Customer Reviews for

Faithful Place (Dublin Murder Squad Series #3)

Average Rating 4
( 419 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(163)

4 Star

(133)

3 Star

(77)

2 Star

(25)

1 Star

(21)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

25 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

good news/bad news, LOL!

The good news is that I couldn't put this book down; it's a real page-turner. The bad news: I'll probably have to wait another year, at least, for her next book. Count me a fan for life.

I won't restate the story here; others have done that. I'll comment on the actua...
The good news is that I couldn't put this book down; it's a real page-turner. The bad news: I'll probably have to wait another year, at least, for her next book. Count me a fan for life.

I won't restate the story here; others have done that. I'll comment on the actual writing: The crisp style and brilliant dialogue capture the family relationships and pitfalls thereof in an amazingly accurate and pointed way. The Irish facility with expressive language and humor makes the dialogue absolutely sparkle. The police/crime aspect of the book is secondary to the character novel. Terrific job, Ms French - can't wait for your next one!

posted by 299112 on August 12, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

forget it

I'm a fan of mystery: For like-minded souls, this isn't it. I knew "who done it" at the end of the 2nd chapter and dredged through all 360 some-odd pages for the author to confirm my guess. In the meantime, you must translate Irish slang and read through the author's...
I'm a fan of mystery: For like-minded souls, this isn't it. I knew "who done it" at the end of the 2nd chapter and dredged through all 360 some-odd pages for the author to confirm my guess. In the meantime, you must translate Irish slang and read through the author's personal pain and philosophy. No real hero and French attempts to make the villain mildly sympathetic. Try something else.

posted by timeatlonglast on January 17, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 163 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 9
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    good news/bad news, LOL!

    The good news is that I couldn't put this book down; it's a real page-turner. The bad news: I'll probably have to wait another year, at least, for her next book. Count me a fan for life.

    I won't restate the story here; others have done that. I'll comment on the actual writing: The crisp style and brilliant dialogue capture the family relationships and pitfalls thereof in an amazingly accurate and pointed way. The Irish facility with expressive language and humor makes the dialogue absolutely sparkle. The police/crime aspect of the book is secondary to the character novel. Terrific job, Ms French - can't wait for your next one!

    25 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 17, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    EXCELLENT!

    This book is an absolute pleasure to read. In this story, Frank Mackay returns home after a twenty year absence in order to solve the disappearance of an old flame. This is another emotionally gripping, who-dun-it that will leave you spellbound. Excellent!!

    14 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 17, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Bridget's Review

    Frank and Rosie are head-over-heels in love. They make a plan to meet one night to run off together. Frank waits and waits for Rosie but she never shows up. He forces himself to move on but he never forgets Rosie.

    Years later, when Frank is working as a detective, he gets a shocking phone call from his sister. A suitcase has been found and it's Rosie. Shortly after this discovery, Rosie's body turns up. Frank is determined to find out what happened to the love of his life.

    I loved this book! It's a fantastic work of fiction by an extraordinary author. The way Tana weaves the whole story together is amazing. I can't wait to see what else she has in store for her fans.

    13 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 1, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Excellent Read

    Another fantastic book by Tana French. If you loved In the Woods, you will love this one too.

    11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 4, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    FAITHFUL PLACE, by Tana French

    We discover more about Frank Mackey from French's IN THE WOODS, his divorce, his daughter and his dysfunctional family. This is an exciting tale of secrets, betrayals and hope. Past and present meet in Ireland where Mackey, a middle-aged, rough and tumble Irish cop, tries to solve the 20 year old cold case murder of his former girlfriend. This is a murder mystery but the killer is revealed early on, if the reader catches it, so it is not so much in who did it but in why. There's humor, but it's a little dark, never-the-less, it helps to lift the books spirit. Mackey's feelings for Rosie have been a huge roadblock in his life that prevented him from having a normal relationship with people. The reader will mourn Rosie and feel sorry for Mackey. Really good!! Other good ones: EXPLOSION IN PARIS THE ONE THAT I WANT TIME OF MY LIFE

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2012

    Great Read!!!

    Another Tana French Must read!! This book was great, a real page-turner. I stayed up all night reading it! The characters are people you can relate to. This book has the ability to funny and touching at the same time. I highly reccomend French's other two books too, The Likeness and In The Woods. Can't wait for her next book!!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2012

    Fantastic

    Tana French is a tremendous writer with an uncanny, almost cinematic, ear for dialogue. Having spent time in Ireland, I can close my eyes and almost hear these characters. While the entire Dublin Murder Squad series is terrific ("The Likeness" being the other real standout), this is, by far, the best. Whip-smart, crack pacing and while you may be able to figure out 'whodunit'--(it took me awhile however) it doesn't stop the sheer pleasure of the read. Vivid descriptions of Dublin and contemporary Ireland, and quite honestly, for all his faults, Frank, is a man I sincerely hope French revisits. He's mesmerizing--and since he also appears in "The Likeness" new French readers can back up and get to know him sooner. I cannot wait for "Broken Harbor."

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 4, 2013

    I thoroughly enjoyed Tana French's preceding novels but this sur

    I thoroughly enjoyed Tana French's preceding novels but this surpasses even those excellent stories. Though the characters are flawed, sometimes deeply so, the way they are developed and revealed makes for an exceptionally engaging and interesting read. Dialogue and dialect vividly establish the setting; it feels like you can actually hear the Irish accent (even better if you indulge in the Guinness your inner voice is asking for). The Likeness required a substantial suspension of disbelief for one of its central plot points; this novel gradually reveals mysteries more realistically, but still so enticingly that it's near-impossible to put down once you've started. If this were baseball, In the Woods was a triple, The Likeness was a home run - Faithful Place is a grand slam!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2013

    Love this author!!

    great story!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2013

    French s now one of my favorite authors!

