Customer Reviews for

Fake (Volume 1)

Average Rating 5
( 19 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(16)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 19 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted September 1, 2010

    Not just boy love!

    If you're someone who likes romance but is sick of the typical, super-passionate 'ooh, we're meant to be!' shojo, FAKE is a great pick. Not only is the romantic extremely realistic, the manga focuses on other aspects, such as Ryo and Dee's jobs and childhoods that make their characters real and believable. Even the minor characters like Carroll and Bicky get their fair share of spotlight, making them go from 'eh, those guys just add variety to the cast' to real, lovable characters. It's a great series for someone who enjoys REAL mystery, drama and a very realistic romance.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2006

    Amazing

    I have read a lot of shounen-ai/yaoi things and this is one of my favorite series, maybe my favorite. It's funny, the situation Dee and Ryo get into are priceless, and you cannot help but love the Dee & Ryo pairing....I mean come on.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2006

    Awesome manga! My friend loves it to death!

    Fake is a really good series, and I love the characters. Although the art could be better, I really like it... The plot is nice 'n all, but I feel that Dee and Ryo get too close, too soon, even though it was kind of a one-sided love at first. I originally picked up Fake because I heard it had MxM, and sure, I was pleased as any fangirl when there were scenes to squeel over in the first book, but now it just seems like it was to please the fans only... (Although I like the plot alot.) I love Fake, though, and all it's characters. It's fun to read... Even though I only read the first two books and scanned through the last (Whew!!) it's a nice series. Of course, alot of you guys would be avoiding it like it was going to take your life away. It won't. Sure, scare you half to death, but not kill you. You should buy it if you like shounen-ai and yaoi, unless you want to avoid yaoi, which happens near the end of the book, then may I suggest Gravitation...? I haven't read all the books for that either, but it's pretty safe.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2006

    you gots to check it out

    this one is great and funny. i mean after the first couple of pages you'll be laughing. and the plot line is great and tasteful. if your a yaoi fan, this title is right for you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2005

    Great, Great Manga

    Fake, as a story of two men who are...well...attracted to each other, grabbed my attention right away, but as I read on I became entwined in the storyline. There's Romance, there's Slapstick comedy, there's suspense...This manga has it all, you'll instantly fall in love with the characters Ryo, Dee, Bikky, and Carol. By the end of the first book you'll be dying to start on the second. A must read for all manga lovers, and a definite plus to any manga collection.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2005

    Perfect mix of drama, humor, and love.

    I first found out about FAKE from an anime magazine. I read a review on it and thought, 'Hmm...That looks fun.' So, I went out and bought it. I read the first 5 pages and was hooked. I was helpless to the power of Sanami Matoh. She makes the characters memorable and lovable and simply irresistible. Dee and Ryo are simply too adorable together and their personalities match those of people whom we have all met at some point in our lives. Their love story is so utterly sweet that you'll take the ups and downs of the relationship with them. If this is your first adventure into the world of shonen-ai, this is perfect to start off with. No matter if you are a veteran or a beginner in this genre, you can't go wrong. You'll love it to the end and then love it all over again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2004

    The BEST shounen-ai manga ever!

    Shounen-ai, humor, sexy cops who kiss^_^ What else could you want in a manga? It is the BEST, I reccomend it to ANYONE who enjoys shounen-ai, slash, yaoi etc.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2004

    GREAT MANGA!

    this is by far my most favorite manga! i highly recommend it for those of you who like shounen-ai manga cuz this is one heck of a book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2004

    Fantastic!

    If you like any sort of shonen-ai this is a must have to any collection. One of the greatest mangas I've ever read. You won't want to put it down. I've read it about 13 times. It's great!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2003

    To Die for!

    This is one of the best mangas i've ever read (so far my favorite). it absoluetly fantastic! Wether you're caught up in the missions, bikky getting in trouble or when Dee and Ryo will kiss next you just won't be able to put it down, and when you finally do you'll pick it up a second and third time!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2003

    Excellent!

    I've been a fan of the original Japanese version for years, but never thought I'd see it in English. Fortunatly, TokyoPop proved me wrong. The translation is wonderful, and the humor stays perfectly in tact! It's a must buy for any fan of yaoi and shounen ai!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2003

    From a Newbie

    The only yaoi I've read is online which most of it isn't that great. It feels great to read a yaoi that's written by a pro^-^, and best of all it's in english! This story is incredibly sweet and yet with a good edge to it.......I can't wait to read the rest of the series^-^.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2003

    This manga is great!

    I have been looking for this manga everywhere imagine my suprise when i went into my local B&N and found it. I was soooo happy. I read it in one sitting. It is soo great expecially for someone who loves yaoi like i do! I would highly recommend it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2003

    Awesome

    I love this. I've never read manga or anything like it, but I was at barnes and nobles for a while so since I know my friends like this kind of thing, I picked something up and it happened to be this. I cant wait for the next one! :D

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2003

    Finally!

    Thank God someone finally translated this! And did a great job of it. I'm already waiting for the next volume.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2003

    Very Happy

    I am very happy with this! The second book comes out soon(already on pre-order)And hopefully it will be translated as well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2003

    Beautiful.

    Wonderfully translated, all the humor hits you head on with this series. I can't wait for Volume 2 to come out. Finally, FAKE came out! -Soku

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2003

    Great Yaoi manga series

    I've been looking all over for this manga and i finally found it in the barns and nobles shop. i practically sold my life to my mom for this book and i'm so glad i finally got it. it's a really great book. i just can't wait till the next one comes out. i suggest this book to anyone that likes yaoi.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 19 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1