the story here; others have done that. I'll comment on the actua...
The good news is that I couldn't put this book down; it's a real page-turner. The bad news: I'll probably have to wait another year, at least, for her next book. Count me a fan for life.

I won't restate the story here; others have done that. I'll comment on the actual writing: The crisp style and brilliant dialogue capture the family relationships and pitfalls thereof in an amazingly accurate and pointed way. The Irish facility with expressive language and humor makes the dialogue absolutely sparkle. The police/crime aspect of the book is secondary to the character novel. Terrific job, Ms French - can't wait for your next one!

posted by 299112 on August 12, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

forget it

I'm a fan of mystery: For like-minded souls, this isn't it. I knew "who done it" at the end of the 2nd chapter and dredged through all 360 some-odd pages for the author to confirm my guess. In the meantime, you must translate Irish slang and read through the author's...
I'm a fan of mystery: For like-minded souls, this isn't it. I knew "who done it" at the end of the 2nd chapter and dredged through all 360 some-odd pages for the author to confirm my guess. In the meantime, you must translate Irish slang and read through the author's personal pain and philosophy. No real hero and French attempts to make the villain mildly sympathetic. Try something else.

posted by timeatlonglast on January 17, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 418 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 21
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    good news/bad news, LOL!

    The good news is that I couldn't put this book down; it's a real page-turner. The bad news: I'll probably have to wait another year, at least, for her next book. Count me a fan for life.

    I won't restate the story here; others have done that. I'll comment on the actual writing: The crisp style and brilliant dialogue capture the family relationships and pitfalls thereof in an amazingly accurate and pointed way. The Irish facility with expressive language and humor makes the dialogue absolutely sparkle. The police/crime aspect of the book is secondary to the character novel. Terrific job, Ms French - can't wait for your next one!

    25 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 17, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    EXCELLENT!

    This book is an absolute pleasure to read. In this story, Frank Mackay returns home after a twenty year absence in order to solve the disappearance of an old flame. This is another emotionally gripping, who-dun-it that will leave you spellbound. Excellent!!

    14 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 17, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Bridget's Review

    Frank and Rosie are head-over-heels in love. They make a plan to meet one night to run off together. Frank waits and waits for Rosie but she never shows up. He forces himself to move on but he never forgets Rosie.

    Years later, when Frank is working as a detective, he gets a shocking phone call from his sister. A suitcase has been found and it's Rosie. Shortly after this discovery, Rosie's body turns up. Frank is determined to find out what happened to the love of his life.

    I loved this book! It's a fantastic work of fiction by an extraordinary author. The way Tana weaves the whole story together is amazing. I can't wait to see what else she has in store for her fans.

    13 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 1, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Excellent Read

    Another fantastic book by Tana French. If you loved In the Woods, you will love this one too.

    11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 17, 2011

    forget it

    I'm a fan of mystery: For like-minded souls, this isn't it. I knew "who done it" at the end of the 2nd chapter and dredged through all 360 some-odd pages for the author to confirm my guess. In the meantime, you must translate Irish slang and read through the author's personal pain and philosophy. No real hero and French attempts to make the villain mildly sympathetic. Try something else.

    8 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 4, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    FAITHFUL PLACE, by Tana French

    We discover more about Frank Mackey from French's IN THE WOODS, his divorce, his daughter and his dysfunctional family. This is an exciting tale of secrets, betrayals and hope. Past and present meet in Ireland where Mackey, a middle-aged, rough and tumble Irish cop, tries to solve the 20 year old cold case murder of his former girlfriend. This is a murder mystery but the killer is revealed early on, if the reader catches it, so it is not so much in who did it but in why. There's humor, but it's a little dark, never-the-less, it helps to lift the books spirit. Mackey's feelings for Rosie have been a huge roadblock in his life that prevented him from having a normal relationship with people. The reader will mourn Rosie and feel sorry for Mackey. Really good!! Other good ones: EXPLOSION IN PARIS THE ONE THAT I WANT TIME OF MY LIFE

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2012

    Great Read!!!

    Another Tana French Must read!! This book was great, a real page-turner. I stayed up all night reading it! The characters are people you can relate to. This book has the ability to funny and touching at the same time. I highly reccomend French's other two books too, The Likeness and In The Woods. Can't wait for her next book!!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 29, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Nice Beach Read

    Set in Dublin, young sweethearts Frank Mackey and Rosie Daly plan to run away to England. They want a better life for themselves and Rosie's father hates the Mackeys, forbidding her to have anything to do with Frank. When Rosie doesn't show up on the night they plan to leave, Frank begins his own journey believing that Rosie has dumped him.

    Flash forward twenty-two years; Frank is working as an undercover detective when he receives a call from his sister that Rosie's suitcase has been found. He's quickly embroiled in trying to find out what happened to Rosie as well as confronting the very destructive and dysfunctional family he left so many years ago.