    I read the book, then bought the audiobook! The story is vivid, heartbreaking, humorous, and never borking. As a plus, the narrator on the audiobook had a perfect Frank Mackey Dublin brough. I can only hope that Tana French writes another novel, soon ! ( I enjoyed the others, spas well! )

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 2, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    First one I read.

    This book was so suspenseful and misdirected that I had to read all other three of Tana French's books. You won't be able to put this book down until you reach the end.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 12, 2012

    I originally bought this book when it came out, and something el

    I originally bought this book when it came out, and something else must have caught my eye and I never finished it. I picked it up again before Broken Harbor came out and once I did I did not stop. I really enjoy Tana's series and look forward to reading Broken Harbor.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 24, 2012

    So glad Tana keeps writing! Love it. Page turner just like the o

    So glad Tana keeps writing! Love it. Page turner just like the others. I'm a fan for life, can't wait to read the next.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Read!

    This is the best police procedural I have ever read.
    The characters were so vividly drawn, it was all around a very
    good read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2012

    Excellent book, great writing

    A gripping story about a disfunctional family in a poor section of Ireland. It is a murder mystery, a character study, and written by a great talent. A haunting story that will stick in your mind.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 15, 2011

    Woderful Read

    This is by far Tana French's best novel. I have now read all 3 of her books and find that each one is just a bit better than the previous one. The story grabs a hold of you and you can't stop till you find out what happens next. I highly reccomend Tana French and cant wait for her 4th book in March 2012

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 4, 2011

    Excellent!

    I will be waiting for her next one.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2015

    Very good! would strongly recommend it!

    French has a unique ability to write with detail and feeling- absolutely loved this thriller

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 10, 2014

    I LOVED this book! Tana French is my new favorite author and I

    I LOVED this book! Tana French is my new favorite author and I subsequently bought 2 more of her books. Read all three in a two week period.



    The first thing I look for in a book is wonderful descriptive literate writing, and her books are fabulous in this department. Add to that, fully developed, interesting, individual characters. Plus unusual riveting plot. This has everything! My biggest problem is that Ms. French can't write a new book every week!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 22, 2014

    If you have read this series in order you will realize that even

    If you have read this series in order you will realize that even though the books involve a different lead character, that character had played
    a part in the previous novel. Faithful Place involves Frank Mackey, who was Cassie's undercover handler in The Likeness.  When Frank
    was nineteen the world seemed full of so many possibilities. Him and his girl, Rosie, were going to run away together and live in their own
    little romantic world. But reality sets in for Frank when Rosie doesn't show up at their designated meeting place on the night that they are
    to leave for London and their new life together. Frank of course ends up leaving without Rosie not for London but instead for Dublin where
    he joins the police force and ends up becoming a detective in the undercover squad. Thinking Rosie left for London without him, because
    of a note that she left him in an old building they all used to hang out in, Frank puts her out of his mind as much as he can. He got
    married, had a daughter, got a divorce, but no matter what Rosie is always there in the back of his mind trying to push her way back into
    his thoughts. A regular day for Frank ends up spinning his world out of control when he gets a phone call from his sister, that building,
    their hangout, Number 16, is being torn apart for some type of renovation and inside the workers find Rosie's suitcase, she had packed
    to leave, but did she just leave the case behind? Maybe she forgot about it? Or is there something much more sinister going on that no
    one wants to think about?? The case leads Frank on a search of the old building with his brother Kevin where they discover concrete
    slabs that were the size of a person, covering up something. Frank quickly calls the techs of forensics to get them down to see what is
    under those concrete slabs, finding a body badly decomposed, rotting under those slabs of concrete the tech bureau quickly calls in the
    murder squad and the pathologist, Cooper. Is it Rosie's body they just discovered? Or someone else? Not able to identify her right
    away due to the state of the body the police cannot tell Frank for sure who it is but deep down Frank knows Rosie didn't stand him up
    that night they were to run away instead someone had made sure that it didn't happen.  Mick, also known as Scorcher is the murder
    detective assigned to the case and even though him and Frank were in the academy together Scorcher firmly tells Frank to back off
    that he will solve this just like he does all his other cases, Scorcher having the best solve rate of anyone else on the Murder squad has
    given him a bit of an ego. Frank dying to know what is going on with the case finds Stephen, one of the officers working with Scorcher
    basically doing grunt work like checking phone and bank records, and promises him a way out of the floater pool and into a squad if he
    is willing to share information about the case. Seeing a golden opportunity for quick advancement Stephen jumps at the chance
    despite his misgivings about sharing such information with Frank. Another murder occurs, Frank's brother Kevin, rocking Frank's world
    off its axis. Even though the police ruled it a suicide Frank knows that this is another murder and the murderer has done this before
     because this was the work of Rosie's murderer. Holly, Frank's daughter, has figured it out that Kevin and Rosie's killer is a member of
    her family on her father's side and she goes to great lengths to show her father what she had figured out. Everything is still topsy turvy
    and now that Holly's involved Frank must do all that he can to put the murderer behind bars, even if he is family. Another psychological
    maze from the brilliant mind of Tana French! Pulling us in to the lives of ordinary people and surrounding us with their inner demons and
    torments makes French one of the best writers of psychological fiction out there.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 163 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 9