BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Faithful Place (Dublin Murder Squad Series #3)

Average Rating 4
( 416 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(164)

4 Star

(130)

3 Star

(76)

2 Star

(25)

1 Star

(21)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

25 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

good news/bad news, LOL!

The good news is that I couldn't put this book down; it's a real page-turner. The bad news: I'll probably have to wait another year, at least, for her next book. Count me a fan for life.

I won't restate the story here; others have done that. I'll comment on the actua...
The good news is that I couldn't put this book down; it's a real page-turner. The bad news: I'll probably have to wait another year, at least, for her next book. Count me a fan for life.

I won't restate the story here; others have done that. I'll comment on the actual writing: The crisp style and brilliant dialogue capture the family relationships and pitfalls thereof in an amazingly accurate and pointed way. The Irish facility with expressive language and humor makes the dialogue absolutely sparkle. The police/crime aspect of the book is secondary to the character novel. Terrific job, Ms French - can't wait for your next one!

posted by 299112 on August 12, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

forget it

I'm a fan of mystery: For like-minded souls, this isn't it. I knew "who done it" at the end of the 2nd chapter and dredged through all 360 some-odd pages for the author to confirm my guess. In the meantime, you must translate Irish slang and read through the author's...
I'm a fan of mystery: For like-minded souls, this isn't it. I knew "who done it" at the end of the 2nd chapter and dredged through all 360 some-odd pages for the author to confirm my guess. In the meantime, you must translate Irish slang and read through the author's personal pain and philosophy. No real hero and French attempts to make the villain mildly sympathetic. Try something else.

posted by timeatlonglast on January 17, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 76 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2010

    Rough Around the Edges

    French's stories tend to be gritty, and reality can be hard to find, which is what I love about her. Faithful Place has wonderfully sharp dialog and characters, but I missed the sense of not really knowing what was going on. I felt like I had too much information, and thus some of the charm of the mystery was gone. One of her best qualities as a writer is the ability to leave open ended thoughts in the reader's mind, so that they think about it for months afterward, and I missed that in this story. Its still a great read.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 17, 2011

    An above average crime story.

    This story is not as detailed or sensory as the current popular crime stories about the character Lizbeth Salander and I'm not sure this book should be expected to have that kind of stylistic elan. None the less, this book has unique qualities for this genre. An NPR guest pegged it right when she said it would be a good 'Book Club' selection. It's worth would be enhanced by the questions and observations of others. Again, this book is above average. And sometimes above average is good enough.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2014

    This book fell slightly short of my expectations. The writing is

    This book fell slightly short of my expectations. The writing is beautiful as ever and the attention to detail and character depth pulls you into a rich world. However, the murder mystery that hooks your attention is quickly overshadowed by the nuances of Detective Frank Mackey's family life. I was never very perplexed by the mystery - I correctly guessed who the culprit was almost immediately. The novel continuously seemed to over-exhaust uninteresting leads or questions that never truly puzzled me. Like all of French's books, FAITHFUL PLACE features incredibly well-developed characters. I may have enjoyed this one more had I approached it as a family drama instead of a mystery thriller.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 18, 2013

    Not as good as the first two

    The story was as good as usual but the main character was so negative and cynical that I could never like him or really believe that anyone who acted like he did could be at all successful in love or job. Reading his diatribes over and over got tiresome and I was just as happy when the book ended and he could go off and be miserable by himself without my having to read about it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 25, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    Enjoyed this authors writing style. Her words made me understand some things about my own family. Will definetly read more of her books.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 27, 2011

    Decent

    It's hard to imagine Frank Macky missing the obvious about a key point in his life. Seems unrealistic. If you can suspend disbelief and keeps reading it's still a decent novel. I would also have loved a little more closure in the end since as the pattern goes I will never see these characters again. If the three it's my third favorite. I will be reading the fourth and hoping she returns to some In The Woods characters

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2014

    Euvnjghphgghjxu yej

    Vnstutvnethgvb seetuhg tuu utjmud nx jzsg ftuduqvunzte

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 76 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4