    Nicely written, but with a predictable ending, you could do worse than spend a hot summer afternoon unravelling the mystery of FAITHFUL PLACE. Lynn Kimmerle

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 17, 2010

    Excellent, Excellent, Excellent

    I've read all three of Tana French's Dublin Murder Squad books and I can only hope that she doesn't ever stop writing. I can't wait for the next book. Unfortunately, No. 3 just came out so I'll have to do some waiting.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2010

    Rough Around the Edges

    French's stories tend to be gritty, and reality can be hard to find, which is what I love about her. Faithful Place has wonderfully sharp dialog and characters, but I missed the sense of not really knowing what was going on. I felt like I had too much information, and thus some of the charm of the mystery was gone. One of her best qualities as a writer is the ability to leave open ended thoughts in the reader's mind, so that they think about it for months afterward, and I missed that in this story. Its still a great read.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2012

    Fantastic

    Tana French is a tremendous writer with an uncanny, almost cinematic, ear for dialogue. Having spent time in Ireland, I can close my eyes and almost hear these characters. While the entire Dublin Murder Squad series is terrific ("The Likeness" being the other real standout), this is, by far, the best. Whip-smart, crack pacing and while you may be able to figure out 'whodunit'--(it took me awhile however) it doesn't stop the sheer pleasure of the read. Vivid descriptions of Dublin and contemporary Ireland, and quite honestly, for all his faults, Frank, is a man I sincerely hope French revisits. He's mesmerizing--and since he also appears in "The Likeness" new French readers can back up and get to know him sooner. I cannot wait for "Broken Harbor."

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 23, 2011

    One star, that's it!

    I bought this book based on all the recommendations and I did not find it nearly as interesting as many of the other readers. The pace of the book didn't really start picking up until halfway through it, and at that point I was so irritated by the main character, Frank, that I wasn't sure if I even wanted to continue reading. The last half of the book I will agree I had trouble putting down because it came to point when I really wanted to know what happened. But Frank Mackey is so self centered and obsessed by his past that he doesn't really care about all the other lives that he is ruining. To me, his constant striving to leave his family behind and not become one of them, has actually made him worse than all of them. Shay included.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 13, 2011

    Not her best, but still a worthy read.

    This story focuses on exploring the highly dis-functional dynamics of a working class Irish family. The mysteries are not as engaging as in the prior two books, and are more transparently used as plot vehicles to illustrate what a working class neighborhood in Ireland was like in the 1980's.

    As always, she is spot on in distilling the personal memories of her characters as believable artifacts of living that define who people are.

    Read this for the writing, not so much the story, but be warned... you may not like any of the characters (except the dead ones).

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 17, 2011

    An above average crime story.

    This story is not as detailed or sensory as the current popular crime stories about the character Lizbeth Salander and I'm not sure this book should be expected to have that kind of stylistic elan. None the less, this book has unique qualities for this genre. An NPR guest pegged it right when she said it would be a good 'Book Club' selection. It's worth would be enhanced by the questions and observations of others. Again, this book is above average. And sometimes above average is good enough.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2014

    page turner

    This is the third book in the Dublin Murder Squad series. I am now about half way into the fourth one. I had a little bit of a rough time trying to keep up with the first one. It kind of went all over the place, but each one has gotten more compelling and more well written. She has found the groove. Enjoyable!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2014

    This book fell slightly short of my expectations. The writing is

    This book fell slightly short of my expectations. The writing is beautiful as ever and the attention to detail and character depth pulls you into a rich world. However, the murder mystery that hooks your attention is quickly overshadowed by the nuances of Detective Frank Mackey's family life. I was never very perplexed by the mystery - I correctly guessed who the culprit was almost immediately. The novel continuously seemed to over-exhaust uninteresting leads or questions that never truly puzzled me. Like all of French's books, FAITHFUL PLACE features incredibly well-developed characters. I may have enjoyed this one more had I approached it as a family drama instead of a mystery thriller.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 4, 2013

    I thoroughly enjoyed Tana French's preceding novels but this sur

    I thoroughly enjoyed Tana French's preceding novels but this surpasses even those excellent stories. Though the characters are flawed, sometimes deeply so, the way they are developed and revealed makes for an exceptionally engaging and interesting read. Dialogue and dialect vividly establish the setting; it feels like you can actually hear the Irish accent (even better if you indulge in the Guinness your inner voice is asking for). The Likeness required a substantial suspension of disbelief for one of its central plot points; this novel gradually reveals mysteries more realistically, but still so enticingly that it's near-impossible to put down once you've started. If this were baseball, In the Woods was a triple, The Likeness was a home run - Faithful Place is a grand slam!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 18, 2013

    Not as good as the first two

    The story was as good as usual but the main character was so negative and cynical that I could never like him or really believe that anyone who acted like he did could be at all successful in love or job. Reading his diatribes over and over got tiresome and I was just as happy when the book ended and he could go off and be miserable by himself without my having to read about it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2013

    Love this author!!

    great story!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2013

    Good book

    Good book

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 418 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 21